List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.1

Smith looks the ideal player if we finish around 15th. Draper looked a really ordinary last match. Anyway, we'll get a better read after this weekend. A lot of the ideal kids for us are late first round early second and are the more contested guys. Most of the ones in our range are a bit outside.

The draft order is going to fluctuate wildly. Guys like Moraes and Draper are likely to drop a bit. Smillie and O'Sullivan look likely to stay high, I think Jagga could even go higher if he continues his form through the champs.

I'd like pick 4 for Jagga and then you'd probably be happy with some extra picks between 12 and 20.
They would love a late first in Hope Hotton falls.

Jagga is what we need. Accumulated. Gets involved forward of the stoppage.

I think Draper holds. Moraes drops for me.

You have to consider Trainor if available and we had 2 picks.

I got to games and I go to training and I spent a stupid amount of times on here and Twitter talking about this club.

I just signed up my sick old man who can’t attend 99% of games to a membership 3 weeks ago.

I’m the least of the clubs concerns.

Save another way of putting it, I was talking generally rather than specifically about you turning up to games. The ones on here are mostly not the issue.

To make it through the other side of a long draft acquisition process, we need crowds at every game. Saints v Suns Sunday twilight - get your backside to the game.

I think gringo2011 and i are aligned that the bones of our list are pretty handy to build off.

Howard, Wilkie is a good defensive core. If Van Es comes good body wise, Arie comes on and we keep our rebound thats a good backline with what we already have.

Forward line is similar with King, Higgo, Collar, Butler and the like.

Our run and carry is good with Nas, Hill, Sincs.

Even our midfield with Crouch back Wilson and Pou developing plus picks 4 (and maybe 5) if youre right.

The path is in development and growth, not more recycled stuff.

Our outside run and rebounding brigade is the best in footy and our only really exceptional line. The forward line is too tall and too few scoring options and reliable shots on goal. Tall back set up is very good too.

Midfield has been a problem since last time Lyon was in charge. Until we find another couple of guns we are going to be a middling side at best.

Not hard to fix but not sure putting all our eggs into the draft basket is going to work either. It takes 4 to 5 years for kids to play their best footy usually. We'll be starting to rebuild the old rebuild by the time they come on.

We need quality established talent to challenge now and build while competing. Losing some is setting us backwards short term and maybe long term if they **** it.

They would love a late first in Hope Hotton falls.

Jagga is what we need. Accumulated. Gets involved forward of the stoppage.

I think Draper holds. Moraes drops for me.

You have to consider Trainor if available and we had 2 picks.

**** sake. We don't need a tall back man. Howard is no world beater but he's good enough. If we bypass mids for another tall I'll spew.

The only opinion is what I hope we do from here.

The possibility of Battle going is very much the reality we live in today. The possibility of a band 1 compo is a reality and that has all been confirmed.

The 20 something out of contract are positioned that way to specifically allow us to manoeuvre during trade period and allow us to bring in big salaries for peanuts and that means we are going to look at Lobb Macrae etc.

I'm happy for them to make a very healthy offer and let it stand. Battle either stays loyal or goes. Nothing can be done about that without getting silly. You probably want to not argue over a couple of hundred K but otherwise set a price and stick to it. I don't think it's a positive though. It sets us back a step further and means we probably have to chase another player and dilutes the list.

**** sake. We don't need a tall back man. Howard is no world beater but he's good enough. If we bypass mids for another tall I'll spew.
I want 2 pure mids.

But if Trainor is the best available you have to consider that is all I’m saying. Or trade back.

I'm happy for them to make a very healthy offer and let it stand. Battle either stays loyal or goes. Nothing can be done about that without getting silly. You probably want to not argue over a couple of hundred K but otherwise set a price and stick to it. I don't think it's a positive though. It sets us back a step further and means we probably have to chase another player and dilutes the list.
That is what they have done.

People are forgetting. This was reported as a done deal the night we beat the pies.

And the club hasn’t pulled its offer… so if he leaves that’s on Battle no one else.

And I’m advocating building but needing the top end of the draft.

We have missed all the gun free agents this year.

Go to the draft. Use the trade period to improve the draft hand and soak up experienced talent on big salary to improve us short term.

I am not advocating a rebuild.

Not all drafts are equal and this one probably isn't one where all the best talent comes in the first ten names called. I'm keen on Smith but not really all in on this draft. Looks a bit of a nothing year with good players all through it but no outstanding ones yet.

High picks let you select what you rate highest but pick 6 is probably more like pick 20 in other stronger drafts.

Not all drafts are equal and this one probably isn't one where all the best talent comes in the first ten names called. I'm keen on Smith but not really all in on this draft. Looks a bit of a nothing year with good players all through it but no outstanding ones yet.

High picks let you select what you rate highest but pick 6 is probably more like pick 20 in other stronger drafts.
Sorry I strongly disagree with this.

There is no Reid or Horne Francis in this crop.

But there is a lot of very good talent in those first 10 picks.

I want 2 pure mids.

But if Trainor is the best available you have to consider that is all I’m saying. Or trade back.

I'd trade back with someone personally. We could get Lucas Tovey from the Chargers and he looks exactly like what we want he's around 200cm and quick. Not sure where he sits in the draft order but not as high as pick 5.

And maybe that’s what they’ll do and grab a first round pick for sliding back in the top 5.

Who knows.

But if the draft happened tonight and we had 4+5.

I would be thrilled walking away with Smith and Draper.

Our outside run and rebounding brigade is the best in footy and our only really exceptional line. The forward line is too tall and too few scoring options and reliable shots on goal. Tall back set up is very good too.

Midfield has been a problem since last time Lyon was in charge. Until we find another couple of guns we are going to be a middling side at best.

Not hard to fix but not sure putting all our eggs into the draft basket is going to work either. It takes 4 to 5 years for kids to play their best footy usually. We'll be starting to rebuild the old rebuild by the time they come on.

We need quality established talent to challenge now and build while competing. Losing some is setting us backwards short term and maybe long term if they **** it.
Youre a bit in each camp.

Our outside run and rebounding brigade is the best in footy - Agree

The forward line is too tall and too few scoring options and reliable shots on goal - Half agree, i dont think were too tall. King, Hayes/Camma, Sharman/Membs then the support. Agree on reliability on goal but in reality we can work on that.

Midfield has been a problem since last time Lyon was in charge - Agree but i dont think its as bad as many. Steele, Crouch, Dow, Henry, Windy, Wilson, Pou and then throw in pick 4 (and maybe 5). Some of them a year of development, some of them getting bodies right and that a midfield that can absolutely compete. If were looking to get a top 3 midfield were gonna have to sacrifice our other strengths. Id rather we get a competitive midfield and keep our weapons.

Not hard to fix but not sure putting all our eggs into the draft basket is going to work either - Im not sure what the other option is? We dont really have any pieces we can trade for "stars". If Battle goes then we dont really wanna chase an FA either cause it impacts the compo. Unless we can use his compo for LDU Id rather take it to the draft (or keep him).

Losing some is setting us backwards short term and maybe long term if they **** it. - Agree wholeheartedly here. Assuming Battle goes (which we cant do anything about) we need to keep our strenghts (good defense, solid offence, great run and carry) and adress our weakness (midfield) with a combo of draft and development.

Sorry I strongly disagree with this.

There is no Reid or Horne Francis in this crop.

But there is a lot of very good talent in those first 10 picks.

Did you watch any of last weeks champs games? The academy and FS are way ahead of the current crop out of SA WA and Allies.

And maybe that’s what they’ll do and grab a first round pick for sliding back in the top 5.

Who knows.

But if the draft happened tonight and we had 4+5.

I would be thrilled walking away with Smith and Draper.

Not vibing on Draper at all. Wait until the Metro v Country game and we'll see where a lot of the order starts to take shape. I think Draper will drop outside the top 10.

Did you watch any of last weeks champs games? The academy and FS are way ahead of the current crop out of SA WA and Allies.
And the vic boys haven’t played yet.

And they account for what appears to be the top 5 picks currently - bar Draper

Who only had 19 disposals…. And 8 score involvements.

Not vibing on Draper at all. Wait until the Metro v Country game and we'll see where a lot of the order starts to take shape. I think Draper will drop outside the top 10.
That’s a big drop.

But I’m perfectly comfortable in the knowledge that the order will take shape in the next 8 weeks.

I’m not truly wedded to anyone. But I’ve really liked what I have seen from Smith.

If they have any brains at all then they are looking at how to move this side forward. That means realising this season is gone and looking to next year and beyond. Hard calls need to be made, youngsters assessed, perhaps a last look at a fringe player. All this is going on at the same time as teams including us grade draft talent, look at how we could obtain picks from Brisbane etc.

The whole concept that a team in our position is tanking because we’re doing the above is just crazy imo. Aren’t you sick of just making up the numbers, constantly being told we can’t attract any free agents if we’re not playing finals and a million other excuses that just keep teams like us in a holding position of mediocrity. Imo it’s high time we adopted a more pragmatic approach that’s designed with contending and winning flags in mind.
Melbourne did this exact thing in 2019 when they stunk it up... added Luke Jackson & Kosi then 24 months later won the whole damn thing.

They did already have a few superstars on the books but the influence those two early picks had in that premiership year was significant.

Youre a bit in each camp.

Our outside run and rebounding brigade is the best in footy - Agree

The forward line is too tall and too few scoring options and reliable shots on goal - Half agree, i dont think were too tall. King, Hayes/Camma, Sharman/Membs then the support. Agree on reliability on goal but in reality we can work on that.

Midfield has been a problem since last time Lyon was in charge - Agree but i dont think its as bad as many. Steele, Crouch, Dow, Henry, Windy, Wilson, Pou and then throw in pick 4 (and maybe 5). Some of them a year of development, some of them getting bodies right and that a midfield that can absolutely compete. If were looking to get a top 3 midfield were gonna have to sacrifice our other strengths. Id rather we get a competitive midfield and keep our weapons.

Not hard to fix but not sure putting all our eggs into the draft basket is going to work either - Im not sure what the other option is? We dont really have any pieces we can trade for "stars". If Battle goes then we dont really wanna chase an FA either cause it impacts the compo. Unless we can use his compo for LDU Id rather take it to the draft (or keep him).

Losing some is setting us backwards short term and maybe long term if they **** it. - Agree wholeheartedly here. Assuming Battle goes (which we cant do anything about) we need to keep our strenghts (good defense, solid offence, great run and carry) and adress our weakness (midfield) with a combo of draft and development.

Crouch is injured and over 30. It doesn't usually get better from there. Dow is a poor user and hasn't been a big accumulator at AFL level yet. He's really on the fence. Steele is a good solid player and at his best is A grade.

Henry more outside than inside, Windy could go either way. Maybe a gun but maybe a GOP, Wilson is a runner and will probably fit into that running round squad and Pou so far looks more suited to high half forward with a rotation on ball. Also playing like he might not be as good as we hoped so probably not one to pin our future on.

Most of the best sides have a range of scoring options of different sized and styles. We seem to have too many tall options and lack small players of quality. Butler is the only read to play small pressure option. Snags is a cherry more than the cake. He'd be a gun in great side. He needs a dangerous forward line to let him free to feast on scraps without a good defender.

We need to keep puling in good kids but can't afford to bottom out again. They are promising staying competitive while doing it and how they do that is up to them. Just as long as they do it or **** off somewhere else and we'll get a better set up going.

Probably can't go FA which is a hinderance because we need a guy like Stengle IMO.

If they have any brains at all then they are looking at how to move this side forward. That means realising this season is gone and looking to next year and beyond. Hard calls need to be made, youngsters assessed, perhaps a last look at a fringe player. All this is going on at the same time as teams including us grade draft talent, look at how we could obtain picks from Brisbane etc.

The whole concept that a team in our position is tanking because we’re doing the above is just crazy imo. Aren’t you sick of just making up the numbers, constantly being told we can’t attract any free agents if we’re not playing finals and a million other excuses that just keep teams like us in a holding position of mediocrity. Imo it’s high time we adopted a more pragmatic approach that’s designed with contending and winning flags in mind.
Preach my brother.

Would be stupid to try and mount a run of wins from here, were not deliberately losing games but we dont wanna finish 9th.

i want 3 first round picks and i want David Putney coz i god damn feel like it

Hopefully those pancake eating mother****ers at Hawthorn do the right thing...

That’s a big drop.

But I’m perfectly comfortable in the knowledge that the order will take shape in the next 8 weeks.

I’m not truly wedded to anyone. But I’ve really liked what I have seen from Smith.

Smith is ideal IMO. Been keen on him since last year. I don't think he's a definite superstar but he'll be an entertaining player at least. He has some of that Port Adelaide Butters/Rozee flavour.

Crouch is injured and over 30. It doesn't usually get better from there. Dow is a poor user and hasn't been a big accumulator at AFL level yet. He's really on the fence. Steele is a good solid player and at his best is A grade.

Henry more outside than inside, Windy could go either way. Maybe a gun but maybe a GOP, Wilson is a runner and will probably fit into that running round squad and Pou so far looks more suited to high half forward with a rotation on ball. Also playing like he might not be as good as we hoped so probably not one to pin our future on.

Most of the best sides have a range of scoring options of different sized and styles. We seem to have too many tall options and lack small players of quality. Butler is the only read to play small pressure option. Snags is a cherry more than the cake. He'd be a gun in great side. He needs a dangerous forward line to let him free to feast on scraps without a good defender.

We need to keep puling in good kids but can't afford to bottom out again. They are promising staying competitive while doing it and how they do that is up to them. Just as long as they do it or **** off somewhere else and we'll get a better set up going.

Probably can't go FA which is a hinderance because we need a guy like Stengle IMO.
Your turfing role players out because there not stars, thats insanity mate.

Richmonds midfield wasnt just dusty, Melbournes wasnt just Trac.

We need to get balance. Dow, Steel and Windy is a shit mix. Pou, Wilson and Henry is a shit mix. Steele, Wilson and Sincs, not bad.

Again, this looks like a burn it down approach, we have to maximise what weve got and stop praying we get the next Dusty.