Autopsy Round 2, 2023: Positives and Negatives vs GWS

Lots of positives, but Waterman’s leading patterns were fantastic today.
All our key forwards had their chances today. We looked really dangerous for a change.

Over 50 x I50 for the game. Massive improvement and a key stat for us to examine imo.

My man Jonesy should never be moved from the backline again.
SPS has found his role at High Half Forward.
Waterman is a great backup ruck.
Longs pressur in the forward 50 was awesome.
Gibney will be up there with the greatest midfielders at West Coast.
Cuzz should play before each home game at the ground in the opener and be signed to the Beagles.

Positives:
  • When Long gets near the ball good things tend to happen. Great composure and footy brain.
  • Team knows how to play quick footy. Hopefully it continues.
  • JJones and SPS both great in traffic and creative. Doesn't always come off, but love the intent.
  • Waterman was damaging and presented well, ran hard for the team. Great game from him.
  • Pretty solid from most players today. Everyone seemed on the same page. It wasn't perfect, but hopefully something to build on.
Only negative from me was that we clearly ran out of legs in the second half.

I'll throw in a positive for Witherden. Has humbled his game and gotten fitter. Thought he had as many fantastic defensive plays and anyone today, repeatedly committing his body and himself aerobically. Shut down a lot of forays on the far wing that the Giants had every right to break clear from.

Leaving their man looked better from a lot of the players? More commitment or something? Idk, they just got there in time to impact contests.

Obviously, we aren't the finished product yet but would love to see the carnage delivered on the opponent if we play a near full game at the intensity and skill level of the second quarter. Fingers crossed we get to see it atleast once this season.

Also, it was quite satisfying to see we were looking to get the ball in the hands of our better users whenever there was an opportunity to do so. The structures/set plays were of high quality. Second half was underwhelming but the high quality entertainment of the 2nd quarter will do.

+ Ginbey is going to be an absolute wrecking ball in two years, get him on the Dark Sharks 45s and watchout.

My man Jonesy should never be moved from the backline again.
SPS has found his role at High Half Forward.
Waterman is a great backup ruck.
Longs pressur in the forward 50 was awesome.
Gibney will be up there with the greatest midfielders at West Coast.
Cuzz should play before each home game at the ground in the opener and be signed to the Beagles.
Waterman in the ruck is being seriously underrated if he can do that consistently. Immediately gives us more run not having to play both Nic and Williams

+
Waterman leading well and scoring goals.
SPS very busy and attacking well, as was JJ and Ryan (excellent across half forward)
Kelly played exactly the role he needs to, as did Shuey.

-
Barrass was really poor. Looked unfit and failed to go with his man a number of times, which is madness when you are playing on Toby Greene at times, probably the most individually damaging player on the league. He got a pass last week by most, despite being part of a backline that conceded 6 goals to Nick Larkey. Needs to find the second half of 2022 form.

Caught on the rebound a lot with some pretty slick ball movement, especially by hand, just couldn’t go with them on speed and conceded some pretty weakly defended goals. GWS aren’t that good - shudder to think what Melbourne’s mids will do in a couple of weeks.

All in all though, it’s a win, and they’ve been so rare that I hope the boys take some confidence out of and continue to build on their hard work.

Wife drove me home from Perth today. Massive night at Rockwiz last night. Nothing better to do than scroll the comments on the game day thread. Nothing better to do ? * me. Are you crew for real ? Some of the older heads should know better, forgive the kids, but is it always like this ? Larry gave me a heads up awhile ago, should have heeded his advice. Enjoy the win.

What a change from last week’s posts! We looked like a different team (although tbf we were probably just coached differently). I reckon there was a very conscious decision made to ditch our old game plan (which we actually played to as recently as last week). It was quite amusing watching Hurn desperately trying to will himself to move the bloody pill on quicker. 10 years of cautious, hesitant, stop/start movement has taken its toll. Just kick to a bloody contest if you have to, and back our bloke to get it.

As for the kids, let’s be honest. Ginbey is doing well, but the others (including Long) have a long way to go. That’s fine. Not knocking them, and not suggesting they shouldn’t continue to get game time. But they are works in progress.

Overall, it was a fantastic effort using what is OBVIOUSLY a new game plan. All power to the boys. Don’t agree that Gov was anything other than great, but accept that Gaff is finito. He won’t be able to adapt to the new game plan.

And stop bitching about the song, lads. They should never have changed the original, but such is life. And we could have Freo’s dirge…

Positives:

• - The win, as I literally thought we were going to lose. Faith restored.
  • SPS, very good off half forward. His kicking inside 50 was high quality, the type defenders struggle to spoil. Also won some contests to get things going.
  • Long, you can see his class in snippets. He's very very high footy IQ.
  • Ginbey, it's easy to forget he's mixing it with the big bodies and winning his fare share. Imagine after his 4th preseason.
  • Our movement was so good to watch, speed and changing lanes so quickly it's hard to defend against.

Negatives
  • Cole just looks a touch off it at the moment, I love him so can't decide whether he should stay in the side to find it or get some wafl games into him.
  • Hurn, probably his worst game I've seen for some time. Kicking off early and struggled with Toby.
  • Barrass, he's not in form at the moment.
  • Gaff.

+++++++++++++++
Slightly forgotten note, ALL the forwards, i noticed JD especially, causing contest after contest to spill to ground.
When we had Long, SPS, Jones and Hunt ready to get and go off those contests and move it fast, tireless effort and a bunch of balls went to ground that had no right to.

+ I'm no BWilliams fan but he did well tonight, took some grabs and got involved
SPS looked like he can make it at this level, i didnt think he could
Ginbey belongs
Waterman, great to see
Long is a find
JJ racks it up, love the pace he brings just needs to tidy up his disposal
Hunt was a great pick up

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

McGovern (unlike him, tbf) spilled and misread heaps of high balls today. Made numerous errors.

Thought he was poor. But Barrass was worse, looked mildly disinterested for the most part.
Gov did that in round 1 too (both games being remarkably similar), yet he seemed to somehow get plaudits last week.

Not a great start for our key backs. I'm hoping for Bazzo to ramp up quickly to play more of a defensive role.

Autopsy Round 2, 2023: Positives and Negatives vs GWS