Autopsy Round 21, 2024 : Hawks snatch defeat from the jaws of victory

I felt like after we took Calsher out of the game they really controlled the game from the back half. We needed height down there, even if it was just to take a opposition player out of a pack. Dear didn't have the best game but we looked a lot slower going inside 50 when it was only really Chol we could sit it on the head of.

Disappointing.
Yep, was a really bad call to sub him so early. Sam took a punt on ending the game early and it backfired.

Insult to injury...we're the bloody 'Hollywood Hawks' now. Grrrr....I know it's probably a compliment; that nickname just doesn't sit well with my mood after a loss at this end of the season. Hahaha!

Yep……and to anyone tempted to sook about the officiating.

Brett Daniels wears #16 for GWS and he had 12 touches and kicked a goal and not a single Hawthorn player bothered to worry about him in that last term.

We only have ourselves to blame
There’s always 1 that pops up mate. Was ohallaran last time.

What about Bedford? Totally ran amok all day and no one put any work into him. Was a massive playmaker for them all game. In fact, limit him and we win that.

You have to tip your hat to Toby Greene, changed the game when he went into the centre bounces, he's a champion

There’s always 1 that pops up mate. Was ohallaran last time.

What about Bedford? Totally ran amok all day and no one put any work into him. Was a massive playmaker for them all game. In fact, limit him and we win that.
Are you mixing up Bedford and Daniels?

Bedford didn't do much out of tagging Day.

we can absolutely catch the giants even if they win 1. Percentage gap is easily closed with a couple of good wins against north and richmond.

also reckon carlton are shaky - they could drop 2 of 3.

But the giants scenario is most likely.

win 3 and get our percentage around 110 and i’d be very surprised if we didn’t scrape in.

Frustrating loss, and probably stuffs our season unless some results finally go our way for a change.

Midfield got overrun in the last, our forwards put on minimum pressure and the ball just walked out of our forward line and Hogan got hot.

Move on to next week and see what happens

Like many posters on here, it looked to my eye that we never looked like pulling away from GWS all day. Just one of those games…

Newcombe - Fantastic in close and on the burst.
Meek - Really strong game from him.
Day - Seemed like a quiet game to me?
Gunston - Looked like the strategy worked for me. Put aside the four goals - Sam Taylor was a non-event
Small forwards - Apart from Moore, others seemed to have a down game?

It's disappointing to have a loss, but as has been said a few times on this board this year, it's never as good or as bad as it seems. And even though the result wasn't as we'd like, it was a really special one for me. I watched it from a hospital room at the Epworth Freemasons, with my newborn son in my arms. Three years we gave up hope of ever having kids following round after round of unsuccessful IVF treatments, after giving up on that dream and making peace with our lot in life, we were blessed with a miracle. I write this with very little sleep but a ton more perspective.

Somehow the loss doesn't hit as hard today :)

Like many posters on here, it looked to my eye that we never looked like pulling away from GWS all day. Just one of those games…

Newcombe - Fantastic in close and on the burst.
Meek - Really strong game from him.
Day - Seemed like a quiet game to me?
Gunston - Looked like the strategy worked for me. Put aside the four goals - Sam Taylor was a non-event
Small forwards - Apart from Moore, others seemed to have a down game?

It's disappointing to have a loss, but as has been said a few times on this board this year, it's never as good or as bad as it seems. And even though the result wasn't as we'd like, it was a really special one for me. I watched it from a hospital room at the Epworth Freemasons, with my newborn son in my arms. Three years we gave up hope of ever having kids following round after round of unsuccessful IVF treatments, after giving up on that dream and making peace with our lot in life, we were blessed with a miracle. I write this with very little sleep but a ton more perspective.

Somehow the loss doesn't hit as hard today :)
Big congratulations to you.

Make sure you instil in your son a love for the Hawks and its job done 😉

Our leaders are either very young (Newk, Day) or on their last legs (Gunners, Breust).
We’ll get there. Patience needed for our padawans.
I haven’t seen it yet but will be interested to see Sammy’s presser.

Did we go in a midfield rotation short with the Gunston match up? Did a terrific job all day with Day well held. But they were full off run late and we stopped in our tracks.

Watson,Ginny,C-Mac,Gunston,Bruest (sub) prodimatley used as fwd specialist.

I felt Ward, and Jiath don't support the middle enough.

C-Mackensie is the man to come in can play multiple positions.

Go watch last weeks game, and there was plenty to like. Has a shocker today, but he’s 20.

Yep was serviceable last week.

I am concerned about the bracing he does for body contact on almost every play. It looks to me he thinks he going to absolutely flattened every time he is in a contest.

Autopsy Round 21, 2024 : Hawks snatch defeat from the jaws of victory