Autopsy Rd 4 - Massive choke - Bottomed out again.

Whose game did you like in Round 4?

What sort of 2bit operation are they running down there? Everyone knew that we were going in to the game too tall, why can't these people on the match committee see this? We were probably too tall and unbalanced last week, but what do they do, bring another tall in Charlie to make it even more unbalanced. And Charlie prior to being injured was playing like a busted anyway, why wouldn't they give him a week or two in the VFL to get some touch, instead of stinking it up again. Over the past couple of years we've lost a handful of games just down to team balance, how do they still not figure this out, it's why we can't kick a score and win games! Instead of pulling out the cliches like we can learn from this, learning opportunity, blah, blah, actually learn from it then!! It doesn't give me any confidence that the match committee can't even see their own mistakes, let alone trying to give feedback to players on their mistakes.

We're struggling without Kruzer as we have been smashed in the ruck every single game, which has meant we have to go with the extra tall as the two ruckmen are just not AFL standard. Unfortunately as great as Simpson has been, he's run out of petrol. There was a moment that a GC player just sauntered around him and he barely raised his arm. Same with Murphy early in the match, mate if you can't be bothered, just pull the pin. And that kick in the dying seconds is indicative of where he is at atm. Dow should go back to the VFL and not come back until he learns how to kick and improve his decision making....ditto for O'Brien. I know the forward entries were bad and probably didn't help Gibbons, but he was out bodied and out marked every single time one on one, with absolutely no resistance. Just try and half the contest! When he does get the ball around ground, no polish. The only guy I'm confident in with the ball is SPS, but unfortunately he's not getting enough of the ball atm. You could blame the umpiring in isolation, but it was poor either way all day. Marchbank stupidly shoved a GC player fair in the middle of the back over the boundary line when the ball was already dead within the last minute of play, it should have been a free kick to them and I'm not sure what was going through his brain to even test the umpires.

On the positive side, Cripps and Walsh were great again as usual. And Jones and Weitering have been brilliant this year.

Dow is like a young Kylo Ren. So much raw untapped ability and potential to be a game-breaker. But he needs a ton of refinement and mentoring/coaching to ensure he reaches it, rather than drifting to the dark side.

We need a proper midfield coach.
Are you saying Dow is an emo?

Have no idea what he was thinking. Surely you have a ping from where he was.
Was he trying to pass it? It didn't look like he was going for goal.

But you're right, he's 35m from goal, not even a 45 degree angle, you just have to go for goal

Did you watch Bolton’s press conference? That’s exactly what he told them NOT to do.

People please stop blaming the coach you’re all so far off track it’s not even funny anymore.....open your eyes and ears
players not doing what the coach is telling them to do is a much bigger problem than a suspect game plan.

So you're happy for anyone to take all his hard work away? If you like him as you stated, youd back him in to lead this young team

I wish I could take away what his hard work has scored us. AFL is a results driven industry. We are not Fitzroy and we are not St. Kilda. We are Carlton and the bottom line is we have simply not been any where near good enough with Bolton at the helm. He is the coach and he has to take responsibility. 3 wins in 18 months is not good enough for me, but I guess I cant speak for everyone here. Also my opinion as him as a club man has little bearing in my opinion on him as a coach. I'm sure you're a ripping bloke yet that doesn't mean I would want you at calling the shots for an AFL team.

I'm going to cut Bolts some slack for now because he can at least identify the issues in his pressers.

The proof of the pudding now will back can he address the issues within a reasonable timeframe.

Did you watch Bolton’s press conference? That’s exactly what he told them NOT to do.

People please stop blaming the coach you’re all so far off track it’s not even funny anymore.....open your eyes and ears

There’s game plan and there’s the execution of the game plan.

They’re two different things.

What stood out today was a lot of very poor decision making.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

He told his talls to come further up the ground after the first quarter. I'm positive he did not tell them all to do it at the same time. Every team has talls come up the ground. The last man left wasn't positioning themselves properly. I'd suggest that McKay was the offender this week. Work rate was well down.

Kicking long to our talls is part of our game plan. Take advantage of your strengths and all.
Is it a strength or is it all we've got ?

I love Bolts and he seems like a great bloke to have around a footy club, yet the buck stops with the coach, and the fact of the matter is we are looking at a 3rd wooden spoon in 5 years. St. Kilda would be embarrassed to 'win' 3 wooden spoons in 5 years!! Many coaches have done far more with worse players and thats a fact.
I hear what your saying mate. But there clearly is just as much frustration from the coach as us about what the players are doing in certain parts of the ground.
I think Kreuzer back will be the big change..He will do what he does and carry the fellas.
4 games without an AFL standard ruck hurts more than anything else.

Always remember we have almost no mature players in their best career years. It makes a massive difference.

Backline and defensive positioning is more than decent. I'll go as far and say we have a top 3 defence in the competition.

But unfortunately they're not 100% responsible for ball movement. Defence collective disposal efficiency is through the roof.

Its the spread, it's the tactical movement, its the kicking to advantage, its the decision making and some players general attitude.

Fisher, Charlie and Gibbons were having a laugh at the start of fourth quarter instead of being focussed on the game.

This on field group is all over the shop.

Some of you are as embarrassing as our club. Bolton can’t kick the ball for our players, our skill execution is atrocious. If you honestly believe that a group of coaches who have been involved in football their whole lives wanted our midfield to kick to Gibbons as our main target going into our forward line then you are kidding yourselves.

They aren’t clever enough to allocate a free defender to drop off all game yet not work out something going the other way. It is 100% our players not following expectation and I believe a lot of it stems from our lazy forwards who do not move enough and create opportunities. It feels as if it’s not dumped on Harry’s head he is not interested, McGov is unfit and Charlie lacking touch.

How is sacking Bolton going to fix Plowman, Dow, O’Brien, Setterfield, both Curnows and even Cripps in the last quarter make fundamental errors in either decisions or skill execution?
2nd best post 9f the day!

Our defensive setup is good. It's been pretty consistent across the first four games and through the pre-season too. I don't think that needs any significant work put into it.

Pretty much every training session for the rest of the year needs to consist of skills practice and match sim of the front half of the ground. It's all about how we use the ball, the decisions made when going forward and the system the forwards have between each other (including the smalls).

Bookmark this post - I reckon by mid-season we will be winning every second game on average and end up with the 6-7 wins we were hoping for just in that period. Might jag one or two before then too. We'll get there.

Autopsy Rd 4 - Massive choke - Bottomed out again.