- Apr 6, 2014
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
Hannebery , Howard and Hill the gifts that keep on giving!Means he wasnt paid in the top 25% of players at the club
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Hannebery , Howard and Hill the gifts that keep on giving!Means he wasnt paid in the top 25% of players at the club
I don’t think so. When the Tassie team was announced it was mentioned that to be eligible for father son you had to be drafted from Tasmania. Roo was drafted from Queensland so his kids wouldn’t be eligible for Tassie.so as Roo is from Tassie they will have equal rights as us to F/S?
Combination of his last deal being quite short (2 years) and other players being signed from the outside on higher and longer deals, resulting in him not being in the top 25% of wage earners at the club.
top 25%, 42 on list therefore not in top 10.Means he wasnt paid in the top 25% of players at the club
Higgins should be paid more than him.top 25%, 42 on list therefore not in top 10.
Steele, Marshall and Sinclair clearly ahead of him.
King paid on potential
Hill and Crouch because they had to be enticed from elsewhere
Wilkie on a par and Membrey possibly back-ended for previous services rendered.
Surely Howard, Higgins and Butler are not better paid than Battle?
Owens, Windhager and NWM may leapfrog him in time but wouldn't affect current contract status.
You do realise that every player in the comp signs a deal taking them to free agency for that exact reason. If the Saints had offered longer (and most likely did) Battle’s manager would have knocked it back.That's unbelievable. Points towards very poor player management to me! Which coaching regime drew up the 2 year deal and missed this rather fecking important detail, think it was towards the end of Ratts?
Also, I'm not really buying the "Oh it's fine, we've got ready-made replacements waiting in the wings in Schoemaker and Keeler" angle. Battle has played 111 games, those two boys have played ****ing ZERO!
My gawd.
You also have to keep in mind his current contract was signed two years ago. How much should we have paid him at the end of 2022?top 25%, 42 on list therefore not in top 10.
Steele, Marshall and Sinclair clearly ahead of him.
King paid on potential
Hill and Crouch because they had to be enticed from elsewhere
Wilkie on a par and Membrey possibly back-ended for previous services rendered.
Surely Howard, Higgins and Butler are not better paid than Battle?
Owens, Windhager and NWM may leapfrog him in time but wouldn't affect current contract status.
Well I suppose just about anythings sipposibleYou know this forum has gone to shit when the Protocols are getting brought up .
I'm actually pretty sure that Deep State Freemasons and Epsteinite cabalists are to blame from us choosing Billings over Bont in 2013
You do realise that every player in the comp signs a deal taking them to free agency for that exact reason. If the Saints had offered longer (and most likely did) Battle’s manager would have knocked it back.
You also have to keep in mind his current contract was signed two years ago. How much should we have paid him at the end of 2022?
He wouldn’t have signed a longer deal. And if a player is happy to sign for what you’ve offered why would you give him more?From what I can gather we had two options to avoid the current situation - longer deal or higher deal. We failed at both.
And fact is we were shit in 2022 and couldn't even find a spot in the top 25% salaries for one of our home-grown local lads. Pretty poor.
Don't forget the jet we get from Sandy mate.I don’t know what to make of this season anymore, hate losing but winning seems so far away and useless. If we look back the last 5 or so years, sneaking into finals is the max we can get from this group as it is. Another 10th finish is the absolute pits. I’m sure list management have identified ideal draftees, and with players OOC this list will shape up differently.
We could draft 2 absolute guns with early picks and hopefully land Cole and Peckett
With Battle it will probably wait untill the end of the season. He has some huge offer from North and another from Hawthorn apparently so his manager will leverage it all year. It's his big pay day so all power to him.
There will not be a new offer to Battle. I told you all at the start of the season. We have a value for Battle in terms of salary cap and we have a value for Battle in terms of return on the market.With Battle it will probably wait untill the end of the season. He has some huge offer from North and another from Hawthorn apparently so his manager will leverage it all year. It's his big pay day so all power to him.
There will not be a new offer to Battle. I told you all at the start of the season. We have a value for Battle in terms of salary cap and we have a value for Battle in terms of return on the market.
We are currently at our salary limit. He has a 6 year offer from us. Unfortunately a mixture of poor form and big offers look him leaving is the most likely option.
The situation as it stands has us of the belief it’s a first round compo - and that would exceed our external value (There isn’t a poster on here that wouldn’t think it’s good list management if you could nab a top 5 pick for Battle). That doesn’t mean we are happy he leaves (likely not guaranteed) just that the outcome is acceptable.
Feel like one of Ross or Membrey goes. Looking like Tim.
They are keen to see how much value Howard can recover for the rest of the year. Similar to Battle. Thing with key backs is that clubs are willing to offer overs on salary for free ones. Keep an eye on a few of Adelaide’s tall backs as a potential replacement.
No free agent this year as it stands. They are looking at older players on the fringes they can get for cheap for a year or 2 or 3 that don’t hinder the cap space. Doggies have one or two we like.
Expect a really decent turnover at years end. More focus on youth again.
Hypothetically if you have 2 top 5 picks in this particular draft. You are laughing. Draper and Jagga Smith?
We are also keen on a late first. Think Hotton could fall into that range.
I’ll also leave you with this. North Melbourne desperately wants Trainor. They are willing to trade back from pick 1 to land this kid. We are aware of this as long as it doesn’t cost first rounders.
Max Hall. No idea who he was the other week. But SOS and Dalrymple think he could be top 5 in the Liston trophy if it was happening today. Thats not saying he even makes it at the level. But they like some of the intangibles he has and is a different mix to our current listed players.
Hope you are all well. Footy is shit when your side sucks (again!) but this isn’t full rebuild. There is a few things coming to light now that the blowtorch is applied that needs to be corrected. It will be.
Welcome back bull.There will not be a new offer to Battle. I told you all at the start of the season. We have a value for Battle in terms of salary cap and we have a value for Battle in terms of return on the market.
We are currently at our salary limit. He has a 6 year offer from us. Unfortunately a mixture of poor form and big offers look him leaving is the most likely option.
The situation as it stands has us of the belief it’s a first round compo - and that would exceed our external value (There isn’t a poster on here that wouldn’t think it’s good list management if you could nab a top 5 pick for Battle). That doesn’t mean we are happy he leaves (likely not guaranteed) just that the outcome is acceptable.
They are keen to see how much value Howard can recover for the rest of the year. Similar to Battle. Thing with key backs is that clubs are willing to offer overs on salary for free ones. Keep an eye on a few of Adelaide’s tall backs as a potential replacement.
No free agent this year as it stands. They are looking at older players on the fringes they can get for cheap for a year or 2 or 3 that don’t hinder the cap space. Doggies have one or two we like.
Hypothetically if you have 2 top 5 picks in this particular draft. You are laughing. Draper and Jagga Smith?
I’ll also leave you with this. North Melbourne desperately wants Trainor. They are willing to trade back from pick 1 to land this kid. We are aware of this as long as it doesn’t cost first rounders.
Max Hall. No idea who he was the other week. But SOS and Dalrymple think he could be top 5 in the Liston trophy if it was happening today. Thats not saying he even makes it at the level. But they like some of the intangibles he has and is a different mix to our current listed players.
Hope you are all well. Footy is shit when your side sucks (again!) but this isn’t full rebuild. There is a few things coming to light now that the blowtorch is applied that needs to be corrected. It will be.
So Mcrae ?There will not be a new offer to Battle. I told you all at the start of the season. We have a value for Battle in terms of salary cap and we have a value for Battle in terms of return on the market.
There will not be a new offer to Battle. I told you all at the start of the season. We have a value for Battle in terms of salary cap and we have a value for Battle in terms of return on the market.
Interesting on your thoughts there that maybe one of Tim or Ross goes. I think Membrey offers more as a forward option, unless they are confident that Sharman will kick on and make it long term. I’m not sure about Sharman. King and Hayes are both injury prone, so having Membrey as depth is not the worst idea.There will not be a new offer to Battle. I told you all at the start of the season. We have a value for Battle in terms of salary cap and we have a value for Battle in terms of return on the market.
Interesting on your thoughts there that maybe one of Tim or Ross goes. I think Membrey offers more as a forward option, unless they are confident that Sharman will kick on and make it long term. I’m not sure about Sharman. King and Hayes are both injury prone, so having Membrey as depth is not the worst idea.
Seb not getting the high numbers in the midfield anymore.
Sebs the linking player, plays mid back and forward and just chains with most and probably more importantly sacrifices his own for others. This is valued in clubland as if you have "problems" you can plug him there and be sure he'll try his best to do the job that needs doing.
Membrey, Membrey is limited. He's a good enough KP, he's good enough either end, but he's a bit stop start and momentum sapping, he's not someone you can bank on in the same situations as a Seb.
So if one goes, it's Tim all day every day because you can fill that gap with as you say a Hayes appearance, Sharman, Keeler, Heath coming through, Caminiti and King being there, but if you bleed Hotton, Seb and co in midfield, who are you going to sub with? Garcia and Byrnes plus new recruits?
Would be a big ask if you had to drop one as you need to, to pay for what you need.
In a less PC time they used to play "Chinese whispers" in class where you whisper something and it goes around the room and the original message has been changed as it went and corrupted. I think this is like that.
The aboriginal one is wrong too. Collingwood had a "bone pointed at them" by an "aboriginal witchdoctor" which isn't a thing any way. It gave them the collywobbles. They had a president- I think his name was McAllister who had said some racist remarks about Winmar and others at the time. Anyway that's from my memory of it.
Pretty sure it was probably from some football show segment. I think that stuff has all been mixed together and turned into a Saints curse. We were cursed by never having much success and always playing catch up. The real curse was the stupid zoning that was meant to rotate but gave clubs like the Hawks and Blues enfettered access to the best zones.