Review Rd 17 - Dees v Poort West Horsham: the Good, Bad and Fugly

It'll be interesting to see if we drop numbers begins the ball this week or keep attacking from the first bounce. We are good enough to kill the game in the first quarter if we set up like we did against Port.

I noticed against GWS heaps of our boys having a laugh and a smile when walking to their positions before the first bounce. Didn't see any of that last night. Game faces were on.

It's not as complex as people make it out to be. There are obvious sign everywhere.

Also still not gonna concede about my point that the teams intent and set up was far more important than the players in it

But
More than happy to eat humble pie on saying Brown couldn't play up field. Had no idea he was such a good field kick. I'm excited to see him kick the ball inside 50 more often, the direction he kicks them are beautiful. Forwards advantage

Shame he can't kick the ball to himself

Also still not gonna concede about my point that the teams intent and set up was far more important than the players in it

But
More than happy to eat humble pie on saying Brown couldn't play up field. Had no idea he was such a good field kick. I'm excited to see him kick the ball inside 50 more often, the direction he kicks them are beautiful. Forwards advantage
I’ll take and eat your pie offering if it means we never have to go down the Brown wormhole again.

Match selection I reckon is about assessing who on the list is ready and firing, then refining it, to some players disadvantage obviously, to produce a balanced team with the skills to match up on the anticipated opposition.

Our weekly fierce shitfights are just fun amongst friends I would hope. And sometimes an interesting exercise to put yourself in the coaches box.

I noticed against GWS heaps of our boys having a laugh and a smile when walking to their positions before the first bounce. Didn't see any of that last night. Game faces were on.

It's not as complex as people make it out to be. There are obvious sign everywhere.
Not so worried about who was smiling and joking TBH. But I would love to see us start more games with a big forward spike. We have great defenders and we are paying them pretty well, so everyone else can give a few minutes of their time to good attacking play. Even if we **** it up, I would rather not die wondering. Plus we have Spargo in there who is the best I’ve seen in a while at turning **** ups into gold

I’ll take and eat your pie offering if it means we never have to go down the Brown wormhole again.

Match selection I reckon is about assessing who on the list is ready and firing, then refining it, to some players disadvantage obviously, to produce a balanced team with the skills to match up on the anticipated opposition.

Our weekly fierce shitfights are just fun amongst friends I would hope. And sometimes an interesting exercise to put yourself in the coaches box.

Probably not done with because more than likely we play like dogshit next week and it'll get brought up. Won't be Browns fault it'll be horrible ball movement that makes our forward like look dog shit again. Fwiw now hes in I hope he makes me look like more of a ****wit than I am. Anything that gets us closer to a flag is fine by me

Not so worried about who was smiling and joking TBH. But I would love to see us start more games with a big forward spike. We have great defenders and we are paying them pretty well, so everyone else can give a few minutes of their time to good attacking play. Even if we fu** it up, I would rather not die wondering. Plus we have Spargo in there who is the best I’ve seen in a while at turning fu** ups into gold

I think it means something. Can tell if we are taking the game seriously or thinking we are just going to roll over someone coz they aren't rated as high as us. I'm big believer in body language showing your mindset.

Kind of like how when Weid ****s up you see it instantly start eating away at him.

We are good, but still not good enough to have an attitude that we can beat teams in our sleep yet.

Probably not done with because more than likely we play like dogshit next week and it'll get brought up. Won't be Browns fault it'll be horrible ball movement that makes our forward like look dog sh*t again. Fwiw now hes in I hope he makes me look like more of a ******* than I am. Anything that gets us closer to a flag is fine by me
Yeah I know our forward movement is kind of a work in progress. And I get shitty every single week. We’re a better team then 2018 though - I’m begging every footy God that we can hit a hotspot for finals and suddenly everything works

I think it means something. Can tell if we are taking the game seriously or thinking we are just going to roll over someone coz they aren't rated as high as us. I'm big believer in body language showing your mindset.

Kind of like how when Weid fu**s up you see it instantly start eating away at him.

We are good, but still not good enough to have an attitude that we can beat teams in our sleep yet.
Yeah there is truth in this

Yeah I know our forward movement is kind of a work in progress. And I get shitty every single week. We’re a better team then 2018 though - I’m begging every footy God that we can hit a hotspot for finals and suddenly everything works
Our forward movement looks good against good sides. When we play motivated and turn the ball over in the forward half more we look dangerous AF.

I enjoyed the vids the club put out with TMac and Brown on YouTube today..

Boak telling TMac he was happy to see he wasn't wasting his career anymore after the snap from the boundary made me laugh.

Brown's attitude is great I've gotta say. He's got a bit of Pedo about him imo in regards to acknowledging he's heard the noise from fans wondering if hes gonna work out and he's determined to prove his worth and just work his ass off.

The little tap on from Jackson to Petracca to set up TMacs 2nd goal was so ******* good. Geez he is smart for a big fella.
His spacial awareness is the best I've ever seen in my time for a young ruck. He always has the next option in his head when he gets the ball. If he can start sticking half the contested marks he flies for he's gonna be one of the most valuable players in the comp in a couple years no doubt.

You don't see this from a 19 year old ruck. He's miles ahead of Grundy and English at the same age. Patty Ryder was maybe the last who looked this well rounded at the same age.

I enjoyed the vids the club put out with TMac and Brown on YouTube today..

Boak telling TMac he was happy to see he wasn't wasting his career anymore after the snap from the boundary made me laugh.

😂 Was wondering what got him so fired up. Not bad from Boaky

His spacial awareness is the best I've ever seen in my time for a young ruck. He always has the next option in his head when he gets the ball. If he can start sticking half the contested marks he flies for he's gonna be one of the most valuable players in the comp in a couple years no doubt.

You don't see this from a 19 year old ruck. He's miles ahead of Grundy and English at the same age. Patty Ryder was maybe the last who looked this well rounded at the same age.

He reminds me of Dean Cox more than any other ruck. Like Grundy with better skills. Absolutely ridiculous we got him, Pickett and Rivers in the same draft.

I remember I thought picking another ruck was idiotic at 3, then I watched his first practice match and it was like geez he is better than you'd expect from a tall at his age. He is just so relaxed on the field, doesn't panic.

He reminds me of Dean Cox more than any other ruck. Like Grundy with better skills. Absolutely ridiculous we got him, Pickett and Rivers in the same draft.

I remember I thought picking another ruck was idiotic at 3, then I watched his first practice match and it was like geez he is better than you'd expect from a tall at his age. He is just so relaxed on the field, doesn't panic.

Even his ruck work is great for someone his age. I ****ing love how he stands off 5m and just leaps at it. He's Natanui but he can actually play football

I'm not sure about the Dean Cox comparison. Jackson skills are definitely above average for a ruck but Cox is something that I've never seen before. His kicking on either foot put 90% of midfielders to shame in an era where mids could actually kick.

Cox also had horrific skills at the same age as Jackson but worked his arse off.

Can't remember tbh. His last 10 years of his career he was one of the best field kicks in the entire league however. That's an enormously steep hill to climb , even for someone as talented as Jackson.

The little tap on from Jackson to Petracca to set up TMacs 2nd goal was so ******* good. Geez he is smart for a big fella.
Biggest play of the night, all the momentum with Port, margin under 10 points, and he has the smarts to tap the ball to Trac, pass to ANB, and results in the Tmac mark and goal. Killed the crowd and we won from there, huge.

On fox max said he literally was sick of our slow starts and wanted to start off well so decided to get momentum going
Oooooft given its ‘toot your own horn and get roasted for it’ week on BF let me just gently mention that I said he should start doing this exact thing after the GWS game

Not a hater, but what did Brown do last night that this kid couldn't have done?

Issue being that he got his chance and didn’t deliver. He’s also not really a kid anymore. He needs to put it together soon or he’ll be looking for a new line of work sadly

That handball to (was it Petracca?) for that goal where he got the ball above his head and just waited a millisecond to hand it to his advantage was beautiful

I should have noticed the sign that we were on within the first second of last night's game when Max decided to try and spike the ball forward instead of doing his fancy behind the back sh*t.

This is the ultimate read on the MFC, I'll be looking for this closely moving forward.

I find it a little weird how frequently he whiffs on it though. Or am I expecting too much?

He can whiff on it as often as he likes for all I care, no point winning palm downs when the opposition is reading them like they have been lately either, it's more the sign of intent that I think it represents that I enjoy about it. I'd be for him trying to grab it out of the air and hack kick it forward at the opening bounce also.

Review Rd 17 - Dees v Poort West Horsham: the Good, Bad and Fugly