Autopsy Round 22 = Sydney 89-86 Collingwood.

My blood is BOILING right now. Forget the multiple deliberates and non-paid 50 against McCartin for running 10m over the mark. DID WE NOT LEARN ****ING ANYTHING FROM LAST WEEK?

Heeney, like Cripps last week has put his team on his shoulders and for an entire quarter we couldn’t find an answer.

AGAIN, we’re shown up in the midfield when it counted. AGAIN, if we’re not getting maximum output from Nick no one is stepping up. AGAIN, we couldn’t just find a single goal to stem the flow.

Thank **** for Mitch McGovern last week, because we’d be staring at back to back shitting of the bed. Get beat, fine. Get beat by what you know, inexcusable.

So good for so long in this game, and now our season is over. Good riddance. I’m ****ing filthy.

So it didn’t take long for me to simmer down. The season is over, that’s bringing me peace now, I can finally stop caring and hoping until next season. I try to never count my chickens before they’ve hatched, but you simply shouldn’t lose from those sort of leads.

We’ve gone from the kings of the comeback, to wilting under the pressure of other teams going helter skelter because we’ve actually set ourselves up to win a game.

Anywho -

DC: Keeps getting better and better. Absolutely immense, and as much as I love/d BG, Darcy gave him a bath and has undoubtedly repaid the faith for investing in him.

Crisp: Had moments. Strong in the contest for the most part.

Jaicos: Good without being great. Didn’t impact when we need him.

Sidey: Massive on Gulden. Unfortunately the only moment of that game that anyone will remember from that head to head is Gulden’s goal.

McCreery: Turned up the pressure, that’s his bread and butter. I expect nothing less.

McStay: Great in my opinion. Really starting to get that confidence back, his marking game is a massive asset.

Howe: Disappointing end to a milestone. Set up and intercepted well for most of the night, prone to an absolute weekly clanger that’ll cost a goal though.

Pendles: Not great, not terrible.

Cox: Playing his role.

Hill: Was busy, had moments. I probably give him an out like most of the forwards tbh. Can’t score if the ball doesn’t come down there, was involved when it was.

Bytel: Don’t really see anything majorly special about him, epitome of ‘bottom 6’ player who will probably never break out. Wasn’t bad but has a ceiling.

Long: More or less the above, but exceeded my expectations.

Moore: Like Howe, held up okay for most of the night. This is the base level sort of game I expect consistently from Darcy.

Quaynor: Nice to see him kick a goal. Look a bit more lively tonight but his season pretty much sums up the team as a whole. A fall from grace.

Naicos: Was really proud of the effort to fight through the tag early, clearance work was elite. I won’t say a bad word against Nick, I’ll leave that to oppo supporters. He needs the support around him, can’t be a one man band all the time.

Elliott: Barely noticed him, thought he was getting out-worked and out-bodied early.

Noble: Eh, he is what he is.

Lipinski: Like many of his team mates, was contributing when it was going well, disappeared when the Swans changed gears.

Schultz: Forward pressure was a tick, didn’t feel like any sort of offensive threat though.

WHE: Sometimes maybe good, sometimes maybe shit.

Maynard: See Lipinski

Frampton: I’ve said it before, he’s a deadset meme. We rightfully piss ourselves laughing that he locks down on Charlie Curnow, but then in the space of a week can look like he’s forgotten how to play football.

Richards: Went well at his post-game running load I heard.. obviously can’t judge, seems a bit silly to wait so long to pull the trigger, if at all.

Of course he wouldn't be whiny about it. It's not his style.

I'm guessing he responded to a direct question considering some of those decisions were so dodgy.

I'm sure he'll also ask for clarification from the AFL via the proper channels.
The question was about the 50 only.

He answered that and the added the comments about the deliberates without prodding.

Didn’t whine, but called out the poor decisions as mistakes - publicly, as needed.

Take a step back mate and consider whats really important. We all love Collingwood but at the end of the day, there are more important things in life. I'd love to see us win by 20 goals every week, but it’s just not going to happen and at the end of the day, the sun will come up tomorrow. I was very lucky to be alive to see us win it last year, so every game I see now is a blessing. Try to just take it in and enjoy it for what it is. Just a game.
Steady up, he’s the world’s greatest Collingwood supporter. If anyone can get over the loss it’s him.

Of course he wouldn't be whiny about it. It's not his style.

I'm guessing he responded to a direct question considering some of those decisions were so dodgy.

I'm sure he'll also ask for clarification from the AFL via the proper channels.

The media just come for a headline - most of them are scum - ambulance chasers.

In the soccer press conferences one of the tactics used is to put the question back to the journalist and get them to answer.

You cannot beat headquarters. The only coach with a free pass is Hardwick.

That is a literal definition of corruption
Can’t agree. In both situations there’s an element of benefit of the doubt that would usually create latitude. In both cases the goodwill was eradicated by our behaviours. Umpires anticipate the intent based on the pattern of behaviour, and are therefore less doubtful in making their decision.

I’m not blaming umpires for that, it was obvious from that first goal in the last quarter we were going to be run over. We got one against Norf so swings and roundabouts on that one.

If we as supporters can see what’s coming why then do the coaches and players not or perhaps they do and the game plan is do nothing. Anyway I’m moving home in September so at least I don’t have to book the moving truck around our games.
reckon we've suffered big time from Leppa's change in role this year.

Fly never was the main man moving the magnets on game day in 2023 ..that was Leppa (and Bolts). it's one of the reasons why he consistently went out of his way praising the coaching crew (and esp Leppa) in 2023

Remember we had no rucks for a long time last year.

No Mcstay for half the season
No ruckman for 6-8 weeks
Steele hurt his knee against North. Out for 6
Howe broken arm missed half the season
No Daicos or Moore for the final month
De Goey missed a total of around 6 weeks between suspension and injury
I’m sure there’s a few more I’m forgetting

There seems to be a pattern with our last quarter fade outs this year.We always seem to kick the first goal of the last quarter,get to a five goal lead or so,then we seem to think that game has been won and we become too conservative.We usually hang on until about halfway through the last quarter,then the opposition will kick a goal out of nowhere,then another shortly after that,and then we start to panic and all of a sudden we look like headless chooks running around the field.

It’s odd how these games always seem to follow the same pattern.You’d think we’d learn from our mistakes from previous games,but we never seem to find a way of adjusting to the changes in the game.
We don’t look as fit. Our young players battled well when we had a stack of injuries, but they haven’t been able to sustain it across the full season or four quarters. Plus at times senior players returning from injury haven’t been able to run out 4 quarters either.

Despite that I think you need a 6 goal lead to be safe now.

I thought our midfield looked totally flat in the last quarter. That was it and that was the game.
I was watching Nick closely at quite a few ball ups in the last half and he just didn't seem himself - no dancing around and being constantly on the move, just standing and watching. He looked just dog tired and fed up at times... which is quite understandable, given the load he's had to carry, especially while Jordy has been injured and no Mitch.

They are doing it way to early. It's a 5 mins Max stall tactic, not bloody 20 minutes of play left like we are employing this year.
or the dees final last year

Pretty much summed up our lacklustre season. Really good footy with some absolute dog shit.

A lot of questions going into the off season.
Run it back?
Start again?
Reload?

Can’t agree. In both situations there’s an element of benefit of the doubt that would usually create latitude. In both cases the goodwill was eradicated by our behaviours. Umpires anticipate the intent based on the pattern of behaviour, and are therefore less doubtful in making their decision.
A postscript to this - surely the manhandling of N Daicos off the ball and prior to the contest is also getting to a similar critical mass. If I were Collingwood I’d be highlighting the off the ball treatment in those umpiring reviews. I’ve not encountered a player scragged without the ball as often as Nick is. To Sydney’s credit, this isn’t a comment arising as a result of his treatment in tonight’s game.

You have to be a pretty special type to blame Schultz for us losing when our whole midfield failed to touch the ball in the whole last quarter whilst their guns went berserk.

I thought our midfield looked totally flat in the last quarter. That was it and that was the game.
Did they set up differently?

I was watching Nick closely at quite a few ball ups in the last half and he just didn't seem himself - no dancing around and being constantly on the move, just standing and watching. He looked just dog tired and fed up at times... which is quite understandable, given the load he's had to carry, especially while Jordy has been injured and no Mitch.
I think it’s also reflecting in his ball use. Seems exhausted from carrying the team and is disposal has lacked his usual spark and creativity. I don’t think the attention (in general play) is the cause of the drop off.

We desperately need him to get his mojo back.

He looked not himself the whole game. I was saying it from the first quarter. He kept hunching over at stoppage.

He might have been ill?

What's the point of asking for clarification on decisions?

Getting clarification on the decision would be the point ..
I’m not talking about clarification.
Bottom line is fly/coaches need to teach the players how to keep the ball alive/kill the ball.