Coach Alastair Clarkson IV - HFC Racism Investigation Discussion

Hey Trent the flight Steward I can't reply directly to your post as you don't appear to know how to operate the reply/quote functions properly. A bit of a limitation when you're on an internet forum.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, you missed the point of my post - I was referring to the legal/comms sh*thousery in relation to the ABC's characterisation of the "leak", not the amount of time the ABC may/may have not given the subjects of the allegations to reply.

Now jog on.

Rightio Old Codger from the Roman Olden Days. The ABC's integrity has been eroded by Namby-Pamby, Tree Hugging, Left Leaning, Pinko, Colours of the Rainbow, Climate Alarmist, Communist Loving Flogs. Don't go blaming the Turkeys you mentioned for what is at fault with the current ABC. :stern look
Don't you old Codger me buddy. You can take your binary dichotomous thinking and hop straight back on the first time dimension out of town. (I'm guessing that's the reference) It is entirely possible of course that the ABCs integrity has been simultaneously eroded by both the Namby-Pamby, Tree Hugging, Left Leaning, Pinko, Colours of the Rainbow, Climate Alarmist, Communist Loving Flogs and Morrison and Murdoch and their fascist cardre of bile spewing rightist simpletons simultaneously. Point is Jackson's article was crap.

This bloke welcomed these kids into his home, with his family, and this is what comes back at him.

I can't even begin to imagine what it would be like to have people who you sowed so much into on such a personal level, do his to you.
It would rip your guts out.

Justin Stevens, ABC Director, News:

“Russell Jackson’s reporting was thorough and fair. It was in the public’s interest to be informed about these issues and Russell went to great lengths to get the other side of the story so he could report on that as well.

“Russell Jackson is a highly experienced and ethical, Walkley Award-winning journalist. The ABC stands behind him and his work.”

The question to ask regarding the above is by what standard you judge and to what purpose is the work you do. Just because you do something well and your industry peers say it is good, does not mean you should still do it. As it still causes harm.

The issue I have with many journalists is that harm they cause and the seemingly acceptable justification that the public interest of a story out weighs the damage it does. This is a blight on all media, not just the ABC.

Specifically though in this case, would the complainants speak to the ABC again knowing how the last 8 months have played out? Would you reasonably expect the ABC to caution the complainants of the consequences of their actions? To consider unintended consequences? Was the ABC acting in the best interest of the complainants or were they happy to break a story knowing the damage it would cause? Did they think the only way of getting an outcome was going public?

As the AFL have found nothing I'd suggest not. They could have gone straight to the HRC 8 months ago.

Food for thought and nothing will change. Personally I couldn't run a story in good conscious knowing it would upset so many people. I'd work to solve things out of the public eye. But that's just me.

This bit interested me:

Further, the stories of the Hawthorn families were not “leaked” to the ABC. Nobody interviewed by Hawthorn for its cultural safety review was bound by confidentiality – they were free to speak to the ABC or anyone else. The ABC’s reporting was based on its own interviews with three Hawthorn families.
It interests me as well.

I suspect the ABC response is also playing games here when they say the stories of the Hawthorn families were not “leaked” to the ABC. They pretty much seem to be saying that the stories or the entire report was purposefully handed over as opposed to it being leaked. There has been some speculation that the ABC journalist got wind of a report and then searched out the individuals he thought may have been in the content so he could interview them independently. Did he come up with the same pseudonyms as used in the report by sheer coincidence?

Lmao the abc ended that by saying it was in the public’s interest to be informed of these issues.

Lmao. Was it? We didn’t learn anything? The people remained faceless and it was a big smoke screen.

Public’s interest is to be told incomplete truth’s or one sides account? This isn’t a newspaper it’s a gossip blog if that’s how they base it

The fear was that the afl would sweep this under the carpet if it wasn't made public?

Why do we need to know their complainents names?

Whys a senior coach and he's lietuneinent going to players house to move him away from he's pregnant fiance ?

Why didnt the club arrange couples councilloring sessions? Why isn't burt inside the house to try be more amicable with all parties? It's a shit show

Rightio Old Codger from the Roman Olden Days. The ABC's integrity has been eroded by Namby-Pamby, Tree Hugging, Left Leaning, Pinko, Colours of the Rainbow, Climate Alarmist, Communist Loving Flogs. Don't go blaming the Turkeys you mentioned for what is at fault with the current ABC. :stern look
Garbage. Absolute ****ing garbage. The ABC has been eroded because a bunch of white collar ****wits such as Ita think they know how the public broadcaster should operate.

You need to ****ing sort your shit out, the entire planet is moving left mate. Depravity, equity, social injustices are/is growing rapidly and exponentially. Its ****ing inevitable.

Right wing conservatism is ****ing dead and buried.

Rupert and LAUGHlin aint saiving it. ****in goneski.

Justin Stevens, ABC Director, News:

“Russell Jackson’s reporting was thorough and fair. It was in the public’s interest to be informed about these issues and Russell went to great lengths to get the other side of the story so he could report on that as well.

“Russell Jackson is a highly experienced and ethical, Walkley Award-winning journalist. The ABC stands behind him and his work.”

The question to ask regarding the above is by what standard you judge and to what purpose is the work you do. Just because you do something well and your industry peers say it is good, does not mean you should still do it. As it still causes harm.

The issue I have with many journalists is that harm they cause and the seemingly acceptable justification that the public interest of a story out weighs the damage it does. This is a blight on all media, not just the ABC.

Specifically though in this case, would the complainants speak to the ABC again knowing how the last 8 months have played out? Would you reasonably expect the ABC to caution the complainants of the consequences of their actions? To consider unintended consequences? Was the ABC acting in the best interest of the complainants or were they happy to break a story knowing the damage it would cause? Did they think the only way of getting an outcome was going public?

As the AFL have found nothing I'd suggest not. They could have gone straight to the HRC 8 months ago.

Food for thought and nothing will change. Personally I couldn't run a story in good conscious knowing it would upset so many people. I'd work to solve things out of the public eye. But that's just me.
The Hawks will tell you that they are ethical too whilst running pokies in Caroline Springs and Mulgrave. I could almost understand Mulgrave but Caroline Springs is preying on those with lower income.

I don't see the Hawks or Rusty Jackson as ethical, just because old mate Justin says so it doesn't mean it's true.

Just on the Walkley Award winning comment, Caro is also a Walkley Award winning journalist. Probably enough said right there.

Can someone show Trent how to reply? They’ve only been here 16 years.

Trent the flight Steward my man, if you reply within a quote box you'll end up in a downward spiral of talking to your self. Type out side of the other posters quote.

Doesn't have to be leaked - could have been given is the ABC's defence.
You're reading it wrong. They're saying that the players and their families weren't bound by any confidentiality. As such it was not "leaking" for the players to speak to Jackson.

Their statement makes no mention as to whether Jackson saw a copy of the report, how he knew there was a story to investigate, or how he got in contact with the players.

Don't you old Codger me buddy. You can take your binary dichotomous thinking and hop straight back on the first time dimension out of town. (I'm guessing that's the reference) It is entirely possible of course that the ABCs integrity has been simultaneously eroded by both the Namby-Pamby, Tree Hugging, Left Leaning, Pinko, Colours of the Rainbow, Climate Alarmist, Communist Loving Flogs and Morrison and Murdoch and their fascist cardre of bile spewing rightist simpletons simultaneously. Point is Jackson's article was crap.
Jackson's Article was Crap. Permitted to be published by Namby-Pamby, Tree Hugging, Left Leaning, Pinko, Colours of the Rainbow, Climate Alarmist, Communist Loving Flogs. Nothing to do with the other Turkeys and you know it. :stern look

Garbage. Absolute ******* garbage. The ABC has been eroded because a bunch of white collar *******s such as Ita think they know how the public broadcaster should operate.

You need to ******* sort your s*t out, the entire planet is moving left mate. Depravity, equity, social injustices are/is growing rapidly and exponentially. Its ****** inevitable.

Right wing conservatism is ******* dead and buried.

Rupert and LAUGHlin aint saiving it. *in goneski.
LOL. Someone barracks for Labour. Clowns like you sicken me. Barracking for a Political Party. Under the Spell of Andrew and Albos. They can't do no wrong in your eyes. You are blinded. Most likely due to a Slivovitz induced drunken stupor to numb the pain of your boring Namby-Pamby, Tree Hugging, Left Leaning, Pinko, Colours of the Rainbow, Climate Alarmist, Communist Loving Life. :stern look

You're reading it wrong. They're saying that the players and their families weren't bound by any confidentiality. As such it was not "leaking" for the players to speak to Jackson.

Their statement makes no mention as to whether Jackson saw a copy of the report, how he knew there was a story to investigate, or how he got in contact with the players.
I get your point. But if they have copies of the report, and I would assume they did, then they can do what they like with it if they have no confidentiality agreement.

someone who knew one of the victims would have connected jackson to them to get their story heard

but the point is jackson the grub should have waited more than 2 days to release the story with those types of allegations, there is no issue waiting a few weeks make sure you have the other side then release, there was no other party that was going to beat him to releasing it

now he should be sued for defamation

He read big footy. If you sort through the garbage and the tripe you get exactly what this bloke said. I was listening, yep that was said on NMfC BF, that too, that too, yep that too.

Hey Kudos to some of you ****ers. On the money. Thats why I like reading this shit. Best posters on this entire site.

LOL. Someone barracks for Labour. Clowns like you sicken me. Barracking for a Political Party. Under the Spell of Andrew and Albos. They can't do no wrong in your eyes. You are blinded. Most likely due to a Slivovitz induced drunken stupor to numb the pain of your boring Namby-Pamby, Tree Hugging, Left Leaning, Pinko, Colours of the Rainbow, Climate Alarmist, Communist Loving Life. :stern look
Idiot. Im a staunch militant socialist ya gronk. Barrack for Labor? Spell it correctly ya ****in muppet. I endorse taking money from the rich and putting it in the pockets of the people who need it.

Your days are gone buddy. Have a night cap and drift away into nothingness

Labor

Idiot. Im a staunch militant socialist ya gronk. Barrack for Labor? Spell it correctly ya *in muppet. I endorse taking money from the rich and putting it in the pockets of the people who need it.

Your days are gone buddy. Have a night cap and drift away into nothingness
images

Coach Alastair Clarkson IV - HFC Racism Investigation Discussion