Review Dees v the Aints - the Good, Bad and Fugly

Good: First quarter and a half was our best footy of the year.

Brayshaw and Langdon unreal.

Nice to have a small forward who doesn’t miss snaps at goal. Well done BBB

Bad: You could actually see the complacency coming in the celebration when Brayshaw kicked his goal mid-second quarter. The next few minutes we switched to Hollywood ball and that was the end of our good form for the game.

Couple of key players looking banged up. Lever will struggle to get up for next week.

Week off for Gawn against the Eagles would be a good idea too. Luxury of being 8-0 is we can afford to do that

Saints had 20 mins of ascendency where they kicked four goals. We forced them to play a way they didn't want to. They were never going to beat us today. You're crazy if you don't rate a performance like that against a top 4 side.

I feel Langdon, Brayshaw, Gawn, Kozzie, Spargo, TMac, Oliver, Viney, Bowey, May all had solid games.
ANB, Fritsch, Rivers were barely sighted for most of the game.
Petty had a shocker, for whatever reason you could almost attribute 4 goals to his name. Need an extra week to recover - happy to see him dropped for tomlinson for the journey west.

Is there something wrong with Track? I was there today, his touches were just ineffective, or hurried. Lots of times it looked like he wasnt really committing to a contest, especially 1 on 1 overhead. He got the ball and instant released to no one at least 3 or 4 times. Would love to hear others thoughts?

According to the Saints board we didn’t take our foot off the gas, they were in fact the better team for 2.5 quarters. We should be concerned.
Saints fans are a funny lot.

I feel Langdon, Brayshaw, Gawn, Kozzie, Spargo, TMac, Oliver, Viney, Bowey, May all had solid games.
ANB, Fritsch, Rivers were barely sighted for most of the game.
Petty had a shocker, for whatever reason you could almost attribute 4 goals to his name. Need an extra week to recover - happy to see him dropped for tomlinson for the journey west.

Is there something wrong with Track? I was there today, his touches were just ineffective, or hurried. Lots of times it looked like he wasnt really committing to a contest, especially 1 on 1 overhead. He got the ball and instant released to no one at least 3 or 4 times. Would love to hear others thoughts?
I think Trac’s knee is troubling him a bit. Not enough to stop him getting around and getting touches, but he doesn’t seem as dynamic or light on his feet, and definitely a bit less confident in traffic.

Good:

• Probably the best the midfield has played all year and probably the first match this year that we've dominated in that area. Langdon and Oliver excellent; Petracca, Jordon, Viney and Harmes all played their role.
  • Pickett playing his best game of the year. I remember Hawks fans saying that 10 disposals from Rioli was worth 30 from another player and I always used to think that was bullshit, but I see it now with Kozzie. If he can average 12 touches a game he's going to be AA.
  • Impressed that our style and control over the game holds up under all circumstances. No team is able to force us to play in a way that we don't want to. Saints pressure was great today, but we didn't seem rattled at all. I think the Crows last year are the only team to have really undermined our system over the past couple of seasons, and that was because they were playing like demented psychos.

Bad:

• Meh.

Ugly:

• Buh.

Once again, ten minutes of football is all we need.

Need to work out our forward entries though
Was more than 10 minutes was the first quarter and a half, we still won 3 quarters. Forward entries weren't perfect but I don't think they were that bad.

chugging along, cant complain but I will, ball use was arrogantly bad after quarter time

Other less complain'y points

Petty garbage, he was due tbf, been great for a while now
Lever, needs a month in the VFL, way off it. Bring Tomo in til his touch and fitness is up to speed.
We have a walf game next week, will that do?

Saints fans complaining about getting the rough end of the umpiring, yet look away when they got the rub in the 3rd. Their two goals came from a Max King mark which bounced off May's back. Then bailey Fritsch is denied a mark from the out of zone umpire. It goes the other end and Max King gets a soft free, was probably there but it could have been a 2 goal turn around. It swings in roundabouts, plus what's the point of complaining about umpiring, had nothing to do with their slow start.

Don't know about all this "footy is crap now" stuff being talked about - but I had a great time at the G with my Saints supporting mate. Watching him lose the plot at all their bad kicks into the corridor, slow play and general sloppy skills under our relentless pressure. Cherry on top was the "MmmEeeemmmMmbRreeYyyyyy" on the quarter time siren as he kicked it into the man on the mark. Stuff dreams are made of.

That 1955/56 side went 10-0 in both seasons, which is unique given Geelong 08 lost in R9 and Melbourne 21 lost in R10. We can join them and be alone in B2B 9-0 seasons though.

Crazy how easy it is to forget Geelong that Geelong won their first 13 games of 2009, bc the St Kilda narrative took over. That team won 55 of 58 games between R6, 2007 (when they beat Richmond by 157 points) and R13, 2009.

Losses were to Port by 5 at KP in R21, 2007, Collingwood by 86 points somehow in R9, 2008 and the 08 GF. Bizarre. Odd also because either side of that 58 game period is a two game losing streak.

With Joel Smith out injured im looking for a new pet project and I reckon its campaigning for Brayshaw for AA HBF - let's make it happen
Just get Lingers on a wing, that’ll be a big enough deal

That 1955/56 side went 10-0 in both seasons, which is unique given Geelong 08 lost in R9 and Melbourne 21 lost in R10. We can join them and be alone in B2B 9-0 seasons though.

Crazy how easy it is to forget Geelong that Geelong won their first 13 games of 2009, bc the St Kilda narrative took over. That team won 55 of 58 games between R6, 2007 (when they beat Richmond by 157 points) and R13, 2009.

Losses were to Port by 5 at KP in R21, 2007, Collingwood by 86 points somehow in R9, 2008 and the 08 GF. Bizarre. Odd also because either side of that 58 game period is a two game losing streak.
The 86 point loss to Collingwood was a weird loss, a foreshadowing of a Collingwood premiership side in 2010. To memory Collingwood just applied so much tackling pressure Geelong just didn't know what to do.

With Joel Smith out injured im looking for a new pet project and I reckon its campaigning for Brayshaw for AA HBF - let's make it happen
be a real Smith stan and move to SGTR

Just quietly Jackson has done fu** all for a month now. The ‘1m per season’ media talking heads have gone very quiet.
Oooh good sneaky spot from you.

Review Dees v the Aints - the Good, Bad and Fugly