Prediction Changes vs Adelaide

The point is that asking Yeo to play as a partial stopper has the potential to reduce his attacking impact. Surely this is an uncontroversial point.

If we have other players capable of playing lockdown roles, allowing Yeo off the chain, why not do that?
What happens if Yo gets tagged?

Entering into the Petch v Cameron debate I like having Petch in the team, you can see his speed worries opposition.

He is getting much better at coming up from the forward line and impacting the contests. You can see that his man often hangs back a little as I reckon that they know they can't let him get goalside if we win the contest. This often gives us an extra player at the contest and the amount of times this has meant we have won the ball and then had that inboard kick to someone (often Sheed) which really opens up angles for Petch, Rioli and Ryan to run into along with the leading forward of Kennedy.

If Petch learns to pick up the ball at speed (which he has unfortunately struggled with) we will win even more of the contests if he can run off the front of the pack.

I know there comes a point where you do need to get more than 8 touches a game but its not just that. If your weapon changes the way opposition have to deal with you and makes them less effective then you are ahead from the beginning. I feel Petch gives us some of that.

Then he gets tagged. What's your question?
You say not to use Yo as a partial tagger as we can "let him off the chain".You also spruik Hutch using the example of his GF job on Sidebottom.If you quote GF performances shouldnt you also ask how Yo went with the tag?

I know there comes a point where you do need to get more than 8 touches a game but its not just that. If your weapon changes the way opposition have to deal with you and makes them less effective then you are ahead from the beginning. I feel Petch gives us some of that.

Petch had 15 touches last game and took 7 marks.

giphy.gif

I quite liked his role on the weekend at times.

Because of his speed, he creates seperation and becomes an easy hit up for a short kick on the wings, a pressure release valve for want of a better word. As his tank increases we'll be able to use him as a get out more and more
The play before his set shot from the pocket. Good luck any defender league wide going with him if he's zig zagging and sprinting into a pocket of space, easy target on the lead.

We play our best when Hutch tags the outside types. Sidebottom is the perfect matchup for him.

The last game against Adelaide he tagged Sloane for the first half and we turned the game by releasing that tag and letting all our best ball winners in the centre square.

Smith is the best matchup for him this week imo. Been dangerous on a wing the last few weeks, reckon he'd be pretty easy to shut down too. Reckon Hutch comes back for either Waterman or maybe Masto.

Cripps in for Cameron.

The point is that asking Yeo to play as a partial stopper has the potential to reduce his attacking impact. Surely this is an uncontroversial point.

If we have other players capable of playing lockdown roles, allowing Yeo off the chain, why not do that?
Because yeo plays a run with rather than a stopper role and players like fyfe dusty and cripps have better footy nouse than yeo - take him to the ball and he promptly pinches it.

Allen has been surprisingly very good in the ruck. Beat bloody Goldstein a few times
Been pleasantly surprised by this - is turning out to be an excellent no 2 given that when the ball hits the deck hes an extra mid in there.

You say not to use Yo as a partial tagger as we can "let him off the chain".You also spruik Hutch using the example of his GF job on Sidebottom.If you quote GF performances shouldnt you also ask how Yo went with the tag?
Yeah, Yeo got tagged in the GF and it limited his output. And what? We don't have control over whether the opposition tags Yeo or not. I'm not clear what point you're trying to make?

Also, to be clear, Yeo may well be used as a partial tagger/stopper at different stages of games. The reality, though, is that we're going to need a range of options, not least because it provides us the flexibility to release Yeo if we choose.

Because yeo plays a run with rather than a stopper role and players like fyfe dusty and cripps have better footy nouse than yeo - take him to the ball and he promptly pinches it.
"Run with" is distinct from "partial stopper"?

Fundamentally, we are talking about Yeo lining up against an opposition gun in a capacity where we expect him to tackle hard and be accountable and limit the opposition gun while also having a licence to hunt his own ball and be damaging when he gets it.

Not sure we need to split hairs over the label.

Yeo is a gun midfielder who can win his own ball but works hard both way. He doesn't need an opponent to "take him to the ball".

I thought Petch was good vs Carlton.

Did a lot of running work in the Masten vein. Pushing hard to provide a switch option, even if not always used. This kind of run often seems to open up the corridor for someone like Shep to take a mark in a very dangerous position, centrally around the back of the square. Having all three options, left flank, centre or right flank open to attack into half forward really puts the opposition under pressure with viable marking options at each point with a Jake/Jack/JJK/Oallen mix and our smalls buzzing around at good pace.
Agree.

He is more and more playing that running, link-up role. To me he is being groomed as that when Masten retires. We still have Cripps, Ryan, Rioli, Cameron as small forwards.

I'm still in favour of giving Cripps a WAFL run this week to find touch/match fitness. Let him have a hit out and bag a few cheap goals. Ideally, we want him absolutely cherry ripe for the big game the following week against the tigers.

Hutch falls in the same category; he was good, but not great in the WAFL last week. I would be giving him another run for the Beagles this weekend

Prediction Changes vs Adelaide