Prediction Changes vs Richmond Round 13 @ Optus

Nelson hate is seriously overblown, pull your heads in.

I don't think any player is immune from criticism. Nelson included. Hate is stretching it at least from my point of view. Good player, improved heaps but still butchers it big time considering our game plan relies heavily on DE on kicking. he is the shakiest in our backline and I think cole has passed him in kicking department.

Been defending Nelson for a while now but there's been never a better week for him to pull a blinder. After being solid early in the season, his form has dropped off. As much as I love the thought of Duggo in the guts, his work in defence is just night and day compared to his work in the midfield. Think he pulled out a 30 possession game and one of our best in his first game back in defence this season.
If he slows down either dusty or Bolton contributing to us essentially winning the game, he won't be getting any criticism from me for at least the remainder of H&A.

Nelson has his limitations as a player but he is one of us. I don't get how people can be so nasty, it's like abusing one of your kids because they are sh*t at footy or maths or have lopsided ears.
It's not necessary.
I think Nelson shows more passion than the majority out there and with more experience, he is only going to become a better defender.

And Petrucelle. And Cripps. And Waterman. And Vardy. And Langdon..it's never ending and is the nature of the beast and we all succumb to it to varying degrees. There's also a distinct lack of patience for players to develop, or accept that not all players in a team or club are gun players, there is a certain quota of average serviceable blue collar players who fill a role as requested.
Also player's fortunes rise and dip, pretty hard to be top of your game year in year out, or even week in week out. Shuey has down days, NN has down days (well not often), Dusty has down days - he's going to have one this Sunday!!
Rowan ‘RoJo’ Jones, Best Clubman, 2006 Premiership Player. Much maligned whipping boy for the social media Nuffies with no idea. Nothing new really!

Very happy to see L. Edwards and JJ retained. Hope they can go on with their form. Good to see H. Edwards also stepping up - big game for him, especially if he helps with rucking duties. I feel Cripps needs a big game.

That's the most frustrating part (there are other parts) of Nelsons game... can't work out whether it's because his brain freezes for a second or he thinks he's playing rugby
I do like Nelson in the side, but agree he looks indecisive in close confines and can't really absorb a tackle to dish off like Sheppy or Cole can. He is a nice kick though, and gives plenty of grunt.

I remember my dad yelling at Cox on Suni Oval to "Do something for Christ's sake"

Thankfully Coxy took his advice
was Cox ever a chance to play had Gardiner not being injured? Sometimes injuries open doors. If I'/m not mistaken Gov got his chance over Emac long-term injury and actually kept him out of a side post injury.

I've been a part of this forum for a fairly long time now and it's very rare I'll have a go at my own players.
In fact, part of the reason Priddis Is Done and I don't get along as I've always found his distain and lack of respect for a champion of this club truly distasteful.

Just about all the other "whipping boys" mentioned in this thread have had a quality that makes them stand out.

Just to name a few;

Rojo - Brilliant mark for his size, very good tackler and team player (as we all know)
Fletcher - Run all day, ball magnet and a good kick generally.
G-Train - Size and power. Could hit the scoreboard, upside. (even when playing for us)
Petrucelle - Speed for days, upside.
Cripps - Speed, pressure, kicking for goal.
Masten - Endurance, ball magnet, tats for dayz

I could keep going with others too.
My point is that nearly all these other guys has stand out features than just being an occasional goer.

I just don't see it with Nelson, or Ainsworth. Hell even Swift stand out features...And that's not even including his neck!

My point is that nearly all these other guys has stand out features than just being an occasional goer.

I just don't see it with Nelson
Reckon this is right, he doesn't excel in any one area, but neither is he particularly deficient in any area either.

The coaches and his team-mates seem to trust his foot skills, as he takes kick-ins more regularly than all other defenders minus Hurn or Witherden. He's more likely to be trusted to lockdown hard on an oppo player than anyone bar Shep.

Perhaps Hutchings might be a better 'whipping boy' comparison for Jacko, as he clearly isn't elite in any one skill but is clearly a disciplined team-mate and hard trainer.

But I reckon Cole is miles ahead of him this year in most area, and Witherden will replace Nelson when fit.

Reckon this is right, he doesn't excel in any one area, but neither is he particularly deficient in any area either.

The coaches and his team-mates seem to trust his foot skills, as he takes kick-ins more regularly than all other defenders minus Hurn or Witherden. He's more likely to be trusted to lockdown hard on an oppo player than anyone bar Shep.

Perhaps Hutchings might be a better 'whipping boy' comparison for Jacko, as he clearly isn't elite in any one skill but is clearly a disciplined team-mate and hard trainer.

But I reckon Cole is miles ahead of him this year in most area, and Witherden will replace Nelson when fit.
I get where you're coming from and you're right, Hutch is a better comparison. I still think Hutch had a higher ceiling when playing at his best...Has done some damn good tagging jobs over the years. I just think we can do better with the position in the side.

I'm harsh because I want my team to be the best it can be I suppose.

Mate, did he kick your dog or something?

Something Worse Prepare For The Worst GIF - SomethingWorse Worse  PrepareForTheWorst - Discover & Share GIFs

Nelson is not 1/10 the player that Gehrig was. Gehrig could play, as for Nelson I can’t say the same. As regards playing ability there is no comparison. Gehrig whe playing for WCE was an AA, Nelson is so far from that it’s not funny.
First game I ever went to, Gehrig copped some of the worst abuse from a players own teams supporters I've ever seen. If playing ability is what separates whether it's okay to publically abuse a player or not for you, you need to grow up.

Nelson hate is seriously overblown, pull your heads in.
Seriously. Criticism is fine, but the poor guy is completely torn apart by some people on here. So what if he's not a best 22 lock? He's still a fair bit better than a lot of the depth on our list.

I get where you're coming from and you're right, Hutch is a better comparison. I still think Hutch had a higher ceiling when playing at his best...Has done some damn good tagging jobs over the years. I just think we can do better with the position in the side.

I'm harsh because I want my team to be the best it can be I suppose.
Nah disagree an all counts. As a tagger Hutch was very limited to the players he could tag. He matched up well on the outside leaning mids but other sorta mids he struggled on. Had success against some electric back flankers but he struggled on them too.