Hopefully doesn’t take as long to kick in as Mayne. But gees was he a bit more than handy toward the end.early days but geez, 2 first round draft picks for him seems overs.
The patchwork appearance of the turf is not a looker on the TeleWhy do you think that?
For me …
It’s got a wonderful suburban ground feel.
Sight lines are great.
Every seat is close to the action.
We’re always well represented.
Decent food.
We’ve got a great record there.
Heaps better than the SCG
I live 15km from the ground and yet going home I can get from my seat to walking through my front door within 30 mins (driving). I can’t imagine too many other grounds make going to the AFL that easy.
Criticism of how we played is justified, but some of the abuse in the game day is not and never will be. What sort of fan turns so easily on a team that gave us so much happiness over the last two years?
It was a bad loss, it could have been worse. And Dean will stay in - he had to debut eventually. We can’t hold him back waiting for - what? A poor opponent?
And this may be the last year we have Murphy and Howe. And we still don’t appear to have a fit tall forward to help our workhorse Checkers.
Holes at either end - yikes!
Great to see the boys back out there! Lots of positives, Cameron and Lipinski played well and the Daicos boys have come back well. Quaynor and Maynard held up, our structure did not. Too many easy slices through our zone.
DeGoey looked disinterested at times, Moore was a step off as well.
Still, they stuck on until the end against an extremely good opponent who could not miss all night.
Definitely need to bring in McInnes or even Frampton forward would be an improvement on Johnson who just doesn't have the physicality needed for a key forward.
We got bowled first ball tonight.
I reckon we’ll bounce back strongly next week but a couple of selection changes would be in order, a few of our big men were not good enough.
I’d anticipate a strong response next week.
Last paragraph sums it up. The “answer” is to hit targets inside 50m or have a target who can halve the contest, and then lock it in there. We didn’t and don’t, so couldn’t. Contrast that with the ease with which GWS scored going forward, our backs were overwhelmed and disorganized.GWS flooding numbers back and then just running in waves hard forward on transition. We couldn't keep up nor had an answer for it in that 3rd quarter.
Phasing them out but also keeping them for the big games. I have no doubt in a big final both will play midfield.Sidebum played fwd. New roles by looks for pendles and Steele. Phasing them out of midfield.
Can’t help but feel our backline is missing one proper lockdown key defender. It would have been my #1 issue in offseason to trade for before Schultz or anything else. Whether there was one available is another story.
Tonight was round zero and last year was round 1.
Skills poor,gee he's a heavy set lad, could do with a few less kgsearly days but geez, 2 first round draft picks for him seems overs.
Absolutely! Huge growth to be had. Especially as some younger guys like Macrae, McInnes & Allan challengeAll in all, it's probably not the worst sign that GWS can play an absolute blinder (18.4 from 50 inside 50's is beyond elite) fuelled by the fire of a losing prelim... and we can play fumbly, structure-less football like it's a low-intensity practice match...
...and we can still have more shots on goal and more i50's.
We were very, very bad. But even then, there’s still upside.
Agree. Our system us fine it produced more shots, our players rusting stumbled and it happens (eg vs Carlton last year).All in all, it's probably not the worst sign that GWS can play an absolute blinder (18.4 from 50 inside 50's is beyond elite) fuelled by the fire of a losing prelim... and we can play fumbly, structure-less football like it's a low-intensity practice match...
...and we can still have more shots on goal and more i50's.
We were very, very bad. But even then, there’s still upside.
I want to know why the two teams who had the shortest beak between seasons were forced to play a week before the bulk of the competition. Seems like a bizarre choice.Lol what marketing department thought round zero was a good idea. Fair dinkum.
early days but geez, 2 first round draft picks for him seems overs.
oops sorry, future first and pick 342 first round picks?
Good way to juice up a trade.
I never actually saw the team given our new policy of no one announcing it in the forum. The idea I guess is to create 2 classes of poster - those with gumption and knowledge and those without either.Last paragraph sums it up. The “answer” is to hit targets inside 50m or have a target who can halve the contest, and then lock it in there. We didn’t and don’t, so couldn’t. Contrast that with the ease with which GWS scored going forward, our backs were overwhelmed and disorganized.
Not playing Frampton was a head scratcher for me. I know we value intercept and system defense, but Dean is meant to replace both Murphy and Howe on debut? Maybe they just didn’t think he could match Brown athletically and backed in WHE but yikes…
A few very questionable comments in your post. WHE has been as hard at the pill and contest as anyone in the past 6 months of playing time. His laconic approach is similar to Twiggy Dunne's who was also a courageous player. Markov has also been an effective user of the pill since he arrived at our club. Schultz did not have a shocker. He won the pill far better than Hill or Elliott but rushed his disposal. He is a proven player who will simply take a few weeks to settle into our side.Key forwards please Derek…
Ash again showed a lack of effort and application. Cox flapping. And Schulz had a shocker. Struggling with intensity and was the link in the chain too many times.
Markov has always worried me for decision mailing and skill level. There is a reason he has been cut twice. Backup only please. Noble was better when on.
Kicking for goal was poor and contested stuff / transition, fumbly.
Dean will be better for the run, but shows that he still has things to work on, and that pace will be a problem for him against the top forwards.
WHE panics in the backline, always hears footsteps. Need a smart and clean player back there. Hurry up Tew…
I hope Fly doesnt play favourites all season…
Out - Dean, Markov, Johnson, Mitchell
In - Howe, McInnes, macrae, Frampton
% with you on your last paragraphA few very questionable comments in your post. WHE has been as hard at the pill and contest as anyone in the past 6 months of playing time. His laconic approach is similar to Twiggy Dunne's who was also a courageous player. Markov has also been an effective user of the pill since he arrived at our club. Schultz did not have a shocker. He won the pill far better than Hill or Elliott but rushed his disposal. He is a proven player who will simply take a few weeks to settle into our side.
He is fine when games are red hot as proven by couple of derby medals back in Perth. He was one of the few to show some fight in the Freo final last year when we smashed them.
One bad game. Let's take a breath and re-assess in five weeks. Our players deserve the chance to set things right after delivering us the Holy Grail a few months ago.