Discussion 2008 Trade/Draft/Player List Mega Thread

2008 Draft Thread

2008 NAB AFL Draft key dates

Monday October 6 -- Commencement of 2008 AFL exchange period.
Friday, October 10 (2pm) -- Conclusion of 2008 AFL exchange period.

Saturday, November 29 (10am) -- 2008 NAB AFL Draft selection meeting (Telstra Dome).

Tuesday, December 16 (10am) -- 2008 NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft selection meeting
Tuesday, December 16 (10.30am) -- 2008 NAB AFL Rookie Draft selection meeting.

More Here

Profiles On 150 Different Players

Our Picks -
13, 31, 47, 63, 79, 95

Draft Camp Results -

REPEAT SPRINTS – 6 x 30 metres
This test involves players running 6 x 30 metres sprints with a 20-second time cycle. For example, if the player runs 30 metres in 4.30 seconds, he then has 15.30 seconds to recover, before starting his next 30-metre sprint.

1 – Ryan Schoenmakers (Norwood, SA – medium forward) – 24.82 seconds
2 – Sam Blease (Eastern Ranges, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 24.97
Matthew DeBoer (Claremont, WA – medium midfielder) – 24.97
4 – Nick Naitanui (Swan Districts, WA – ruckman) – 25.10
James Strauss (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – medium midfielder) – 25.10
6 – Ashley Smith – (Dandenong Stingrays, VIC – medium defender) – 25.14
7 – Stephen Hill (West Perth, WA – small/medium midfielder) – 25.44
Jack Watts (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 25.44
9 – Alistair Smith (Perth, WA – small/medium midfielder) – 25.48
10 – Taylor Hunt (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – medium defender) – 25.49
11 – Rory Sloane (Eastern Ranges, VIC – medium defender) – 25.57
12 – Tom Lynch (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 25.67
13 – Chris Yarran (Swan Districts, WA – medium forward) – 25.74

HEIGHT – tallest players at the draft camp
1 – Ayce Cordy (Geelong Falcons, VIC – ruckman) – 201.7cm
2 – Nick Naitanui (Swan Districts, WA – ruckman) – 200.9cm
3 – Rhys Stanley (West Adelaide, SA – ruckman) – 200.4cm
4 – Tyrone Vickery (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – ruckman) – 200.0cm
5 – Jordan Roughead (North Ballarat Rebels, VIC – ruckman) – 199.7cm
6 – Bart McCulloch (Tassie Mariners, TAS – ruckman) – 198.9cm
7 – Tom Hill (Northern Knights, VIC – ruckman) – 198.5cm
8 – Jackson Trengove (Calder Cannons, VIC – tall forward) – 196.5cm
9 – Shaun McKernan (Calder Cannons, VIC – ruckman) – 196.0cm
10 – Jack Watts (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 195.8cm

WEIGHT – heaviest players at the draft camp

1 – Matthew Martin (West Adelaide, SA – tall defender) – 99.35kg
2 – Shaun McKernan (Calder Cannons, VIC – ruckman) – 94.30kg
3 – Nick Naitanui (Swan Districts, WA – ruckman) – 93.90kg
4 – Jordan Lisle (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – tall forward) – 92.75kg
5 – Micheal Hurley (Northern Knights, VIC – tall defender) – 91.80kg
6 – Jordan Roughead (North Ballarat Rebels, VIC – ruckman) – 91.75kg
7 – Clancee Pearce (Swan Districts, WA – medium defender) – 89.75kg
8 – Tyrone Vickery (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – ruckman) – 88.80kg
Rhys Stanley (West Adelaide, SA – ruckman) – 88.80kg
10 – Jackson Trengove (Calder Cannons, VIC – tall forward) – 88.50kg
AGILITY
This is a slalom-type course where players change directions. The specially-designed circuit, roughly 40 metres in total, is set out in a zig-zag pattern.

1 – Stephen Hill (West Perth, WA – small/medium midfielder) – 7.77 seconds – draft camp record
2 – Jack Watts (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 8.03
3 – James Strauss (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – medium midfielder) – 8.18
4 – Nick Suban (North Ballarat Rebels, VIC – medium midfielder) – 8.25
5 – Ayce Cordy (Geelong Falcons, VIC – ruckman) – 8.27
6 – Shaun McKernan (Calder Cannons, VIC – ruckman) – 8.31
7 – Neville Jetta (Swan Districts, WA – medium forward) – 8.32
Dan Hannebery (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 8.32
9 – Luke Shuey (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – medium midfielder) – 8.34
10 – Liam Jones (Tassie Mariners, TAS – tall forward) – 8.35
THREE-KM TIME TRIAL
This is a straight out three-km time-trial held in racing conditions around the athletics track.

1 – Dan Hannebery (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 10min 17sec
2 – Steele Sidebottom (Murray Bushrangers, VIC – medium defender) – 10.32
3 – Sam McGarry (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – medium defender) – 10.41
4 – Tyson Slattery (West Adelaide, SA – medium defender) – 10.42
5 – Chris Hall (Eagles, SA – small/medium midfielder) – 10.42
6 – Michael Gugliotta (Nightcliff, NT – tall defender) – 10.43
7 – Rory Sloane (Eastern Ranges, VIC – medium defender) – 10.44
8 – Matthew DeBoer (Claremont, WA – medium midfielder) – 10.53
9 – Jarrad Blight (Swan Districts, WA – medium defender) – 10.57
10 – Matthew Broadbent (Eagles, SA – tall defender) – 10.57

STANDING VERTICAL JUMP
This is a stand and jump test, with the best results from the three or four jumps recorded. To record the jump, a vertex machine is used. A player must slap the highest possible slat on this machine for the best jump to be recorded. Each slat is roughly a centimetre apart.

1 – Nick Naitanui (Swan Districts, WA – ruckman) – 78cm
2 – Shaun McKernan (Calder Cannons, VIC – ruckman) – 74cm
3 – Tom Swift (Claremont, WA – medium midfielder) – 72cm
Stephen Hill (West Perth, WA – small/medium midfielder) – 72cm
5 – Jack Watts (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 70cm
Sam Blease (Eastern Ranges, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 70cm
7 – Ryan Schoenmakers (Norwood, SA – medium forward) – 69cm
Nick Heyne (Gippsland Power, VIC – medium forward) – 69cm
Bryce Carroll (Western Jets, VIC – medium forward) – 69cm
10 – Michael Gugliotta (Nightcliff, NT – tall defender) – 67cm
Ashley Smith (Dandenong Stingrays, VIC – medium defender) – 67cm
Alistair Smith (Perth, WA – small/medium midfielder) – 67cm

RUNNING VERTICAL JUMP

Winner – Nick Naitanui (Swan Districts, WA – ruckman) – 1.02 metres
This record equalled Brisbane Lion Jared Brennan
20-METRE SPRINT
A straight out 20-metre sprint test, with the best time recorded from three attempts.

1 – Ashley Smith (Dandenong Stingrays, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 2.80 seconds – Just missed out on the record held by Port Adelaide's Danyle Pearce (2.79 sec)
2 – Jack Watts – (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 2.82
3 – Stephen Hill (West Perth, WA – small/medium midfielder) – 2.83
4 – Nick Naitanui (Swan Districts, WA – ruckman) – 2.86
5 – Tom Swift (Claremont, WA – medium midfielder) – 2.89
6 – Ryan Schoenmakers (Norwood, SA – medium forward) – 2.90
7 – Nick Heyne (Gippsland Power, VIC – medium forward) – 2.91
Sam Blease (Eastern Ranges, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 2.91
9 – Luke Shuey (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – medium midfielder) – 2.92
Taylor Hunt (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – medium defender) – 2.92
Matthew DeBoer (Claremont, WA – medium midfielder) – 2.92

SHUTTLE RUN (AKA BEEP TEST)
The shuttle run is held on the basketball courts. Players must run 20 metres before hearing a beep. It starts off slowly and builds up rapidly, with players increasing their pace significantly. The beeps get quicker each time the players progress. It is a last man standing test. Each player gets one warning – if they miss one beep – they cannot afford to miss another one, as they will be disqualified from the shuttle run. An average draft camp run is level 13.3. A very good level is 14-plus and 15-plus is rare.

1 – Chris Hall (Eagles, SA – small/medium midfielder) – Level 14.6
2 – Rory Sloane (Eastern Ranges, VIC – medium defender) – 14.5
Steele Sidebottom (Murray Bushrangers, VIC – medium defender) – 14.5
4 – Luke Shuey (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – medium midfielder) – 14.4
5 – Jarrad Blight (Swan Districts, WA – medium defender) – 14.3
Tyson Slattery (West Adelaide, SA – medium defender) – 14.3
7 – Dan Hannebery (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 14.2
Ian Richardson (Claremont, WA – medium forward) – 14.2
9 – Tom Lynch (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 14.1
Tom Swift (Claremont, WA – medium midfielder) – 14.1

Some names the rumour mill has thrown up for trade are:

Andrew Lovett <<We've been "linked" to him
Daniel Kerr << We're linked as well.
Ben McKinley
Jonathon Griffin
Robert Warnock
Jonathon Brown
Alan Didak
Heath Shaw
Rhyce Shaw

Don't want us to trade away 1st and 2nd round picks. Ultimate goal would be to gain another top 25 pick.

Where's Kosi at? Considered the barometer of the side but just seems to can't find his spot that he owns. Not a very good ruck, gets lost up forward, to slow for backman.

Players coming out of contract:
#22 Shane Birss = end of 2008
#44 Stephen Milne = end of 2008
#36 Jarryd Allen = end of 2008
#30 Brad Howard = end of 2008
#8 Max Hudghton = end of 2008
#15 Michael Gardiner = end of 2008
#6 Leigh Fisher = end of 2008
#33 James Gwilt = end of 2008
#3 Xavier Clarke = end of 2008
#21 Matthew Ferguson = end of 2008
#38 Clinton Jones = end of 2008
#9 Fraser Gehrig = end of 2008
#28 Charlie Gardiner = 2008

Players coming out of contract:
#22 Shane Birss = end of 2008
#44 Stephen Milne = end of 2008
#36 Jarryd Allen = end of 2008
#30 Brad Howard = end of 2008
#8 Max Hudghton = end of 2008
#15 Michael Gardiner = end of 2008
#6 Leigh Fisher = end of 2008
#33 James Gwilt = end of 2008
#3 Xavier Clarke = end of 2008
#21 Matthew Ferguson = end of 2008
#38 Clinton Jones = end of 2008
#9 Fraser Gehrig = end of 2008
#28 Charlie Gardiner = 2008

Here's what I mean here:

• I suspect Maxy and Fraser are gone :(.Would love Max to go around again, and I'm hopeful that the fact he hasn't already announced it is a good sign.
  • I think Milney, Xav, Jonesy are all shoe ins to stay :thumbsu:.
  • I think Leigh Fisher, Fergie and Chuck are stuffeded :thumbsdown:.
  • I think Gardiner and Birss could go either way :confused:. Personally, I'd be absolutely ropeable if Birss got ditched - absolutely criminal.
  • Gwilt, Allen and Howard are probably relatively safe :eek:, but not entirely. Patience is wearing thin for Howard, Gwilt had better continue playing well, and Allen could be trade-bait.

Here's what I mean here:

• I suspect Maxy and Fraser are gone :(.Would love Max to go around again, and I'm hopeful that the fact he hasn't already announced it is a good sign.
  • I think Milney, Xav, Jonesy are all shoe ins to stay :thumbsu:.
  • I think Leigh Fisher, Fergie and Chuck are stuffeded :thumbsdown:.
  • I think Gardiner and Birss could go either way :confused:. Personally, I'd be absolutely ropeable if Birss got ditched - absolutely criminal.
  • Gwilt, Allen and Howard are probably relatively safe :eek:, but not entirely. Patience is wearing thin for Howard, Gwilt had better continue playing well, and Allen could be trade-bait.

Agree with everything there except I'm pretty sure M.Gardiner is gone.

When i watched the TAC RR the other day i really liked the look of Sam Blease. Looks like an inside/outside player with good pace and good skills, doesn't get it a heap but makes his possies count.

Also possibe trades I've been thing of...
Dal Santo - Didak (straight swap)
Kossie - top 25 pick
Dal Santo - Kerr (we may have to chuck in a draft pick)
R.Clarke/Gwilt - Late 3rd rounder

P.S. Do people reckon King is going to reitre??

Think Gardi is highly rated by the club and will continue, and would think King would have one more noting his form and also because we need him whilst Macca is developing and Kosi is struggling.

Think my man Rixy is a goner, and Chucky will be lucky to survive (but there's still time for him it seems to change people's minds). Raph will probably be supported by the club, and I can't see anyone looking to pick him up.

Fiora has a contract for '09, so would surprise to see him delisted (but I guess it did happen to Mini).

Fergie and Leigh Fish will obviously be looked at very closely.

Hope Max is still up for it, as if he stays and Goose comes up with Bakes and Attard our back six would be as good as just about anyone in the league.

I also think Howard is safe (based on comments coming out of the club).

Agree with everything there except I'm pretty sure M.Gardiner is gone.

When i watched the TAC RR the other day i really liked the look of Sam Blease. Looks like an inside/outside player with good pace and good skills, doesn't get it a heap but makes his possies count.

I jumped on this guy straight away when I saw him in the final game of the champs. He chased down an opponent from 30m away. He then laid a tackle, forced the ball free, pounced on it, took off and kick a goal from 50m on the run. Very impressive stuff.

He is pretty skinny, but given contested football seems a thing of the past, he would easily have a role.

I jumped on this guy straight away when I saw him in the final game of the champs. He chased down an opponent from 30m away. He then laid a tackle, forced the ball free, pounced on it, took off and kick a goal from 50m on the run. Very impressive stuff.

He is pretty skinny, but given contested football seems a thing of the past, he would easily have a role.

hahaha that's the exact same play that got me on the bandwagon:p

I hope saints are looking for pace in the draft. Lovett would be a nice inclussion. I wonder what we would have to give for him and why would the dons wanna get rid of him?

I'd love to get him but I really dont think we should be trading any picks in the next 2 years, At most a 3rd rounder, but preferably a 4th round pick. That's probably not gonna be enough.

If he was younger, then yeah. But at 26...

Draft Smokey Mitch Brown, not the WCE player, but the Sandringham Dragons listed M.Brown from Mentone Grammar. Dominated AGS season along with AGS vs APS Rep. match kicking 8 goals for the AGS.
KPP, once he gets some weight on him could be very handy and very dangerous, could allow rooey to move up into the play a bit more and if king leaves kosi goes back into the ruck....things just just work well for the saints over the next few years...yeh and Armitage2Riewoldt my names mark...you?

Knights has cracked down on off-field indisgretions and Lovett has a few of those next to his name. However he is a ripping player and i think that Lovett + second or third rounder for Dal Santo would be a more than fair trade.

Draft Smokey Mitch Brown, not the WCE player, but the Sandringham Dragons listed M.Brown from Mentone Grammar. Dominated AGS season along with AGS vs APS Rep. match kicking 8 goals for the AGS.
KPP, once he gets some weight on him could be very handy and very dangerous, could allow rooey to move up into the play a bit more and if king leaves kosi goes back into the ruck....things just just work well for the saints over the next few years...yeh and Armitage2Riewoldt my names mark...you?
Are you sure it's not Mitch Brown? :p

Nah seriously though he sounds good. One bloke I'd like to see us pick up is Mitch Robinson, dominated at the U18 carnival and I've seen him first hand and he is an absolute gun, Adam Cooney like (even a ranga to match). Got a bit of pace on him too which we need. Plus St. Kilda needs more Tasmanians to win the flag, Roo is a good start but we need a Stewart to kick it our Baldock :thumbsu:

Here's what i'm thinking:

1st pick: Jackson Trengrove or Mitch Robinson
2nd pick: Sam Blease, Lewis Johnstone or Neville Jetta
Blease and Jetta have speed to burn. Absolutley explosive pace, just what we need. Jetta is more a small forward who can have a run in the midfield. Where as Blease is the opposite, mid who can go forward. Would definatly go with Johnstone if we opt for a midfielder for our 1st pick. He's a FF/CHF who also has the engine and skills to have a run in the midfield. Can get a bit angry and lose his cool.

Would be very happy with anyone of them :cool::thumbsu:

3rd and 4th round i have NFI, just throwing some names up.

3rd pick: Alex Stopp, Kade Klemke or Andrew Browne
Although we have more than enough Stopp and Klemke are both rebound half backs who can be thrown in the midfield. Both have good skills and footy smarts. Browne i'm basing on size alone. 202cm 106kg GIANT. Of coursemobility is a bit of an issue as is his kicking skills. But look at the size of him already.
4th pick: Alex Silvagni, Michael Still
I think we've gone through COSOS enough. Reason to take him in the National Draft would be based on the fact he's already dominating VFL and is still only 21/22. Still is a bottom aged KPP, at 192cm he is very athletic and mobile player who knows how to take a grab.

I spoke to Stephen Hill a couple of weeks after the carnival, he said the 15km running thing wasn't quite correct as it included the warm-up and everything.. But very modest guy and hope he has a great career with who ever picks him up ( Please sainters,please).
I was privileged enough to see him play his junior career in my brothers team and the club i play for. So exciting to watch..has got speed,great kick,huge tank and a few tricks up his sleeve... Just when you think a game couldn't get much better ( as i thought when there team was dominating the competition) Hilly would pull out a huge hanger.. so just watch out for a car-grabbing mark from Hilly..

Having said all that I hope we take him in the draft as well as someone with mega mega mega mega seed - ie Jetta,Yarren..
and also pick up Silvagni for the future back-line and Lewee Johnstone for a young partner-in-crime for Roo...:thumbsu:

Well lets hope the boys can play all the way deep into september and most importantly.. DO IT 4 HARVES... (btw merchandise is great if anyone on BF was involved with the idea)

GO SAINTS

S407F:thumbsu:

I come from Waverly bearing pearls of wisdom that could assist you Saints. 3 players from Hawthorn could suit your needs very nicely.

Tim Boyle - KP Forward - Not given enough opportunity with Buddy and Roughead, but has proved that we can play. Has a very strong mark. See Hawks vs Eagles at Tassie last year.

Tim Clarke - Very fast and capable mid, who like Boyle, is finding it hard to get into the team. Could be a cheap pickup

Ben Mcglynn - Was a very valuable part of the team for Hawthorn last season, but can't seem to get into the team either. Is an in and under player, and like Clarke, is very quick on his feet

Here's what i'm thinking:

1st pick: Jackson Trengrove or Mitch Robinson
2nd pick: Sam Blease, Lewis Johnstone or Neville Jetta
Blease and Jetta have speed to burn. Absolutley explosive pace, just what we need. Jetta is more a small forward who can have a run in the midfield. Where as Blease is the opposite, mid who can go forward. Would definatly go with Johnstone if we opt for a midfielder for our 1st pick. He's a FF/CHF who also has the engine and skills to have a run in the midfield. Can get a bit angry and lose his cool.

Would be very happy with anyone of them :cool::thumbsu:

3rd and 4th round i have NFI, just throwing some names up.

3rd pick: Alex Stopp, Kade Klemke or Andrew Browne
Although we have more than enough Stopp and Klemke are both rebound half backs who can be thrown in the midfield. Both have good skills and footy smarts. Browne i'm basing on size alone. 202cm 106kg GIANT. Of coursemobility is a bit of an issue as is his kicking skills. But look at the size of him already.
4th pick: Alex Silvagni, Michael Still
I think we've gone through COSOS enough. Reason to take him in the National Draft would be based on the fact he's already dominating VFL and is still only 21/22. Still is a bottom aged KPP, at 192cm he is very athletic and mobile player who knows how to take a grab.

I agree with your thinking here.

Round 1.
From the descriptions at the start of the thread I singled out the same two first round picks as you.

Round 2.
I would tend to go for someone like Cornelus for a second round pick. ( According to the Squizzy theory of relativity - smaller player's can be picked up through the rookie draft ).

Round 3.
I also have NFI but how good would it be to have a defender called Stopp.
Seriously I think some of our other players ( Chips, BJ , Gram ) could be used in a more flexible way if we had more good defenders to Choose from. ( Also Max may not be in the team by the time these guys get a game).

Round 4.
Alex Silvagni could be someone we can use right away. A better option than Gwilt or R Clarke because he has the right mindset for a defender.
Already a better full back than Ferfuson or Allen.

I come from Waverly bearing pearls of wisdom that could assist you Saints. 3 players from Hawthorn could suit your needs very nicely.

Tim Boyle - KP Forward - Not given enough opportunity with Buddy and Roughead, but has proved that we can play. Has a very strong mark. See Hawks vs Eagles at Tassie last year.

Tim Clarke - Very fast and capable mid, who like Boyle, is finding it hard to get into the team. Could be a cheap pickup

Ben Mcglynn - Was a very valuable part of the team for Hawthorn last season, but can't seem to get into the team either. Is an in and under player, and like Clarke, is very quick on his feet

McGlynn has some slight merit.....but you are absolutely kidding yourself on the other two.

Tim Boyle is a worse version of Charlie Gardiner.

Tim Clarke doesn't have pace, nor skill. You've be lucky to get a plastic football for him.

Knights has cracked down on off-field indisgretions and Lovett has a few of those next to his name. However he is a ripping player and i think that Lovett + second or third rounder for Dal Santo would be a more than fair trade.

LOL good try idiot :thumbsu:

how about we give you Raph Clarke and you give us one of your best young players...oh wait, sorry you dont have any :confused:

Discussion 2008 Trade/Draft/Player List Mega Thread