Discussion 2008 Trade/Draft/Player List Mega Thread

You keep telling yourself that. If your window is indeed for the next few years Lovett would be an ideal pick up.
i was sticking up for lovett, i dont no about you but id rather a snack pack than i half eaten banana you moron, no sens of comedy of the billy madison variety??

Couldn't do any worse than Kosi hey?

Allen, McEvoy and Ferguson in 08 - 6 games for 0 goals
Kosi in 08 - 20 games for 27 goals

As dissappointing as Kosi has been, the fact is he's a far better option as a tall forward than anyone on our list apart from Reiwoldt obviously. Add his part time rucking and I'd say he's fairly important. If we do trade Kosi it has to somehow involve a decent tall forward because otherwise our forward structure will be even more rooted than it is now.

Kosi = 8yrs at AFL level. 8 yrs of potential.

Allen & McEvoy= Have been there for 5 mins

You figure out what I am trying to say here Tassie

not sure if i can forgive you for not understanding adam sandler brilliance...:rolleyes:
Thought you were being facetious. The point stands though. Saints desperately need a midfielder that has elite pace. If Lyon believes you can have a crack at a flag in the next few years then he may be willing to trade for Lovett. Asking price is apparently a late first rounder.

All for lovett. scenery change might help him... get him in line..

nobody will be getting any firs rounders here, they are too valuable..

3rd rounder and a player for mine...gee we could do with the pace

which player, umm.....X clarke? change of scenery could help him too.. different game plan or something.. the kid can play, but not at moorabbin

Clarke is a proven dud. Pass. 1st rounders are very valuable this year. Might be unrealistic. Id be hoping for top 25. No point letting him go if we don't get a deal within the top 25. He is contracted after all.

yeh and if him and raph get split up they might stop looking for each other....xav played his best footy when raph wasnt there...harsh but IMO its true..

A page wasted worrying about Lovett for goodness sake!
Come on!
Should we have a go for Cousins? And what would it cost us?
well correct me if im wrong but wouldnt we just have to draft cousins,?? due to him not being afl listed so no trade neccesary?? so i dont no how the Pre season draft works so im not sure how we would get him...

Someone answer me this question.

Which would you rather have?

1. Kosi+Dal+Pick12 with the added extra of Ben Cousins
or
2. Just Daniel Kerr

Would take Ben Cousins with pick 45 over Kerr everyday of the week.
With the new GC team coming in to cherry pick the draft clubs will be stocking up on kids. I am confident no club would take Cousins with their 2nd round pick. 3rd round could be interesting, Collingwood, Richmond, Carlton all have picks before us and could grab him. But do they take the risk? St Kilda have proved they can put a player back on the straight and narrow. M. Gardiner has hardly copped a mention in 2 years. Apparantly too, Ben Cousins was very close to being traded to us last year.... and if Gardi does go on....

I was of the opinion that Cousins was only allowed to nominate for the pre-season draft, or is it that he can only do the November and not pre-season? I think it's one or the other.

From the game against Geelong, I often though how handy another key defender would be.
Hopefully we regain Maguire next year (signs look promising), however if he can't get back to his best who should we look at come draft time??

IMO the following players should be looked at.

Jon Thompson: 6'4 CHB 91 KG. Aged 18. "Plays CHB in SAFL very agile. Been in the best in the seniors 7 times this season already.
Also very quick and can play on smalls as well as talls. His leap is also one of the best in the SAFL."

Jackson Trengrove:196cm, 77kg
-Good skills
-Good pace/ work rate
-Great contested mark
-Footy smarts/ versitile

Jordan Lisle: 196cm, 87kg
-Good mark
-Good pace
-Good skills/ long kick
-Versitile

All would be an ideal fit in the back half for us, helps to free up Chips, Gram and BJ.

Any thoughts???

From the game against Geelong, I often though how handy another key defender would be.
Hopefully we regain Maguire next year (signs look promising), however if he can't get back to his best who should we look at come draft time??

IMO the following players should be looked at.

Jon Thompson: 6'4 CHB 91 KG. Aged 18. "Plays CHB in SAFL very agile. Been in the best in the seniors 7 times this season already.
Also very quick and can play on smalls as well as talls. His leap is also one of the best in the SAFL."

Jackson Trengrove:196cm, 77kg
-Good skills
-Good pace/ work rate
-Great contested mark
-Footy smarts/ versitile

Jordan Lisle: 196cm, 87kg
-Good mark
-Good pace
-Good skills/ long kick
-Versitile

All would be an ideal fit in the back half for us, helps to free up Chips, Gram and BJ.

Any thoughts???

We can absolutely use backmen. Ever noticed how the best seem to be the older players? Max, Fletcher, Scarlett....

or
2. Just Daniel Kerr

With the new GC team coming in to cherry pick the draft clubs will be stocking up on kids. I am confident no club would take Cousins with their 2nd round pick. 3rd round could be interesting, Collingwood, Richmond, Carlton all have picks before us and could grab him. But do they take the risk? St Kilda have proved they can put a player back on the straight and narrow. M. Gardiner has hardly copped a mention in 2 years. Apparantly too, Ben Cousins was very close to being traded to us last year.... and if Gardi does go on....

option 1 bench..
i totally agree.
i think we should get the best midfielder we can get with our first draft pick, we lack midfield depth..

or
2. Just Daniel Kerr

You have basically just stated that if you get kerr you have to give up kosi dal pick 12 and cousins. Geez you might of well said option
1. Jesus at FF or
2. lonely old kerr

Kerr = Pick 12 + player.
EVERYONE would take cousins over kerr duh!

i reckon 2nd rounder + player maybe boyd/cross

asking for to much?
I'd say too much, but we all rate our own players higher than other teams, fairer to say? I really rate Kosi and if you brought those fellas into it then I'd say a straight swap for Boyd, plus maybe us give you a 3rd rounder.

yeah that would be fair, nut i can't really see us trading kosi because it would ruin our structure completely, but weirder things have happened

See anything in Farren Ray? Heard you guys are on the look out for a bit more pace, hasn't shown much at the Bulldogs but has potential.

yer i reckon he goes alright but wouldn't give much up to get him.
he lowered his trade value after the weekends game though:p
played a shocker

yer i reckon he goes alright but wouldn't give much up to get him.
he lowered his trade value after the weekends game though:p
played a shocker
If we're talking trade value don't read some of the comments on our board because it might lower it a couple of rounds in the draft :p

Discussion 2008 Trade/Draft/Player List Mega Thread