Review Dees v Collingwood: Judgement Day. The Good, Bad & Fugly

I've barely been on the dees board in months mate, and I literally said you can have your view. So I'm not even sure why you're saying it's an observation

It's been discussed above. It's shows on the desktop site. But the stats don't seem to support you. We were almost two years older than the pies today
For ****s sake let it go. Your Mrs must be deaf.

I've been through bling this for a long time - the guys who played under Neeld are just too broken and can't bring effort

I don't think we will do anything until they are all gone - we need to get rid of Jones Gawn Watts Hogan maybe but I don't think he played under neeld

The only people I would keep is Tmac
And Jetta

Sure I forgot a few but we need to get the cancer out

I've been through bling this for a long time - the guys who played under Neeld are just too broken and can't bring effort

I don't think we will do anything until they are all gone - we need to get rid of Jones Gawn Watts Hogan maybe but I don't think he played under neeld

And Jetta

I agree with this 100%. I reckon Watts is very emblematic of that period. We need a list and a starting 22 that ALL bring intensity all game every game.

And Jetta

Hogan isn't cancer

Yapping on about Hogan and cancer...

tenor.gif

And Jetta

Extremely harsh on Hogan mate. Watts is a polarizing player and I can understand that call (was good today) but writing off a kid like Hogan is crap.

I don't think I have ever felt this depressed by a loss before and I've felt pretty ****ing depressed on countless occasions. I've genuinely had enough. I don't want to follow this rubbish anymore.

Extremely harsh on Hogan mate. Watts is a polarizing player and I can understand that call (was good today) but writing off a kid like Hogan is crap.

People - there was obviously no pun intended. And they are all good players - I'm not saying that. I reckon when we get rid of them they'll be great at other clubs

But I think we need to get them all out the door - even the great or formerly great ones and get a clean mental slate

I said I'm not sure about hogan (but pretty sure) Viney Jetta and tmac

But even for them we'd get ok picks and I would rather a couple more years of pain knowing that we aren't mentally scared losers than continue to risk them polluting our side

And certainly not in leadership apart from vines nonenof the neeld era players are leaders

A true lack of leadership. Tmac had a shocker. Gawn got towelled up. Nev wasn't his best. There was a number of individually frustrating incidents but iverall we just needed to

A) Come out and stomp on the pies early to let them onow we meant business, not meekly try a nd coast through an important game to preserve ourselves for a final we hadn't earned yet

B) lock down when the pies got a run on and play some hard, honest footy. If they're gonna kick 6 to 1 in the first qtr make em bloody earn it.

Lewis was solid. Jones ok. The rest were trashy. Gawn and Tmac I'm particularly shitty with.

* credit to the pies, they ran hard for most of the day and Elliott, Grundy and a few others killed us.

Another first quarter comes back to haunt us. Rinse and repeat. Same old shit.

How is it that Collingwood who have nothing to play for and are missing at least 6 from their best 22 can come out with more passion and intensity than a team with a finals spot beckoning?

Whatever happens, this year has been an improvement overall but there's still a very long way to go. We need to address our horrific starts, failure to capitalise on our own momentum, exacerbating the oppositions momentum with dumb decisions and loose defense, our kick ins and to stop ****ing handballing back into traffic to team mate who has 5 opponents hanging off him.

Our team make up needs to change. Too many players getting beaten over head too often which just releases pressure for the opposition.

Our defence is a big problem. Oscar Mcdonald is miles off being a good defender and Toms kicking and decision making under pressure cost us late in the game.

Jayden hunt tried his hardest to lower his eyes and hit up targets but he's a pretty horrible kick. I love his run and effort but he's no better than Dean Terlich at kicking the pill.

Specific to the game we had the momentum in the second and absolutely blew it with horrific forward entries after being a shitload behind because our zone defence was torn apart until it was changed at quarter time. That's a pattern that's worrying that we seemingly can't change up the system during the game to stem the bleeding

Max Gawn has lost all connection with the midfield. I understand the idea of the 10 man inside midfield so they we can be relentless in the contest but by having that we have a lack of ability around the rest of the ground. Our teams over head marking would have to be the worst in the league. Our overall spread and midfield goal kicking is crap and our midfielders ability to shut down opposition run ons is crap. We don't have a top 8 midfield. We have a terrible defence. They look pretty when the ball hits the deck but Omac and Tmac have horrible connection and Omac often makes contests with very little impact. I worry we will never go anywhere if he is our full back we are relying on. Vince Salem Hunt and Omac are too many defenders who don't try and mark the footy. Hibberd is pretty good as is jetta at when to go and when they do they impact.

I don't understand our game plan either. Our plans seems to be to flood the contest. Win it outside through sheer power and force and then feed attacking half backs. They then bomb it forward to whoever is inside 50 who tries to make a contest outnumbered and we try and pressure a mistake. We then push forward aggressively looking to lock it in meaning we have no space for our forwards to work into especially the smaller ones like Hannan and Harmes.

Often the opposition will turn it over after we kick to the 3 on 1 and they will go long down the line where we get out marked by the oppositions key forward Obrien/Brown/Cox/Grundy/Dixon etc.... that then leaves us with a zone defence that often leaves Jetta one out mismatched.

Christian Salem for mine is lucky to be in the side. For every pretty kick he does he does something incredibly stupid and he really needs to work on his game.

Max Gawn has lost all connection with the midfield. I understand the idea of the 10 man inside midfield so they we can be relentless in the contest but by having that we have a lack of ability around the rest of the ground. Our teams over head marking would have to be the worst in the league. Our overall spread and midfield goal kicking is crap and our midfielders ability to shut down opposition run ons is crap. We don't have a top 8 midfield. We have a terrible defence. They look pretty when the ball hits the deck but Omac and Tmac have horrible connection and Omac often makes contests with very little impact. I worry we will never go anywhere if he is our full back we are relying on. Vince Salem Hunt and Omac are too many defenders who don't try and mark the footy. Hibberd is pretty good as is jetta at when to go and when they do they impact.

I don't understand our game plan either. Our plans seems to be to flood the contest. Win it outside through sheer power and force and then feed attacking half backs. They then bomb it forward to whoever is inside 50 who tries to make a contest outnumbered and we try and pressure a mistake. We then push forward aggressively looking to lock it in meaning we have no space for our forwards to work into especially the smaller ones like Hannan and Harmes.

Often the opposition will turn it over after we kick to the 3 on 1 and they will go long down the line where we get out marked by the oppositions key forward Obrien/Brown/Cox/Grundy/Dixon etc.... that then leaves us with a zone defence that often leaves Jetta one out mismatched.

Christian Salem for mine is lucky to be in the side. For every pretty kick he does he does something incredibly stupid and he really needs to work on his game.
Lever essential for all the reasons you have stated about our defence. Might not do it on his own either, but I haven't worked out just what else we do to fix it. Just a dramatic trade period full stop to distract me from this shit for a bit would be a start. And I've had enough of the high press forward flooding creating a scrimmage shit fest that we seem to feel is a reliable winning methodology week in week out. I want to see some versatility in our game plan over the next year or we will miss the 8 again in 2018. We need to campaign for better ball use. I'll sign the ballot in my own blood.

All you had to do was show up and you couldnt do that.
The story of our year, we constantly lose the games we should win so understand your pain.

Melbourne have been great to watch and I hope you get the results fall your way tomorrow as on your day can beat anyone.

Fingers crossed for Hogan to get up if you sneak in.

Viney would have helped no doubt, but we had half a dozen walk up starters out too so show a little respect.

All the best for the finals

Thanks, Captain Obvious.

Hogan 3 weeks I reckon

Just watched Goodwins post match interview. Pretty emotionless fair. I would have liked him to show a bit of passion and anger at a completely unacceptable performance. Looks like hes from the Dean Bailey cuddle school... I understand why coaches do that, to avoid losing the group, but it's a fine line. I guess the opposite is Neeld or Rocket, or Buddy Stephens from Last Chance U. We definitely don't need any of them...
It's defeats like these where I think he would be utterly useless post match with addressing the issues, probably goes on about some journey bs. I'd also love to know what our past greats thought about that performance.

The Day the Dees sh*t the bed! Seriously! Couldn't even beat a VFL side that had Porky Pig at full forward, a bunch of kids, and James Aish running around for them! James Aish!!!! I've never felt so let down by this club at a game. And I've been to losing margins by over 100pts and losing prelims. No goods today. Just ugly..

Ugly

To anyone saying we have a gameplan for finals footy, that's great. But you need to have a team who can hit targets. We have far too many poor kicks in this team to go deep in September. If we don't bring in at least two running mids who are very good users of the footy, we will continue to be middle of the road. Worst displaying kicking I have ever seen going into the F50..

TMac. Did he hit a target all day? One of the worst games by a leader I have ever seen. This is why he has to play forward. Under pressure, his disposal kills us. I don't want to see him down back in a pressure game ever again.

First quarter. Zero tackles in the first 11 mins and only 9 for the quarter. Simply unacceptable for any game let alone such an important one. The players should be ashamed of themselves. Worst first quarter I've seen from this club for years and with somuch on the line, the coaches, the leaders and all players should hang their heads in shame. Disgraceful.

Max Gawn. I'd drop him if we make finals. He's been stinking it up ever since coming back from injury. Can't run, can't jump, can't kick, can't take a contested mark. Another leader In horrible form.

Jayden Hunt. The amount of turnovers this guy does kills us. He streams forward full of pi$$ and wind then sh*ts himself. Nearly picks out the wrong option everytime. Problem is, our whole team moves forward with him and when he inevitably turns it over, it makes us horribly vulnerable down back.

Backline. Every single one of them were horrible for most of the game. Hibberds second half was much better, but they all collectively crapped themselves. Looked dysfunctional, lots of finger pointing, horrible disposals. Let the team down badly all of them. In fact our defensive efforts all over the ground were deplorable. Ben Dixon got it right. For some reason we have been lazy front running campaigners since about Round 13.

Hannan and Harmes looked lost. They might be AFL standard, just, but totally got found out under immense pressure. Can't be best 22 moving forward. Bring in Bugg and Viney for these two please.

Goodwin. Totally outcoached by Nathan flog Buckley. His worst performance as coach for the year. And when we needed him to do well the most. Chaplin as offence coach can pi$$ off. Get someone in who has actually played in the front half. This part of our game has seriously turned to sh*t in the second half of the year.

Overall letdown. Such a big day for the club, and again, they find a way to disappoint their fans. You could feel the nervousness in the crowd. We all knew we'd most likely play like rubbish. Because that's what this club does at times like these. This is why there is a collective wave of negativity surrounding the club. And this is most likely why we'll never be successful as a club. Doesn't matter who puts on the red and blue jumper, as soon as they put it on, they go to water when it matters. Because that's the losing culture of this club. And that is Goodwin's biggest challenge. And he, and the players failed yesterday horribly. Insipid performance and as a group of passionate supporters who put so much time and energy into this club, we should all be bloody filthy about what they dished up yesterday. Even if we make finals, it will be a slaughter. I want to finish ninth now. F*** finals. We're not worthy..

As pissed off and disgusted as I was, I'm firmly on the Crows bandwagon today.

Eh, not sure there's much point in a bit of bluster for the sake of it. Couldn't give a shit about his media commitments, but we have been failing to show up at key points this season (Sydney Friday night, Norf, yesterday, even riding our luck against the bottom side etc) so whatever he's doing with the playing group clearly needs a tweak.

I think most players were spent. It's been a long season. They only one that doesn't have any excuse is jones. He was shocking if there was ever a game he needs to make a statement it was this one. He is old enough to still have plenty of petrol in the tank.
For all the younger players they ran out of juice 3 weeks ago.

We will be top 4 next year

Review Dees v Collingwood: Judgement Day. The Good, Bad & Fugly