Coach Alastair Clarkson IV - HFC Racism Investigation Discussion

I think she will get her job back and then watch out, journalists might be empowered to give an alternative viewpoint.
I dunno mate. She was only on a short-term contract, which was paid out to her in full. Its not like there is a job to reinstate her into.

I do think ABC journalists need to be serious about public impartiality, but I'm not sure how this extends to local radio hosts (ie not journalists), especially when the likes of Phillip Adams, Chris Uhlmann, Tom Switzer and Amanda Vanstone have been on the books over recent years.

Having said that, I don't quite understand this story. Her views on Gaza were well published prior to her getting the gig. Did her (now former) manager hire her without realising it was going to ruffle some feathers, and then cop heat from her higher ups?

Antoinette Lattouf was sacked three days into a short-term radio-hosting contract with the ABC because she shared a controversial social media post, the public broadcaster says in denying allegations her race or political opinion played a role in her departure.
In its response to Lattouf’s Fair Work claim, the ABC filed a legal defence, describing her application as “fundamentally and entirely misconceived”.
The ABC says Antoinette Lattouf was asked not to present her final two shifts following a controversial post to her Instagram page.

The ABC says Antoinette Lattouf was asked not to present her final two shifts following a controversial post to her Instagram page.CREDIT: MARIJA ERCEGOVAC
The ABC rejected Lattouf’s unlawful termination claim, arguing she was directed not to post about “matters of controversy” during her five-day contract while covering the mornings show on ABC Radio Sydney in December. The broadcaster says she failed or refused to comply with this directive.
The post in question was a Human Rights Watch report reposted by Lattouf on the afternoon of December 19, two days into her five-day contract. The ABC also denied any involvement from managing director David Anderson in the decision to remove her.

The ABC says any political opinion expressed by Lattouf during her contracted period, or any matters relating to her race and national extraction/social origin were “entirely irrelevant” in its decision.
“The suggestion that the ABC took action against the applicant on the basis of her race, national extraction or social origin is abhorrent,” the ABC says in its response.

The events according to the ABC

The ABC alleges in court documents that there was a phone conversation between station content director Elizabeth Green and Lattouf after her first show on Monday, December 18, during which Lattouf was informed that several complaints had been received with concerns raised over her presence on the channel and her perceived stance on the ongoing conflict in Gaza.
Lattouf was directed by Green not to post anything on her social media accounts that could be considered “controversial”, to avoid any perception of bias for the four remaining days of her contract as presenter of Sydney ‘mornings’.

Lattouf sought to clarify what would be appropriate to post the following day, the ABC claims, with a conversation between Lattouf and Green. The ABC claims Lattouf said words to the effect of: “What can I post? What if another journalist dies, can I post that?”
Green is alleged to have responded: “Well that would be fact-based. But really it’s probably better that you don’t post anything while you’re with us because of the risk of the perception that you are biased and not balanced.”
The post made by Antoinette Lattouf on December 19 which was deemed to be relating to a controversial topic.

At midday on December 20, the ABC became aware of a post made to Lattouf’s Instagram account the previous day. The post included a link to a Human Rights Watch video, with a comment “HRW reporting starvation as a tool of war” attached.
The ABC says it was of “serious concern” that Lattouf had posted about a “controversial topic” after being specifically directed otherwise.

Despite the broadcaster having deemed this post controversial in nature, it also covered the report in question twice that same week.
On December 18, the ABC News online posted an article with the headline: “Israel-Gaza war: Human Rights Watch says starvation is being used as ‘a weapon of war’ by the Israeli government”.
ABC chair Ita Buttrose with managing director David Anderson.

ABC chair Ita Buttrose with managing director David Anderson.CREDIT: DOMINIC LORRIMER
On December 20, ABC News Breakfast on ABC TV interviewed Omar Shakir from Human Rights Watch on the subject of the report, republished online with the headline: “VIDEO: Human Rights Watch accuses Israel of weaponising starvation in Gaza”.
According to court documents, the application alleges that a meeting between ABC chief content officer Chris Oliver-Taylor, head of audio content Ben Latimer, editorial director Simon Melkman and the acting head of the ABC’s capital city network, Steve Ahern, resulted in Oliver-Taylor taking the view Lattouf was in breach of the directive she was given and was subsequently not required to return for her final two shifts.

Leaked WhatsApp messages obtained by this masthead show a co-ordinated letter-writing campaign from pro-Israel lobbyists directly targeting Anderson and the corporation’s chair Ita Buttrose in the week commencing December 18 in an attempt to get Lattouf dismissed.
In the chain of messages, correspondence from Buttrose was shared, confirming on the morning of December 20 that Oliver-Taylor was addressing complaints lodged by members of the Lawyers for Israel WhatsApp group.
An ABC spokesperson said the broadcaster has “a transparent complaints process and responds accordingly, regardless of the source of the complaint”.
The ABC also denies Anderson was involved in the decision, and rejects the claim in Lattouf’s application she was told Anderson was behind the decision.

The ABC alleges that in an attempt to comfort Lattouf, Green said words to the effect of “these types of matters are taken very seriously and decisions like this can be referred all the way up to the MD’s office”.
Lattouf’s legal team is seeking a detailed public apology, compensation for harm to her reputation, distress and humiliation. Lattouf will also seek an order that the ABC offer her a commensurate role back on air.
The ABC claims Lattouf was paid for all five shifts, and therefore suffered no financial loss.
Lattouf and her lawyer, Josh Bornstein, declined to comment.
FAEnDCCUUAIk4lG.jpg

Amazing how the best quotes are timeless.

Robin Williams was a drug addict. If you take your advice from addicts then you are cooked. He was a funny brilliant actor and comedian. He was ******* fried.
Most comedians are extremely intelligent. Why are you playing the man rather than his words? Do you take your advice from politicians or lobbyists that don't give a shit about you?

I dunno mate. She was only on a short-term contract, which was paid out to her in full. Its not like there is a job to reinstate her into.

I do think ABC journalists need to be serious about public impartiality, but I'm not sure how this extends to local radio hosts (ie not journalists), especially when the likes of Phillip Adams, Chris Uhlmann, Tom Switzer and Amanda Vanstone have been on the books over recent years.

Having said that, I don't quite understand this story. Her views on Gaza were well published prior to her getting the gig. Did her (now former) manager hire her without realising it was going to ruffle some feathers, and then cop heat from her higher ups?
She'll get a job out of ABC to quash embarrassment. The ABC is very vulnerable to embarrassment, and they are exposed by their "impartiality" here.

Most comedians are extremely intelligent. Why are you playing the man rather than his words? Do you take your advice from politicians or lobbyists that don't give a s**t about you?
What? I dont take advice from junkies mate. You do you pal. I’d rather quote great philosophers and scientists. Not junkies.

Chomsky is the first that comes to mind.
Just the one then. Manufacturing Consent should be taught in schools instead of Shakespeare.

I'd suggest some variety though unless you just want to parrot one person and take their views as your own.

Name some for me please
I really appreciate the opinion of Brian Cox too.

Robin Williams was a flat out ****ing junky. A rich junky. Sure he was intelligent, was able to articulate his view on the world in a funny humorous way to have people engage.

So by your logic, George Carlin was the smartest man on the planet? I mean he understands how the world works and was hilarious, therefore the brains trust.

Thats it, I take all my advice from Carlin.

Just the one then. Manufacturing Consent should be taught in schools instead of Shakespeare.

I'd suggest some variety though unless you just want to parrot one person and take their views as your own.
I make my own mind up. Not influenced by government. Not at all. I lean on credible sources and consensus

I really appreciate the opinion of Brian Cox too.

Robin Williams was a flat out ******* junky. A rich junky. Sure he was intelligent, was able to articulate his view on the world in a funny humorous way to have people engage.

So by your logic, George Carlin was the smartest man on the planet? I mean he understands how the world works and was hilarious, therefore the brains trust.

Thats it, I take all my advice from Carlin.
The physicist, the actor or both?

I never said that I take all my advice from comedians or that they are the smartest people on the planet.

Back on the Hawthorn getting away with incompetence, racism and corruption topic.

A significant reminder, Clarkson will never ever be the same person after what transpired the last 16 months. The damage Hawthorn have caused along with the AFL doing absolutely nothing about tackling the issue then expecting the parties involved to just go 'yeah nah, no worries all good' after throwing money at them... makes my skin crawl!

You know, it's sad that Hawthorn still doesn't get it I reckon. If they really cared and really wanted to make a difference, they would do what Sonja is doing in the community hubs. Go above and beyond, go the extra mile. Become the best they can be at approaching different cultures and embracing diversity. Their own version of 'The Huddle'. They've won their flags, do something positive off field. Make the news.

You just want to punch a wall at how opposition clubs can get away with anything. From both parties, people's lives were ruined and no one gives a shit.

Shame, shame, shame. Utter disgrace.

North v Hawthorn should be one of the biggest rivalries in footy.

Partly ruined by constantly playing on the South Island.

Hopefully, as we rise and roar, the rivalry builds.
Absolutely massive in the 70’s by all accounts. 10 finals in 5 years (doubt that’s happened since).

Agree with the Tassie dilution. Another problem is we’ve never been good together for a decent period of time since. That’s been our fault really except for the mid to late 90’s. We needed to play in the 2015 Grand Final against them for example.

I can see us getting on level footing again though but it’s going to take us being 70’s and 90’s good again and beating them in key games.

Coach Alastair Clarkson IV - HFC Racism Investigation Discussion