List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.3

It's probably just the classic St Kilda pessimism speaking but I can't help but feel like this is going to backfire on us somehow.
We’ll miss him. But we have to hand over the baton to our new generation.
I know it sounds weird bc we’ve just taken a 30 yr old Macrae but that was absolutely a position of need.
Cama, Sharman, King, Owens need to be playing together regularly from here on in.

It's probably just the classic St Kilda pessimism speaking but I can't help but feel like this is going to backfire on us somehow.

Of course it will the Pies will win a flag while he is there. The AFL could fix it overnight by bringing back the salary cap allowance to pay senior players outside the cap. I cant remember what it was called but in the past each club could pay two of their more senior players and have their salary sit outside the cap.

They seem to like player mobility but players like Membrey, Parker, Macrae etc shouldnt have to move clubs because they have reached their use by date at their own clubs. The AFL should allow similiar players to play out their days at their original clubs. Loyalty still does mean something in footy clubs and the league should engender that.

Of course it will the Pies will win a flag while he is there. The AFL could fix it overnight by bringing back the salary cap allowance to pay senior players outside the cap. I cant remember what it was called but in the past each club could pay two of their more senior players and have their salary sit outside the cap.

They seem to like player mobility but players like Membrey, Parker, Macrae etc shouldnt have to move clubs because they have reached their use by date at their own clubs. The AFL should allow similiar players to play out their days at their original clubs. Loyalty still does mean something in footy clubs and the league should engender that.
I agree with you here...but I think it (loyalty) only means something to us fans these days...and even then, only to those mostly over the age of 40.
I think everything is just about getting the final result (in this case a premiership flag) as quickly as possible. Hard decisions I suppose are easier to make when loyalty is removed from the equation.

Members has been a very good player for us and i'm sad to see him go but he is a classic example of why we have meandered for so long. We picked him up for free in our moneyball era and gave him games because he was good enough to get in our team and we wanted to look smart. He is still a very capable player and would look great in the right system but we need to move on. He's a perfect addition for a premiership contending team, and we are not that.

i wonder if the back flip on hayes contributed to the passing on soldo
What backflip on Hayes? Has his contract been extended? Has anyone at the club talked about extending his contract?

As far as I can see, nothing has changed. He can do a job for us, so I'd have happy to keep him if we don't use his spot to bring in another ruck.

Honestly I'd prefer to free the spot up for a draftee, but if it's between him and another state ruckman that state ruckman would have to have much more upside to override Hayes's AFL experience.

As an aside, it's a damn shame we can't give him the nickname "Purple" because of thst bespectacled opinionated media twat. I feel guilty even linking the two. I guess "Crazy" will have to do.

Even if he wins a flag it’s not backfiring imo. He did his time at the club, huge contribution, but he’s not part of our future and that’s ok. I hope he slots into the Pies side and wins a lot of games, the guy deserves that.

i wonder if the back flip on hayes contributed to the passing on soldo
There hasn’t been any backflip and the only one of those that they were apparently considering retaining was Hotton

(I’m not saying this with any ounce of ITK info, but 3-4 fans have all heard similar)

He will play some good football for the Pies but it's time for us to move onto King, Sharman, Owens and Caminiti as the forward group.

This is what's best for both parties. Membrey gets a chance to win a flag and we get to settle the forward group who will lead us for the next 8 years.

You cant ask kids to play those roles so early in their careers it would kill their development. Shoenmaker has an average defensive game and his fitness and strength arent any where near they need to be to handle key forwards. He struggles to match up on the third talls in the VFL. Cole and Hofmann are babies as far as the game is concerned, again it would be really poor player development throwing them to the wolves so early. How many 18-19yo talls are asked to play on key forwards?

Schoenmaker plays the loose distributor role more than a third accountable tall. Think Bonner not Battle. His long precise kicking breaks lines when the midfield is a weakness. He's a tall Daniel Rich.

I somehow left Seb off my 'outgoing' list so was working with 1 less out.

Good to know we have room for Crouch to begin preseason while still having room for a few DFA and all the discussed draft picks.
My gut feeling.

They all go. (Crouch given time to start training but still retires)Hotton moves onto the Rookie list.

And evidently, draft night trade occurs.

Tomlinson is a sort of hybrid tall defender and rebounder. Probably what Ari might become long term. Both Haynes and Tomlinson were disappointing because GWS wanted them to be KP backs but they were both ideally mobile talls. Mason Wood nearly had his career ended early at North because they wanted him to be a key forward in the same way.

Cordy is just a big lump one on one defender. You could potentially play a proper accountable defender and move Howard to the interceptor role. Probably actually makes a bit of sense. Howard struggles one on one but his spoiling and intercepting game is very good.

He will play some good football for the Pies but it's time for us to move onto King, Sharman, Owens and Caminiti as the forward group.

This is what's best for both parties. Membrey gets a chance to win a flag and we get to settle the forward group who will lead us for the next 8 years.
Hope you're right. The games I went to late in the year he was clearly our best forward. Including wiping the floor with Barass. A bit of pressure on the young guys to step up now, but maybe that's a good thing.

It won't backfire, but I'd be putting money of Pies for a flag, feels like the St Kilda way for someone to leave for a flag

Hard to know. They were pretty ordinary this year and they are going to have to switch back on. Also a year older on old legs. They've added some high end but you imagine a couple of their older guys drop back at the same time. I'm backing Brisbane right now. Their list is youthful and as deep and strong as any modern dynasty side.

Yeah, King has to step up and be the man next year. Hammer and Sharman aren't babies any more and Owens is ready to step back up. We have a lot of potency if they can get it together. Max King should be kicking around 60 goals in a full season. Get around 30 from Snags, Butler, Sharman, Owens, Hammer and scraps from Wood, Marshall and the mids and it looks like there is enough to win games.

Hope you're right. The games I went to late in the year he was clearly our best forward. Including wiping the floor with Barass. A bit of pressure on the young guys to step up now, but maybe that's a good thing.
I feel like Sharman, in particular, will do better with the pressure. He seemed to step up when required to be the man in the back half of the season and having a clear role over preseason for him should only help his confidence.

Yeah, King has to step up and be the man next year. Hammer and Sharman aren't babies any more and Owens is ready to step back up. We have a lot of potency if they can get it together. Max King should be kicking around 60 goals in a full season. Get around 30 from Snags, Butler, Sharman, Owens, Hammer and scraps from Wood, Marshall and the mids and it looks like there is enough to win games.
Despite it being our most dysfunctional line group, we have a lot of talent and 'potential' to be a high scoring team if they can all click together.

I'm hoping with the coaching shuffle that Enright moves forward and can get them to click as a group. And once they are all working together, we should be a much more dangerous team.

Despite it being our most dysfunctional line group, we have a lot of talent and 'potential' to be a high scoring team if they can all click together.

I'm hoping with the coaching shuffle that Enright moves forward and can get them to click as a group. And once they are all working together, we should be a much more dangerous team.
Everyone complains about our talls.

But our smalls need significant improvement.

Butler doesn’t hurt alot. Would love collard to come on.

Higgins plays more like older Milney as a mark leading forward than he does a younger Milney who was opportunistic and crumbing.

This post above is probably tongue in cheek but the comparison of stats with tall defenders is just a waste of time.

Their no.1 job is to quell their opponent. They can get four touches and have a good game in theory.

If you were judging players just on stats, 'tall' defender Riley Bonner, at 190cm, would be an excellent Battle replacement - which we know he is not.

There was heaps of comparisons on stats with Battle and Kemp - which were mostly irrelevant.

And also posters writing off Kemp because of his stats and even more ridiculously because he missed a shot on goal - mind you a week after he drilled four against the Eagles.

Continuity and delivery when mids were missing made it dysfunctional. Snags had a long suspension, Hammer and King both injured. Membrey missed a lot of footy, Butler no preseason and then in season injuries, Sharman in and out of the side, cameos from Collard and Garcia. That's not an environment that gets the best out of itself. Owens probably the only one that played a full season.

List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.3