• J. Graham

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • S. Campbell

Votes: 1 0.8%
  • K. McIntosh (sub)

Votes: 0 0.0%

I think Campbell will be a player but he's dropped off, him and Mansell have played 7 and 6 games this year. Time to give Cumbo, Coulthard, Green some opportunities. Our fwd line looks so unlikely to get it done I actually wouldn't mind Brown trialled there and Ryan in for Naismith. He couldn't even do the simple task of fist the ball against much shorter defenders. And that shot at goal missed by 30m. Come on down pick 1.

Crayfish can’t play again , close to worst RFc player in modern times , some good performances from young fellas
Dow
Banks
Young
Brown
Mrj
We defended well , as was my concern pre season , our ability in f50 is just too light on
We must find a spot for sonz and Ryan , no excuses when we re losing every week with an experienced side in and drop Campbell for coult , his ball use needs some attention, it’s woeful

Naismith wasn’t that bad but he’s a ruck not a forward.

Hopper was BOG by a mile until the injury.

Pickett had a great game tagging Trac.

It was really pleasing that Jnr , Hugo and Dow were our better players. More of that please.

I hate saying this but we really are better off not winning another game but just show glimpses via these kids.

If we finished 10th this season we will likely be without Dusty, Grimes and potentially Baker/Broad next year it’s a lot of experience that will go out so the sooner we bottom out and get ourselves a quality first round pick the better. Especially now before Tasmania come in.

I saw Melbourne players throw it. No free. I saw Melbourne players push us in the back. No free. I saw Melbourne players dive. No free. I saw Melbourne players drop the ball. No free.
I saw a Dee player push the ball out after the Tiger marked it! No Mark or Free...

Changes;
Out: Hopper, Graham, Naismith
In: Sonsie (only if playing midfield), Short (if fit), Balta (if fit)
Naismith was really poor. May as well play Ryan.
Sad for Hopper. but didn't take Sonze long to get another chance. In the middle not the fwd pocket

JG fwd pocket , rest Campbell

Hopper like lynch and prestia has legs of a 65yo , they’re all well past the demands of afl footy and none have another 20 games in them , sack/delist/trade , the lot of em, pity but it’s business
The only thing against Hopper are the injuries. His performance was anything but delist or trade worthy.

And to think Cumbo still can't get a game. A few weeks ago everyone was saying Hugo doesn't deserve to play but his game tonight was very good. The same could happen to Cumbo given some encouragement and confidence. But Kosi will be rushed in because of his amazing effort today FFS.
Hugo's VFL very good form at half back warranted the promotion, Couthhard had a good game too watch him come in.

The Tigers dynasty from 2017-20 played with the footy world where Richmond were supposed to be crud. Umpires did their best to help the non-Tiger footy world keep us down where we belonged, but we were too good. The footy world isn’t going to risk letting us up off the canvas for a few more years yet at least.

Umpires are human and most of them hate how Richmond was a roaring success as all non-Tiger supporters did …. they won’t let it happen again if they can help it… it’s called subconscious bias and it’s very real. The stats over 8-years don’t lie.

And if Rancey had not done his knee and retired from the game we prolly could have snagged one more GF...then we really would have been reamed!

They were reaming us from 2017-2019 though …

It’s our success. No coincidence that it started from 2017. Richmond were supposed to be crap … everyone preferred their footy life that way, and umpires are only human and most would have bloody annoying Tiger friends.

I’m telling you, that’s what causes the subconscious bias… a deep seated desire to put us back in our place and to never let 2017-20 happen again.

the injury toll is costing us games & seasons

not the free kick stat.

Tonight’s game had a lot more positives than negatives for me.

This year is all about unearthing senior quality players for the future. Just who has the qualities to be part of our best-25 into the future.

This year has been brilliant for that. End of 2023 I’d have said Hugo, MRJ and Mansell were long odds to be listed in 2025. And Dow was 50/50. Hugo showed tonight he’s a better option than Macca already and could be a decent wingman. Dow showed enough to suggest he may just make it. MRJ has proven me wrong and keeps building on his game week after week - apologies MRJ. Mansell has had moments this year and looks to have a future.

Then there’s T Brown who looks like being really good. Miller is a keeper in a key defensive post. Lefau has great promise and Seth Campbell has shown good signs early in the year. Even Sonsie is now dominating VFL and Macaullife and Kaleb Smith look really promising.

So in terms of players who were looking like out the door at end of 2023 or were largely unknown quantities as they hadn’t played much or at all, in 7 rounds we’ve ‘unearthed’ the following players who might just be long term players :

Campbell
Lefau
MRJ
Miller
Mansell
Hugo
Macaullife
Sonsie
Brown
Dow
K Smith
Tresize

From AFl or VFL form I’m now more confident on every player in the list above than i was 7-games ago before the season started.

At this stage Banks and Clarke (injured) are the ones I’d like to see more from. And Young has regressed from 2023, so I’m not more confident in him than I was but I think he will make the grade long term.

It’s hard to see now, but I believe with our strong draft hand the future is very bright once we get a reasonable run with injury. Keeping Saints to 11 at half time, Port to 39, Demons to 23 shows great signs for the future .. we just can’t sustain it as we are too undermanned.

Good post but I thought Young bounced back well from recent poor game. I think Miller missed a few targets by foot.

These campaigners are asking for more money to clean some bricks and the club's gone back to being amateur hour. Fcuk off and sort these injuries out.
Yeah, I'm not giving them any money anymore. until they fix the issues at the club.

Brendon Gale has become a liability at the club since there has been talk of him with one foot out the door.

Sonise for Hopper is obvious.

Ryan for Naismith, who was way out of his depth skill wise. Time to put Ryan deep and move Dusty up the ground.

Smith has to come in, I would say for MacIntosh. Time for Yze to stamp some of his own authority on the team, something I feel he has been a bit reticent to do.

Need to get some games into the young guys before the senior players come back and somebody makes way. I don't want to see MacIntosh and Graham still in the side when good players start returning, at the expense of the younger players. This is now officially a development year, which will not make us weaker, as Hugo showed last night.

the injury toll is costing us games & seasons

not the free kick stat.
Did anyone see the footage of the ball bouncing off the boundary umpire leg near Melbournes Behind Post and going back into play where Melbourne after a number of handballs kicked a goal. Differential of 40 Free Kicks does not prompt Richmond to ask AFL for a reason ?

Hopper like lynch and prestia has legs of a 65yo , they’re all well past the demands of afl footy and none have another 20 games in them , sack/delist/trade , the lot of em, pity but it’s business
Its April a long way to go, but its officially another season lost to an "injury ravaged" playing list. Get KPMG in to audit.

Its the other side of the coin of long deals.

I reckon Prestia's next injury he pulls the pin. I hope there are injury retirement clauses.

Positives last night.

Dow - hands in close and quick changes of direction in traffic. Impressive and lot to work with.
Maurice JNR - look what happens when a new coach shows faith and backs a young kid to play more midfield time instead of guarding space.
Ralph Smith - his best game by a mile and rewarded for good attitude and VFL form. Keep it up son and that wing spot could be yours.

Next week.

Sonsie in for Hopper (injured)
Ryan for Naismith (omitted) - got to reward Ryan's VFL form
Kmac time for a spell in VFL. I'm thinking Smith makes his debut.
Coulthard would love to give him a crack but who comes out. Maybe Campbell who is great but maybe needs a spell as the kids can get tired. Long season.

Yze calls out Meehan! The tape on Hoppers knee was too tight!

Mate, I'm no expert but rule 101 from my playing days. NEVER tape up knee joints too tight. Stabilises the knee but restricts muscle movement in the legs for explosive running and something has to give. Time for Meehan to be given his marching orders. It's friggin amateur hour in our medical room !!!!

I'm sure hopper does but he isn't getting any where near the right medical care

Mate, I'm no expert but rule 101 from my playing days. NEVER tape up knee joints too tight. Restricts muscle movement in the legs and something has to give. Time for Meehan to be given his marching orders. It's friggin amateur hour in our medical room !!!!

Would meehan be the one applying tape though?

Autopsy Rd 7 ANZAC eve roast and toast changes for Freo