List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.1

Smith is ideal IMO. Been keen on him since last year. I don't think he's a definite superstar but he'll be an entertaining player at least. He has some of that Port Adelaide Butters/Rozee flavour.
I think Mids who can accumulate and impact front of stoppage … like Smith. Are very sure bets at AFL level.

The mids who are pure coal face or back of centre accumulators are the ones hard to gauge

Melbourne did this exact thing in 2019 when they stunk it up... added Luke Jackson & Kosi then 24 months later won the whole damn thing.

They did already have a few superstars on the books but the influence those two early picks had in that premiership year was significant.
Melbourne also spent a few drafts forward trading its future first.

At the time it was seen as a huge mistake and people laughed.

Melbourne Laughed all the way to the bank.

Your turfing role players out because there not stars, thats insanity mate.

Richmonds midfield wasnt just dusty, Melbournes wasnt just Trac.

We need to get balance. Dow, Steel and Windy is a shit mix. Pou, Wilson and Henry is a shit mix. Steele, Wilson and Sincs, not bad.

Again, this looks like a burn it down approach, we have to maximise what weve got and stop praying we get the next Dusty.

Who's turfing anyone. I'm just not putting the cue back in the rack and sitting down for a smoko. We have a midfield that is ordinary at best and for 3 years has struggled with depth. If you don't keep chasing star mids you'll never get them.

We should be drafting with high picks. Looking around for bargain priced under-utilised players and exploiting anything that can get us a leg up. We are in a precarious position with lots of clubs having a good head start on a rebuild and better young talent pools. We need to not fall below them and keep momentum as our only weapon.

Talent isn't everything but it's really hard to rise without enough of it.

I wished we picked Bont and Trac.

Yet we kept the same set up that couldn't find a turd in a sewer for years. Finnis probably thought Trout was a lesbian albino.

Worth pointing out.

Apparently Dalrymples draft logic/process for player evaluation is a little off centre.

It’s apparently what’s made him successful. So we could well take a bolter.

I think Mids who can accumulate and impact front of stoppage … like Smith. Are very sure bets at AFL level.

The mids who are pure coal face or back of centre accumulators are the ones hard to gauge

The danger with Smith is bigger bodies might try to smash him on the inside. Butters is a similar build but he loves it rough and takes the hits. Smith is a bit more of a lively whippet. He probably plays a few years as a high half forward as he develops his body.

Who's turfing anyone. I'm just not putting the cue back in the rack and sitting down for a smoko. We have a midfield that is ordinary at best and for 3 years has struggled with depth. If you don't keep chasing star mids you'll never get them.

We should be drafting with high picks. Looking around for bargain priced under-utilised players and exploiting anything that can get us a leg up. We are in a precarious position with lots of clubs having a good head start on a rebuild and better young talent pools. We need to not fall below them and keep momentum as our only weapon.

Talent isn't everything but it's really hard to rise without enough of it.
You post looked very much like you were saying Dow, Henry, Crouch were gone.

Crouch is injured and over 30. It doesn't usually get better from there. Dow is a poor user and hasn't been a big accumulator at AFL level yet. He's really on the fence
Henry more outside than inside, Windy could go either way.

Yeh absolutely chase A grade talent but we shouldnt be banking on getting it cause historically we draft like shit and dont get FAs.

We need to develop what weve got and compliment it as well as working on a gameplan that exploits our strengths.

This is what ive said over and over and over. What weve got could be used better, our square mix is awful week after week, we have no balance its either all slow defensive mids or all outside runners.

Get one or two gun kids and work on the structure, keep the strengths weve got.

Ultimately i think were (Stav included) actually in furious agreement. We dont want full rebuild, we all want Jagga, were all clear Battle might be gone regardless of what we want, and we all agree weve got some strengths.

Worth pointing out.

Apparently Dalrymples draft logic/process for player evaluation is a little off centre.

I'm still pissed off about Toce but at least Dalrymple has a good record of finding talent. I always said that they should chase him so I guess I should shut up now.

Crouch is injured and over 30. It doesn't usually get better from there. Dow is a poor user and hasn't been a big accumulator at AFL level yet. He's really on the fence

Yeh absolutely chase A grade talent but we shouldnt be banking on getting it cause historically we draft like shit and dont get FAs.

We need to develop what weve got and compliment it as well as working on a gameplan that exploits our strengths.

This is what ive said over and over and over. What weve got could be used better, our square mix is awful week after week, we have no balance its either all slow defensive mids or all outside runners.

Ultimately i think were (Stav included) actually in furious agreement. We dont want full rebuild, we all want Jagga, were all clear Battle might be gone regardless of what we want, and we all agree weve got some strengths.

I'm pissed off and want to argue anyway.

Yes I agree with this.

P.s Howard can **** off too for my liking.

We have struggled when our mature depth was tested this year and dropped down to bottom 4. The sides down the bottom have a head start on us.

Losing Gresham, Battle and even guys like Ben Long seems to be culling the guys that are about to hit the peak part of their careers. If we bleed players just as they start to mature we are just a factory for developing players for others.

Close losses aren't wins and weakening what you have isn't a way to improve. I reckon if this is a bottom out I know a heap of Saints fans that just aren't that interested any more. The club has misread the patience levels of their fans. It will be coming up to around 14 years of failure next year. That stopped being cute a long time ago. The couple of sugar hits weren't enough to buy time.
When we decided to move Gresh & Long on we expected that to be offset by the additions of Henry & Dow. In the long term I have little doubt that will be an accurate assumption.

Losing Battle would undoubtedly hurt but who replaces him is the unknown.

Maybe it's a bit similar to when Richmond lost Brett Delidio in 2016... was probably looked at as a total disaster at the time by Richmond supporters but dragged a top 10 pick & 3rd rounder in. Which they turned into a two premiership players (Caddy & Graham).

In 2016 Richmond supporters had been traumatised by horrible list management decisions as we are now...

Yes I agree with this.

P.s Howard can **** off too for my liking.
I mean i HATED Howard for a long time but dumping him for Cordy is yuck.

If we could get something good for a trade id consider it but hes cleaned up alot of his shit stuff this year and become that handy lockdown KPD i always wanted him to be.

Worth pointing out.

As long as he nails the picks thats all we expect! We had just got our draft selecting sorted out under Toce`, and then moved him on. Dalrymple has the most important job at the club so he had better get it right.

Our outside run and rebounding brigade is the best in footy and our only really exceptional line. The forward line is too tall and too few scoring options and reliable shots on goal. Tall back set up is very good too.

Midfield has been a problem since last time Lyon was in charge. Until we find another couple of guns we are going to be a middling side at best.

Not hard to fix but not sure putting all our eggs into the draft basket is going to work either. It takes 4 to 5 years for kids to play their best footy usually. We'll be starting to rebuild the old rebuild by the time they come on.

We need quality established talent to challenge now and build while competing. Losing some is setting us backwards short term and maybe long term if they **** it.

Getting gun young mids in also makes us more attractive to FA/OOC players.

Imagine how promising we'd look if we had a Sheezel & McKercher in the mix.

I can't see the club going scorched earth TBH... the plan in recent seasons has been pretty simple; hit the draft, cut back the fringe players, target OOC players who fit a need.

I don't see any indication that will change.

Howard was awful first game back and has been pretty good ever since. I'd keep at an appropriate price and contract length, unless we are swept off our feet by draft capital.

I disagree mate. I think he has been just adequate and against WCE he was really poor. Because we simply dont have a decent replacement we have been lured into believing he is doing ok.

Any forward who is a good leader or strong bodied player destroy Howard, how often do we see him 10 metres behind a leading opponent then start looking around for someone to blame. He has to be the least urgent player on our list and he relies far to heavily on others falling back to assist him, otherwise he gets slaughtered in one on one contests.

If we can find a better player who can hold his own, then the club should move Howard on. All the grand final winning teams in the past 20 years have had dominant key defenders, they are nearly important as elite midfielders. You can get away with a blue collar functioning forward line but if you leak goals by your defenders not being able to beat their opponents you struggle. We are going no where with Howard at full back, so I am even happy to take a step backwards if we have to.

The same principal applies to Bonner how many top teams carry defenders who cant beat their opponents in contests at least 50% of the time.

At the time , if they'd picked anyone who wasn't at least a bit mid-fielderish , they'd have got Lynched by angry Bigfooty posters.
Most people here had Clark locked in as the player they wanted at our pick.
Clark was a pure mid for 99% of his junior career.

He was pushed onto a HBF for Vic Metro for the champs in his bottom year because he was an excellent ball user who made good decisions.

They kept him there the next year too because he did so well.

I mean i HATED Howard for a long time but dumping him for Cordy is yuck.

If we could get something good for a trade id consider it but hes cleaned up alot of his shit stuff this year and become that handy lockdown KPD i always wanted him to be.
He is a weak key back for me.

Gets towelled up one on one. Does absolutely stupid things out of his skill set and just gets paid a fortune for never hitting his 2020 form again.

I pray some club offers him a deal and they accidentally add an extra 0 before the decimal point.

20 OOC. Find the currency.

Either the suns first or this pick need to be targeted.

Would completely change how I draft if we had this and a compo.

(4,5,7)

Goodness me. That would be an incredible draft hand with Dalrymple sitting at the draft table.

No such thing as a certainty when it comes to the draft, but really those picks should build us the midfield we have lacked for so many years.

I’m struggling to see us winning more than 3 games for the remainder of the year. Making it 7 wins and probably a finish of 15th (pick 4).

Battle’s offers as an UFA appears to have him in band 1 compensation territory. Interesting times.