Opinion Sack Hinkley 4 - Show Him The Door

When to sack Ken?

That Geelong game was really the only top class performance of the season, and it turns out Geelong are just cooked anyway.
We turned in two other near identical performances this season. The West Coast and Brisbane losses, where we just simply didn't even bother turning up. So there is something of a pattern.
If you looked at the stats I posted earlier it isn't just this year either.

That Geelong game was really the only top class performance of the season, and it turns out Geelong are just cooked anyway.
We turned in two other near identical performances this season. The West Coast and Brisbane losses, where we just simply didn't even bother turning up. So there is something of a pattern.

If only Ken could figure it out….

In the last 20 years, 3 premierships have been won by the 5 clubs controlled directly by the AFL:
Port (1*), Sydney (2**)
Gold Coast (0), GWS (0), Adelaide (0)

The remaining 17 premierships have been won by member/WAFL run clubs.
Hawthorn (4), Brisbane (3), Richmond (3), Geelong (3), West Coast (2), Collingwood (1), Bulldogs (1)
Carlton (0), North (0), Saints (0), Melbourne (0), Essendon (0), Fremantle (0)

Want to take a punt on how many premierships will be won by AFL controlled clubs in the next 20 years?

* back in 2004 we were still controlled by the SANFL
** Sydney have subsequently lost their COLA

Apparently Ken's a good bloke that all the media love, but you reckon they'd love him enough to want him to win a flag? You reckon he'd be near the top of a list of coaches that journos want time with? Do they care enough to look in to injustice's dealt to Port Adelaide on behalf of Kenny to help him with the flag (cough Monfries and Ryder in 2016)?

He's harmless Kenny, a nice enough guy but can't see anyone lining up to give him a kidney.

He's vanilla Kenny.

In the last 20 years, 3 premierships have been won by the 5 clubs controlled directly by the AFL:
Port (1), Sydney (2)
Sydney have subsequently lost their COLA.

The remaining 17 premierships have been won by member run clubs.
Hawthorn (4), Brisbane (3), Richmond (3), Geelong (3), West Coast (2), Collingwood (1), Bulldogs (1)
Carlton (0), North (0), Saints (0), Melbourne (0), Essendon (0)

Want to take a punt on how many premierships will be won by AFL controlled clubs in the next 20 years?

I think Sydney and GWS might get there because of the "market" they exist in.

Kochie thought Saturday was a aberration and wanted to look at the data and stats ill give you two stats about Ken and why he isn't the right man for the job anymore and show you why Saturday wasn't anything strange or not to be expected.

This stat includes teams that were in the top 4 during the season or finished inside the top 4 at the conclusion of the home and away season and we versed them in the finals.
Since hiring Ken in 2013 we've come up against 62 top 4 teams, we've lost 47 of these encounters and won a measly 15, 24%. You know the saying to be the best you have to beat the best, Ken clearly doesn't.

The Jump the Dogs got on us in the first quarter shouldn't have been a surprise either considering we've let them get out to 21 point and 16 point margins earlier this year. But its not just the Dogs getting the jump on us its basically everyone Ken cant even get the players up and going from the first bounce anymore.
Finals included
2018 22 games 11 first quarters lost 1 drawn 47% of first quarters won
2019 22 games 13 first quarters lost 1 drawn 40 % of first quarters won
2020 20 games 7 first quarters lost 0 drawn 65 % of first quarters won ( shorter quarters)
2021 24 games 14 first quarters lost 0 drawn 42 % of first quarters won

If you still think Kens the right man for the job the club is doomed.
This is an outstanding post & highlights the glaring deficiencies & shortfalls of the club.

I'll use a simple analogy. We're like that kid in High School, who dominates & excels through natural ability alone, but dramatically falls away when the blowtorch is applied & more is demanded.

I was listening to Blight and Wildy last night driving home. Obviously they opened with our prelim debacle and Blight drew an analogy with him coaching Geelong in his last GF there and that he knew he had lost the players at three quarter time.

He was just about to sink the boot into Ken when Wildy interrupted him mid-sentence and went off on another tangent.

I swear the ambassadors are all doing the same thing... pumping up Hinkley knowing full well that with him at the helm we'll never fulfil our on field potential.

sh*t call. our players front supporters when they can Eg magarey room etc COVID isn’t allowing it right now. Why can’t he have a beer on a Sunday night with a team mate? Ollies done nothing wrong, one of the few who deserved a beer after Saturday’s game.

No one had a good game 12 goal loss no one should be laughing

Port (1), Sydney (2)
Sydney have subsequently lost their COLA.

The remaining 17 premierships have been won by member/WAFL run clubs.
Carlton (0), North (0), Saints (0), Melbourne (0), Essendon (0), Freo (0)

We were SANFL controlled in 2004.

12 months to late IMHO.

We know he won't win the flag next year. We all know it. So a smart club would think to itself, should we cut our losses now, pay the 6 months out and start afresh and rejuvenate the club..... or should we just wait for the inevitable, have a mediocre year, suck the life out of the playing group and the supporters and then act? We know the answer don't we? We clearly aren't a smart club.

He's not laughing. They're all hurting. They're also looking after each other. Have you ever been involved at a footy club? Genuine question.

Cool, so what are they doing about it?

Yep. 3-4 times a season, every season, we simply don't rock up.

I think Hinkley has sorted out a lot of his long term coaching issues. We now play religiously to a structure. We now very rarely lose games on a Thursday night.

But we haven't been able to solve the quadannual bedshitting game. It's happened consistently throughout his tenure.

Sure, we can finish top, but does anyone genuinely believe we can win 3 games in a row against top 4 opposition in September to win a flag?

Hinkley has taken us as far as he can and he has to go.

I was listening to Blight and Wildy last night driving home. Obviously they opened with our prelim debacle and Blight drew an analogy with him coaching Geelong in his last GF there and that he knew he had lost the players at three quarter time.

He was just about to sink the boot into Ken when Wildy interrupted him mid-sentence and went off on another tangent.

I swear the ambassadors are all doing the same thing... pumping up Hinkley knowing full well that with him at the helm we'll never fulfil our on field potential.

Pardon the intrusion, but I think you’re right. All the Crows people I know are happy for you to extend Kenny forever, because he’s not up to it. I don’t want Port to win more flags either, but I genuinely feel sorry for you supporters who have to put up with this level of incompetence and its always annoying watching a coach who doesn’t have a clue continue to be paid while pretending he does.

Yep. 3-4 times a season, every season, we simply don't rock up.

I think Hinkley has sorted out a lot of his long term coaching issues. We now play religiously to a structure. We now very rarely lose games on a Thursday night.

But we haven't been able to solve the quadannual bedshitting game. It's happened consistently throughout his tenure.

Sure, we can finish top, but does anyone genuinely believe we can win 3 games in a row against top 4 opposition in September to win a flag?

Hinkley has taken us as far as he can and he has to go.

Flags Shmags

David Koch is happy just to have 11 -13 chances per year to roll out "the best game day experience in the league".

Kochie thought Saturday was a aberration and wanted to look at the data and stats ill give you two stats about Ken and why he isn't the right man for the job anymore and show you why Saturday wasn't anything strange or not to be expected.

This stat includes teams that were in the top 4 during the season or finished inside the top 4 at the conclusion of the home and away season and we versed them in the finals.
Since hiring Ken in 2013 we've come up against 62 top 4 teams, we've lost 47 of these encounters and won a measly 15, 24%. You know the saying to be the best you have to beat the best, Ken clearly doesn't.

The Jump the Dogs got on us in the first quarter shouldn't have been a surprise either considering we've let them get out to 21 point and 16 point margins earlier this year. But its not just the Dogs getting the jump on us its basically everyone Ken cant even get the players up and going from the first bounce anymore.
Finals included
2018 22 games 11 first quarters lost 1 drawn 47% of first quarters won
2019 22 games 13 first quarters lost 1 drawn 40 % of first quarters won
2020 20 games 7 first quarters lost 0 drawn 65 % of first quarters won ( shorter quarters)
2021 24 games 14 first quarters lost 0 drawn 42 % of first quarters won

If you still think Kens the right man for the job the club is doomed.

What’s extra-bizarre is, the club has gone all-in on data and analytics in recent years, so would be acutely aware of these splits and numbers — not to mention the dreadful Adelaide Oval record.

And yet the President’s straight onto 5AA to spruik the 60% overall win/loss record.

We Exist To Gaslight Our Fans™

Pardon the intrusion, but I think you’re right. All the Crows people I know are happy for you to extend Kenny forever, because he’s not up to it. I don’t want Port to win more flags either, but I genuinely feel sorry for you supporters who have to put up with this level of incompetence and its always annoying watching a coach who doesn’t have a clue continue to be paid while pretending he does.

One of these days Ken Hinkley will walk away from coaching this club and probably retire back to Victoria with his bags of cash and go fishing. And he'll probably barely give this club a second thought. The same will go for David Koch. He'll find another hobby.
As usual, it will be us, the paying members, who are still here picking up the pieces of his legacy as our wallets continue to mined for cash. It's always the supporters who cop it in the neck.