List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.1

How bout we use our picks at the draft?
Offer Battle enough to get band 1 then leave the decision to him.
Play Ari the rest of the season. Find a cheap KPD to fill a hole. Draft 3 mids and stay the course. Leave the overpriced small forward business till we can contend.
Plus Stengle would cancel out the Battle compo, if he indeed does leave. So it will be Battle for Stengle.

I agree with your logic.

Stengle is good...he makes things happen, he would make our poor delivery into the forward line look a little better. We need quality in there...and a spark. That's a fact.
That said, we need centre MIDS that can play football, as well as better leaders on the field. I would rather shake a quality prime aged mid out from a good winning system, than a quality prime aged forward pocket.
It begins in the centre.
That's where we start.

How bout we use our picks at the draft?
Offer Battle enough to get band 1 then leave the decision to him.
Play Ari the rest of the season. Find a cheap KPD to fill a hole. Draft 3 mids and stay the course. Leave the overpriced small forward business till we can contend.

The problem for us is that our best players are all getting towards the end.

Webster 30, Hill 30, Wood 30, Crouch 30, Membrey and Ross 30. Sinclair 29, Marshall 28, Steele 28, Howards 28, Butler 28, Wilkie 28..

If we are lucky those guys are still going and fit at 32. Ross and Membrey both look cooked at 30. I reckon we have to make a charge in the next couple of years or we are waiting on kids like Pou, Owens, Windy, Wilson etc to step up into the mature age list.

I'd be going hard at any existing talent now, a bunch of older guys will retire and we'll drop right back because we have no-one except Battle, Snags and King in that mid career range. If we can't fatten out that mind career list we'll fall off a cliff at some point. Lethers and Gags list management will hurt us as much as Trout's drafting did IMO.

And we still need to be finding kids at the front end of the draft at the same time and hoping all our kids end up being quality.

Stengle was great in the premiership year playing in all-time great offensive side. Was okay last year, and good again this year once Geelong bounced back. He's a good player and looks great surrounded by other great players, but he won't change our fortunes. Small forwards are periphery players, just can't imagine he's worth what it would take to get him.

Reminder that we got Butler and Higgins basically for peanuts and they've played pretty good footy for us.

If we could have scored a few goals against the current we probably win another 3 games this year. He's a guy who turns half chances into goals and with out Snags and Butler this year we looked impotent.

We need mids but we need quality small impact forwards. At the moment we have no mids available to us and have to spend the money on someone. We have a list that has no-one in the big contract range except King and Battle. I'd rather pay a good player than overpay a kid.

Snags was a first round upgrade and a future second. He cost a fair bit. Cost us Alison over Max Holmes who went with our pick. Judson Clark with the second rounder who seems injury prone and a bit average. Soligo and Paul Curtis were in that pick range though.

Stengle is good...he makes things happen, he would make our poor delivery into the forward line look a little better. We need quality in there...and a spark. That's a fact.
That said, we need centre MIDS that can play football, as well as better leaders on the field. I would rather shake a quality prime aged mid out from a good winning system, than a quality prime aged forward pocket.
It begins in the centre.
That's where we start.

You have to pay draft capital for those. Unless North want to give up LDU or someone young and high need I think we'd be better to chase a player like Luke Parker who's near the end but can bridge between drafted mids and when they are ready to step up.

Plus Stengle would cancel out the Battle compo, if he indeed does leave. So it will be Battle for Stengle.

I agree with your logic.

Yeah i'd only go for Stengle or any other F/A if Battle stayed.
Battle goes , i wouldn't even be thinking about him.

You have to pay draft capital for those. Unless North want to give up LDU or someone young and high need I think we'd be better to chase a player like Luke Parker who's near the end but can bridge between drafted mids and when they are ready to step up.
Agree, Parker looks like a good fit for a few years, hopefully they're all over him.

Possible outcomes relating to rumour file in order of my preference:

1. Retain Battle, recruit Stengle and just use of natural 1st to take the best mid available.

2. Lose Battle, gain band 1 pick, Don’t recruit Stengle.

3. Retain Battle, miss on Stengle.

4. Lose Battle, gain Stengle and cancel out of compo.

5. Lose Battle, miss on Stengle, gain less than band 1.

I’m all scenarios we have options to find another pick by moving future picks.

Definitely prefer Battle long term over Stengle pound for pound.

Obviously I hope that 1 is the most likely scenario but who fookin knows. Feel as though we get stung with no 5 as per
1. Def ahead
2. Should be ahead in 2 years
3. Even
4. Unknown
5. Disaster

. Lethers and Gags list management

Amazing that we let Lethers a guy with no list management or football department (he was in footy admin) run our football department, made worse when he brought in a sales manager (He was a sales manager working at a bank, and was never a Banker!) as his sidekick.

All this after Bains did likewise. A footy fanboy who we let play out his childhood dreams by being in charge of what we did with our list.

It is no wonder our list management and drafting/trading has been so disastrous.

Trying to conjure up a deal to get a pick better than 14 for Stengel so we don’t lose pick 5-8 for battle?
If we managed to find a pick 12 I would rather use that on a young mid as well.
Then we still have butler Higgins collard plus 3 chances to land the next Butters.

One method, trading late picks ( but we don't have many ) to someone with an Academy player , might already be closed.
Means the whole points system will be out the window.

Basically that is still us either losing the pick for Battle (with a late pick back) or losing next year's frdp. As where that frdp is not known, Geelong would want a buffer.
If our priority is our future midfield it is still a loss.

Geelong could come out of the finals in straight sets (weakens our postion), or finish high (strengthens our position).

Battle and his manager are not going to sit twiddling their thumbs waiting for whether it is a good deal or not for St Kilda.
If Battle is going to stay the club would need to be acting now. With suitors chasing Battle waiting to see where the Cats finish will be too late.

If you want Stengle, then the only real plausible way is a FA, and that then means that we have to keep Battle. And that we just go with with the one earlyish draft pick to land a mid.

Battle, Stengle and our existing draft pick is not a bad result. Two early picks to get two mids is probably better though.
Yeah certainly agree. Was trying to work out how a 'trade' could even remotely work based of another poster's suggestion.

To your last comment, I'm 50/50 to which I prefer. Smith & Lalor vs Stengle, Battle & Smith.. for example.

The problem for us is that our best players are all getting towards the end.

Webster 30, Hill 30, Wood 30, Crouch 30, Membrey and Ross 30. Sinclair 29, Marshall 28, Steele 28, Howards 28, Butler 28, Wilkie 28..

If we are lucky those guys are still going and fit at 32. Ross and Membrey both look cooked at 30. I reckon we have to make a charge in the next couple of years or we are waiting on kids like Pou, Owens, Windy, Wilson etc to step up into the mature age list.

I'd be going hard at any existing talent now, a bunch of older guys will retire and we'll drop right back because we have no-one except Battle, Snags and King in that mid career range. If we can't fatten out that mind career list we'll fall off a cliff at some point. Lethers and Gags list management will hurt us as much as Trout's drafting did IMO.

And we still need to be finding kids at the front end of the draft at the same time and hoping all our kids end up being quality.
I agree but not at the cost of FRDP unless it's a premium midfielder. If Battle stays then go for it, otherwise not.

It begins in the centre.
That's where we start.

There is no doubt Stengle is a quality player in a very good side, but as you have said Tom we need midfield quality and leadership. I doubt he leaves regardless of the money offerred in any regard.

It would be ridiculous to lose Battle, then sign Stengle and not get compensation. That would be a complete disaster list wise. We get a quality small forward and still have the worst midfield in the competition and no fill in CHB. No compensation and no way of a decent fix for our midfield.

If we sign Battle firstly and have a plan to fill CHB etc then bringing in Stengle would make more sense. But going back to what Tom highlighted as much as Stengle is a good player, we desparately need other positional players also.Yes he is a UFA but he will cost a significant % of our salary cap.

Amazing that we let Lethers a guy with no list management or football department (he was in footy admin) run our football department, made worse when he brought in a sales manager (He was a sales manager working at a bank, and was neve a Banker!) as his sidekick.

All this after Bains did likewise. A footy fanboy who we let play out his childhood dreams by being in charge of what we did with our list.

It is no wonder our list management and drafting/trading has been so disastrous.

the Gags one is super bizarre.

i looked into all the current list managers and not one has come from outside the industry. you are either a player manager jumping into club land or you already worked in an AFL football dept.

its very very strange.

That's the kind of player I was thinking of. LDU would be great, but I've stopped getting any form of hope up in such players joining us. Parker & players like him would be good for us. I know there's not a lot around, but i'm sure there's a few branches worth shaking.

Amazing that we let Lethers a guy with no list management or football department (he was in footy admin) run our football department, made worse when he brought in a sales manager (He was a sales manager working at a bank, and was neve a Banker!) as his sidekick.

I think Gringo would go alright as our list manager. Would make it a high priority to draft mids.

Just heard from 'Smythe' that Elwood Peckett is playing well & delivering it well too. And he's not sure if Boston Everitt is even playing?
I’ve tried my best to find info on how Boston is going. Even contacted the school on socials. Hahaha hopefully they don’t take it the wrong way. Can’t find any info. I’m praying he isn’t playing because he is having really bad growth pains and growing to 208cm Darcy style.

It'll certainly be interesting to keep an eye on how Luke Parker's season unfolds. Very safe to say it hasn't gone as planned. Injured at the start of the year, played a few VFL games, and with Sydney going so well, he hadn't been able to get back in the team before the big suspension. I think early/mid July is when he can play again, and obviously won't be starting in the AFL straight up. Curiously, he's played 283 games for the Swans and would have been expecting to play his 300th this year in a season where his team are hot favourites for the flag.

Well the fairytale dream has turned into a bit of a nightmare. He won't make the big 300 this year. He won't have played any footy for six weeks or so once the suspension ends, you'd think that's at least three or four weeks in the VFL before being up for selection in the AFL team. And of course with Sydney going so well there are no guarantees he even has a spot there anymore. There's a real possibility he's stuck in the VFL while the team for which he's been quite the player for 283 games wins the AFL premiership. That'd hurt.

If Battle leaves and we get band 1 compo and end up in 14th place (pick 5 & 6), offer one of those and Paton for LDU.