24. James Frawley - Link
25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Essendon North Hawthorn could all offer him a good enough deal. You could also make a case for it.

as I said. From what I heard, his agent has told the club they have a fair few clubs keen and we were apart on initial numbers by some distance.

Heard that .

Hello Joe Daniher by the way …3 years

The concern I have is that they don't let Libba have many picks to test himself and he looks like he's a bit hit and miss when he does get them (which could be where the picks are taken). King was an overrule if the reports are true.

King, Bytel, Parker, Hind and Young in 2018. 2 left listed both still in development.

Byrne and Connoly in 2019 but pretty much traded right out of this draft with our first pick at 52 due to the Hill trade and giving up picks for Jones and Howard etc. One looks great one hasn't been tried.

2020 gave up our first rounder and future second for Higgins got back Richmond's pick 26 which we used on Allison, Highmore with our only other pick at 46 still due to paying off past trades for Hill.

In reality they only give him trash to pick with, he's had one pick before pick 41 and that was overruled unless he picked at the 2017 draft where we got Clark, Coffield, Clavarino and Paton but Trout fans swear he was in charge of that one still.
You should read the article about the current Carlton kerfuffle (see what I did there?) on the AFL website.
The last point of the article is about resetting.
Going back to the draft.
It refers to Port Adelaide and their reset in 2018.
Did you know that Port effectively traded out of the first round in each of the five years prior to their reset in 2018?
(No picks in the top 20 over each of those years)
I had no idea.
The Port reset certainly didn’t stunt their progress.
And we have certainly been in the first round five times (I’m including Allison who sneaks in) and four times in the top 20 during our equivalent period.
That makes interesting reading.
If there was a model, it would seem we are trending along the path taken by Port.

Alright. I reckon we should trade Steele while he's got currency, delist Max King and straight swap Brett Ratten for David Teague. Anyone who disagrees is just a happy clapper saints fan
I’m not on board unless we also pick up John Barker to help out forward line.

Similar to who is Rhys Stanley who got us an end of 1st Rd pick..but I much rather have Battle stay on and play in a fixed position
Anyone who thinks battle will get us a top 20 pick or anything close to that are kidding themselves. What actually even is josh battle? A slow moving, straight line running, zero agility, undersized key position player that can’t find the ball. I had high hopes for him even up until this year but I think I’ve seen enough. If we got offered anything under 30 for him I would take it and run as fast as I could. I still can’t believe after he had a break out year at centre half back, we haven’t once tried him back there. This playing on a wing stuff is stupidity and has quiet possibly ruined his career. Personally I see his value around pick 30-40

Is Josh Battle AFL standard? In what position is he AFL standard? As a forward? Probably not. He really needed to step up last weekend in the forward line with Wood going down and King down on form... couldn't get anywhere near it. Not even making enough contests.

How many games has he played as a forward? How elite would you be if someone stuck you in a new job every week and complained when you couldn't execute it like an expert from day one. Development is about continuity and building confidence, I don't think he's had that since he play a bank of games as a defender last year. He looked very good there. What is he a year older than Coffield and Clark? Considering that neither of them are elite yet and they get continuity in a position does that mean we should cut them as well?

You should read the article about the current Carlton kerfuffle (see what I did there?) on the AFL website.
The last point of the article is about resetting.
Going back to the draft.
It refers to Port Adelaide and their reset in 2018.
Did you know that Port effectively traded out of the first round in each of the five years prior to their reset in 2018?
(No picks in the top 20 over each of those years)
I had no idea.
The Port reset certainly didn’t stunt their progress.
And we have certainly been in the first round five times (I’m including Allison who sneaks in) and four times in the top 20 during our equivalent period.
That makes interesting reading.
If there was a model, it would seem we are trending along the path taken by Port.

I hope so. That would be good although they seem to have stalled a bit and pulled up a little bit short with a lot getting towards the end and still not quite in challenge mode. I would have preferred draft early and trade in late but it is what it is and just have to make it work now.

what’s your call on how this plays out?

I know this was not directed at me but I would not be surprised if we didn't match if he gets a band 1 type offer.

I thin we would like to keep Jack, but we have shown this year we are not upt to it and need an injection of fresh talent.

Two top ten picks will give us that regardless of what we do with them. Also the club seems hell bent on Ben King in the future so we need that currency going forward.

Would not like to trade Battle. he is a talent and needs to be played in his rightful position, I would move membrey on before Battle.

I know this was not directed at me but I would not be surprised if we didn't match if he gets a band 1 type offer.

I thin we would like to keep Jack, but we have shown this year we are not upt to it and need an injection of fresh talent.

Two top ten picks will give us that regardless of what we do with them. Also the club seems hell bent on Ben King in the future so we need that currency going forward.

Would not like to trade Battle. he is a talent and needs to be played in his rightful position, I would move membrey on before Battle.

I don't think we want to pay Jack Billings the money he's used to. We need to have money put aside for the Clark, Coffield and King generation so guys like Dunstan, Billings and DMac are going to be having to get used to a lot less money or find someone who wants to pay them what they want. If we got band 1 he's gone. If he was to get band 3 it means we can probably afford him and he stays though. His value is probably around $500k max to us, I reckon he'd get more on the open market, might not get us compo that we want though and I can see it becoming a the source of melts but in reality we would rather his wage back and taking a pick to the draft. If we got a pick at the end of the first round even I think he's be gone.

Have we seen enough to suggest Battle will be better than Membrey long term? I dont think we have. Since he is still someone who could be viewed as having "potential", we could still get a decent pick for him and would have minimal impact on our best 22.

At what point do we stop blaming the position he is played in and start accepting maybe what he is right now - someone to plug a hole but rarely be a top 10 player on the field - is all he will ever be?

When tey give him a go in the correct position. How can Battle ever show his potential when he is played out of position his whole career. He is a natural forward and is being wasted.

Membrey would be much better up field. Just the small time Battle spent up forward v North showed how much better our forward line is with him in the right position.
We will never learn. Clark out of position, Battle, Hind out of position, playing great footy at Essendon. Battle will leave and we will be stuck with an increasingly average Membrey and another ten years of rebuild.

Have we seen enough to suggest Battle will be better than Membrey long term? I dont think we have. Since he is still someone who could be viewed as having "potential", we could still get a decent pick for him and would have minimal impact on our best 22.

Well if we moved on every player that hasn't hit their ceiling by 22 we wouldn't be able to field a side. Pretty sure we have drafted 2 more guys who play similar to Battle that won't have a spot either so perhaps save time and delist them now.

We need more depth not less, Battle should get games in one spot to fast track his development. He's had no consistency, hasn't been played to the strengths he does have etc. I would be trying something like Membrey playing on a wing seeing as Ratts has a hard-on for making forwards into wings. To me Battle is exactly the type that would develop much better in a supportive development environment. Maybe we should just become one of those instead of shunting him. We would have made his value plummet to nearly zero this season.

Memberey is a senior leader and only an okay player and isn't exactly what he looked like he might become. Again we've been playing him in a less effective role so not all his fault either.

I don't think we want to pay Jack Billings the money he's used to. We need to have money put aside for the Clark, Coffield and King generation so guys like Dunstan, Billings and DMac are going to be having to get used to a lot less money or find someone who wants to pay them what they want. If we got band 1 he's gone. If he was to get band 3 it means we can probably afford him and he stays though. His value is probably around $500k max to us, I reckon he'd get more on the open market, might not get us compo that we want though and I can see it becoming a the source of melts but in reality we would rather his wage back and taking a pick to the draft. If we got a pick at the end of the first round even I think he's be gone.

Dunstan won’t be there
DMac won’t be there the following year.
Lonie please not going to improve whilst he is holding spot for mine

Hopefully theyre finally going to rip the bandaids off , chasing uncontracted players under 24/ 25.
combined with the draft .Offering the contracts now providing they refuse one at their current club.

Briggs ……. Giants

Switowski ………Fremantle

Riccardi …….Giants

Gould ……….Swans

Prime example of players that would build depth , without draft picks .

When tey give him a go in the correct position. How can Battle ever show his potential when he is played out of position his whole career. He is a natural forward and is being wasted.

Membrey would be much better up field. Just the small time Battle spent up forward v North showed how much better our forward line is with him in the right position.
We will never learn. Clark out of position, Battle, Hind out of position, playing great footy at Essendon. Battle will leave and we will be stuck with an increasingly average Membrey and another ten years of rebuild.
Membrey was our second best player on the weekend , poor form Joff

And then we played Battle forward again on Saturday and he didnt touch the ball. Now, you cant make judgements off one game but it's not as simple as just putting him forward will suddenly make him dominate.

He is becoming more and more like Acres. Everyone yelled and screamed that he is being played out of position but then he goes to Freo and we see that he's just an okay player, and it became obvious the reason he wasn't always starting in his preferred position was because we had other players who were just better than him.

We might be stuck with an increasingly average Membrey, but Membrey is miles ahead of what Battle ever looks like becoming.

Well if we moved on every player that hasn't hit their ceiling by 22 we wouldn't be able to field a side. Pretty sure we have drafted 2 more guys who play similar to Battle that won't have a spot either so perhaps save time and delist them now.

We need more depth not less, Battle should get games in one spot to fast track his development. He's had no consistency, hasn't been played to the strengths he does have etc. I would be trying something like Membrey playing on a wing seeing as Ratts has a hard-on for making forwards into wings. To me Battle is exactly the type that would develop much better in a supportive development environment. Maybe we should just become one of those instead of shunting him. We would have made his value plummet to nearly zero this season.

Memberey is a senior leader and only an okay player and isn't exactly what he looked like he might become. Again we've been playing him in a less effective role so not all his fault either.
I wouldn't be moving him on because he hasn't reached his ceiling, more than he doesnt seem to have a set place in our best 22 and out of everyone, he seems like the players we could get more back for in the trade than what be provides to the team on game day.

Dunstan won’t be there
DMac won’t be there the following year.
Lonie please not going to improve whilst he is holding spot for mine

Hopefully theyre finally going to rip the bandaids off , chasing uncontracted players under 24/ 25.
combined with the draft .Offering the contracts now providing they refuse one at their current club.

Briggs ……. Giants

Switowski ………Fremantle

Riccardi …….Giants

Gould ……….Swans

Prime example of players that would build depth , without draft picks .

Only really know about Riccardi and Briggs, it sounded like Riccardi was really good down back for GWS reserves, is that what we'd want him for? I'd keep a couple of experienced guys as depth for when we are challenging. No-one is going to steal DMac or Dunny but they are pretty good for injury cover. We really need players pushing them out to pasture to have enough in reserve for when injuries inevitably come. Isn't Briggs a NSW academy kid? Would he want to leave with Mummy unlikely for another year?

I wouldn't be moving him on because he hasn't reached his ceiling, more than he doesnt seem to have a set place in our best 22 and out of everyone, he seems like the players we could get more back for in the trade than what be provides to the team on game day.

I doubt he'd get anything to be honest if anything he'd get a pick in the 4th round or something. If Bruce was worth a junk time pick he's more a delisting than a trade. He can't get a proper place in a bottom 4 side and we can't even find a spot for him, why would he be worth a high pick?

Membrey was our second best player on the weekend , poor form Joff
.....and we lost. How many did he kick? One game. Look at his output over the last few years, he is not getting any better. He is a good player but he is not taking us anywhere.
Move him up on to a wing as gringo suggested and give Bttle a go. This year is gone anyway, time to see what our players with 'potential' can do settled in their proper positions.

We might be stuck with an increasingly average Membrey, but Membrey is miles ahead of what Battle ever looks like becoming.

And that is based on? Battle being played in his proper position for a season? Membrey's stellar past three years? Really Battle has a tonne more upside that Membrey and yet you want to move him on. Alison and Sharman should go as well, they have shown nothing up forward for us too.