Votes: 5 2.9%
  • Corey Ellis

Votes: 7 4.0%

Thanks for the advice but I’d prefer to be able to think for myself. Excuses aside all players I mentioned were gifted games at times and given every opportunity to show what they were capable of. Right now with our injuries and no clear replacement I’d keep playing him. Give me an alternative other than same old Lloyd, Miles etc who have been tried and found out.

You bring in in-form VFL players. That's how it has to be done. Stengle, Lloyd, Menadue and even Miller are the ones who played well yesterday.

Don't think what role you have in the side has to do with desire.
I'm not saying Corey is right to go now, I'm saying he is worth another preseason and hopefully with some size and development such as Cotchin taking him under his wing he can still make it.

Are people forgetting what guys like Grigg, Houli looked like after 26 games? These guys were thrown away from weaker clubs. Edwards took a decade to come good. Rance looked like a lost giraffe in his first few years who couldn't take a mark and kept falling over, but granted he had courage and attack on the footy. Lambert was still considered just a good VFL player at 22.

Corey has lovely footskills, and composure and time with the footy. How many others in our side have great footskills? Short, Houli, Riewoldt? Then Cotchin and Martin are hit and miss.

You bring in in-form VFL players. That's how it has to be done. Stengle, Lloyd, Menadue and even Miller are the ones who played well yesterday.
Stengel should have played instead of Bolton. Lloyd. Yawn. Menadue hasn’t been that flash in the 2s. Miller not ready. Your clutching at straws.

I'm not saying Corey is right to go now, I'm saying he is worth another preseason and hopefully with some size and development such as Cotchin taking him under his wing he can still make it.
Come on mate.As someone pointed out you would think with a spot in this side up for grabs he would at least show some kind of urgency.Was a pathetic effort last night and imo he should be shown the door.
Had enough chances.

Are people forgetting what guys like Grigg, Houli looked like after 26 games? These guys were thrown away from weaker clubs. Edwards took a decade to come good. Rance looked like a lost giraffe in his first few years who couldn't take a mark and kept falling over, but granted he had courage and attack on the footy. Lambert was still considered just a good VFL player at 22.

Corey has lovely footskills, and composure and time with the footy. How many others in our side have great footskills? Short, Houli, Riewoldt? Then Cotchin and Martin are hit and miss.

He doesn't find the ball! Wonderful that he has lovely foot skills but he has had 6 kicks over two games. Not enough.

Menadue has been in our best last 3 games after being dropped.Got to reward form.I agree Lloyd is not my cup of tea,but his performance in vfl been good.

A couple of problems last night that have been problems in most of our losses and some of our wins this season
- slow start to the first quarter, letting them kick 4 of the first 5.
- they kicked 3 in about 10 minutes in the third when Nank was on the bench. Lack of a second ruckman usually costs us a couple of goals against the better teams when Nank is resting, but carrying a second ruck for the rest of the game would probably come at a greater price.

7 of their 11 goals came in those two patches. Thought we had the better of them the rest of the night, but they were cleaner with their field and goal kicking.

Getting a bit salty on here.

We’re ok. We we absolutely cabbage last night and lost by 2 points. Should have won by 3-4 goals.

I reckon Cellis needs one more.

However I would like to see Lloyd and Macintosh in the side.

Shai Bolton does my head in.

Stengle a sniff.

What happened ?

I didn't see it. Was asking if anyone did. I just saw Rance was down behind the goals and Grimes, Dave and someone else were into Greene wanting to thump him. Then they were into the ump for not doing anything.

People blaming a couple of young players in Ellis and Bolton is laughable. Sure they didn't get it much, Ellis at least tackled well and Bolton was not bad in the first half. Doesn't have the tank yet, but far from a bust. Ellis out of the full was his only real mistake, some very good players kicked some very poor kicks out on the full last night. The rest of his possessions hit the mark. And I am not an Ellis fan and do not believe he should be playing. What about Cotchin strolling into an open goal 40m out no pressure... point. Happened all night.

We were poor all over the ground. We had so much of the ball and butchered it. Only good players were BEllis, Short, Rioli and Prestia, okay Astbury and Rance and a few other. 5 players over 20 possessions. Dusty had a shocker, Cotchin most of the game looked almost disinterested. He is out of form compared to early in the season.

Higgins, although he looks a good prospect needs a rest. His possessions are average at best. Don't drop Moore as he is necessary so we don't drive Jack R. into the ground. Nankervis loped tired, gets crucified by the umps.

GWS put pressure on us around the ball and plugged up the central corridor so we couldn't springboard. Narrow grounds enable that. When other sides are as quick as us we look ordinary. Average game of football all round.

I've only watched the first half on replay, but Corey Ellis and Bolton have done nothing wrong to warrant the abuse gone their way. Bolton has put his head over the ball more times in half a game that Butler has in a whole season. Ellis while quiet has done nothing wrong. At half time we are all over them and if it wasn't for the shocking misses on goal by Cotchin and some howlers by Martin we would be in front quite easily. Ellis and Bolton must have shocking second halves.

Any other thoughts after seeing the last 10 minutes? I'm usually pretty optimistic and am willing to give guys chances. Backed Lennon until his delisting. But the mistakes they made toward the end of the game were unforgivable. I don't want to see them in the seniors again this year.

People blaming a couple of young players in Ellis and Bolton is laughable. Sure they didn't get it much, Ellis at least tackled well and Bolton was not bad in the first half. Doesn't have the tank yet, but far from a bust. Ellis out of the full was his only real mistake, some very good players kicked some very poor kicks out on the full last night. The rest of his possessions hit the mark. And I am not an Ellis fan and do not believe he should be playing. What about Cotchin strolling into an open goal 40m out no pressure... point. Happened all night.

The difference is that while that was a shocking kick by Cotch, he actually did other things well. Cellis's only moment of note was a kick out on the full. He's a left footer. I can't even begin to fathom how that goes out of bounds from that position with his supposed elite kicking. As for Bolton, he has the one set shot for the night and can't even score a point. Both moments where the game is on the line. They hardly did anything else all night, at least not enough to keep them in the side.

Very similar to the Port game. We lost the game, and as a result the oppo won it. I thought we played better footy, but we missed some easy shots at goal that was the difference. GWS took full advantage of their opportunities, we butchered ours. Callum Ward is a special player. Does throw the head back on light contact and drops to his knees like a soccer player. I was initially critical of Castagna, but he does create kaos and sometimes it results in goals, but it was not his night. Cotchin was down, but he will bounce back. Not worried about the loss, as we have bigger fish to fry. Nank needs some support.

Out - C.Ellis, Bolton
In - Stengle, Townsend

Personally i would be tempted not to make a change this week except rest a player and play stengle

We are playing St Kilda and will be an easy game
Get an extra game into Bolton , Think 1st game back against a quality team away ...... Give him another game
C.Ellis put the hard word on him that he needs to Perform and show why the club needs to keep him ......... Atleast it would keep the fan bois happy
Moore has to stay, He is a KPF and needs to get as many games pumped into him than any other player. I would hate to think what we do if Jack cops an injury just before the finals
Stengle deserves a game and we can afford to give a player a rest Edwards, Cotchin or Grigg