Autopsy Round 3, 2024: Positives and Negatives vs Western Bulldogs

The u25 talent there compared to ours now…

I don’t think we have anyone bar Reid who could compare to the likes of Nic nat and shuey (19), Kennedy (22) Mackenzie, brown, Schofield… - hell even lecras as a 23yo.

This is going to be our worst rebuild by far. We need to go tooth and nail for priority picks, free agents, pick purchasing, selling senior players and anything we can do to fast track the rebuild ASAP.

Yeo was in the handful best players on the ground in that shitshow. Your a clown as much as that idiot Bartell.

So the answer is no, he doesn’t need to
Be accountable for anyone and he can watch his bloke run off him with no pressure or effort..

I don’t think we have anyone bar Reid who could compare to the likes of Nic nat and shuey (19), Kennedy (22) Mackenzie, brown, Schofield… - hell even lecras as a 23yo.

This is going to be our worst rebuild by far. We need to go tooth and nail for priority picks, free agents, pick purchasing, selling senior players and anything we can do to fast track the rebuild ASAP.

Implementing a top class player development program should be the number 1 priority. That can help fast track the younger players playing more effectively/getting upto speed quicker at the AFL level.

It's a concern...like a rebuild heading towards a cliff? Even this coming Msd will help, anything...

Surprised by the mood here. We suck, but we all knew we sucked? Blown away by one bad quarter, wasted so many chances in front of goal and the scoreboard could have looked almost respectable if we actually kicked it through the big sticks.

At times last year we played zero quarters of footy. We’re playing two to three quarters of competitive footy each game this year. The one that we don’t, we get blown away. That’s the reality of where we’re at right now.

Trending up, this year compared to last.

People are disappointed as all they want to see is a positive glimpse of the future, but it just didn’t look good today/so far this year. A bunch of players we were hoping to get excited about this year who showed serious promise or are highly rated by the club did not fair well.
Ginbey - ready made physically and mentally, but footy IQ and skill looks way off.
Maric - invisible, 5 touches
Chesser - invisible - 7 touches
Long - invisible - 10 touches
Hough - soundly beaten - 12 touches as one of our older kids.
J Williams - 3 touches… invisible.
Hewett - dead
Burgiel - exploded

The seniors are playing pretty well, better than last year, but the kids look like they’ve gone backwards atm.

I will say the fixture to start hasn't done us any favors to even build momentum. WB, GWS and PORT to start is a horrific start for the 18th ranked team, and then Sydney next week. none of the games were winnable.

In saying this the method of those loses has been the same each time and very predictable.

Yes, there has been improvement at the coalface but then from there it gets UGLY.
We either can't or don't want to spread from the contest and are consistently getting wrecked on the outside. this is either gameplan, fitness or laziness. I can give the new kids some slack as they are most likely to run out of gas, get positioning wrong etc while they still are learning the game and roll. In saying this for the more experienced players there is no excuse for not putting in shifts of two way running. It costs nothing to create leads, run to create space, chase hard to put pressure on to make others jobs easier.

For a Quick list of positives:
Jamo has been great down back. He attacks the contest, can take a grab. I hope we persist with him there for the rest of the year.
Yeo - Good to see him moving well and attacking the ball like he used to.* (*hopefully his two way running gets better throught the year but considering it's his first season back from just a carnage of injuries to his legs i'll cut him some slack).
Ginbey - Had a better second half. Will improve with games and with better support around them.
Gov - If he can stay injury free he has been a complete wall. Would hate to see how we go without him back there.

Our efforts in the first 2 games were somewhat admirable considering the opponents and the way we played while flawed we could see some progress. Todays loss was just trash, poor efforts, poor skills, poor forward craft.
Outside of Reid and Gov, I don't see too many putting their heart on their sleeve out on the field.

A random bunch of my thoughts:

• Our effort just isn't there. The half-hearted chases and lack of intent when our guys are within arms reach of opposition players is eye-opening. It can be hard to notice on TV but it's really clear in-person. And it's really clear when I watch other non-WCE games and the pressure is really dialed up. We just don't try hard enough defensively. I think this is the biggest thing that, if improved, would see us closer in these games
  • The blind bombing is a killer. There were many moments today were the handball option was on around the contest but we opted to hack kick it forward. Pretty much a guaranteed turnover every time and it seems to become infectious
  • We need to use Harley more and we should be actively trying to get it in his hands. He's a better user than most, and a more creative playmaker than possibly anyone on our team. There's a reason teams go out of their way to get it to guys like Nasiah, Daicos, Sheezel, etc.
  • Just on that, what happened to Reid in defence? It just feels like a waste having him in the forward line when we have 0 structure/0 spacing/0 idea what to do to generate scoring opportunities
  • We need to back ourselves in on the short kicks more often. Other teams use the quick 15-20 metre kick to edge their way up the ground but we seem very hesitant to do it. I see our players considering it a lot but very, very often deciding the long bomb down the line/inside 50 is the way to go. It's not. Perhaps it's coz our skills are deplorable? Probably.
  • Darling needs to be dropped. 3 strikes now and you are out
  • I'd love for us to get Long around the ball more. He's been disappointing to start this season. He's crafty, clean and competitive. Chuck him on the ball for a change?
  • I think Chesser needs to gain some confidence and earn a game via the WAFL
  • JJ is awful and a massive butcher of the ball... and yet he adds pace. Something we have very, very little of. A tough problem for the selectors.
  • Ginbey tries really hard. I feel like his best position could be a defender down the line. That's not to say he couldn't be a serviceable mid - I just think defence seems to suit him
  • Jamo shows good signs at times, but then looks awful at others
  • Gov was pretty good, as was Yeo
  • Maric invisible out there
  • I don't expect many changes this week. Once again, I feel like there's not enough pressure on the players to earn their spot every week.
  • I like Simmo but I really don't see much changing until he's gone and someone comes in and shakes things up

It's gonna be a long year

The last time we didn't play them at the SCG it was at the GHMBA hellhole and we still got destroyed.
Sydney are the antithesis of how we’ve been playing in the last few seasons in terms of their two way running midfielders and all round level of fitness across the ground.

I expect us to cop at least a 70 to 80 point shellacking from them next week.

This is not just our worst rebuild, it’s AFL historically going to one of the worst.

It is mind blowing that anyone would have thought going into this season that we could possibly stem the bleeding.

It also was truly mind boggling that a fair chunk of this board saw green shoots in pre-season, with only our colour blind supporters getting a leave pass for that lack of footy nous.

Is our venting going to change anything now, probably not.

But a lot of people have been paid a lot of money in a big business to deliver a truly atrocious situation and as it stands, the fallout is one senior exec being able to retire on his terms.

I would seriously look at putting Ginbey HBF. His jnr position. Can still transition into midfield in time
We seem to be missing zippy little forwards....hoping Brockman develops.
Unsure what Long's role is, but clever small forwards who position themselves well seem to be lacking
I've noticed Harley Reid deepest forward for a booming kick on a few occasions
Would prefer him scouting the contest when the ball goes in to tall forwards because his ability to break tackles messes with oppo structures & he can get his hands on the ball
So around the ball drop in 4wd line. Need some dynamics there
Think Harley will get to great 1 on 1 level in the forward line, just not yet.

I’m not sold on Chesser (yet) but Johnson at Freo doesn’t look great either tbf. I’m prepared to wait till end of season to make a call.

Skills were deplorable.

It’s tough going at the moment - especially if you have youngsters. My eldest told me he’s gonna go for Carlton. I died a little inside.

Reckon Ryan will make a big difference when he comes back. Missing that connection up front.

Can I cheer you up, with this - my grandson (7) - mother is a Freo fan - he informed her this week he goes for the Eagles - even after he sat and watched them loose last week - that’s my boy

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

We suck at GHMBA stadium even more than SCG.

Broken Hill who knows
Mt Barker

But yeah the neutral venue fills me with no confidence either

Reckon it'll be a similar game to that GMHBA game to be honest, buy maybe more effort just no skill

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

So it’s acceptable for an experienced player to run one way hard but not the other. ?? I’d give it a pass if it was the last quarter but it was plenty of time before half time… it’s not good enough
Must be simmo to think otherwise

That footage means nothing without the preceding 3-6 mins of play.

For all we know he has had a massive stint where the ball has been following him. Nobody runs forever at full tilt. Isolating plays is nonsense unless you're breaking down structural things.

Effort is done over a period of time and he might have been on his last legs of a stint on-field in which he was busting his arse.

Not saying it's not true, maybe Yeo was lazy in this instance, but the footage doesn't prove it without the full picture.

As someone else said Yeo played 66% TOG so perhaps he's not fit at the moment, but I'd still be picking him every week.

What on earth is going on with Harley's role? He was spending stints in the graveyard that is our forward line yesterday, at FF no less. He is thrown around from stints in the middle literally playing on the best players in the game and then chucked to full forward?

What happened to the nice role off half back that other half decent coaches afforded to Sheezel and Daicos? He has composure and skills that 99% of the rest of our team doesnt have, and yet give him roles that make it so difficult to find the pill. We also continually burned him on shorter options yesterday and instead just blazed away, playing Auskick style game plan of kicking it as far as we could.

He is a confidence player that could light a fire under this team. He wants to be the man and find the ball. Let him. I have no doubt he will leave if is stuck playing in this disjointed train wreck of a team if he isnt at least fed the ball and given a chance to shine more.

I have honestly lost all faith in our ability to develop talent. Long and Hough - two of our most promising players have seemingly gone backwards now too. We dont seem to develop players in roles that let them grow with confidence. We just chuck them around with a "she'll be right / sink or swim attitude". That was how you developed talent 20 years ago.

Anyone who had a hand in acquiring this list should have left the club 2 years ago, and sadly I think we will say the same about those in charge of developing the current crop in 2 years.

As for the audicity to have not even asked for PP yet, given Stevey Wonder could see this brewing over the past 2 years. Just **** off. All of the changes that happened last off season should have happened 2 years ago.

I think he'll be a much better player when he feels like he's the man, yes. When he's stuck getting 10 posessions a game in a crap role I am worried where his head will go given he's never had that before.

What's this based on? During juniors he's just been dominating, but is that confidence or playing against players where he is materially better?

Old players worked hard to compete. half the team are kids who got lost or outclassed by experienced players. This is where we are at and was expected. Being beaten buy a class team isn't = not trying, its a cruel game.

I thought Jamo continued to improve. Barrass didn't give enough leadership/direction in defence but our forwards were not proactive to hold up their overlapping run combining with a class midfield.

Disposal to our forwards was the stumbling block. Pressure does that when you are learning.

Autopsy Round 3, 2024: Positives and Negatives vs Western Bulldogs