24. James Frawley - Link
25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Early observation was positive , but still lot of work to do.

A chap I chat to on Twitter watches Sandringham a bit and suggested that Allison lacks physical presence and was a fair way off it.

He said the coach had him playing at half back and on the wing to help him get into the game.

If we play him I hope he’s ready. Playing him too early can do more damage than good.

A chap I chat to on Twitter watches Sandringham a bit and suggested that Allison lacks physical presence and was a fair way off it.

He said the coach had him playing at half back and on the wing to help him get into the game.

If we play him I hope he’s ready. Playing him too early can do more damage than good.

I've only watched a half of VFL so can't really comment with authority but he looked like he was not quite ready at VFL level. That said some player actually play better with better players around them. I reckon Ed Phillips was like that, he was a better player on the wing at AFL level than he was in VFL where playing on the outside is a bit of a grave yard.

You may be right.

I haven’t watched Sandringham so I’m only passing on what I was told. But this chap, who I respect, genuinely held the view that he was a long way off it.

He also said that he hoped he was wrong and that it was only his opinion based on his observations at the games he’s been to.

You may be right.

I haven’t watched Sandringham so I’m only passing on what I was told. But this chap, who I respect, genuinely held the view that he was a long way off it.

He also said that he hoped he was wrong and that it was only his opinion based on his observations at the games he’s been to.
Interesting what we see.
At the training session in February that I attended, I was watching Allison.
In the match sim he took a great leading mark at half forward, highway end, grandstand side. Then slotted a lovely left footer from 40+m from the boundary. Very Gunston like.
From that meagre sample I know he has talent.
The question is to realise his talent.
If circumstances were different, this year would be all about his development.
Unfortunately I do agree with your Twitter mate.
If he plays on Saturday I fear he will be crucified.

Hmmmm

The more I think about it the more I don’t want King yet.

Happy to wait until he’s out of contract and see if we can get him then. For now, I think we really need to focus on mids. Probably the most important thing to pick up.

hopefully we can get some decent mids in the door either through draft or trade.

I understand and feel the excitement about possibility getting both kings down in our forward line but I feel so wary. If we sell the farm for him and continue to be mediocre we’ve crippled our development more and won’t have any draft picks to get mids or backs.

I can see it playing out like those clubs who get a player in for the sentiment and it fu**s them
I would prefer to wait till Ben King is an unrestricted free agent , and in the meantime we use our high picks to draft some gun young midfielders and pump games into them. If Ben can’t wait , we can draft another gun key forward , and still have a leftover 1st Rounder from the 2 x 1st Rounders that it would have cost us for Ben. Stuff gimmick recruiting , it’s about building a premiership side. We can’t burn 2 x 1st Rounders when we have nobody to kick it properly to those up forward anyhow.

You may be right.

I think I agree with him and I hope I'm wrong too but I guess we need all hands on deck and he's a fit body where we don't have many others. Hope he plays well and makes us Poulter fans look like dickheads.

Another King added to or list is not going to get us a flag alone , we still have many pieces missing , still need a real quality key back , a mid who actually has some break away pace and who can hit a target for starters before we worry about another 200cm forward .
This love affair for Ben is the sort of sh1t that will put the club back years IMO , don't get me wrong he is a talent but if he was not Max's brother he wouldn't be even talked about .

I think I agree with him and I hope I'm wrong too but I guess we need all hands on deck and he's a fit body where we don't have many others. Hope he plays well and makes us Poulter fans look like dickheads.

It would be sensational if he played well, looked like he belonged, and gained self belief from the experience.

Then we would know we have a player who is a chance of making it.

Another King added to or list is not going to get us a flag alone , we still have many pieces missing , still need a real quality key back , a mid who actually has some break away pace and who can hit a target for starters before we worry about another 200cm forward .
This love affair for Ben is the short of sh1t that will put the club back years IMO , don't get me wrong he is a talent but if he was not Max's brother he wouldn't be even talked about .

Probably cost the same amount in trade and wages as Harry Mc Kay. It would be way too early to sit out of another 2 drafts after we lost 2 drafts for Hill and others to come in.

This love affair for Ben is the short of sh1t that will put the club back years IMO , don't get me wrong he is a talent but if he was not Max's brother he wouldn't be even talked about .
Yep exactly.

let’s park the King Bus for now.

Now... how do we get our boys Taranto and Heeney to the club?

Yep exactly.

let’s park the King Bus for now.

Now... how do we get our boys Taranto and Heeney to the club?

I don't think the club can afford to chase another high priced recruit. We are tight and will want a FA at some point. More a few Steele types that aren't getting opportunity and don't cost much in trade or wages.

He's 100% not ready.

Don't want to sound like I'm bashing the bloke now, but if he wasn't on an AFL list I'm not sure he'd be getting a game every week.

We might not have a choice though unfortunately.

Hopefully if he plays he surprises everyone, kicks 3 and gets a rising star nom

Having a bit more space might help. I doubt the smaller grounds on in the VFL help

He's 100% not ready.

Don't want to sound like I'm bashing the bloke now, but if he wasn't on an AFL list I'm not sure he'd be getting a game every week.

We might not have a choice though unfortunately.

Hopefully if he plays he surprises everyone, kicks 3 and gets a rising star nom

Having a bit more space might help. I doubt the smaller grounds on in the VFL help

So subjectively, he's behind our new rookie, who was recently elevated to a Seniors SAFL side without any AFL team pushing.

I'd say both would be Clavarino like slow burn projects under normal circumstances. Funny enough, I was thinking Clav might not be ready for seniors and he's been okay so far so players can surprise.

I don’t know if Allison will make it or not.

But to be fair, he’s only played the 5 VFL games for us. That is hardly an extensive volume of work to base an opinion on. In those 5 games he had 5, 6, 12, 4 & 14 possessions. He has certainly struggled however he looked a lot better in his last game having a run in defense.

That’s all we have to go on. Like most VIC kids there was no footy last year. And although some have hit the ground running, others will need some time to get into a rhythm.

He’s clearly not ready to play this week and one would assume we would only play him if there were absolutely no other options.

Regardless; let’s give the kid a chance before we write him off.

I'd say both would be Clavarino like slow burn projects under normal circumstances. Funny enough, I was thinking Clav might not be ready for seniors and he's been okay so far so players can surprise.
Clav seems to be playing better at AFL level than he did at VFL level.

Some players are just like that - Coffield is one of them too.

I don't think the club can afford to chase another high priced recruit. We are tight and will want a FA at some point. More a few Steele types that aren't getting opportunity and don't cost much in trade or wages.
Why are you destroying the dream already? 😢😢

I don’t know if Allison will make it or not.

But to be fair, he’s only played the 5 VFL games for us. That is hardly an extensive volume of work to base an opinion on. In those 5 games he had 5, 6, 12, 4 & 14 possessions. He has certainly struggled however he looked a lot better in his last game having a run in defense.

That’s all we have to go on. Like most VIC kids there was no footy last year. And although some have hit the ground running, others will need some time to get into a rhythm.

He’s clearly not ready to play this week and one would assume we would only play him if there were absolutely no other options.

Regardless; let’s give the kid a chance before we write him off.
Nik Cox is the first Vic player from last years draft to get a rising star nom. The only other 2 from last years draft were the two Sydney Academy kids who didnt have the same interruptions and had already pre-learnt a lot of Sydney's system.

All of the Vic kids from last years drafts have had slow starts so the Covid year has impacted everyone more than everyone anticipated so we need to be patient with Allison.

Id say Cooper is in front of Allison ATM
Looks like you’re spot on Captain.

Now can either of them actually play footy? :think:

M5weGdL.png

I’m bored. What do people think about splitting picks? gringo2011 and George I’d really like your input please?

;)