List Mgmt. 2021 Trade & List Management Thread II - IN: CCJ

Thanks man I totally agree.
Thought about what I was posted and decided to take it down.

I didn’t mean to come off harsh. Every year I feel like people (myself included) get sucked into this trade period because of the massive media push so it makes it hard to stay level minded. The AFL and media organisations are trying to make the trade period a commercial market and it sucks everyone in. But there’s nothing happening. It’s weird. I reckon it’s got a bit of the pokies addictiveness about it. Just that pull of something bigs about to happen.

No worries mate.
October is my favourite time of the AFL year probably for the reasons you mentioned.

It's a possibility, I guess we know first hand about players having a late change of mind. But in this case his situation at Richmond won't change and I doubt that they will throw him 4 year deal. And if they are being arsehats about a trade then it'll likely reinforce to him that his decision was correct.

Not necessarily. Surely Richmond must realize Soldo is a spud and may decide to play CCJ as a second ruck ahead of him.

Whether it’s football or footy, the transfers/trade period is the biggest listenership of the year.

You only need to walk into a church to realise that hope is more important than actuality. Hope sells.

It’s the hope that kills you

I reckon we played a game in 2000 against Melbourne where we kicked 16 goals for the day, and I reckon 13 came in the 2nd quarter.

I remember the carry on during halftime of that match, like it was yesterday.

Hope…22 years later, I still think today, shocking for 2 years, hideous in fact, but at no point have we been closer to the feeling of that 2nd quarter in 2000 and the utter demolition of a good team.

Not sure why Xerri is getting his nose out of joint, if thats true - seems to me the longer term plan is to play both as ruck/forwards.

Agree he is still required... nobes plans to play four does he not ie two talls and two rucks. So at this stage xerri and tc are out but there will be injuries etc so don't have much cover

It has us all puzzled
The tigers seem to think they can hardball when all that’s going to do is get them nothing

I think they assume no one actually uses the psd.... despite them only needing to look at the last two trade periods where crows and Carlton have both got players for "free"

Has anyone seen anything to suggest that X actually wants out? As far as I'm aware, all that's been said is that St Kilda are interested. Regardless, the paying out on him in here is a bit over the top.

He asked his agent to make some enquires around town.

Knows he is 3rd or 4th banana next year if he stays at North.

Out of interest does anyone know how many Bananas are needed before it is officially a Bunch of Bananas?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Saints are Xerri serious

TRISTAN Xerri is the newest name on the ruck merry-goround.

St Kilda is on the hunt for a younger ruckman to partner Rowan Marshall beyond next year, which looms as veteran Paddy Ryder’s last in the AFL.

The Saints have homed in on North Melbourne’s Xerri after showing interest in Western Bulldog Jordon Sweet, who remains without a contract for 2022 and has been linked to West Coast.

North Melbourne would have to be willing to trade Xerri, 22, since he is not out of contract until the end of next year.

No movement is expected, though, until the Kangaroos sign Callum Coleman-Jones from Richmond.

Xerri averaged 21.5 disposals, 15.5 contested possessions, 5.5 clearances and 26.2 hitouts in six VFL games this year, but played only eight AFL matches.

They couldnt have. North would have bid, and then they have to use pick 2 on daicos.
Not necessarily. There’s a lot less certainty that they’ll match with 2, and you have to weigh up the possibility that he’d bail after a couple of years. I think we’d pick JHF regardless. That was a terrible trade for them no matter how you slice it. You also have to factor in all the other picks they are now burning to match. They’re blowing up multiple drafts on one player.

Out of interest does anyone know how many Bananas are needed before it is officially a Bunch of Bananas?

First in line should there be an injury and with comben's record he should feel pretty comfortable

They couldnt have. North would have bid, and then they have to use pick 2 on daicos.

We still don't know if we will bid, personally hoping we do for accountability.... maybe not for Darcy though. You think it would be a cert if they still had their 2nd

There must be different Bunchometers, or at least a sliding scale. For example, it's reasonable to imagine that 5 bananas would be called a bunch of bananas. But if you were handed 5 grapes on a stem, you'd be dirty if you were expecting a bunch of grapes :)

3 minimum. Because at 2, you have a pair or couple. No one says a trio of bananas

If the Pies had pick 2, NM would have to have been willing to take Daicos if putting a bid on him. It would basically give the Pies the choice between JHF and Daicos, match the bid if they want Daicos, if they rated JHF higher, let us take Daicos and take JHF with 2. If NM didn't genuinely rate Daicos higher and the Pies had pick 2, a bid at 1 just to clear our their points would have been a big risk and far less likely to happen, most likely they would have got a free hit at 2 and Daicos whenever the bid came after that..

Not necessarily. There’s a lot less certainty that they’ll match with 2, and you have to weigh up the possibility that he’d bail after a couple of years. I think we’d pick JHF regardless. That was a terrible trade for them no matter how you slice it. You also have to factor in all the other picks they are now burning to match. They’re blowing up multiple drafts on one player.
Strongly disagree. Lets leave it there.

We still don't know if we will bid, personally hoping we do for accountability.... maybe not for Darcy though. You think it would be a cert if they still had their 2nd

Thats my thinking. Anyway we move on

There must be different Bunchometers, or at least a sliding scale. For example, it's reasonable to imagine that 5 bananas would be called a bunch of bananas. But if you were handed 5 grapes on a stem, you'd be dirty if you were expecting a bunch of grapes :)
Exactly and it takes 8 Bradys to make a bunch if 60s TV is to believed, so it really does depend on what is being measured!

Few things I've heard...

- Clubs saying we are extremely unique in our approach to drafting/recruiting/trading & heavily data/analysis reliant. It means that once we have an idea of someones value, we have absolutely no wriggle room. Richmond are filthy because we will not budge on anything more then 40 as that's what our analysis has told us he is worth. It also makes it quite difficult for them to argue with us. It's 40 or PSD.

- Looking unlikely that Macpherson gets done because he just doesn't want to leave GC.

- Xerri not worth much but Saints want a back up ruck with a few years in the system.

Take it or leave it.