List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part III

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Courtesy of Lore

Last edited by a moderator:
The statement posted was he cost Carlton pick 4, which is entirely true. Carlton drafted him at pick 19 but they gave up what became pick 4 to get the pick to draft Stocker.
When he was drafted it was 19, anything else is hindsight, could have been pick 1 or 18.
Would have I done it? No, too much for a GOP.
Point is he is not a bust, he is a GOP, maybe a B or B+.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

No you were calling players busts because they had been delisted, one not even being delisted.
You then posted that Stocker was drafted at pick 4 which was 19.
Then you had a great old emoji laugh about my post regarding Stockers mental health.
I am not on any high horse, just pointing out what you posted.
That's cool, up to you how you react to info regarding a player, you obviously have different standards to me. That's something for you to address, nothing to do with me old mate.

I was laughing at your obtuseness and absurd character assassinations.

He was clearly a bust for Carlton, I don’t know how you could argue otherwise. That was the only point I was making.

I'd call Billings a bust even though he played plenty of footy.
Played 152 games of AFL football and is a bust?
You blokes are off your heads.

Every player that is not a champion must be a bust then. Hilarious.

Gresham or Clarko or Bell ;)
Blake Johnston aka Mr Big

images

When he was drafted it was 19, anything else is hindsight, could have been pick 1 or 18.

They delisted him.

While we might be happy with him, in Carltons eyes he is a complete bust.

I'd call Billings a bust even though he played plenty of footy.
I reckon you'd want 100 games as bare minimum for a player taken in the first 3 for a pass.

Billings has played 150 and has been pretty consistent without being a star, I wouldn't call him a bust but the last two years of very little footy doesn't help his legacy any favours.

I have a feeling Dow is going to go alright with us.

I rate Stocker too.

Can't wait for next year. Reckon we'll tear sh*t up.

We lost to GWS with quite a few of our players having an off game.

Year 2 of RTB will be a helluva ride.

Stocker is a good solid depth GOP type. He was a stretch for a first round pick but he is a great get as a DFA freebie. Not sure Lyon rates him that highly but he plays him. Dow is probably not likely to come n and be a star but if we can get him with a late pick and he's pushing Seb Ross types into the VFL side he's a great get.

I was laughing at your obtuseness and absurd character assassinations.

He was clearly a bust for Carlton, I don’t know how you could argue otherwise. That was the only point I was making.
The only character assassination was your ham fisted one of SOS.

You definition of a bust is hilariously misinformed. You tried to use it in your lowbrow criticism of SOS and failed miserably.
You could have used a number of frdp's that SOS has stuffed up, but you chose Stocker and Dow posting they were delisted busts. One wasn't even delisted in Dow, Stocker was but had reasons for his poor football, but you found that reason funny for some strange reason.
Obviously something for you to deal with mate. Good Luck with that.

2017 Billings played every game and averaged 23 disposals and a goal per game.

Who did this in 2023? Only Dustin Martin and Christian Petracca.

He had a very good six year period (2016-2021) but never got recognised for it. The last two seasons have been disappointing for a number of reasons.

They delisted him.

While we might be happy with him, in Carltons eyes he is a complete bust.
I mustn't understand what a bust is then. Isn't it what a player produces over his career.
I would see a Toumpas or a Balic as a bust, someone who leaves a club and plays well at another is not a bust in my eyes.
So for example if Stocker played for us for 10 years, he is still.labelled as a bust?
Wow.

Seems different definitions of a bust. Prob should agree on what bust means (apart from the booby one).

High picks that play like GOPs vs high picks that you get almost nothing out of.

What does underperform mean and what criteria go into determining underperformance.

People always claim that he's got massive personal wealth and doesn't need the money from the job. Lots of other there have big money from links at the club and I've always wondered if there are shared financial interests that keep him there. People who are wanting their dip in the pool want to keep him around perhaps.
The AFL should look at the NBAs model when it comes to the draft.
The top 3 should be protected, clubs should be able to trade future picks that are protected, or unrestricted and there should be a lottery for the bottom 6 to discourage tanking.
The fact that north get picks before some teams around the same mark for a player of McKays ability is insane.
what makes it easier for those sports (nba, nfl etc..) is they have conferences and divisions
so it's far easier to say to the bottom clubs of each conference you all go into a pot and draw at random vs say here where the bottom team is actually, the bottom team

He was a bust at and for Carlton. Anyone first rounder who is delisted after 4 years is a bust for the club who drafted them.

You definition of a bust is hilariously misinformed. You tried to use it in your lowbrow criticism of SOS and failed miserably.
You could have used a number of frdp's that SOS has stuffed up, but you chose Stocker and Dow posting they were delisted busts. One wasn't even delisted in Dow, Stocker was but had reasons for his poor football, but you found that reason funny for some strange reason.
Obviously something for you to deal with mate. Good Luck with that.

Gee whiz mate.

My first post went through every trade and draft period that SOS was at Carlton for. I don’t rate him, could be a ripping bloke.

Carlton had just finished 18th when they gambled a future 1st to get pick 19, utterly bizarre stuff and cowboy list management.

Keep going. 🎺

We don’t need more ordinary mids, if we’re not in the range we have other needs. Just continue to draft quality, I’ve been very happy with our picks with toce in charge. Let others reach and just continue to pick the eyes out of it. Can’t believe some are doubting the poo, he’s very young and will be a superstar Imo. Wilson, Windsor or one of the key backs are bound to be there at our first.

I hate using high picks on KP backs.