2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

Yes, its a big time discussion that we may be diluting our picks.

Phantom drafts are now showing Jagga Smith in line to us for pick 7

Pick 8 may still have a quality mid all over it, not two KPP players in the teens as some are sprouting

If we get two mids on 7-8, then we take it all the way to the bank.
I value Twomeys opinion over these phantoms and he unfortunately crushed the Jagga hope

Will be interesting to see where Reid sits in Twomey’s final Phantom Form guide. He’s definitely conceding his projection ranking is higher than the start of his draft range. Does he stay firm on his projection of him being a top 6 player?
Definitely sounded like his form guide rating will differ to his phantom draft.

Sounds like 7-14 is his range now.

Really hope they hold onto Pick 8 until we see who's left on the board.
I'm quite OK with a last minute decision and letting GWS sweat a little.
Do not see the benefit of a pick swap beforehand.

So other clubs are waiting in line on draft night for our picks to come up at 7-8, then for us to crack when we can't make up our minds and trade them out for multiple picks in the teens/early twenties.

So aside from Pick 1 its "could go anywhere".
It's shaping up as a fascinating top 10 not including Ashcroft.

There's Lalor, who seems to be nailed on for pick 1.

Then the next mids are FOS, Draper, Smith, Smillie, Langford and Reid.

All of Dees, North and Richmond linked to either Tauru or Armstrong in the top 6 so if just one of those clubs bite then we have access to 2 mids in the top tier.

The thing is Richmond and Dees are playing chicken with each other in this draft. I expect Tauru to North will be done in some way before our picks. The Dees have been linked to Langford, Reid & Armstrong, they play the game as well as anyone - but it's super intriguing as to whether they jump early on a tall.

Smillie to Richmond at 6 seems to be the rumour, that's if they have 6.

Does it all get shaken up if Crows decide to trade? Do we try for 4? Or is that somehow Norths play because they are spooked by Dees "interest" in Tauru?

Going back to us, we have a top tier mid at 7 guaranteed. Depending on Tauru/Armstrong's selections, we either have 0, 1 or 2 of the top tier mids left at pick 8.

So we take Tauru, or we auction pick 8 off to whoever wants Tauru, TT, Allan or Armstrong enough to sell the farm for it. If we can get Trainor and Hynes/Hotton down in the teens, that's the spot where I'm starting to argue with myself as to what we should do.

So other clubs are waiting in line on draft night for our picks to come up at 7-8, then for us to crack when we can't make up our minds and trade them out for multiple picks in the teens/early twenties.
Crack?

Did we crack last year when the Giants came calling?

Any potential pick deal will be lined up beforehand and only get done in our favour in the event that everyone on our pick 8 wish list is gone.

We won't be frantically making calls trying to desperately do a deal...

Why do you always try to make the club look like it's inept? They've barely put a foot wrong since Ross returned.

Crack?

Did we crack last year when the Giants came calling?

Any potential pick deal will be lined up beforehand and only get done in our favour in the event that everyone on our pick 8 wish list is gone.

We won't be frantically making calls trying to desperately do a deal...

Why do you always try to make the club look like it's inept? They've barely put a foot wrong since Ross returned.

You really think other clubs will do a trade in our favour, they will only do it if it suits them.

it's hardly taking pot shots when you wish the club to keep its high picks and go for the best talent available.

We have done the dilute picks thing before and it just didn't work out.

The other issue I had was doing everything possible to keep Battle.

Even for someone like Twomey, with his record of nailing the draft order, this year would be impossible to accurately predict without significant inside knowledge.

It will be interesting to see how his final top 10 stacks up this year. If he snags it again he clearly has the ears of the list guys. You couldn't predict it just on player knowledge and gut feel this year.

He is a near kick but the biggest issue I have with him is that his left does not seem to exist and he is a bit handball happy.

I do feel like he'd settle into an AFL midfield and RL structures really well. If he's there at 7 I'd be doing cartwheels.
He is arguably the most explosive of the top end mids.

Would fit a hugeeeee need

You really think other clubs will do a trade in our favour, they will only do it if it suits them.

it's hardly taking pot shots when you wish the club to keep its high picks and go for the best talent available.

We have done the dilute picks thing before and it just didn't work out.

The other issue I had was doing everything possible to keep Battle.
Was it in GWS' favour to give us a 2nd round pick in return for us dropping down one spot last year? Or was it something in our favour that was mutually beneficial?

You're basing your opinion on the theory that all clubs value picks exactly the same. The Giants usually have more picks than available list spots so they throw them around like monopoly money.

And when has this current recruiting team diluted picks? The recruiting team before that? Reckon it was Libba & Satan who last split an early pick (in 2019).

You're confusing supporters discussing what might happen & what the club is going to do.

Battle? FFS. Can't wait to boo the campaigner

Was it in GWS' favour to give us a 2nd round pick in return for us dropping down one spot last year? Or was it something in our favour that was mutually beneficial?

You're basing your opinion on the theory that all clubs value picks exactly the same. The Giants usually have more picks than available list spots so they throw them around like monopoly money.

And when has this current recruiting team diluted picks? The recruiting team before that? Reckon it was Libba & Satan who last split an early pick (in 2019).

You're confusing supporters discussing what might happen & what the club is going to do.

Battle? FFS. Can't wait to boo the campaigner

GWS have 15,16,21,37,56. GWS have come a long way from being the whipping boys of the AFL.

I reckon if we baulk at 8, then I think they will put 16,21 on the table.

Satan wasn't a great recruiter and shouldn't have been involved in that area, I do think Libba was good though

I won't be booing Battle, he was a shining light in our development.

Let's hope for two mids at 7,8... then we won't be arguing.

Deam time -

Pick #7 Smith, Smillie, Langford
Pick #8 Reid, Allan or split pick

As Twomey suggested there is a real chance North & Adelaide swap picks with Carlton lurking round Draper. As long as North take Tauru we will get at least one of our target mids possibly two.

Twomey also canned Richmond to pick 2.

Weirdly linked the crows pick swapping.

Said the Roos had done a lot of work for people going in the teens.

Blues calling Draper's name would piss the locals off.

Crows might blink to trade up and keep the ferals at bay.

No chance Clark is winning a single BnF during his time at St Kilda unless he seriously turns things around. Even Byrnes is more likely to win one than him atm

Steele, Wilkie, Sinc, Row will probably continue to monopolise it for the next 2-3 years, before the likes of Nas, Pou, King?, Wilson etc take the reigns

Clark just needs to play 200 games to be a raging success from this point on given the way his career has gone. If he can stay in the 22 with all these kids coming through, it'd mean he's made a massive improvement

I'm a Clark fan but its hard to see how he holds his spot with Pou, Windy, Garcia, Wilson, Dow, and 2 top-end picks all competing with him for 4-5 spots over the next decade...plus the current guys like Steele and Macrae

I guess his injury run has been giving him a pretty poor fitness base and a lack of continuity which means he has some scope for major improvement at some point. Dow is probably in exactly the same spot. Both need a decent preseason and some consistent run of games to make an impact. Both probably in the last chance saloon type of scenario if they can't.

GWS have 15,16,21,37,56. GWS have come a long way from being the whipping boys of the AFL.

I reckon if we baulk at 8, then I think they will put 16,21 on the table.

Satan wasn't a great recruiter and shouldn't have been involved in that area, I do think Libba was good though

I won't be booing Battle, he was a shining light in our development.

Let's hope for two mids at 7,8... then we won't be arguing.
It's no different to last year... if the Giants (or anyone else) really want to get into the top 10 to get someone they covet then they pay up. That may well be 16 & 21 or it might be something juicier for us. They've shown that they're happy to pay overs to get their man.

Satan wasn't a recruiter. He was footy dept head then CEO.

I'm not that fussed about mids at 7 and 8 unless an early Xmas miracle sees two of the top rated mids fall to us.

We definitely need to take one at #7 though.

Tricky to see how Adelaide can satisfy Norf with the swap from 4 to 2 considering you'd think Norf would want another pick in this year's draft. Currently Adelaide's next pick after 4 is 64. They have a future 1st and three future 3rds to try to deal back in to this year but who's gonna be interested in that?

Given the depth of this draft I think we'd be silly if we don't split Pick 8.

Simply cannot see how whoever is selected at Pick 8 will be twice the value of two mid teen selections.

Probably more that the players predicted to go in the early teens are mostly taller types or a bit of a reach. I think I'd be holding the picks until draft night and see if we can get a desperate club to over pay. 7 and 8 could end up with a couple of shock sliders. Even if one doesn't fit needs it might fit someone else's.

Well well... seems that some people dont agree that Smith or Draper are locks to go before our picks... interesting..

I revise accordingly in order of preference..
  1. Smith/Draper (surely both won't be available) and Langford/Smillie (same)
  2. Langford and Smillie (If both are not available, then)
  3. Langford/Smillie and Tauru, (If Tauru isnt available then)
  4. Langford/Smillie and Reid
If we can't take any of these combinations, I think we strongly think about trading 8 back down the draft.

Blues calling Draper's name would piss the locals off.

Crows might blink to trade up and keep the ferals at bay.

Blues have been linked with him for ages.

2024 Draft Thread.