Prediction Changes v GWS

Mmm if it rains i would be inclined to give Waterman a well deserved rest and bring him back for next week.

I would go with the following:

Option 1: Nic Nat gets off

Out: Shuey, Waterman
In: Ainsworth, Ah Chee

Cole Barrass Shep
Hurn Gov Duggan

Masten Redden Gaff

Ah Chee Darling Cripps
Rioli JK Lestar

Ruck: Nic Nat Yeo Hutchings

Bench: Lycett Nelson Ainsworth Pet

Option 2: MCinnes in for Nic Nat. All this talk of Gov ,Darling ect rucking is not a good idea. Gov gets hurt all the time he rucks and Darling is in fine form and lets not ruin a good thing!

Ah chee has played 2 games in the WAFL and should be fit enough. He still had a solid pre-season in the lead up to the season before injury so he should be fit enough. Ainsworth to get a crack in the guts.

Ainsworth for Shuey the only change. Nic Nat will play, if not by reason of the Tribunal's decision, then by reason of the Appeals Board.

It will mean a lot of youth, but that has got us to where we are to date.

I had this pegged in as a loss anyway, even before Shuey's injury and with GWS's outs. A hard fought loss and another game's experience into our young blokes would see a pass mark from me.

However, make no mistake, we can definitely pinch this one - but we aren't going to do that by going into our shells and selecting conservatively.

Ainsworth for Shuey the only change. Nic Nat will play, if not by reason of the Tribunal's decision, then by reason of the Appeals Board.

It will mean a lot of youth, but that has got us to where we are to date.

I had this pegged in as a loss anyway, even before Shuey's injury and with GWS's outs. A hard fought loss and another game's experience into our young blokes would see a pass mark from me.

However, make no mistake, we can definitely pinch this one - but we aren't going to do that by going into our shells and selecting conservatively.
Couldnt agree more,tho' im worried about NNs appeal.Esp after that flog Blight came out [ of the closet ] saying " how would you like that done to you? " Well i wouldnt Malcolm,and i wouldnt like to lose and i wouldnt like to be outmarked!! theres a lot i wouldnt like but thats life.Toughen up princess!!

Id like it a lot more if it were done to him.

WRT Gov and Darls rucking, it would only be in the 50 arcs. their role would be pretty much unchanged and they would be wrestling for position not running at the opposing ruck as in a centre bounce. Not really much room for injury there and they dont exactly rove stoppages anyway so I dont see it as being much of an impost for either or a risk.

Also, what's with the relentless calls to rest Waterman? They have been coming for weeks but I don't know why. He is working well in our forward set up and doesn't appear to be fatiguing or in need of a rest. If he is fit and firing let him play and develop.

For anyone who played rugby Blight’s comments are laughable. Tackles like that happen all the time.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
the game is losing credibility - this will stunt the growth is it carries on. Ok to look after soccer mums but players chose to play or not in the end.
The game is easily stereotyped as soft in NSW and Old as it is.

Not sure about McInnes. His great form has been as the main man at East Perth, don't know if he'd go that well as second banana to Lycett.

Without our two gun rucks I'd rather revert to what every other team is doing and play a sole ruck with someone giving a chop out, but there's no good chop-out candidate. I suggested Darling earlier but he and McGovern are probably too valuable in their respective positions.

Brander would be ideal if he'd done any pinch-hitting at all in the WAFL, but he hasn't.

Your demeanour towards WCE & our fringe players in 2018 is somewhat perplexing.

What’s changed?
How do you mean?

I think we have some great fringe players and I am relatively happy with how the team is poised especially now that we seem to have extracted the best out of a bunch of prior underachievers.

How do you mean?

I think we have some great fringe players and I am relatively happy with how the team is poised especially now that we seem to have extracted the best out of a bunch of prior underachievers.
You seem to be quite pessimistic at times this season old mate, perhaps I'm over analyzing.

Bringing in another big guy to play 10-15% in the ruck would be a bad call IMO. Especially when we're already down in runners with Shuey,Sheed & Jetta injured and pretty tall in the forward line.
Then when you factor in the best ruck the opposition can play is Rory Lobb....it makes even less sense.

Shaun Grigg plays 2nd ruck for Richmond....let's not over complicate it.

You seem to be quite pessimistic at times this season old mate, perhaps I'm over analyzing.
Yeah I reckon you might be.

Here’s what I have expressed concern/dismissed over the past few months:
1) Taking three forwards in the first three picks of the draft whilst trading out our first rounder - didn’t help our biggest area of need. I was pretty melty about this but I didn’t realise how promising Brander would be nor how versatile Ryan would be. Still worried about Allen over Fogarty/Kelly but so be it

2) Nelson being not AFL standard
Still think this is valid and I’m glad they’re playing Cole now because he’s miles better. I think we’d be better off drafting a specialist small defender than persisting with Nelson, but you never know

3) Ah Chee not being as good as people think he is
I think people assume he’s going to be a hidden gem because his brother was a high pick, because he spent a bit of time at Port and because he came second in the Margarey Medal. I see him as more of a discard than someone who was under-utilised and don’t think he’s the BBIBWBLF. Nothing other than a big handball has shown me that he has anything to offer that we couldn’t get from other mature aged state league mids as a rookie pick. Of course I wish him all the best but I’m not going to be overly optimistic just for the sake of getting people excited on BF.

Otherwise I think I have been pretty chipper on here thanks very much. Almost POTY worthy

The MC need to maintain the line that WAFL form is important and non A grade players coming back need to earn their spot.

Ah Chee is not there yet. His form does not warrant promoting where as Ainsworth and Partington have both had good WAFL form this year (albeit Parto a little disjointed).

I am assuming that Jetta and Sheed are still not available.

Forecast for Sydney on Saturday - windy with likely showers in afternoon. If NicNat out, then really tempting to go with only 1 ruck.

upload_2018-5-9_10-46-47.png
This says to me
Out: Shuey In: Partington/Ainsworth

if our QC is not sucessful
Out: NicNat In: Ainsworth/Partington

I do see some merit is going with Brander. Not to ruck but to have a stint KPF. I would not be asking him to be cover for Gov as that is too much to ask a debutant to be the swing man. The forecast is OK - not as if it will be heavy rain as such.

Minimum I would be naming Brander as an emergency to (a) get him used to the routine, (b) show some reward in him with his recent form and (c) drop him into the side if the weather looking to stay dry.

Bringing in another big guy to play 10-15% in the ruck would be a bad call IMO. Especially when we're already down in runners with Shuey,Sheed & Jetta injured and pretty tall in the forward line.
Then when you factor in the best ruck the opposition can play is Rory Lobb....it makes even less sense.

Shaun Grigg plays 2nd ruck for Richmond....let's not over complicate it.

The problem with that is who's our Shaun Grigg?

Yeo's pinch hit in the ruck once before to my memory, but he's probably too valuable to do 10-15% of the game in there.

Redden's a possibility but his form is too good to mess around with.

Maybe Ah chee, he's 188cm and did take the ruck on occasion for Easts a couple of weeks ago. Big ask for him though.

Yeo's pinch hit in the ruck once before to my memory, but he's probably too valuable to do 10-15% of the game in there.

Maybe Ah chee, he's 188cm and did take the ruck on occasion for Easts a couple of weeks ago. Big ask for him though.

I'd almost rather just concede a couple of ruck contests and bring an extra number around the ball when Lycett is in on the bench.

Hopefully Nic gets off and it isn't even an issue.

I actually like that last suggestion.

tbh I was a bit skeptical of Willie coming in after the WAFL reports, along with Cole. Both seem to look much better in the senior side with better players around them. Maybe Ah Chee will be similar.

So if Lobb plays, he rucks and Paton will give a chop out. Last week it was Paton only so I think we have options and I would back in Lycett for most of the game and to beat Lobb.

Paton is not a great ruckman so Gov would be fine against him. Not as if Paton is like a crash bang ruckman likely to bruise Gov. If we want to protect Gov, then Barrass to run in the ruck against Paton. It would also make it interesting to with Barrass being a leftie as left handed rucks are more difficult to play against, especially the part time right handers.

Starting to lean towards going smaller. McInnes can travel as an emergency but not keen to play him.

Ahch to the ruck, I like it.

From memory Ah Chee had some big games (OK maybe there's just one game in the ole memory bank, probably against us) for Port as a run-with player. He's a big lad, history has shown (I haven't had a chance to see him play for EP) he can take contested grabs and he sticks tackles. He needs to be played around the contest, not off a flank. Also doesn't need to be a super ruckman to compete with Lobb/Patton and Keeffe.

If NN plays I'm happy to see Ains in for Shuey as the only change. However, if NN's appeal fails I can see the rationale for not replacing him with a ruckman but I think Parto and Ains in for Shuey and NN would be a mistake - not enough experience and size. Ah Chee and Ains or Parto as ins seems better balanced to me.

Before you discard WAFL form just remember the magnificent game Giles played against the Crows.It shows what anybody at AFL level is capable of if highly motivated.Giles is not as classy as Mcinnes.100% committment has a LOT going for it!

Is Ah Chee a good tackler? I see he’s had 6, 6 & 5 tackles in his games so far at EP.

The Ah Chee to ruck idea sounds like it has merit, particularly if it rains and becomes a slog. McInnes the obvious choice if dry though.

Prediction Changes v GWS