Review Dees v the Blood-Stained angels: the Good, Bad and Fugly

I agree with some of this - Sydney have a lot of talent across all lines and I don’t think we have more talent.

I’m not convinced we have peaked necessarily, hope not anyway, but this is how it will play out if we don’t build new ideas, innovate and evolve. We look as though we double down on the game plan and expect it to deliver. Good teams find ways to stop us.

Its a 2023 problem now - this year we just have to hope for a couple of those games where everything goes right and we get lucky. Unlikely that this will happen though. Good opponents will put pressure on and we lose any flair. Next year we do need to think more about ball movement, debut some Casey globetrotters, and nail some good trades somehow. If that doesn’t happen we do go backwards and watch other teams go past.
Tulip got shitty with the peaked line aswell. I'm convinced we've peaked, I don't think this side can ever play better than we did in September last year. That doesn't mean we can't challenge and still win one but I don't think we can play at the level of the prelim and second half of the granny again.
I think for tangible change in our side you'd have to dump Melk, Jordan, ANB and trade out a Salem. Bring in goal hungrier and forward 50 craftier Smalls, a more attack minded winger and a proper defensive small back as well as a key forward.
That doesn't necessarily make us better just different

Gotta kick goals to win games, gotta take risks to kick goals.

We are clearly hamstrung by not having guys willing or capable to pull off kicks that set up goals.
We did kick some low inside 50 aswell, but Langdon, Trac, hunt, Gawn etc missed by like 10m
My ****ing mate at home text me and said how come Gawn tries to be the best kick in the team campaigner turns over every kick. Cause he's still living on his one all time great game? Cause he's the captain so no ones told him to stick to his job?

Every Sydney player who got the ball inside 50 looked dangerous as ****, outside of Koz and Fritsch who do we have who plays forward who can make a goal? No one. We send our superstar mid forward and he kicks them on the full

Sam ****ing Reid banged one from 50 easily meanwhile Gawn and Trac didn't make the distance. There's ya game right there

Gotta kick goals to win games, gotta take risks to kick goals.

We are clearly hamstrung by not having guys willing or capable to pull off kicks that set up goals.
Kozzy should be running through the middle more. He's one bloke who is capable of hitting targets like that. We literally recruited Bowey and Laurie for their kicking skills(both targeted as the best kicks in the draft year) yet both not playing.

Tulip got shitty with the peaked line aswell. I'm convinced we've peaked, I don't think this side can ever play better than we did in September last year. That doesn't mean we can't challenge and still win one but I don't think we can play at the level of the prelim and second half of the granny again.
I think for tangible change in our side you'd have to dump Melk, Jordan, ANB and trade out a Salem. Bring in goal hungrier and forward 50 craftier Smalls, a more attack minded winger and a proper defensive small back as well as a key forward.
That doesn't necessarily make us better just different

The problem is we’ve played and been coached all year like we’ve not tried to improve anything. Just do what we did last year and assume we’ll catch fire in front of goals like we did in the prelim and gf.

Goodwin hasn’t tried hard enough to tweak and find small changes to give us a the small improvements you need to go back to back. We don’t have the spark or the dare and as soon as we either get 3 goals up or get the pressure put on us we go into the safe long down the line game.

One of the reasons it’s so frustrating they drop Bowey. We have nobody else but May in the back 6 who has any confidence to take the best attacking option. As soon as we commit to going wide out of the backline we cut off our best style of play.

A highly skilled winger and a change of personnel in the backline is a must next year.

The problem is we’ve played and been coached all year like we’ve not tried to improve anything. Just do what we did last year and assume we’ll catch fire in front of goals like we did in the prelim and gf.

Goodwin hasn’t tried hard enough to tweak and find small changes to give us a the small improvements you need to go back to back. We don’t have the spark or the dare and as soon as we either get 3 goals up or get the pressure put on us we go into the safe long down the line game.

One of the reasons it’s so frustrating they drop Bowey. We have nobody else but May in the back 6 who has any confidence to take the best attacking option. As soon as we commit to going wide out of the backline we cut off our best style of play.

A highly skilled winger and a change of personnel in the backline is a must next year.
I'd so happily flog off Salem to get Bowey and Turner into the side. Most overrated player on our list.

If Brad Hills contract was 250-300k less he'd be great.

Good:

• May, Petty and Clarry
  • first quarter

Bad:

• Gawn. **** he shit me. You’re not Scott Pendlebury, mate. Stop trying to bite off the neat little kick.
  • Harmes. Senior member and you give away a 50 for a goal.
  • Melksham. Thanks for the Carlton win. Now don’t come back.

Ugly:

- Goodwin’s coaching. Moving it fast and low first quarter and then completely revert to slow play and dumping it high after that. Swans defenders had a field day from the second quarter onwards. Gave the forwards no chance after that.

I'd so happily flog off Salem to get Bowey and Turner into the side. Most overrated player on our list.

If Brad Hills contract was 250-300k less he'd be great.

I think Hill has been a bit of whipping boy with Saints fans (all fans in general), fair enough last year, but reckon he was pretty good this year. Id be interested too if they were looking for a salary dump.

To quote Demon Bhoy "no harm in picking up the phone"

never mind, just read he nominated Hawthorn :(

A number of Victorian clubs were circling the 27-year-old unrestricted free agent, with AFL.com.au's Inside Trading column revealing in May the Hawks' interest in him.

They beat out the likes of Melbourne and St Kilda for the talented wingman's signature.
I honestly don't think we have **** all to spend, we tied up so much into Oliver Trac and Brayshaw I'd almost bet we can't do anything really big for a while. We've completely hamstrung our selves to 3 midfielders who all struggle with kicking.

I think Hill has been a bit of whipping boy with Saints fans (all fans in general), fair enough last year, but reckon he was pretty good this year. Id be interested too if they were looking for a salary dump.

Not his fault the saints have no idea how to use him. He was awesome at Hawks and Freo and he's an aerobic beast. Give him the role of ANB and he'd be awesome for us

I honestly don't think we have * all to spend, we tied up so much into Oliver Trac and Brayshaw I'd almost bet we can't do anything really big for a while. We've completely hamstrung our selves to 3 midfielders who all struggle with kicking.

Gus needs to go to half back next year and just be an interceptor again (**** Salem off), he was good in that role, I cant have him in there with the others, that is going to be an abortion of a contract in a hurry if we continue playing him midfield.

It's just not happening this year. Too many things unsorted in our forward line, and not much happening with forward entry strategy either. There's no connection, and too many blokes out of form. Defensively, we're ok, but the whole forward gameplan needs revising over the offseason. I wouldn't be surprised if we knocked off Brisbane for the 3rd time to get to a prelim, but we aren't stringing 3 wins together with this sort of disorder.

Gus needs to got to half back next year and just be an interceptor again (* Salem off), he was good in that role, I cant have him in there with the others, that is going to be an abortion of a contract in a hurry if we continue playing him midfield.
He absolutely held the ****ing club ransom to play in the midfield, no ****ing way the week he signs his contract we suddenly decided we needed him as an inside midfielder. Get ****ed anyone who thinks that.

Name another good side who has Sparrow/Viney and Brayshaw types playing through half forward. Its ****ing dumb. Sydney had Papley an the like in the middle we just had same old shit.

Gus needs to got to half back next year and just be an interceptor again (* Salem off), he was good in that role, I cant have him in there with the others, that is going to be an abortion of a contract in a hurry if we continue playing him midfield.
Hell yes. He was dropped back for a reason. No idea why that was revisited. Maybe Gus was threatening to go West if he didn't see some midfield minutes - but now that he's signed again, Goody needs to put him back where he belongs.

Hill is a soft**** who can’t get a kick if someone goes to him. Wouldn’t be interested in the slightest.

We’re over stocked for backmen, particularly if we land on HBF as Gus’ best position. I’d be seeing how Rivers goes on a wing for pre season as well as targeting a skilled wingman in the draft

Nothing's really changed my view from a month ago that we're not winning the flag this year (and obviously grateful we managed to break the drought last year).

I think the huge win over Brisbane in the final round may have lulled supporters and some sections of the media to become bullish about our flag chances, but when you look at our form over the past couple of months its been very patchy and we were in fact a bit lucky to finish top 4, let alone top 2.

Had the Blues not inexplicably coughed up a two goal lead against us in the last two minutes or round 22, our first final would have likely been an Elimination final against them. And based on the result of that game they could have easily beaten us in a final IMO.

Anyway on to the game, I also felt Sydney were always going to be tough for us and have a very good record against us. But more than that they just seem to have that extra 5%, desire, desperation - whatever you want to call it. We had it last year. This year some of our integral players - Gawn, Brown, Salem - are just off their game and all that maters come finals.

Reset for Brisbane but I dont expect that to be a gimme by any means. They'll have their tails up after an epic win against Richmond and probably going into it wanting to think they have nothing to lose. But really (no disrespect to Brisbane) if we do lose to them we are clearly a long way from it this year.

He absolutely held the ******* club ransom to play in the midfield, no ******* way the week he signs his contract we suddenly decided we needed him as an inside midfielder. Get *ed anyone who thinks that.

Name another good side who has Sparrow/Viney and Brayshaw types playing through half forward. Its ******* dumb. Sydney had Papley an the like in the middle we just had same old s**t.

I really like Sparrow but he’s trade bait IMO. He’s not a half forward and we also don’t really need his type progressing to full time midfield role

Hill is a soft**** who can’t get a kick if someone goes to him. Wouldn’t be interested in the slightest.

We’re over stocked for backmen, particularly if we land on HBF as Gus’ best position. I’d be seeing how Rivers goes on a wing for pre season as well as targeting a skilled wingman in the draft

Agree to disagree. He provides link up and dare with kicks (something we are sorely missing). Far harder to tag blokes out of the game in our side than it is St.Kilda's also.

I really like Sparrow but he’s trade bait IMO. He’s not a half forward and we also don’t really need his type progressing to full time midfield role
Yeah agreed. Viney, Brayshaw, Trac and Oliver all got 5 years in em, is Sparrow gonna be a meh forward flanker until he's 25? Not sure the long term plan with him

Agree to disagree. He provides link up and dare with kicks (something we are sorely missing). Far harder to tag blokes out of the game in our side than it is St.Kilda's also.
Already tagging Oliver and Salem. He gets tagged at Saints cause coaches realise how dangerous he is, why would you tag someone who has no impact lol

As much as it saddens me to say have to agree on Sparrow. He just doesn't provide any point of difference, I would still be sad to see him go and id always remember his epic 2021 finals but to progress as a team these are the sort of moves that need to be made.

Review Dees v the Blood-Stained angels: the Good, Bad and Fugly