Offseason Changes + Road to the 2021 Premiership

Go back and see my posts all the way back in 2017 criticising Simmo. This is no melt. I just don't rate him as a coach, period. He needs proper supporting cast or he is clueless.
HE delegates a lot. He had Mitchell who challenged our blokes in the middle and wasnt afraid to go hard at them when he thought they weren't pulling their weight. There is vision of him spraying a few mids at HT in one the 2018 games which we were behind and won. We need footy smart coaches on each line that arent afraid to tell these blokes their shit also stinks when they are playing like garbage.

What are the chances of Simmo getting back on the tools and taking charge of the midfield himself?

Given the cuts to soft cap, there is lots of talk about reducing number of assistant coaches and having people do multiple roles etc.

Simmo was midfield coach in 2013 and from memory they went ok.

Mitchell and Pyke have been epic over seeing midfield's and coaching teams since they left WC.

TBF Don Pyke was excellent with how he got Adelaide to perform in 2016-17, a number of factors just contributed to their demise the past couple seasons.

I would say Hawthorn have a lot more problems than just their midfield.

Did Mitchell leave just because the wife was homesick or was there some really shady stuff with infidelity going on?
I reckon he would make a great head coach one day and I would like him to come back in that role when Simmo is done.

I don’t remember hearing anything about infidelity, I thought it was more to do with a relative with Alzheimer’s.

Also, unfortunately, he’s pretty much destined to become Hawthorn’s next head coach. I doubt we could get him back.

I really rate Harding and his analysis. For those interested, they should follow him on twitter.

Here is his take on our season. Interesting that he has a more positive take on Kelly's season than alot of other people.

The AFL is also keen to try and keep as much of the fixture from last year as it has already been approved by the broadcasters.

I can see the AFL giving us a double up with Collingwood, first because it was in the 2020 fixture, second because of Saturday's game guarantees big build up and 3rd it'd give us one of the 3 games we request at the MCG.

I also think we will keep our double up with Port, rather than Adelaide.

I think the Geelong stuff has blown over, there is nothing in it from a hype perspective as the two teams have already played.

My guess on our double up:

Port
Carlton (MCG)
North (Tassie)

Richmond hasn't played us twice since 2009.

They also haven't played us in Perth for what 2 - 3 years now? They were due this season initially but AFL House decided against sending them into the WA hub for some unexplainable reason.

I don’t remember hearing anything about infidelity, I thought it was more to do with a relative with Alzheimer’s.

Also, unfortunately, he’s pretty much destined to become Hawthorn’s next head coach. I doubt we could get him back.
Ok thanks, maybe I was hearing too many rumours.
Yeah I think you are right, he is a Hawks man through and through, I expect when Clarko is done its his.

How did he make his coin?
Im pretty sure in an interview he mentioned that he owned some kind of mining company that did something to do with mining and he was offered a bucket of money to sell it to one of the big mining companies in WA.

In the interview he specifically mentioned that money was not a factor in why he was coaching.

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app

Now, assuming that next year will be a normal season, and we’ll be able to have the usual amount of games at home, what needs to be done to ensure we can get Gaffy, Nic and Shep a flag?

IMO I think a lot of our success next year will rely on who we replace van Berlo with, and whether Jarrod Cameron can rebound from a disappointing 2020. We really missed Rioli out there, and it largely fell to Ryan to pick up the slack, which he did. Our forward pressure definitely needs to improve next season, and Cameron, with a proper preseason, should help with that.

Who we put in as the midfield coach should also have a big impact. We haven’t exactly replaced Mitchell since he left, with both Rosa and van Berlo not exactly providing the same tactical nous as Sam did. Who should we get in for him? I’m keen on Don Pyke, if he still feels like coaching.

We need this team up and firing, with that same hunger we had in 2018. How can we get back to the big stage?

I think the loss of stoppage pressure provided by Lycett and Vardy has been over-looked. So sick of watching other teams waltz the ball out in an area that should be a strength.

We absolutely need to address our stoppage performance outside the centre bounce.

The bottom end of the list needs to improve IMO. In 2018 everyone who ran on the park made a contribution.

This year we carried too many players. Cameron had weeks without impact, Nic Reid didn't work, Foley didn't work, XON didn't impact.

Getting players fit will be a key going forward. No Yeo hurt, losing Cripps hurt, those games without JK and Gov sucked.

Did Mitchell leave just because the wife was homesick or was there some really shady stuff with infidelity going on?
I reckon he would make a great head coach one day and I would like him to come back in that role when Simmo is done.

I think what Mitchell lacks Simmo has in spades which is calm and friendly . I feel like Sam can lose his temper, which is needed at times as you have correctly mentioned during his 2018 time. Him as a coach with same attitude could be a problem. we need a mix of both personalities to be successful TBH

I’m going to preface this by saying we’re absolutely primed for another tilt. The doom and gloom I’ve heard on the radio is incorrect. People retiring JK when he’s had 7 shots at goal in a final are morons.

We need to address the 1%ers. To often we allow teams way too much space to dispose of the footy. We’re slow and lazy to man the mark. I know we want to trap them into kicking down the line, but I still think we’re taking the piss a bit with how lazy we are.

Tackling/forward pressure also needs to improve. Need a fully fit Jones and Cameron in the team. Potentially a 4way wing forward rotation with waterman-Ryan-Jones-Cameron.

No more Allen in the Ruck.

Alec

Dreaming of Willie

60k at Optus again

Offseason Changes + Road to the 2021 Premiership