List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread - Part IV

The carry on in here over Steven is a disgrace.
if we totally disregard the fact that the club genuinely wants what’s best for him as a person and instead focus on this as purely a football discussion...
*He has very serious mental health problems, that may mean he doesn’t play footy at AFL level again.
*He has done stuff all training for 8 months and is nowhere near fit. I guarantee he will tear muscles over this pre season if he participates.
*Even if we held him next year then he walks anyway post 2020, and we probably get nothing.
*Has anybody stopped to think that maybe we are more than happy to get $700K of his money off the books?
*The message it sends to managers and potential recruits is very positive.

Thanks for everything Stuv, all the best in life and you’ll always be welcome back at the Saints.

North walking away massive winners on that deal!

Really? I'm not so sure!

North loading up on a very compromised 2020 draft and banking on Melbourne being shit again. Melb have far too much talent and are likely to receive a favourable draw bottom 4 draw..

if we totally disregard the fact that the club genuinely wants what’s best for him as a person and instead focus on this as purely a football discussion...
*He has very serious mental health problems, that may mean he doesn’t play footy at AFL level again.
*He has done stuff all training for 8 months and is nowhere near fit. I guarantee he will tear muscles over this pre season if he participates.
*Even if we held him next year then he walks anyway post 2020, and we probably get nothing.
*Has anybody stopped to think that maybe we are more than happy to get $700K of his money off the books?

Thanks for everything Stuv, all the best in life and you’ll always be welcome back at the Saints.
You think the trade is fine, no worries. How on earth does that make people who wanting a bit more value a 'disgrace'?

Put it well MG, it's unfortunate they didn't pay more but his health is more important.

So if it's 59 does that mean we aren't paying anything?

I come in peace, but i ask Saints fans to think back to 2007, when a 28 y/o club captain and best and fairest winner joined St.Kilda (along with Charlie Gardiner) for pick 90 that year. Steven King was released at a peppercorn pick pretty much as a goodwill gesture as he'd been superseded by Ottens and the at that stage recently contract extended Mark Blake.

Now arguably Jack Steven has a bit more lustre in his trophy cabinet than Steven King did, but King was no slouch, and he only turned 29 in November 2007. If Geelong gets more out of Jack than the 46 games or so that King did, it may well be a surprise. Geelong was also burnt by Mitch Clarke, and i think the pick 58 is reasonable when you look at the trade from the King prism of a dozen years ago. Also, Stevie J, Chapman, James Kelly, Podsiadly and one or two others were released for negligible pick considerations too. It's just how it is, and i think it's fair in that context.
Apples and oranges. King was let go for nothing because he didn't have a place in the 22 anymore and the Cats didn't need him. He spent most of 07 in the VFL and as you say the Cats made the decision to prioritise Blake. Doesn't compare to Steven who is still very much best 22 and would start at centre bounce for us every game next year if he was mentally and physically fit.

Edit: should add Cats were reigning premiers with a looming salary cap squeeze not a rebuilding club who needs every bit of on field help they can get.

If that was the case why didn't we just do the deal last week instead of posturing about getting a better deal? I'm confused

Just got out of a meeting; refreshed AFL Trade Radio twitter and saw 'the trade'. Read it too quick and thought FMD we got reamed. Then saw that it is another hypothetical trade....

Respect :thumbsupemoji:

St Kilda did exactly what we said we’d do, looked after jack and got him to Geelong.

We were never going to get anything like what a fit jack Steven was worth to us, yeah Geelong worked us over and I’ll remember that.

I’ll wait to see the details of the deal but I hope we’re not paying much if anything of jacks salary, anyway good health to jack in the future.

I come in peace, but i ask Saints fans to think back to 2007, when a 28 y/o club captain and best and fairest winner joined St.Kilda (along with Charlie Gardiner) for pick 90 that year. Steven King was released at a peppercorn pick pretty much as a goodwill gesture as he'd been superseded by Ottens and the at that stage recently contract extended Mark Blake.

Now arguably Jack Steven has a bit more lustre in his trophy cabinet than Steven King did, but King was no slouch, and he only turned 29 in November 2007. If Geelong gets more out of Jack than the 46 games or so that King did, it may well be a surprise. Geelong was also burnt by Mitch Clarke, and i think the pick 58 is reasonable when you look at the trade from the King prism of a dozen years ago. Also, Stevie J, Chapman, James Kelly, Podsiadly and one or two others were released for negligible pick considerations too. It's just how it is, and i think it's fair in that context.

Blake's old man gave an ultimatum to your club and your club crumbled to the flog.
They did the right thing by King, in walking him to another club , rather than having to go through the draft.

Really? I'm not so sure!

North loading up on a very compromised 2020 draft and banking on Melbourne being shit again. Melb have far too much talent and are likely to receive a favourable draw bottom 4 draw..
Could be loading up for a go at good player - Josh Kelly

Yea i think North will be trying to pry out one of the GWS guns next year in either Kelly or Whitfield.

Spot on. Had #3 put on to my jumper after watching Stuv play VFL one week then tear it up against Dees and get Rising Star nom. My favourite player for years but given age, contribution this year and mental health. Take what we get an move on - hopefully most of the $$ is off our books.

The other part of this, as I was chatting to Richmond mates about possible structure etc, is that there’s 2 things from an outside that wins flags. The system of the 40 odd players and coaches. Regardless of how many KPD/KPF etc. and culture. First thing I thought of today is that players are going to sit back and say that St.Kilda really have their players best interests at heart. Tick from me. Move on.

Youre gorgeous.
Seriously if you believe that how many times have you paid a nigerian $20k a pop to get that lottery money? come on truth now

Bookmark this post and each time Jack Steven has 30 and 3 goals ill ask you whether you still believe that.

Wait, so Steven King lost his number 1 ruck spot and was behind Ottens and Blake? in other words he wouldn’t have played in 08 unless there’d been injuries. For a bloke who was captain then told he’d be behind 2 others I don’t blame him for wanting to leave. The difference with Jack is we know how good he is and we want him to stay because he makes us better. But he wants to leave for personal reasons. Also he is a 4 time best and fairest King won 1.

Seriously , some of the rants on here about Stuv are bordering on childish , A non of us know how Geelong will treat him , Stuv gave us some ripping highlights and sooner of later all good things come to an end , cant you just remember the good times and move on , its no point going off blaming Geelong or anyone else.
Things happen sometimes and its no ones fault so come on guys , No more throwing the toys out the cot.
We should be looking forwards not backwards.