News Media Thread, 2024: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent

Yet to watch interview but Will needs to be content. Played nearly 200 games and Won a flag. He was lucky to win a flag cause of Shep and he was lucky to play that many games due to Eric Mackenzie ACL.

The whole Emac injury has been a massive turning point. Bloke was one of the best key backs in the league at the time and looked like he wS improving each year before he done his knee. Was no where close to what he was after and it ended up his career short. Tho we would have never discovered Gov of that didn’t occur.

This must be the blessing/curse of a 20 cause Cox had the same thing happen with Gardiner
Lol why should he have to be content. It would be like if you felt you deserved a promotion at work but you never got it and you saw other people you felt less deserving get it.

Also based on your logic why should Shep or Emac be unlucky? They were lucky enough to have physical traits and opportunities that many people all over the world don't have.

People feel the way they feel based on their own perspective and experiences. Just because you feel they should be grateful doesn't mean they should.

Willie Rioli, cost the Eagles a chance at another premiership. If Simpson had one two how would people judge him now?

This Preseason quote by Mr Smugness himself aged well.

This article quote about the blues is a doozy and likely means we are due next season, albeit we’ve been pinged a couple flags and lost a granny

who have long been considered a sleeping giant due to their total lack of success this century.”

And just quietly **** you Gold Coast for trading your players to vic clubs for nothing. Hollands given away

bullshit hey. What’s the point in persisting. They might as well just trade their top 10 picks for established players from other clubs. Just as likely to succeed for them.

Wait until Lukosius goes to Adelaide for a 3rd rounder

I swear to god these Vic media nuffies have NFI about anything they report on.

on 360, Whateley reckons Pyke should offer Beveridge 6 ****ing years and Robbo reckons Port would be 'crazy' to sack Hinkley unless they lose by 100 against the Hawks.

Seriously, look at the results of these 2. Very strong teams yet both have seriously underachieved. They just bang on about how 'loyal' they are and that they have heaps of 'integrity'.

**** that, supporters want their club to win flags.

I honestly don't know where to put this, but since it's on Youtube I might as well drop it in here. Will Schofield had Masten back on the BackChat stream today and **** he's such a loose unit. Gave me some good laughs.

I swear to god these Vic media nuffies have NFI about anything they report on.

on 360, Whateley reckons Pyke should offer Beveridge 6 ****ing years and Robbo reckons Port would be 'crazy' to sack Hinkley unless they lose by 100 against the Hawks.

Seriously, look at the results of these 2. Very strong teams yet both have seriously underachieved. They just bang on about how 'loyal' they are and that they have heaps of 'integrity'.

**** that, supporters want their club to win flags.
Robbo must be the only person in the footy world who thinks Hinkley won't get the sack if Port lose.

I think only a GF appearance will save him.

It was interesting to hear Chris Scott talking on AFL 360 about the reason for Geelong's long term success without
receiving high draft picks because.
He put it down to the strong development department at the club that's run by Nigel Lappin.
Perhaps we should recruit him for that role.
Geelong have a triple premiership player running that group and have a look at what we have, ex WAFL players
coaching players to be WAFL players in the AFL and win 4 wooden spoons in a row.
No whonder we haven't got a reserves team in the VFL, we would be an embarrasment.

It was interesting to hear Chris Scott talking on AFL 360 about the reason for Geelong's long term success without
He put it down to the strong development department at the club that's run by Nigel Lappin.
Geelong have a triple premiership player running that group and have a look at what we have, ex WAFL players
coaching players to be WAFL players in the AFL and win 4 wooden spoons in a row.
No whonder we haven't got a reserves team in the VFL, we would be an embarrasment.

Emphasizes the need for good development structure at WC.

We, like all clubs, spend lots of time, effort and $ trying to pick the right player. And then we put them into our structure and few develop beyond their initial capacity.

A few signs The Don has identified the need for better development. Fingers crossed he (we) get it right.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

View attachment 2106353

Could we have a bit of that "little leverage" discussion when a Vic player wants to go to a non Vic club or is that just not the way things work? Feel like I'm taking crazy pills
He's going to Geelong mate, there's never any 'leverage' when they're involved.

View attachment 2106353

Could we have a bit of that "little leverage" discussion when a Vic player wants to go to a non Vic club or is that just not the way things work? Feel like I'm taking crazy pills

You mean like when an out of contract Liam Baker asks to be traded back to WA - that kind of little leverage that says he’s worth the same as a contracted KPD moving to a Victorian club

They literately went out and bought the best midfielder (Dangerfield) and the best forward (Cameron).

It’s not rocket science.

They literately went out and bought the best midfielder (Dangerfield) and the best forward (Cameron).

It’s not rocket science.
We all operate on the same salary cap. They have also developed a lot of home grown talent. One of their best players this year has been a young West Australian player that they drafted with a pick in the sixties.
If we had drafted him he would have played in the WAFL.

As pointed out, the success with Geelong has been the ability to draft well with late picks

2018: Tom Atkins (Rookie draft)
2019: Brad Close (Rookie draft)
2020: Shannon Neale (Pick 33)
2021: Ollie Dempsey (Rookie draft)
2023: Shaun Mannagh (Pick 36) Lawson Humphries (Pick 63)

In that same time period (2018 onwards) they have also recruited the following players by trade or free agency

Gary Rohan (T), Luke Dahlhaus (FA), Josh Jenkins (T), Jack Steven (T), Jeremy Cameron (T), Shaun Higgins (T), Isaac Smith (FA), Jonathan Ceglar (T), Tyson Stengle (FA), Jack Bowes (T), Tanner Bruhn (T), Oliver Henry (T)

We all operate on the same salary cap. They have also developed a lot of home grown talent. One of their best players this year has been a young West Australian player that they drafted with a pick in the sixties.
If we had drafted him he would have played in the WAFL.
In theory yes. In reality some clubs can point to a lot of extra outside inducements available to their players.

As pointed out, the success with Geelong has been the ability to draft well with late picks

2018: Tom Atkins (Rookie draft)
2019: Brad Close (Rookie draft)
2020: Shannon Neale (Pick 33)
2021: Ollie Dempsey (Rookie draft)
2023: Shaun Mannagh (Pick 36) Lawson Humphries (Pick 63)

In that same time period (2018 onwards) they have also recruited the following players by trade or free agency

Gary Rohan (T), Luke Dahlhaus (FA), Josh Jenkins (T), Jack Steven (T), Jeremy Cameron (T), Shaun Higgins (T), Isaac Smith (FA), Jonathan Ceglar (T), Tyson Stengle (FA), Jack Bowes (T), Tanner Bruhn (T), Oliver Henry (T)
Many of those trades/free agents were flops. I think their main strength is that they bring in players who perform just as well as the guys they replace. One in one out. Rarely any teething issues, they obviously know the role they need to play and are completely on board.

It was definitely time for Simpson to go, but gee he's all class. Loved his segment on 360 and will genuinely miss him as coach. I also love that he still kept catching himself saying 'us', I'm glad as a premiership coach he will always be able to call the club his own.

Go well Adam.

That Wafl debacle needs to be overhauled and improved asap!

And top quality development coaches appointed. Don appears to be on to this, the WAFL more difficult to resolve.
It has to be top priority surely, it's almost the foundation on which everything else is built from. If the Wafl/Beagles is in a healthy state, that ripples through to AFL team success and the club benefits/profits...like dragging a dead weight?

News Media Thread, 2024: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent