Review Dees v the Carlton Tribunal Busters - the Good, Bad & Fugly

Completely agree, but according to Tulip Hunt was the hero for his horrible horrible kick 👍

Ive got no idea how you miss ANB as an AFL player like Viney did under no pressure. All you've got to do is dink it in his direction and let him run onto it. Instead Jack tries to kick it thru his chest and puts its 3 foot over him.

It was the easiest kick of the game. Our starting 4 mids are diabolical going inside 50 an that moment from Viney also should have cost us. Especially after Hunt actually lowered his eyes to find him

Was fully prepared for us to lose the game after Viney missed that kick, was diabolical. Already very much preparing my ‘we had our chance’ narrative for the way home based just on that. Especially after ANB kicked the ‘sealer’ last week.

Fugly: seeing McKay and Curnow have nine scoring shots (and a few OOTF) from just 48 I50s against two pretty good KPDs. May and Petty played pretty well but they’re a ****ing good forward duo. It’s ridiculous that Carlton are going to get two consecutive Colemans out of them, having a contested marking forward like that wouldn’t solve how shit our forward delivery is but it would make us look a lot better.

Good:
The atmosphere at the G after kossy kicked that goal was elite, everyone went mental. Was great to be there.
Melkman with elite forward craft, could have had 6 goals, stuffed a couple of easyish set shots

Bad:
A few role players were either unsighted or poor in the contest all night. Harmes would surely offer much more in the same role as spargo or sparrow.
Same old Ben Brown, sadly he probably still competes more than Weid but he is so cooked. 1 good mark and goal though so no doubt safe for the rest of the year…

Ugly:
The first 95% was pretty poor footy to watch, probably one of the worst I’ve seen us play in a win. All fixed in the last 2 minutes

I speak about that game all of the time, it's one of my fondest football memories ever. In fact I'm going to speak about it right now.

I went to the bar on the way to my super expensive seats then my face split open and started gushing blood everywhere and I didn't notice until I saw a pool of blood on the ground, girl next to me was so horrified she couldn't even talk she just looked at me and slowly walked backwards like that homer simpson gif. First aid tried to fix me during the first quarter but by the third I was at box hill hospital. I finally got stitched up, then my wife drove the car she borrowed to get me home into a cement bollard in the car park.

Most expensive trip to the footy ever and I didn't even see my seat, didn't taste the pint I bought, and had to repair the rear bumper of someone else's car. On the bright side, I missed the game. Will have to watch the replay someday.
I like telling this story to people and describing "my old mate"

Ps I suggest watching the replay and then watching the Adelaide West coast game back to back, if you really like weird, kinky, self sabotage

I like telling this story to people and describing "my old mate"

Ps I suggest watching the replay and then watching the Adelaide West coast game back to back, if you really like weird, kinky, self sabotage
Even more annoying was Freo nearly saved us too right before. Probably the most annoying weekend of my footy watching life. The Finals brochures mailed to the members was the icing on the cake.

Who could forget that guide to buying finals tickets that we had no need for.

He was absolutely meaning to go there, you can see it on the replay. He kicked an intentional snap, it didn't come of the side of his boot.
Lever spent the best part of the preceding minute screaming out our blokes to get into the corridor. He set it up and executed it basically. Was hard to pick up what he was doing at the time but with hindsight and the replay this play is obviously what we trained.

Who could forget that guide to buying finals tickets that we had no need for.
Pretty sure it wasn't even the club that sent it out. It was an AFL thing just to twist the knife.

Just watched the last two mins again. How bad was Gawn's last centre tap after the Kozzi goal, into eons of space towards a Blues player. Let them pump the ball forward so easily!!

This is why I'm convinced that if Viney had hit that pass to ANB, who converts, we still lose the game with a 1.30 left on the clock, so glad there was only 11 seconds left after Kossies goal.

I know many won't agree with this..

But I think last night could actually be quite defining.

That was one of the most bizarre get out of jail wins you'd ever see. Carlton choked slightly worse than we choked, but to come away with the win will give the players a lot more confidence than they probably deserve. It's no secret we have been only just going, so to get a win like that could be quite a factor.

I'm not pretending all is rosy, but Carlton played a huge game. They threw as much pressure at us as we've face bar maybe Geelong. Nearly 90 tackles at 73% completion rate, they clamped down on Oliver well, overall they weren't as shit as they've been in other games recently.

For all the doom posts I'm just playing devils advocate, we continue to be right there in the last quarter and the boys finally winning a last quarter and a close one might just be the tonic to get a roll on.

I know many won't agree with this..

But I think last night could actually be quite defining.

That was one of the most bizarre get out of jail wins you'd ever see. Carlton choked slightly worse than we choked, but to come away with the win will give the players a lot more confidence than they probably deserve. It's no secret we have been only just going, so to get a win like that could be quite a factor.

I'm not pretending all is rosy, but Carlton played a huge game. They threw as much pressure at us as we've face bar maybe Geelong. Nearly 90 tackles at 73% completion rate, they clamped down on Oliver well, overall they weren't as s**t as they've been in other games recently.

For all the doom posts I'm just playing devils advocate, we continue to be right there in the last quarter and the boys finally winning a last quarter and a close one might just be the tonic to get a roll on.
I don’t disagree with what you’re saying, it could possibly be a turnaround point… but the fact is we are in pretty elite form at the contests the last few weeks and yet still whacking away with a gameplan that is not going to win big finals against good teams

I reckon that was the most static I’ve seen us in terms of ball movement. Can’t recall us even attempting to play through the corridor out of the backline, long down the line kicks from half back to wing every time.

I’ll say it again, how Bowey isn’t in this side is beyond me. Need an elite kick out of the backline as badly as anything, May and Salem are kicking to protect their stats.

Spargo and Sparrow have got to be replaced by Chandler and Harmes next week, the system isn’t helping them but they’ve just got no dash or spark at the moment.

Every single week we have numerous forwards who get between 4 and 12 touches, it should be a wake up call to Goody that there’s a huge issue with the game style. We don’t just have 4 premiership forwards decide to play shit every week.

I don’t disagree with what you’re saying, it could possibly be a turnaround point… but the fact is we are in pretty elite form at the contests the last few weeks and yet still whacking away with a gameplan that is not going to win big finals against good teams
But who are good teams?

Brisbane? Well we can see more of them next week but I'm not totally convinced they're that elite.

Sydney are definitely going along ok, we will get a better understanding of them today as their last 4 they've beaten bottom 4 teams, plus recent losses to Port and essendon.

Collingwood last week we saw go alright but we were a bit of luck/execution off winning that anyway.

Geelong obviously, but they played nearly perfect anti-melbourne game when we lost down there, how does that stack up at the wider mcg in a prelim/qf?

Every team in the top 5 or 6 has a heap of question marks, we aren't alone in that. But we continue to be in the contest in these games deep into the last quarters, giving ourselves chances. It's definitely not the same feeling of confidence that they'll overcome things like last year, but there are definitely good signs there hidden between the bad signs.

But who are good teams?

Brisbane? Well we can see more of them next week but I'm not totally convinced they're that elite.

Sydney are definitely going along ok, we will get a better understanding of them today as their last 4 they've beaten bottom 4 teams, plus recent losses to Port and essendon.

Collingwood last week we saw go alright but we were a bit of luck/execution off winning that anyway.

Geelong obviously, but they played nearly perfect anti-melbourne game when we lost down there, how does that stack up at the wider mcg in a prelim/qf?

Every team in the top 5 or 6 has a heap of question marks, we aren't alone in that. But we continue to be in the contest in these games deep into the last quarters, giving ourselves chances. It's definitely not the same feeling of confidence that they'll overcome things like last year, but there are definitely good signs there hidden between the bad signs.

I wouldn’t have Brisbane in my top five seeds tbh.

Geelong, Pies and Sydney consistently better than us over the second half of the year.

Teams like Freo, Carlton, Brisbane and Dogs could all beat us on their day playing the way we are.

I reckon that was the most static I’ve seen us in terms of ball movement. Can’t recall us even attempting to play through the corridor out of the backline, long down the line kicks from half back to wing every time.

I’ll say it again, how Bowey isn’t in this side is beyond me. Need an elite kick out of the backline as badly as anything, May and Salem are kicking to protect their stats.

Spargo and Sparrow have got to be replaced by Chandler and Harmes next week, the system isn’t helping them but they’ve just got no dash or spark at the moment.

Every single week we have numerous forwards who get between 4 and 12 touches, it should be a wake up call to Goody that there’s a huge issue with the game style. We don’t just have 4 premiership forwards decide to play s**t every week.
Tracs interview last night showed the club clearly understand what the problems are and what we need to stop doing but we keep doing it anyway.

Geelong, Pies and Sydney consistently better than us over the second half of the year.

Teams like Freo, Carlton, Brisbane and Dogs could all beat us on their day playing the way we are.
And we could beat any of them on our day.

Collingwood have been way more shaky than their ladder position suggests. Were crap against Gold Coast, North, Adelaide and Essendon and got out of jail. You can't say we sucked last night and got lucky but then say Collingwood played well in all of those games. Credit to them, they've got a lot of spirit and will fight out games to the end but even my Collingwood mates will admit they've had a charmed run.

Looking forward, if we lose to Bris, we will either play Tigers or Dogs in an elimination final week 1 (these all presume the favourites win).

If we beat Lions, we will either play Swans at SCG week 1 qualifying final, or Pies @ MCG (depending on who wins today, and Swans smack Saints next week).

So for those reasons, I begrudgingly am supporting Collingwood today, and hoping they smash Sydneys percentage.

An "away" qualifying final at the G is fine, but we don't want to play swans up there

*even a draw against Lions should be enough for double chance

Fugly-

Dees members leaving the game when we're 8 points down with 3 minutes to go

****ing fickle w***ers. After being shit for so long and being reigning premiers that was pathetic

Review Dees v the Carlton Tribunal Busters - the Good, Bad & Fugly