Richmond - time for a rebuild?

The introduction of Tasmania into the AFL could come at a bad time for Richmond in terms of a rebuild. I think they've got 2 - 3 years of being a competitive mid range team before they bottom out and have to rebuild in several heavily compromised drafts.
When the last expansion sides were added Richmond won a Grand Final seven years later. While 2010 was no good for Richmond 2011 saw Brandon Ellis come in and 2012 Nick Vlaustin and Kamdyn McIntosh were added from the national drafts. Ellis is the highest picked player to win a Grand Final in the 2011 draft while Vlaustin was the third highest player in the 2012 draft (following Jake Stringer and Jack Macrae).

While it could go to crap when Tasmania come in I don't think it'll be the death knell for any teams rebuilding when they are added.

When the last expansion sides were added Richmond won a Grand Final seven years later. While 2010 was no good for Richmond 2011 saw Brandon Ellis come in and 2012 Nick Vlaustin and Kamdyn McIntosh were added from the national drafts. Ellis is the highest picked player to win a Grand Final in the 2011 draft while Vlaustin was the third highest player in the 2012 draft (following Jake Stringer and Jack Macrae).

While it could go to crap when Tasmania come in I don't think it'll be the death knell for any teams rebuilding when they are added.
Yes but you got your core before suns entered the national draft in 2010.
2006 Riewoldt, edwards
2007 Cotchin, Rance
2009 Martin astubury grimes

With tiges trading out of 2023 and you’d think Tassie would enter the 2026 draft
There’s only 2 drafts to have a good chance at getting a gun or two.
Of course you can still jag it but but the odds are against you.
2010 suns got 8 of the first 13 picks.
3 of them the top 3.

We were told all preseason that they addressed their biggest weakness with Taranto and Hopper, they had fixed their defensive woes, and they we’re going to add a “new recruit” in Martin.

And they’re surprised they are declining with 8-9 players over 30…

They were taking the piss getting Hopper and Taranto. Anyone could see that would be overkill. One would have been plenty. They overpaid for both as well.
Luckily they only signed them to… holy heck 7 year deals

Bottom 3 have won 7 of the last 10 premierships.

Basically if you want the highs, the downside is the lows. As a Tiger I really relate to the supporters that have the lows but never get the highs of premierships. But I’ve got to say the lows following massive success are nothing like the lows from constant failure. It’s hard to accept but it is an inevitable outcome of playing a consistent 22-30 players for a decade.

absolutely cooked. recruiting hopper and tarranto at the price tag will really bite them heavily on the ass given they are in a huge decline tumbling down the ladder.

essentially giving up a top ten pick this season as part of the deal in what is being touted as a super draft... not ideal for a side who is heavily on the 30+ year olds without any quality gun youth.

I would rather be north Melbourne and west coast right now than richmond, who I think will be heading up a lot quicker than richmonds list will.

There’s a few I’d keep - Grimes, Martin, Nank - but Cotchin shouldn’t play another game. He’s not up to it.

Riewoldt gets to play out the year because his presence helps.

Cotchin is just in the ******* way

They will play Cotchin to 300 and that is fair enough. His selection in the short term isn't going to make a difference to the path they are on.

absolutely cooked. recruiting hopper and tarranto at the price tag will really bite them heavily on the ass given they are in a huge decline tumbling down the ladder.

essentially giving up a top ten pick this season as part of the deal in what is being touted as a super draft... not ideal for a side who is heavily on the 30+ year olds without any quality gun youth.

I would rather be north Melbourne and west coast right now than richmond, who I think will be heading up a lot quicker than richmonds list will.

I’d take Norths list over ours, but not their last 5 years.

With how much they overpaid for a couple of very average players who can't kick last year, there are plenty of similar types at the Eagles they can overpay for this year.

A couple more top ups and they can strive for that coveted ninth position.

Caro has pretty openly been calling for Hardwick to go elsewhere, and this Gale to the AFL thing is interesting too. Could be a fairly new President, new CEO, new coach, new captains? That would be substantial.

Going through their veterans:

Cotchin, Tarrant, Riewoldt all look like it's time, no surprises there, they rolled the dice and good for them. McIntosh might not have much left, could be better served doing a job for a year at North or West Coast or some other ground zero rebuild.

Grimes, Pickett, Prestia (when healthy) are going ok. Lynch still has plenty of footy but can't stay healthy. Broad, Vlastuin and Nank have a lot left but aren't young.

Dusty is the big question mark. Feels wrong to say he should play elsewhere but also feels like seeing him run out the clock at Richmond is a waste of what he's got left.

Under 26 team:
FB: R'Smith Balta ----
HB: Baker Gibcus Rioli
C; ---- Taranto ------
HF: Clarke ------ Graham
FF: Rioli ---- Cumberland
Foll: Ryan Hopper Bolton
Int: Sonsie ?Ross ?Mansell

Draft capital - Short and Soldo (if he can stay healthy) are the right age and talent level where they'd probably have some decent 2nd round value if the Tigers wanted to get aggressive.

The 2021 draft class producing very little right now is their big ticket to make things look a lot better. Gibcus is an elite talent. Tom Brown, Sonsie, Banks, Clarke all top 30 picks. Clarke and Sonsie have both shown a bit, the other 2 yet to debut.

Under 26 they have elite key backs, midfield building blocks, a fair collection of flanker talent, they aren't in a terrible spot. But how they find key forwards and some midfield classy runners without a first this year is a challenge. And if Bradtke or Bauer the tall forwards they've taken with mid season and SSP picks lately are in any way part of their plans it's probably time to start giving them a go (once healthy).

Who are some tradable assets for the Tigs they could afford to lose to get back into this draft? Have long had the best role players in the league and Carlton arguably the worst. I'm sure we'd love to get our hands on some if they could be shaken loose.

Baker, Bolton, Short, Cumberland and Graham the obvious ones for mine but not sure if any would be let go unless it was for massive overs.

Who are some tradable assets for the Tigs they could afford to lose to get back into this draft? Have long had the best role players in the league and Carlton arguably the worst. I'm sure we'd love to get our hands on some if they could be shaken loose.

Baker, Bolton, Short, Cumberland and Graham the obvious ones for mine but not sure if any would be let go unless it was for massive overs.

I reckon teams would love to have Vlastuin in their backline. Still just 28 and would be a perfect replacement for Tom Jonas.

Traded their future first as part of the Taranto/Hopper deal which will set them back for years
Taranto & Hopper been our better players this season if you have actually watched them play & not listened to Kane Cornes.
Fact is players around them have been shot to pieces the cliff has come for a lot of players Cotch, Prestia, Grimes, Vlastuin. Riewoldt probably playing the best out of the older players but in saying that he looked old against the Gold Coast.

The club internally wouldn't have seen this "Drop off" even Geelong, people in the media were saying 3 weeks ago "the Cats are cooked" but they have been able to steady & win games.

Taranto & Hopper been our better players this season if you have actually watched them play & not listened to Kane Cornes.
Fact is players around them have been shot to pieces the cliff has come for a lot of players Cotch, Prestia, Grimes, Vlastuin. Riewoldt probably playing the best out of the older players but in saying that he looked old against the Gold Coast.

The club internally wouldn't have seen this "Drop off" even Geelong, people in the media were saying 3 weeks ago "the Cats are cooked" but they have been able to steady & win games.
David King has never been a reliable source, particularly when it comes to Geelong.

what would make this hard from a Tigers perspective is that they aren’t producing the sort of uncompetitive football that you get accustomed to seeing from teams ready to rebuild: they’ve competed in basically every game they’ve played to at least some extent so an optimistic coach would look at it and say that they only need a few tweaks and things can be on the up again.

They really haven’t been THAT bad though I didn’t watch today

They are at a crossroads where they will either get worse or start winning some games.

They will win this week by 70 points minimum against west Coast who now have even more injuries than sat night.

Salary cap and draft doing what it is intended, except for the cats.
Yes, the Cats are the only team that has defied the odds every other successful team of recent years has gone down.
Every supporter of any club would go down the bottom if it meant they won 3 premierships in 4 years.

At the end of the day it could be a tough few years but I wouldn't have it any other way.

Richmond - time for a rebuild?