Prediction Round 2, 2023: Changes vs GWS

Careful… your mildly entertaining and offer something descent . don’t go joining that gimp Sanchez in ignore land…

It's a badge of honour to be placed on your ignore list, mate.

Where do you get the contest numbers? And wherever it is, do they also publish hitouts to advantage?

AFL website using on the player stats page for a particular game - you use the option where you pick the ststs you want displayed - I think it's called mystats or something like that.

yes they have hitouts to advantage too

Out : Chesser + Petruccelle (sub)
In : Hough + Hewitt (sub )

The 6 forwards were Darling, Allen, Ryan, Long, Cripps and Jones - none of them will go out and I don't see them dropping an extra mid like O'Neill to bring in Petruccelle or Waterman. Ryan has to be classified as a marking fwd so Waterman coming in will make it 4 marking fwds and a resting ruckman. Not enough supply to make it work and the fwd pressure will drop even more.

The five mids around the ball were Kelly, Sheed, O'Neill, Shuey and Gibney - O'Neill could well go out but Culley his most likely replacement will get managed minutes in the WAFL and come back for the Derby. Hewitt I think will be sub, he could start but when they talk about his fitness they are talking about his ability to play 2 way football in the midfield not just cameo roles as an attacking player. And the key thing is that Kelly and Sheed don't defend at all which is already putting pressure on the whole structure. O'Neill does do some defensive work. I predict Sheed will be under a lot of pressure to hold his spot and after a Derby thumping could be a high profile casualty and Hewitt will be his direct replacement.

The 1 change I think will happen on the wings. Gaff will stay but Chesser is not ready and this being the last winnable game before a tough run you can't afford to have Chesser out there. The thing here is that he shouldn't have played in the 1st place, I don't know why he went past Hough.

The 2 rucks will stay in probably until the end of the Derby. They will want to play 2 rucks against Freo but if Darcy destroys them then they might try something different after that.

The 6 defenders Barrass, Mcgovern, Hurn, Cole, Duggan and Witherden are likely to hold their spots. Witherden will be under pressure when Bazzo is available. Hunt was the extra player playing different roles and will stay in.

I think get Chesser to a half back

Could be some pain, but he did play there a fair bit aswell as wing as a junior

Get Duggan or Hunt upto the wing. Id personally like to see Duggan (having 2 left footed wingers isnt great but atleast one will be turning corridor more and taking the game on where he seems to be apart of the stop start nature down back. Or pick Greg Clark/Hough on wing and remove Witherden down back another culprit of the kick mark stop start game

Weve seen what guys like Naicos, Sheezel, Heppell have done year 1 at half back gives them huge confidence. It has to be worth a shot.

The good thing is GWS will play some half fwd flank kids this week so now is the perfect time. Connor Stone, Rowston ect then they have avg Kennedy and Lloyd guys there. He can atleast stand one and not be fully out of place youd hope

I don’t think he’s been training in the backline at all.

If his pre-season form in a wing-midfield role was good enough to get him into the round 1 side, let’s not throw all that out on the basis of one quiet game and ask him to play a role he hasn’t been training in. That’s just setting the kid up to fail.

Our rucks suck but we’ve known this for a while now and had close to a year to address this. Problem is most of senior mids are very balanced and suited be first recievers. Shuey probably the only one that can play that as an extractor but the role he played on the weekend is the role we need him to play. We need at least one of Yeo/Culley back ASAP.

We’ve exposed Ginbey but I’d love to have a look at Clark/Trew as inside mids throughout the year

Noah Long and Campbell Chesser played considerably less minutes than many other players, there’s no reason why Hewett couldn’t play similar minutes to these guys. You don’t think Hewett could play 67minutes of footy?View attachment 1634534

Sure Hewett can play but you dont play too many kids who cant run out games. Hence one plays as the tactical sub.

Don’t particularly like the idea of playing any of the younger player’s as sub it isn’t doing anything for there development. If Hewitt isn’t up to starting a game at afl then give him full minutes in the wafl side.
A one off game sure to get a taste of Afl but development comes from playing not sitting on the pine.

Wouldn’t be adverse to seeing Chesser retained but played as the sub. Could come on fresh when some of the pace has come out of the game

I suggested this last week as well.

Nice soft entry into AFL for him. I'm all for it.

Instead he was out of his depth playing a full game, whilst Petch pulled 1 disposal.

Culley, Yeo & Nic Nat in
thewest.com.au/sport/west-coast-eagles/west-coast-eagles-coach-adam-simpson-still-hoping-elliot-yeo-will-be-fit-to-take-on-greater-western-sydney-c-10087239

Add Hewett & Hough as well.

Who wins the game when the midfield battle is even?
If our midfield could more or less even it over four quarters, we we would be a good chance against many teams. But when they decide to go into a zen-mindfulness-retreat-workshop-networking event for the whole of the second quarter, it takes our most fragile old bloke Shuey to then get us within a sniff of a win. I hope the young blokes come on a bit quicker than average, so we can extend his career to help mentor them onfield.

You don't rebuild/transition whatever and develop young players by dropping them after one game. Chesser showed he know where to run but was ignored by selfish players.
Sheezel? (NAB #1 for sure) played on Ryan who offered no pressure at all in the first half. A highly selective player and has always been.
XON has had his chances - move him on.
Cole was a butcher - but been out for a season, he is on limited time.
Barrass one on one is destroyed - he needs to start thinking - lay off and leap into the body.
Kids are poor ruckman -no surprise but no other options - we have to be patient.
Allen is just learning to play FF and has been out for ages - be patient. He butchered a gaol opportunity as did Long - but we are in the long game.
etc

Step one is play four quarters and let the game plan cement itself. Ignore youth at our peril and accept what comes with this in the short term.
Step tow is filter out the depth players to stay/go - the rules demand this is a phased thing.
Step 3 is bring in top end class so out top 6 are match winners.

Geez, after that North loss I'm really writing off the season and all enthusiasm has been drained.

Had a quick look through our fixture and can only really see 1 maybe 2 wins for the year:
  • North at home
  • Hawks in Tassie