List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 5

You watch them try

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
What amazes me is the outrage from the media when we recruit established players. We've recruited 4 over the past 6 years, Prestia, Lynch, Taranto, Hopper. Check out Geelong and Carlton, but no outrage from the media then about how they can do it. Just a bunch of salty flogs. It's called good list management.

Can't believe some people in the footy world (and Richmond fans) reckon we're trading away the future.....we won't be dealing away any top 10 picks, just mid-late first rounders.

Here's our previous top 30 picks since 2010. Have left off 2021 draftees since they're still in the early stages.
Striking out Dow might be considered harsh but he's had opportunity and Sonsie and Ross have shown more imo.

2010 - Pick 6: Reece Conca
2010 - Pick 30:Jake Batchelor

2011 - Pick 15: Brandon Ellis
2011 - Pick 26: Todd Elton
2012 - Pick 9: Nick Vlastuin
2013 - Pick 12: Ben Lennon
2014 - Pick 12: Corey Ellis

2015 - Pick 15: Daniel Rioli
2016 - Pick 29: Shai Bolton
2017 - Pick 17: Jack Higgins
2017 - Pick 20: Callum Coleman-Jones

2017 - Pick 25: Noah Balta
2018 - Pick 20: Riley Collier-Dawkins
2019 - Pick 21: Thomson Dow

That's a 5/14 strike rate. If I included the 2008 draft I would have made you blokes spew up.

Trading for mature players in their peak delivered us flags... Lynch, Prestia, Caddy, Nank, Houli etc. This obviously does come with a bit of risk...but landing a 200+ game AA caliber player in the first round is hard work.

We hit the draft hard last year with 5 top 30 picks and they look good so far.
Good decision to now land some proven guns who can fill our biggest need.
I do like the trade in approach like Nank, Prestia Caddy.
Criticism of our success rate of "First round picks" is fine. Criticising second round success rate? sheesh. A bit harsh....I'd argue B. Ellis, Batchelor, Higgins and CJ were all OK. CJ got snapped up. It took Conca a long took to play consistently. RCD was going to be a slow burn. Dow I agree with you.

Barrett's fluff piece is a laugh on the afl site.

So apparently,

Geelong will find 'another' Hopper, they've got the 'money', and follow their process to not overpay.

Whilst Richmond have concerns all over the field, including the forward line apparently hahahaha

View attachment 1503350
This Salty Salty man just can’t help himself
He really is pure Geelong
And it’s soooooo sweeet
Lol.
Watch us likely be extremely miserly defensively next year. The pressure on the ball carrier through the midfield will be ferocious next year and the quality entries the oppo forwards were getting this year will be very different next year.

Great recruiting strategy by the Tigers.
Our backline is struggling due to rule changes. The main issue being our midfield not applying pressure. Problem solved. Stronger midfield means more centre clearances more forward entries and less defensive contests.
Well done Tigers…. The Dynasty continues…….

So apparently,

Geelong will find 'another' Hopper, they've got the 'money', and follow their process to not overpay.

Whilst Richmond have concerns all over the field, including the forward line apparently hahahaha
He's a dickhead. The only concern in the forward line is Jack aging. But which teams have 2 gun KPFs? Maybe Geelong but Porkins is no spring chicken. With Hopper and Taranto in the midfield Dusty and Bolton will spend more time forward. Then we have Cumberland, MRJ who are pups with lots of improvement to come. Barrett is a flog, it's probably one of the most dangerous forward lines in the comp if our midfield gives it the delivery.

Also on this topic, Melbourne are looking to add Grundy on a fat contract (Collingwood will pay some) while they have recently signed heap of there players to big contracts. No mention of them though either.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

* me. Bloos fans comparing Hopper and Taranto to Cerra, Hewett and Kennedy...🤣

Hopper made the AA squad in 21. That beats all of them 3 alone. Taranto won a B&F in a team that made the GF that also beats all 3.
Hewetts back is cooked and will need to be managed for the rest of his career (the reason why Sydney let him go for so cheap as well)

He's a dickhead. The only concern in the forward line is Jack aging. But which teams have 2 gun KPFs? Maybe Geelong but Porkins is no spring chicken. With Hopper and Taranto in the midfield Dusty and Bolton will spend more time forward. Then we have Cumberland, MRJ who are pups with lots of improvement to come. Barrett is a flog, it's probably one of the most dangerous forward lines in the comp if our midfield gives it the delivery.
I feel like the media are too worked up about it, they wont do any research. Parrot would of been smashing his keyboard while typing it.

I’m loving this move from the club! It shows me how hungry they still are to keep winning flags. And make no mistake this business is all about that. Stuff kane korn! It’s absolutely not our problem that we are out their doing business and other clubs are lingering around feeding off our scraps. Stuff them all! Bring on next season.

Great job Richmond. You've been smart with your list management taking over 10 kids in 3 years with a focus on development, while trading a fringe player for a second round pick.

To end up with a 12, 19 and next years first that can be traded - you've got the ability to trade in 2 ready made mids on long term contracts, knowing that a big dollar contract will finish in a couple of years so you can afford to offer this money and load a bulk of the cash when needed. As Lynch has done.

You should be a proud club.
arnold schwarzenegger dont bullshit me GIF by Jerology

Ahhh the old "it's bad for the game" narrative is being run out by Cornes.
Happy Big Brother GIF by MOODMAN
Such a stupid argument

The players will be leaving either way because GWS have ****ed themselves and the salary cap and have over capitalised on midfielders leaving them short of other positions on the field

Also on this topic, Melbourne are looking to add Grundy on a fat contract (Collingwood will pay some) while they have recently signed heap of there players to big contracts. No mention of them though either.

They're losing Jackson I guess.

So apparently,

Yeah I'm sure Dimma is losing sleep over the forward line of the #1 scoring team in the league lol

Hewetts back is cooked and will need to be managed for the rest of his career (the reason why Sydney let him go for so cheap as well)
Its also George Hewett. Like **** me dead, had a career year where he was a solid B grade handballing crab haha

View attachment 1503350
This Salty Salty man just can’t help himself
He really is pure Geelong
And it’s soooooo sweeet
LOL is he talking about the highest scoring forward line in the comp this year...............that forward line.

Honestly these journos need to leave their hate of Richmond at the door when they enter the building because when they bring the hate with them to work they say complete and utter garbage.

What happened here?

Suppose his Tarranto and Hopper prediction was fun, entertaining and most importantly, correct 😉💛🖤
It was only the start of this week T71 was still saying Hopper was most likely going to Geelong which was the way he was leaning until meeting Dimma and Dusty.

You're a stuffen clown pal with a shite pod.