Round 4 Adelaide vs Carlton

We just have to grab this chance on Saturday whilst Adelaide have got so many players out injured, and whilst a number of their good players are down on form. Never confident when we play Adelaide, but if we play close to our best, we should be too strong for a seriously under-manned side.

Can anyone remember when we beat them last? Feels like an eternity ago

Doesn't help that they are my most loathed side mind you

No doubt will be "escorted out" as has become the norm at Crows games

I really believe we have to go into this game with a purely instinctive approach. Sometimes I think Ratten overcomplicates things and I really think many of our players are at their best when allowed to play their natural free-wheeling games, instead of having to stop and think about it all the time.

The main pre-game emphasis should be ferocity at the ball. The players will work out the rest.

We will know a hell of a lot more about our beloved blues at the end of this weeks game compared to last week.

Am happy in a way that it's an interstate game, galvanize the team hopefully.

Still hurting over saturdays poor excuse of an elite game of footy. But I think deep down most of us were more shattered at how we played rather than who we played. Cause we all know we're so much better than what was dished upto us saturday night.

If Tippet, Bock and Dangerfield do miss as expected then we really have no excuses.

Oh yeah that Judd guy should help us a bit to. Fingers crossed Bower gets up as well. Seeing Tex play on Gumbleton just rammed home even more how important the emu is to our structure.

Star of the year after round 4 most of us would've taken 2-2 assuming we would be able to beat the tigers and dons. Well we beat the crowbots on the w/e and we will be 2-2.

For the sake of this board I hope we get up. Couldn't bear another week of reading post after post how crap our coach, players and admin are.

Just for arguments sake if we do lose this w/e instead of venting on bigfooty blues fans just ring each other up and start another 200-300 'supporter' rally at visy. You morons did it for fev now you can start a sack ratten campaign.

Ratten is safe for the season and so he should be. Do you flogs remember we we're getting slaughtered by 100pts+ regurlarly earlier this decade? The club has come sooooooooooooooo far since then. We're not close to a premiership (this year or next) but guess what, neither are 12-13 other a.f.l clubs.

Once again if we turn up with the right attitude and intensity we should be ok.

Go you good thing :thumbsu:

We said the same last week, but we played poor footy on the weekend.

Wait until we see how we start and the two sides line up before you start pencilling the four points in.

Even then, they should beat us at home.

Agreed 100%

B: Thornton Jamison Armfield
HB: Russell Bower Scotland
C: Gibbs McLean Simpson
HF: Yarran Waite Robinson
F: Garlett, Henderson Betts
R: Kreuzer Judd Murphy

Int: Hampson, Carrazzo, Joseph, Lucas

In: Judd, Bower, Hampson, Garlett
Out: Walker, Warnock, Houlihan, O'hAilpin

Some changes certainly have to be made. I'm not making scapegoats out of anybody here.

In fact Walker would be fairly unlucky as he got 19 possessions, 6 marks, and had almost half the team with a worse disposal efficiency. He doesn't go in for the hard ball enough though and he is supposed to be tough as nails. Needs some hunger. Walkers did lead the way in terms of 1%ers however.

O'hAilpin was the most ineffective forward on the ground tonight and needs to take more marks.

Houlihan, 15 possessions at 53%, not good enough. Only 1 1%er as well.

Warnock seems content with being tall. Not working hard enough around the ground for mine and does not hold his marks. Hammer does not hold his marks either but he goes hard at every contest and can run like the wind.

We could put the same team out there next week and they would give a much better account of themselves, but we do need to send a message to the whole team that this was not good enough, and to do that, the axe must swing.

Edit: If Hampson is injured, then I would give Jacobs a run.

I would actually drop Betts for Garlett and leave O'hAlpin on the bench but I quite like that line up ODN. Betts has been making a few silly decisions lately and needs to think about things.

As for dropping Warnock, I agree with your assessment. There was one situation in the last when he went to palm it down... and there was no one at his feet to run onto the ball so the bummer ran it away. If he had taken the mark, then he could have turned around spotted up someone else up the field and we were away.

2004 at AAMI, Fev kicking the matchwinner from 50 out on the boundary!:D
Best win i've been to, so good it almost makes up for not beating them in the six years following it.:(

Look, 5 changes are about right if you ask me. Judd and Bower are no-brainers, and based on what I saw in both the Bullants game and the Carlton game, Wiggins, Garlett and Jacobs deserve their spot. We are still experimenting with our forwardline, and perhaps we could rotate Kreuzer and Jacobs through there, and it also gives us the option of moving Waite back, without going in with an undersized forwardline.

Setanta is unlucky to miss out, but he did very very little last night. Or, leave him in, and play him further up the ground at CHF, where he seems to do his best work.

Setanta did very little the other night because the delivery into him was bollocks. Even Fev would have struggled with that sort of delivery and been sat on the bench with his boots off at half time sooking...

I would leave Setanta in and drop knockers for Jacobs... I would drop Henderson down into the pocket, Setanta at CHF and Wriggler at FF.

Play Waite down back as the usual floating man to break up their attacks.

I would actually drop Betts for Garlett and leave O'hAlpin on the bench but I quite like that line up ODN. Betts has been making a few silly decisions lately and needs to think about things.

As for dropping Warnock, I agree with your assessment. There was one situation in the last when he went to palm it down... and there was no one at his feet to run onto the ball so the bummer ran it away. If he had taken the mark, then he could have turned around spotted up someone else up the field and we were away.

We had 2 players who busted there nut on the weekend and one of them was betts and you want to drop him, are you for f$$king real ?

Drop Warnock. I hear Sauce is running around well in the Ants. We have given Warnock a few games to get back into it, but now we need to make him fight for his spot.

Leave Setanta and Henderson in the team. It is a ridiculous idea to drop either of them. I'd like to have Waite up forward this week, especially with Bock going down. I would be weary about making too many changes despite the poor performance.

In: Judd, Jacobs, Hadley(if Mclean can't get up), Bower (Recovered?)

Out: Warnock, Mclean (If he can't get up), Houlihan, Armfield (Out for Bower)

looks about right but as thy said - worried we are returning to Wiggins as an answer

The team needs more heart... Wiggins with his presence just lifts the players that little bit with his heart and passion... not to mention his guts and determination...

we need more people like him!

1 more vote for this team:

B: Thornton Jamison Armfield
HB: Russell Bower Scotland
C: Gibbs McLean Simpson
HF: Yarran Waite Robinson
F: Garlett, Henderson Betts
R: Kreuzer Judd Murphy

Int: Hampson, Carrazzo, Joseph, Lucas

The team needs more heart... Wiggins with his presence just lifts the players that little bit with his heart and passion... not to mention his guts and determination...

we need more people like him!

:thumbsu: As Sticks said he's got "balls and heart." As usual everyone said in the off season he shouldn't get a game, but he's exactly what we need now.

That shot from Setanta was horrible and it was missing. Simpson did the right thing by trying to mark it at the last second because it was missing.

I was wondering about that as well tbh... then they showed the reverse angle on it and the ball was curling away from the goals towards the points... brave effort by Simmo to try and mark it.

Yes.......drop the guy most likely to actually kick a bag of goals for us. :thumbsu::rolleyes:

He has changed his role this year and become a lead up forward, moving away from the more traditional crumbing role.
Do you feel 3 games is more than enough to adjust? :confused:

Betts made some great decisions vs Lions and had he kicked straight would have been a match winner. He was superb vs the Tigers.
Vs Dons he kicked 2 and set up another couple, not sure how much more you want him to do?

Time to be brutal at the selection table. One of the worst performances in 3 years.

In:
-Judd
-Bower
-Garlett
-Jacobs
-Davies

Out:
-Scotland
-Mclean (inj)
-Warnock
-Walker
-Another

:)

pencil in - Scotland hater :eek:

Drop Warnock. I hear Sauce is running around well in the Ants. We have given Warnock a few games to get back into it, but now we need to make him fight for his spot.

Leave Setanta and Henderson in the team. It is a ridiculous idea to drop either of them. I'd like to have Waite up forward this week, especially with Bock going down. I would be weary about making too many changes despite the poor performance.

In: Judd, Jacobs, Hadley(if Mclean can't get up), Bower (Recovered?)

Out: Warnock, Mclean (If he can't get up), Houlihan, Armfield (Out for Bower)

Sounded alright until you said drop Army - he is going to make a fine backman. AJ might have to go before him as Carrots probably has to tag with Juddy back (and does get more kicks doing it than AJ) Anyway Walker would be making way for Bower but actually might get a gig up forward (sadly for Robbo)

Yes.......drop the guy most likely to actually kick a bag of goals for us. :thumbsu::rolleyes:

He has changed his role this year and become a lead up forward, moving away from the more traditional crumbing role.
Do you feel 3 games is more than enough to adjust? :confused:

Betts made some great decisions vs Lions and had he kicked straight would have been a match winner. He was superb vs the Tigers.
Vs Dons he kicked 2 and set up another couple, not sure how much more you want him to do?

Cannot drop Eddie but does anyone know if it is true that he has a dismal interstate record:confused:

We had 2 players who busted there nut on the weekend and one of them was betts and you want to drop him, are you for f$$king real ?

yes he did some good things... but he did some even dumber things...

That play where he marked, took off and was pushed off balance and kicked a point... should have gone back steadied and banged it through the centre and suddenly the momentum is firmly on our side instead of allowing them to roll the ball out of defense and scoring a goal from it.

piss poor thinking and selfish behaviour...

Round 4 Adelaide vs Carlton