2017 Trade & FA Targets - The Last Supper #Ameetos

What the hell is happening at the giants. They're losing some best 22 talent:
Smith (small fwd)
Wilson (HBF)
Stevie J (HFF)

Then they want to move on Shaw (HBF) and Mumford (Ruck).

I know they see lobb as the number 1 ruck but how are they getting two best 22 HBF from and a small fwd?

Not necessarily agreeing with the detail of your post but certainly with your conclusion.
I’ve argued for some time that this is “peak talent” for GWS.
The trade period will confirm one way or other.
If they trade out their excess talent as we all expect and get only late first or early seconds for them, then their talent base has decayed. Smith was #11, Kennedy #13. If either get to their destination of choice it will be for seconds, or later firsts at best.
Add on the retirement factor, and free agency rearing it’s head in two years, and I struggle to see how their talent replenishment strategy survives.
If so, they’ll be like everyone else: trade something of value to get something of value.
We may even see it over the next few days.
(eg: Tomlinson & Hopper for #7 & Hickey)
HOWEVER: “peak talent” does not mean they have yet peaked as a team.
They’ll be very good for a fair while yet, just not the juggernaut everyone thought.

Jaxon confirms it is Logan Austin we are interested in! Pretty happy about this, haven't seen heaps of him but seems to have some pace, generally defenders well, is 196ish and is still young, lots to work with.

What would it cost? 3rd rounder?

If we get him and Talia will be adding depth to our KPDs. Won't be setting the world on fire but will leave us with currency for mids.
Deadset convinced Ameet reads Bigfooty

I've trying to say we should get in Austin:

Alright campaigners, what's Logan Austin's worth/contract.

Apparantly he's unsigned based on my internet search.

What will you bigfooty traders want for him?
Logan Austin for a third rounder. Been in the AFL system, good sized and if Goddard doesn't make it can be capable cover.

Get it done Ameet

Skipping ahead 12 months, it will be interesting to see what we do with our 2018 #1 pick.
If we trade it out for a 2019 #1 (Hello Cats), you can start the It’s Happening gif!
Hello Kelly.

BTW: gotta get points for this. See what I did? A 2019 trade and free agency post in 2017.
Am I good or what?

Jaxon confirms it is Logan Austin we are interested in! Pretty happy about this, haven't seen heaps of him but seems to have some pace, generally defenders well, is 196ish and is still young, lots to work with.

What would it cost? 3rd rounder?

If we get him and Talia will be adding depth to our KPDs. Won't be setting the world on fire but will leave us with currency for mids.

Wouldn't think we would recruit both - will be one or the other. Austin or Talia.

maybe you are ameet you sneaky gypsy campaigner
BxmfR2w.png

Ameet knows all

Th
I wish lol.

Steele is roughly comparable to M Kennedy with Kennedy a slighter better kick and more outside with Steele better defensively.

I reckon both of Kennedy and Steele have a ceiling of Callan Ward.

Just cause the Giants midfield is packed we haven't seen Hopper play their and he's largely taken Jack's role of medium forward.

Comparing the stats from Hoppers this year to Jack's last year you have Jack the slightly better forward and Hopper the better inside mid.

Obviously Steele this year without a preseason has been fantastic albeit a bit handball heavy. I'd trade 7 for Hopper in a heartbeat.
ere is no way Kennedy is a better kick then Steele. Kennedy is a horrible kick under even under no pressure he struggles. Kennedy gets talked up because he was a top ten pick similarly Steele gets underrated cause of his draft position had Steele been top 10 he would have bee talked up more. The thing with Steele is that he isn't such a bad kick but always tries to handball first ie Oliver , Cripps who do the same thing but none of them are bad kicks.
Kennedy will be a very similar player to Andrew swallow imo

The best draft since 2001.

Probably learnt our lesson after having to an extent disappointing 2001 draft.

Fmd there was talent there but we just got so unlucky with injuries to Ball, Goose and Clarke.

Imagine Judd, Bartel and Stevie J/Mitchell instead.

Ah well let's make the most of 2013 then

That's harsh on that draft. We also got Dal and Joey. Set us up r many years that draft.

Is shocking that norf delist gibson.
30+ age but one of their best players.
I know hes no star but hard running and very servicable.
If gaff is staying west...
Could we use him on a wing?

Get him for free for 1 year or so until our pick 7 forces him aside.

Apparently Gibson is also a great clubman, hard trainer and impeccable preparer. A thorough professional. I'm darned why a good player and solid citizen is chucked out, especially in a team which is young and struggling.

North are doing some very strange things.

Yeah personally not all of the jobs are appealing. Hawthorn is a cluster **** and needs to be avoided at all cost. Just far too much going on.

Pies have significant turmoil too with bucks and turn over in the footy dept.

Carlton doesn't sound good either. Sounds like the board are too erratic.

Whos the 4th?
Everytime this subject arises....I wonder if there is a succession plan in place......eg...Matt Finnis moves on and Ameet is appointed CEO......or Matt stays,Ameet goes and an already eyed off/sounded out candidate steps in....who knows but certainly interesting thinking of all the moves/options.

I'm praying we can keep them both for another few years at least.

The Hawks certainly appear to be in crisis control mode at the moment.

They've had a huge turnover in admin in the last year and a bit.

But..........big mouth is back.

Absolutely love hearing some of his zingers.

Clarko is basically the "last man standing"

That's harsh on that draft. We also got Dal and Joey. Set us up r many years that draft.
We had picks 2,5,13,20 and 37.

Fairly disappointing in hindsight.

I'm not blaming the club at all, no one could guess Luke would get OP, X would have hammy issues or stress fractures to Maguire.

It's just disappointing that's all. Ball in 2005 was a starting AA and was clearly the second best player after Judd has won the Brownlow the year before. He was our most talented kid after Nick.
Spoke well, was tough and had a great kick and then it just fizzled.

I'm just having a moan P66

Very chilled mate. But thanks for the advice.

Take it to the disco. Some of us don't like to read that childish shit.
Be careful mate. I might PM obscenities at you.

Th

ere is no way Kennedy is a better kick then Steele. Kennedy is a horrible kick under even under no pressure he struggles. Kennedy gets talked up because he was a top ten pick similarly Steele gets underrated cause of his draft position had Steele been top 10 he would have bee talked up more. The thing with Steele is that he isn't such a bad kick but always tries to handball first ie Oliver , Cripps who do the same thing but none of them are bad kicks.
Kennedy will be a very similar player to Andrew swallow imo
Cripps is a shocking kick.

On SM-G900I using BigFooty.com mobile app