Player Watch 2024 AFL Draft Thread

Same rules as every other year.

This isn’t the thread to talk about your ladder predictions or declarations of how interested you are in the draft in response to a win/loss, nor is it the thread to declare who you want to trade for.
Those posts will be deleted.

Talk about the kids in the draft.

Didn’t have a huge day, but I still love Lalor, has some X factor and shows leadership. Armstrong looked bloody good though, and I’m assuming we’ll go key forward. Two early picks would be nice, good year to split.

Just picked up Smillie in the Draft Hub phantom draft, but the one I've been really looking at is Harvey Langford. Terrific above his head, great stamina base, and burst out of stoppages. Reminiscent of Connor MacDonald a bit, but a lot cleaner over head and by foot at the same age. He's not exactly a sleeper pick having won the Larke medal, but for a strong floor raiser who can be a menace up forward and might end up moving into the midfielder could be just what we need. We're a lot better team when we can have our midfielders going all out for 50% of the time in the guts then rotate out into other positions.

Noticing in the RMC and Twomey rankings there are guys like Gross, Travaglia, Langford, Moraes popping up in the 20s (while pushing much higher in other rankings).

Talls like Sims and Faull late into the second round.

Freo have really struck gold with their spread of picks in the first round.

Have to death ride Collingwood from here. Them finishing 12th/13th puts our second in a great zone. Makes duos like Draper and Sims or Travaglia and Whitlock possible.

Reckon we will finish with about pick 8. Any one of these 4 would be nice as they all have X factor and can play multiple roles/positions.
Travaglia
Lalor
Langford
Allan
Trainor would fit a more urgent need, just not sure he will be that no.1 power key defender we need for the future but more of what we already have (Scrimshaw, McCabe, DGB, Serong and even Battle).

Reckon we will finish with about pick 8. Any one of these 4 would be nice as they all have X factor and can play multiple roles/positions.
Travaglia
Lalor
Langford
Allan
Trainor would fit a more urgent need, just not sure he will be that no.1 power key defender we need for the future but more of what we already have (Scrimshaw, McCabe, DGB, Serong and even Battle).
Allan looks a ripper.

geez our 2020 draft didn't turn out well:

Pick 6- DGB
Pick 29 - Seamus Mitchell
Pick 35 - Connor Downie
Pick 46 - Tyler Brockman

Yeah that draft was crap for us but it was crap for a lot of clubs. Thankfully we’ve done really well the last few.

2021: Ward, CMac, Butler, Serong
2022: Mackenzie, Weddle, Hust, O’Sullivan, BMac
2023: Watson, McCabe, Dear

Not all these players will make it but all of them have AFL qualities.

Jagga Smith is definitely a player Sam Mitchell would love.
Inside/Outside game, excellent footy IQ, spatial awareness and executes precisely.
A shame that we will miss out on him.
He'd slot right into our team with a bit of physical development, starting on the outside/forward and then as a prime mid.

Jagga Smith is definitely a player Sam Mitchell would love.
Inside/Outside game, excellent footy IQ, spatial awareness and executes precisely.
A shame that we will miss out on him.
He'd slot right into our team with a bit of physical development, starting on the outside/forward and then as a prime mid.

We'll never get him though. He will be in the first 4 picks.

geez our 2020 draft didn't turn out well:

Pick 6- DGB
Pick 29 - Seamus Mitchell
Pick 35 - Connor Downie
Pick 46 - Tyler Brockman
Brockman was traded for a pick that in effect became Bodie Ryan. Seamus will be quality. He was delisted earlier & is contracted now. If he has a decent 2025, always a good chance to get something back the way Dees got a pick for James Jordan if someone gives him a decent offer and we have better options.

lets see what pick DGB turns into if he is traded and if we can recycle that. Ideally I want us to delist him, give him a 1 yr contract and then he puts in a decent 2025 season and has our offer or competing offers from others referencing his height/pick status and we can reproduce the Ben McKay saga.

one can dream.

Point is still lots of water to run under the 2020 draft.

Player Watch 2024 AFL Draft Thread