AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
I agree, Naughton looks like a natural back. Would be a good key forward but could be the best key defender in the comp.
It looks good on paper, but you cant play them all in their at once. Just means mids will be forced to play positions they aren't suited too just to fit them all in. They already had too much of a good thing so adding in more of it seems strange to me. Made sense if Dunkley left, but now that he stays and couldn't get centre square time this year, bringing in Treloar just seems strange.
Will be looking at their fringe mids who now miss out or don't get mid time because of this. Could get some cheap options from them next year.
The hind trade is gold we will turn hind into chip and up grade willkieThe Hind trade is junk. Kinda like his last five games.
Spared us having to delist him.
I rate him but if that's the case libba is facing criticism for the recruitment.Haha, mate he was a delist... any trade is for ease of transfer, any slight upgrade in picks is pure wizardry.
Preseason used to be between the national and rookies. I think it still is. Often some players who missed national, ended up there, eg. Tom Rockliffok , i don't know one draft from the other
Picks 64 and 67 are worth the equivalent of pick 58 at the moment, 74 being worth nothing.
However you can almost guarantee each of those pick will go up by 10 places come draft night, with matching (ie, 3 of the dogs picks will go on JUH, 3 probs from Sydney, etc) so could well be 54, 57, and 64, which is the equivalent of 36.
I reckon there's a very good chance that those three pick end up netting us a pick between 40 and 45 on draft night, so basically the second round pick we traded last year in the Hill deal.
If we could take a first and a roughly second round pick to the draft, plus add Crouch and Higgins to our 22, then that's a mighty fine return considering out draft hand. You've really got to hand it to the people in charge of the club at the moment, they're doing an amazing job with very little fuss or fanfare.
Our picks are poo. Hope we get lucky.
Phillips wouldn't be in our best 22The only thing that will bug me is that we should have trumped the Hawks on Phillips.
We have his brother, his mate in Higgins & a better pick. Just needed to sort out list spot/contracts to make it work but surely we could find a way to fit him in?
Other than that minor gripe it's been a solid A off season for us.
Take the best available at 21. Grab another depth ruck late, maybe a DFA in the preseason.
Keep fit and healthy and we are up to our eyeballs in the flag race with a very healthy position for the 2021 trade window.
His best position is permanent wing and with Hill, Billings, Hanners, Jones etc all already rotating through them, he just wasn't the right fit for us.The only thing that will bug me is that we should have trumped the Hawks on Phillips.
We have his brother, his mate in Higgins & a better pick. Just needed to sort out list spot/contracts to make it work but surely we could find a way to fit him in?
Other than that minor gripe it's been a solid A off season for us.
Take the best available at 21. Grab another depth ruck late, maybe a DFA in the preseason.
Keep fit and healthy and we are up to our eyeballs in the flag race with a very healthy position for the 2021 trade window.
The only thing that will bug me is that we should have trumped the Hawks on Phillips.
Love Nick Cox. Absolutely want!Going by the amount of players we have moved - I think we now have 3 list spots / I think ?
Frawley could well come into the squad and surely we can get a good kid for our round 1 pick which could well move from from 21 to 20 because the Crows will have to use a first round pick to get Hately.
199cm/82kg
15/1/02
Northern Knights/Vic Metro
Key forward/defender
Cox would have been a player scouts would have watched closely this season given the obvious athleticism and ability he has as a 199cm tall. He was at least able to show some of that last season in the NAB League with the Northern Knights. Cox can move brilliantly for a key position player but will need to develop his body once in a system. The son of former Fitzroy, Melbourne and Brisbane player Darryl Cox.
could be a player to look at but will need to be eating like a Demon to put some beef on.
202cm/82kg
2/3/02
Gippsland Power/Vic Country
Key defender
A tall defender with good foot skills who can set up the play from the defensive 50. Reid is one of a number of key position players jockeying for positions inside the first round of the draft and he has good claims on a spot – he's smart, reads the play well and has also got some footy in this season, playing with local club Leongatha.
Nah come on man, 1 out of 4 from 4 very speculative picks is a great result. Parker was what, pick 46? Hind and Young in the late 50s? I think if you did a sweep of the comp, you'd probably find that less than 75% of most (if not all) lists were comprised of players picked before 50, so that's a pretty standard return from some very oridinary picks. Also, we traded Hind for pretty much what we paid for him, so no real loss there. If I could put a punt on, realise that its probably not going to work out, then take a cash out for 90 cents on the dollar, I'd be a very happy man who probably put more punts on in the future. The Robbie Young pick was absolutely atrocious though, I'll give you that.I rate him but if that's the case libba is facing criticism for the recruitment.
It seems like the majority of our list is coming through trade. The high end picks kind of pick themselves.
Wilkie by all accounts was a gags thing.
We are starting to churn a bit of what he is drafting.
Nah reckon you’ve got it twisted. Gags, Libba & co don’t keep deadwood. If you don’t perform you are out. Gone are the days when we hang onto blokes for a year or two too long (see Mckenzie). The churn is good.I rate him but if that's the case libba is facing criticism for the recruitment.
It seems like the majority of our list is coming through trade. The high end picks kind of pick themselves.
Wilkie by all accounts was a gags thing.
We are starting to churn a bit of what he is drafting.
i agree, but we still need to delist a couple of players depending the final list sizes.Good depth player at 30y.o still
MORE TRADES!!
The AFL are exploring the idea of holding a brief (possibly only for 24 hours) 2nd trade window before the draft in light of the soon to be announced list size and salary cap cuts