No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

Back in 2008 under Ross we made the Prelim but copped two hidings in the finals by the eventual Grand Finalists. I remember thinking at the time as good as it was to get to the Prelim, we were still miles off it.

Forward to 2009 and with the same list what happens? Ross retweaked the game plan and we won our first 18 games. We set all kind of records for defensive pressure metrics and Neil Craig (coach of the Crows) was quoted as saying he'd never seen a team play like it before. It showed just how quickly things can change.

Clearly our game plan this year was hopelessly predictable. If it's tweaked more than a little we are capable of sufficient improvement to make the likes of Purple and D.King eat their words.

I'm ambivalent as to whether that's with Ross or someone else. Just as long as there's total buy in by the playing group like there was in 2009/10.

And you have no idea if Ross fits that criteria.

We should probably clarify we don’t even know if wants to coach at all, let alone coach us specifically.

You’re riding hard for a dude that hasn’t even declared his hand.
Footy forum, we are all just shooting the breeze

'"e knocked back interest from Carlton and Essendon over the past 18 months and was offered a job on Geelong’s coaching staff in the preseason.
St Kilda said today it hasn’t spoken to Ross Lyon about becoming its senior coach, but has vowed to act “quickly and decisively” to replace Brett Ratten.
Asked if the club had already spoken to Lyon, new chief executive Simon Lethlean said:”No, we haven’t ... we have made no decision”.
When pressed on whether the Saints would run a process for the next coach, Lethlean dodged the question, saying “we have uncovered what we need”.
The Saints refused to discuss plans for Ratten’s replacement, but club president Andrew Bassat said they had a clear view of the future."

Nice weasel words. Walsh doesn't start until Nov 1. Would already have spoken to Lyon about the job, but club can claim they haven't.
🤣

And you have no idea if Ross fits that criteria.

We should probably clarify we don’t even know if wants to coach at all, let alone coach us specifically.

You’re riding hard for a dude that hasn’t even declared his hand.
You are right. I don’t.

But there is enough noise right now to say it’s a legitimate chance.

Based on what we know of Ross.

What area is he lacking that you would want for the current group?

Because the “hug and tug” coaches all failed dreadfully.

You are right. I don’t.

But there is enough noise right now to say it’s a legitimate chance.

Based on what we know of Ross.

What area is he lacking that you would want for the current group?

Because the “hug and tug” coaches all failed dreadfully.
I can’t say he’s lacking anything cause I don’t know anything about what kind of coach he is or wants to be because he hasn’t done it in 3 years.

If he wants to do it, goes through a process and the panel says “he’s our guy” I’m in but I want him to compete with other candidates and prove he’s still the guy he was.

I really liked Brett Ratten as a coach and defended him several times so I am a bit shocked and saddened that this has happened. I don't see why you coupsnt see what would of happened if he had another year with a better midfield and forward coach but them are they way cookie's crumble. I would say we go hard for Mark Williams, got expirence as a premiership coach and a great footy teacher. No to Buckley, Hird, Lyons and co.

Footy forum, we are all just shooting the breeze
I’ve said as much too. My personal preference is not Ross but I’m not arguing against him, just pointing out that no one should really be absolutely wedded to anyone right now.

I can’t say he’s lacking anything cause I don’t know anything about what kind of coach he is or wants to be because he hasn’t done it in 3 years.

If he wants to do it, goes through a process and the panel says “he’s our guy” I’m in but I want him to compete with other candidates and prove he’s still the guy he was.
You’re acting like he is going to be a fundamentally different coach because of his time out.

He will most likely be 95% of the same coach at worse.

And you know what… interviews 😂 most the time the big jobs are already filled and it’s a fluff exercise.

If we call him and say look we are keen. Are you?

And he comes down to Moorabbin presents to the key members of our process and they say yes.

Then I don’t need to hear about other applicants.

I actually want to go all in on him. It will right a decade old wrong and maybe fix the “feng shui” in the place.

They have had the report for a month

From that day until today.

There has been a process.

To Sack a coach. It means a process was undertook to understand what we wanted and needed in the next one.

You don’t get from the report to sacking Ratten without a process.

There's no point Stav. You are so gung ho for Ross and that's all good. I just hope that it's the correct one.

Because if not. The club will be lucky to survive.

If we want Ross, I don't care about making him jump through hoops. Have a chat to make sure visions and expectations are aligned, and everyone knows their role, then back him in, unashamedly.

I'm sure big balls Bassat won't care about perception from the outside. I believe his eye is on the prize.

You may as well get CHER on the line to sing TURN BACK TIME....when ROSS gets them into the GF....She'll be ninety with a million knots tied up behind her ears and the geriatrics can all take their teeth out and climb on board spreading their not so lithe limbs on the biggest gun turret they can find.

Surely we don't embarrass ourselves by re engaging the past like the desperados we seem to be! :rolleyes:

View attachment 1536424
I wonder if that cannon reminded Cher of Sonny ?

You’re acting like he is going to be a fundamentally different coach because of his time out.

He will most likely be 95% of the same coach at worse.

And you know what… interviews 😂 most the time the big jobs are already filled and it’s a fluff exercise.

If we call him and say look we are keen. Are you?

And he comes down to Moorabbin presents to the key members of our process and they say yes.

Then I don’t need to hear about other applicants.

I actually want to go all in on him. It will right a decade old wrong and maybe fix the “feng shui” in the place.
Footy has changed a fair bit since 2018 so I’d argue he needs to be pretty different to what he was or he’s gonna get left behind badly.

There’s zero evidence to suggest he’s the best current option, to suggest that he’s capable of fixing our issues or that he even wants to.

I’d sincerely hope we do a bit more than just speak to him. If you only see one pitch you don’t know what you might be missing.

You want him and that’s fine, I don’t really and that’s also fine but if we just kneel down and beg him to come we have no idea what we might miss.

What’s the harm in having him compete? If he doesn’t want to then is he even this standard setting, driven dude you’re making out?

If we want Ross, I don't care about making him jump through hoops. Have a chat to make sure visions and expectations are aligned, and everyone knows their role, then back him in, unashamedly.

I'm sure big balls Bassett won't care about perception from the outside. I believe his eye is on the prize.
✅ ✅ ✅

Have loved the media hysterical commentary today.

Have not heard a single media person suggest Ratts should have been extended.

Therefore it would be fair to say it was a mistake , what do good leaders do when a mistake is made they bloody fix it.

It may be brutal it may be not nice but better to do this than continue on.

The same blokes in the media would have been camped out side Moorabbin next season awaiting Ratten to get the chop if we were not performing. Would have been story after story about how we should not have extended him.

The re appointment was a mistake should not have happened, but some of the media reaction has been embarrassing , seriously Friday drinks must have started early for a few of them.

Has Andrew Bassett got any idea of how to run a football club? Seriously. He might have made money out of seek.com. But it doesn’t follow from that, that he is the right person to be the President of an AFL club. Surely he should now resign.

You may as well get CHER on the line to sing TURN BACK TIME....when ROSS gets them into the GF....She'll be ninety with a million knots tied up behind her ears and the geriatrics can all take their teeth out and climb on board spreading their not so lithe limbs on the biggest gun turret they can find.

Surely we don't embarrass ourselves by re engaging the past like the desperados we seem to be! :rolleyes:

View attachment 1536424
It’s funny how snobby we are in the AFL about coaches of a certain age or time away from the game or coming back to a previous club.

This stuff is common in world football.

In fact

I really liked Brett Ratten as a coach and defended him several times so I am a bit shocked and saddened that this has happened. I don't see why you coupsnt see what would of happened if he had another year with a better midfield and forward coach but them are they way cookie's crumble. I would say we go hard for Mark Williams, got expirence as a premiership coach and a great footy teacher. No to Buckley, Hird, Lyons and co.

He is a brilliant person, but you can tell he's not a premiership coach, doesn't have the grit for it is just generally happy to be there and what will be will be. That's a problem when you have people striving to be better and engaging to be better, as when you get asked how you see yourself getting there, cresting that hill of "I'm happy to be in a prelim and a GF is just luck" sort of mindframe, if you don't have that grit to demand lifting that cup and selling that ideal, then you are cactus. Good bloke or not.

Richo lucked out for as long as he did because we focused elsewhere instead of footy dept, Ratts has left because that's now the focus.

This season he was in position to do just that and push, hell, we beat people we had no reason to and lost to some we should have shat in, then as per the narrative where we tried to push; we limped, relied on others, failed. Went from not a team, to a team that didn't talk to a team that crumbled under pressure and expectation.

We could have had the best players and been assured a GF appearance, and under Ratts this year, we were the Swans in all outcomes for mine.

There's no point Stav. You are so gung ho for Ross and that's all good. I just hope that it's the correct one.

Because if not. The club will be lucky to survive.
You could say the same about literally any person appointed to the position. The press conference today was clear, they're looking for a certain style of coach and I think Lyon fits that requirement. Maybe I'm wrong. But if Lyon fails, how is it any different to if Nathan Buckley fails or Adam Yze fails?

Back in 2008 under Ross we made the Prelim but copped two hidings in the finals by the eventual Grand Finalists. I remember thinking at the time as good as it was to get to the Prelim, we were still miles off it.

Forward to 2009 and with the same list what happens? Ross retweaked the game plan and we won our first 18 games. We set all kind of records for defensive pressure metrics and Neil Craig (coach of the Crows) was quoted as saying he'd never seen a team play like it before. It showed just how quickly things can change.

Clearly our game plan this year was hopelessly predictable. If it's tweaked more than a little we are capable of sufficient improvement to make the likes of Purple and D.King eat their words.

I'm ambivalent as to whether that's with Ross or someone else. Just as long as there's total buy in by the playing group like there was in 2009/10.

2008 felt like the end of an era when we lost to the Hawks. GTrain, Harves, Goose, Fiora, X-Man types all moved on and the kids looked alright but not what they were to become over the next couple of years. Rooey went from a guy running around as a less accountable third tall to become the real focal point and his attitude changed from boy to man under Ross. Dal and Montagna went from Hunter Clark and Coffield to become guns. Goddard went from a developing player into an ultra competitive confident flog.

Ross inherited a list but the folklore that he was handed the keys to a star list that just walked into finals was not 100% accurate. He took over a promising side at Freo and moved them from where we are now to a serious threat.

Harvey had Freo play finals, win one then miss the next year after injury hit. Ross inherited a promising list but the idea that he's been spoon fed ready finals sides is not quite true. He might be past it or from a another era and nothing is guaranteed but he deserves to be looked at.

I'm sure big balls Bassett won't care about perception from the outside. I believe his eye is on the prize.
It is not hard to have your eye on the prize. Anyone can do that. It’s the judgment yiu make along the path to eventually holding the prize in your hand, once you’ve got it. I question Bassett’s judgment. Only 100 days ago he was ultimately responsible for re-appointing Ratten. What changed after that? They lost a few games. Most of them, not by much. So?