Review Dees v Roy-Bears: the Good, Bad & Fugly

Pedo and Hogan combo is easily the best the forward line has looked this year. TMac was great as a stop-gap but he was no good having to play to a structure with other talls in it.
That said I think there is still space for Watts there to play more of a drifting wing/flank role. Hasn't looked likely playing deep forward.

Good. Hogan getting some moxy back. Clarry doing what Clarry does. Truck looking like he may not be totally cooked for the year yet.
Getting the jumper of the great Nev Jetta presented to me pre game ❤
Bad. Letting them back in and into a winning position when we should have been nailing the coffin shut with a % booster. Wagner. Umpiring as per usual.
Ugly. Mathieson. The K Rock broadcast. It's HibbErd you simpletons not HibbArd and who the hell is Jimmy Hannan...among many other blunders.

Ground out a win where we could easily have let it skip.

To those who were wanting to sack Pedersen 3 weeks ago: stick that up your jumper. He's best 22 now. We need his heart and structure every week.

West coast would have to roll Adelaide and we lose to Collingwood to miss finals now. Can't see that happening. I think we're home.

Eagles were pretty good against GWS over there and the crows haven't exactly been 2000 essendon good

First half;

Good:
- Hoges, great to see him jump at the footy
- Petracca, good impact around the ball
- Jones/Clarry

Bad:
- Wagner, slow, fumbles - is a nice kick but can't find space because he's so ****ing slow!
- Gawn, silver service to Brisbane - legitimately clearing a path for their players
- McDonalds - both lacked a bit early

Well done fellas, obviously a bit of spite between some posters in the gameday thread but I think that comes with watching a hard intense game of footy!

Happy for Hogan after the year he has had, absolutely killed us today and was a real difference maker.

Good luck in the finals and remember to just enjoy it, regardless of the result - you never know when you'll be back again :(

Another fugly: I reckon nev was ko'd in a head clash when tackling in the last. He looked out before he hit the deck. Has had lots of concussions too. Hope he's okay.

Well done fellas, obviously a bit of spite between some posters in the gameday thread but I think that comes with watching a hard intense game of footy!

Happy for Hogan after the year he has had, absolutely killed us today and was a real difference maker.

Good luck in the finals and remember to just enjoy it, regardless of the result - you never know when you'll be back again :(
You guys look the goods. So many promising key position players. Gotta be happy with Fagan!

Game day threads are generally full of complete w***ers. Both supporters blame the umpires and then start taking whatever cheap shots you can at each others club before eventually someone saying flog then salty

The good;

Pederson decapitating Mathieson when he knew he was going to duck pederson made him earn it

Hogan best game for a long time.

Jones what a warrior

I thought Tyson was good in close, Lewis at times. But the mids weren't defensive enough the lions got some really clean clearances.

The bad;

Arm wrestle all day, being 5 goals up and not finishing the game off. Percentage would of been handy

Some of the switch kicks late, Oliver heart
In mouth stuff. Plus switch kicks into forward line, hogan, Tyson.

The ugly;

Umpiring, take one step over the mark and it's 50m. Bury hogan after a mark no worries

Pardon the intrusion, but well done on a hard fought match.

Both teams came to play but Hogan was the difference in the end, good to see him playing again!

Good luck with your finals campaign after too many years of hardship.

Onwards and upwards!

Eagles were pretty good against GWS over there and the crows haven't exactly been 2000 essendon good
True, if anyone could mess this up, it's us. But I think Adelaide will want to have a good hit out before finals to tune themselves up. They are a substantially better team than WC - especially after a loss.

I think it's good that we have to win to lock it in though. We've had so many chances to lock our spot down - so typical of us to leave the door open right up until the last round... If we fall out of the 8 this week, we totally deserve to.

yeah kept going for a minute or so, Melksham seems to have a boy and girl and Jones had a daughter in shot, and now I've remembered we have a women's team. All kids now valuable. :thumbsu:

The children are our future...

I think it's good that we have to win to lock it in though. We've had so many chances to lock our spot down - so typical of us to leave the door open right up until the last round... If we fall out of the 8 this week, we totally deserve to.
The negativity and entitlement is just phenomenal.

Jesus mate is all you do now just bait people?

Has been coming across more as sitting in judgment to me, but that could just be a perspective thing.

Ridiculous decision to play Wagner, the kid is miles off being an AFL player

Pedo has been in unbelievable form the past month, took some brilliant clutch grabs today

Jesus mate is all you do now just bait people?
How is it baiting him FFS?

How many years of shit have we put up with, all for people to forget about it the minute they smell finals.

Get behind the team if you want to call yourself a supporter. Its all well and good to bitch and moan when we're being spanked at quarter time every week, but at the moment we're an incredibly young side playing really good football for the most part.

All I heard from the first bounce today at the game was people whinging about everything. Too many handballs, kick the ****ing thing. Wait, who was that ****ing to?

Think about the amount of injuries we've had this season. Gawn, Jones, Viney, Brayshaw, Watts, Hogan, Hibberd, Salem have all spent significant time out and had interrupted years. Kids in Oliver and Petracca have had to carry a load far beyond what they should be capable of. Still, we're 7th heading into the final game of the year. Having beaten the Premiers by 10 goals, and having won the two hardest road trips in football. Having not been properly belted once, when we used to get belted every second week.

Still, that's not enough for some people. Apparently we should have put it away earlier, because we had a couple of poor close losses. Apparently every other club in the league is allowed to lose form, but not Melbourne.

Its entitlement, its negative, and its a load of rubbish.

If people are going to be accused of baiting because they're sick of the negativity, then I'll happily walk away from this board.

How is it baiting him FFS?

How many years of shit have we put up with, all for people to forget about it the minute they smell finals.

Get behind the team if you want to call yourself a supporter. Its all well and good to bitch and moan when we're being spanked at quarter time every week, but at the moment we're an incredibly young side playing really good football for the most part.

All I heard from the first bounce today at the game was people whinging about everything. Too many handballs, kick the ******* thing. Wait, who was that ******* to?

Think about the amount of injuries we've had this season. Gawn, Jones, Viney, Brayshaw, Watts, Hogan, Hibberd, Salem have all spent significant time out and had interrupted years. Kids in Oliver and Petracca have had to carry a load far beyond what they should be capable of. Still, we're 7th heading into the final game of the year. Having beaten the Premiers by 10 goals, and having won the two hardest road trips in football. Having not been properly belted once, when we used to get belted every second week.

Still, that's not enough for some people. Apparently we should have put it away earlier, because we had a couple of poor close losses. Apparently every other club in the league is allowed to lose form, but not Melbourne.

Its entitlement, its negative, and its a load of rubbish.

If people are going to be accused of baiting because they're sick of the negativity, then I'll happily walk away from this board.

Mate I'm pretty sure anyway who takes the time to post often on this board is a proper supporter and everyone has a right to be unimpressed with the game. We haven't achieved shit yet you want us all to high 5 and talk about how great everything is?

Some of us are old enough to remember 02/04/5/6 when inconsistent games against lower sides stopped us from ever being a chance at a flag.

Right now St Kilda are 7 goals up against north who are better than Brisbane yet we should be happy with letting the Lions nearly beat us?
You said it yourself we have lost form. So we should be pumped that we lost form at the most important stage of the season?

People can say whatever they want in the game day thread you are analysing the game. A team with a skinny Hipwood and Geelong discard nearly put 100 on us. If Brisbane had mature key forwards they probably beat us

The children are our future...
As someone who has to attend children's parties on the regular I'm sorry to say but the future is roughly as ****ed as the past and present. So many idiot parents raising shit kids.

Mate I'm pretty sure anyway who takes the time to post often on this board is a proper supporter and everyone has a right to be unimpressed with the game. We haven't achieved shit yet you want us all to high 5 and talk about how great everything is?

Some of us are old enough to remember 02/04/5/6 when inconsistent games against lower sides stopped us from ever being a chance at a flag.

Right now St Kilda are 7 goals up against north who are better than Brisbane yet we should be happy with letting the Lions nearly beat us?
You said it yourself we have lost form. So we should be pumped that we lost form at the most important stage of the season?

People can say whatever they want in the game day thread you are analysing the game. A team with a skinny Hipwood and Geelong discard nearly put 100 on us. If Brisbane had mature key forwards they probably beat us
Cheers for actually addressing my point reasonably.

Truth be told, its somewhere in the middle. 2005/6 was ruined by a bunch of soft middle-aged players. At the moment, we're being carried by a bunch of pretty bloody good young guys.

Review Dees v Roy-Bears: the Good, Bad & Fugly