• J. Graham

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • S. Campbell

Votes: 1 0.8%
  • K. McIntosh (sub)

Votes: 0 0.0%

D Rioli was so useless as a forward in his 4-5th season he got demoted to the VFL… he couldn’t kick a goal to save himself in his later years as a forward before become an elite half back.

He’s not going forward again …. Ever.

He also won 3 flags there. You forgot that part. He lost confidence like the rest of them did. He has it back - try something different

What part of this current structure are you loving mate? whats the harm at this point of trying different structures? it's almost creepy at this point how much you want things to stay the same. We just lost by 7 goals 2 weeks in a row, once to the Eagles & now the Dee's. Don't you think it might be time to....zag? :tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:

Tonight’s game had a lot more positives than negatives for me.

This year is all about unearthing senior quality players for the future. Just who has the qualities to be part of our best-25 into the future.

This year has been brilliant for that. End of 2023 I’d have said Hugo, MRJ and Mansell were long odds to be listed in 2025. And Dow was 50/50. Hugo showed tonight he’s a better option than Macca already and could be a decent wingman. Dow showed enough to suggest he may just make it. MRJ has proven me wrong and keeps building on his game week after week - apologies MRJ. Mansell has had moments this year and looks to have a future.

Then there’s T Brown who looks like being really good. Miller is a keeper in a key defensive post. Lefau has great promise and Seth Campbell has shown good signs early in the year. Even Sonsie is now dominating VFL and Macaullife and Kaleb Smith look really promising.

So in terms of players who were looking like out the door at end of 2023 or were largely unknown quantities as they hadn’t played much or at all, in 7 rounds we’ve ‘unearthed’ the following players who might just be long term players :

Campbell
Lefau
MRJ
Miller
Mansell
Hugo
Macaullife
Sonsie
Brown
Dow
K Smith
Tresize

From AFl or VFL form I’m now more confident on every player in the list above than i was 7-games ago before the season started.

At this stage Banks and Clarke (injured) are the ones I’d like to see more from. And Young has regressed from 2023, so I’m not more confident in him than I was but I think he will make the grade long term.

It’s hard to see now, but I believe with our strong draft hand the future is very bright once we get a reasonable run with injury. Keeping Saints to 11 at half time, Port to 39, Demons to 23 shows great signs for the future .. we just can’t sustain it as we are too undermanned.

Field umpire was standing side on 10mt away from this and decided ‘nothing to see here’.
Four pharking umpires……I repeat FOUR bloody umpires and they still CANT GET IT RIGHT FFS!!
Was so pissed when I saw this I nearly threw a GoDees cheeseboard at the emergency ump….

IMG_0744.jpeg

Field umpire was standing side on 10mt away from this and decided ‘nothing to see here’.
Four pharking umpires……I repeat FOUR bloody umpires and they still CANT GET IT RIGHT FFS!!
Was so pissed when I saw this I nearly threw a GoDees cheeseboard at the emergency ump….

View attachment 1969790
There was a lot of this BS in the 2nd half

Will have a bit of read on previous pages as only been home an hour but I will say two players who have been hammered a bit Dow and Ralphsmith played pretty well, impressive actually. They just kept going and going.

Dow 22 disposals and 8 tackles
Ralphsmith 21 disposals, 6 marks and 3 tackles

A big shout out to Jacob Hopper who was our best mid until he did his hammy in the 3rd. Would've finished with 35 touches if not for his injury. Shrugged off many tackles and was a brute in every contest

Now for two players who need to go back to the ressies and get a kick and kick some goals.
Mansell there is no defending this guy, he's a trier, a battler but just isn't good enough. Didn't hit the scoreboard and laid only 1 tackle.

Seth Campbell who i do like and think he's going to be a player but hasn't got his hands on it for several games now and think its time to go back to teh ressies and work on his game.

Would like to see Cumberland come in who played well kicked 1G and 2 behinds, perhaps should've kicked 2-3 goals and was good defensively had 6 tackles.

Also want Coulthard in who bagged 3.

Steely Green looked lively also with his 17 touches and a goal.

Might be in the minority here but i thought we played very well between the arcs for most of the night.

We just had zero connection or execution once it was forward of centre which killed a large amount of attacking thrusts.

for the first time in a long time we tagged someone, Pickett on petracca was good to watch.

MRJ, Dow and Hugo were good.

Unfortunately it was no suprise the dees experience took over.

But I really thought we made a good fist of it but just lack forward targets.

I can cop loosing fair and square, but when it involves umpires gifting the oppo all game it just makes me want to distance myself from afl

many tigers in same boat

The bias against us is so blatant, week-in, week-out, that it’s hard to watch.

What’s worse, they don’t even need to do it.

We’re injury-hit enough lose by three or four goals with the umpiring anyone else would get.

What a stupid notion that all players that are no longer match winners just retire. He’s playing mostly in a forward line that’s not getting any decent midfield supply (as our midfield is all injured) and he’s not feeding off any decent crumbs (as our KPF’s are all injured).

You’re expecting miracles that even Martin circa 2016-2020 wouldn’t be producing. He’s averaging 18.8 touches, 1.8 goals and goal assists and 6.4 SI’s per game in a bottom-3 team.

Gryan Miers is averaging 22 touches, 2.1 goals and goal assists and 6.8 SI’s in an undefeated team and is currently being salivated over and is in everyone’s AA team as a half forward.

Just temper your expectations and get into the land of the living and stop expecting Martin to solve the teams injury crisis and cure world hunger.
Far from it, you obviously didn't read my other post regarding Dusty but nice rant anyway.

Now get off your ****ing high horse. Heaven forbid anyone calls dusty out as being just one of our average players. You're the one having a sook.

What a stupid notion that all players that are no longer match winners just retire. He’s playing mostly in a forward line that’s not getting any decent midfield supply (as our midfield is all injured) and he’s not feeding off any decent crumbs (as our KPF’s are all injured).

You’re expecting miracles that even Martin circa 2016-2020 wouldn’t be producing. He’s averaging 18.8 touches, 1.8 goals and goal assists and 6.4 SI’s per game in a bottom-3 team.

Gryan Miers is averaging 22 touches, 2.1 goals and goal assists and 6.8 SI’s in an undefeated team and is currently being salivated over and is in everyone’s AA team as a half forward.

Just temper your expectations and get into the land of the living and stop expecting Martin to solve the teams injury crisis and cure world hunger.

Like the excuses used on Cumberland, Dusty is producing nothing defensively and his opponent is having fun.

The backline is awful bad at this point. Where they play Balta when he gets back will be very interesting, but surely he needs to go back. The backline needs to look competent to make stops. Brown, Banks - one of them needs to step up. I'd put Baker down there - go as close as we can to that 2020 GF backline as possible with what we have.( Balta, Baker, Vlaustin, Broad, Short... Grimes(RIP), Young, Miller +hopefully Brown/Banks
Broad is way down and with Grimes clangers keep on happening.

Also, lmfao at this rubbish.

Broad was pushed into the next postcode and this was deemed all ok with a clear view of it all.

View attachment 1969803
That just shows everything in one sense it’s blatant corruption , how can this umpire miss that is beyond belief

Broad was pushed into the next postcode and this was deemed all ok with a clear view of it all.

View attachment 1969803
Yet we still have some supporters who don't believe in AFL umpire conspiracies.
Oppo fans don't get our angst reckon we cheer more when we get a free kick, it's because we are ****ing sick of it.

View attachment 1969803
I'd love a walk through on this call from the ump right there. Pure luck Pickett didn't gather and goal in this instance which is clearly what the umpire was hoping for.

Another thing I'd add, still early days, yes but I have stated this before Van Rooyen is a tad overrated. I watched him carefully tonight he is slow, tractor-like. Apart from that first mark and goal, he didn't do much. Very robotic in his movement and doesn't work hard enough.

I know early on many questioned Tom brown but geez has he come on. Another good game tonight and have very high hopes for him.

Being in the game late in the 3rd was probably a pass for me. Those 2 goals we gave up in the 3rd, Youngs? handball to Broad and then Nanks turnover. As well as Dow hitting the post. Should have been closer, although never going to win.

Our forward line is a tough watch, can we keep giving everything for no reward? Just worry it could fall away badly as soon as next week without the big build up.

Daniel and Shai poor early then very good second and third. Our wings were good and stopped their transition for a lot of the game. Hugo has surely taken the spot of McIntosh now and earnt a run of games.

Hopper getting injured again is brutal.

Another thing I'd add, still early days, yes but I have stated this before Van Rooyen is a tad overrated. I watched him carefully tonight he is slow, tractor-like. Apart from that first mark and goal, he didn't do much. Very robotic in his movement and doesn't work hard enough.

I know early on many questioned Tom brown but geez has he come on. Another good game tonight and have very high hopes for him.

If you take Van Rooyens games against us out last season, has he really done a lot? Having said that we dont have a forward line at all.

Werent Adelaide offering Petty crazy deals because of one game against us last season? He is awful as a forward, dees should have taken it.

If you take Van Rooyens games against us out last season, has he really done a lot? Having said that we dont have a forward line at all.

Werent Adelaide offering Petty crazy deals because of one game against us last season? He is awful as a forward, dees should have taken it.
Was just about to respond to your previous post but you clarified here.

Throw in Lynch and Balta and we look a lot more dangerous. Lefau has been great but it's his 6th game and he's our #1 target.

Lynch/Balta up forward. Taranto/Hopper/Prestia/Ross into the middle. Gibcus down back. That's a third of our team clear best 22 players who are all injured. If we had a decent run at it we probably beat Carlton/St Kilda/WC and are 4/3 or 5/2.

It's not all doom and gloom. Fingers crossed next year we don't get half our best team all out, plus experience into younger guys and it'll be a quick bounce.

He also won 3 flags there. You forgot that part. He lost confidence like the rest of them did. He has it back - try something different

What part of this current structure are you loving mate? whats the harm at this point of trying different structures? it's almost creepy at this point how much you want things to stay the same. We just lost by 7 goals 2 weeks in a row, once to the Eagles & now the Dee's. Don't you think it might be time to....zag? :tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:
Absolutely not. Dan Rioli is a far far better player off the half back line. Would be ridiculous to chuck him back in the position where he was having no impact

Autopsy Rd 7 ANZAC eve roast and toast changes for Freo