Changes for Round 2 v Norf

Williams competed well but he looked like he’d never seen a footy in his life. Looked lost in marking contests and ran around like a headless chook.
I just want to see how he goes with another week into him, although tough test against Goldie and Xerri played well last week.

adrian barich

@adrianbarich
·
4m

I think one of the old boys got hold of the music at Eagles training today. The players came out to the Baba O’Riley by The Who. “Teenage Wasteland” blasting out across Lathlain. Darling, Ryan, Duggan (WAFL first) Shuey, the cavalry is coming. No Tim Kelly though

adrian barich

@adrianbarich
·
1m

Kelly is out there now

Team selection this week will give insights into Simpson’s view if the list and prospects this season.

I liked that in 2015 there was a desire to test and play a few youth. This is the under 22. He has since gone “credits in the bank” and “back in the champions”. It feels like only the fringe players feel any consequences for average to poor games.

Neither Hurn nor Rotham would merit selection after last week. I liked what I say with Hough and while he made some errors, his desire to play at a higher speed was good to see and hence I’d keep him in.

Question I have is who we play on Zurhaar. I expect Norf to man him up on Guv and let him effectively play loose. Pity.

Likewise I was happy with Naish and believe we need his pace and desire to break lines. I sense Langdon will be named on the wing which will be a waste. With Ryan Rioli Jones Petruccelle and SPS ahead of him as a forward-mid rotation, Zac is only depth for me.

Darling for Kennedy is simple and do we have all 3 of Dixon Williams and Edwards or go smaller.

Have any Freo players actually gone under the protocols? We've had like six players so far already and I swear they haven't had any

Coz none of the team have any mates that they'd actually socialise with.

Team selection this week will give insights into Simpson’s view if the list and prospects this season.

I liked that in 2015 there was a desire to test and play a few youth. This is the under 22. He has since gone “credits in the bank” and “back in the champions”. It feels like only the fringe players feel any consequences for average to poor games.

Neither Hurn nor Rotham would merit selection after last week. I liked what I say with Hough and while he made some errors, his desire to play at a higher speed was good to see and hence I’d keep him in.

Question I have is who we play on Zurhaar. I expect Norf to man him up on Guv and let him effectively play loose. Pity.

Likewise I was happy with Naish and believe we need his pace and desire to break lines. I sense Langdon will be named on the wing which will be a waste. With Ryan Rioli Jones Petruccelle and SPS ahead of him as a forward-mid rotation, Zac is only depth for me.

Darling for Kennedy is simple and do we have all 3 of Dixon Williams and Edwards or go smaller.

Thought that was Langdon's best game for us, tbh. I understand there's a glut of small forwards who have more skill than him and once Cripps is back there's no room for him, but I don't like the optics of booting him after that game.

He was very slick with the ball, didn't fumble, covered a heap of ground, hit the scoreboard and assisted others in doing so.

We need to be careful in rushing back too many players at once. Fell into that trap last year.

Guess we are getting our key players in Ryan, Kelly, JK and possibly Barrass out the way early
That's if they test positive. If they're just close contacts it means they could cop multiple 7 day iso.

We pretty much lost rnd 1 because of it too. You add Kelly and Ryan to that team and I reckon we would get over the line.

That's if they test positive. If they're just close contacts it means they could cop multiple 7 day iso.

We pretty much lost rnd 1 because of it too. You add Kelly and Ryan to that team and I reckon we would get over the line.

Is that state-rule-based?

I'm fairly certain (not 100% and maybe I should know) that over east we don't have to isolate even if a family member is positive if we return a negative RAT.

The AFL may be different, more conservative (which would make complete sense - as the potential to wipe out a whole team for 7-14 days is quite high), but it would be frustrating if our players are under different rules to the rest of the comp (in regards to being close contacts - positive tests I'm fairly sure is uniform).

Bugger. Well at least we’ll have the “too tall” problem solved for us

Uh Oh, one of our leading goalkickers for 2022 out... not good...

In all seriousness though, not a terrible thing - Gets HEdwards another game, and solves our too tall problem as you mentioned (until we bring in a tall for a tall!).

Is that state-rule-based?

I'm fairly certain (not 100% and maybe I should know) that over east we don't have to isolate even if a family member is positive if we return a negative RAT.

The AFL may be different, more conservative (which would make complete sense - as the potential to wipe out a whole team for 7-14 days is quite high), but it would be frustrating if our players are under different rules to the rest of the comp (in regards to being close contacts - positive tests I'm fairly sure is uniform).
Yep - it is state based. I think a lot of other states have dropped it as well and WA probably will too once we're past the peak.

I don't know what the AFL is doing, but I assume it's different by state. If they went by WA rules then most of Carlton would be isolated.

Kelly, Shuey, Darling, Ryan, Witherden in for Kennedy, Barrass, Redden, Langdon and Winder (unused sub).

J.Williams, Mountford and Giro included on the bench. One of XON or Hough to miss out on the 22 and be the sub, is my guess.

IC looks diverse, so I'm betting we won't use the top-ups unless as a last resort.

Guessing Hough, Foley, Billiams and Naish on the bench, XON to sub.