Preview Changes: R17 vs Essendon, Sunday July 9, 2.50pm ACST @ Docklands Stadium

Who wins?

All I know is that we can beat Essendon. We have shown that already. The question is will we beat them. That will depend on which AFC turns up. The one that played Collingwood or the one that played against Gold Coast/Doggies/Geelong
for a skillful fast movement team the Dome should in theory suit us. We are slight underdogs but agree with many that this is a very critical game. Firstly to very likely secure a finals spot but secondly open up a much higher finishing opportunity (4-6)

I really thought these last 3 years would've taught the club something about giving kids opportunities to thrive. It's amazing how the very second we get a sniff of finals the whole thing flips to a rigid 24/25. I can understand that we aren't just going to play anyone anymore but we should still be looking at 30 players otherwise what's the point?
I disagree .....we still have the 2nd youngest team on the park .....there are 5 players from the SANFL side on the weekend that have played games this year

Looking at the SANFL thread on the weekend, many posters suggested there wasn't anyone banging the door down for AFL selection

There comes a time in development, to get team cohesion, which is singularly a Key ingredient in playing Finals .....GEEL have found, just changing a few chess pieces, dramatically impacts that cohesion

So the question is clearly ......do you want to play Finals this year ? ......or just experiment with players, you may have an interest to see how they go at AFL level ?
The ESS game is an 8 point game ......time to experiment ....don't think so

for a skillful fast movement team the Dome should in theory suit us. We are slight underdogs but agree with many that this is a very critical game. Firstly to very likely secure a finals spot but secondly open up a much higher finishing opportunity (4-6)
ESS have a great Midfield .....but lack big tall defenders and forwards, apart from Wright ....who hasn't kicked a goal in 2 matches

Our FWD line is going to be too potent for ESS .....the only question is; can our midfield get on top of ESS's midfield ....Keays to do a tagging job on Merrett I suspect

ESS have a great Midfield .....but lack big tall defenders and forwards, apart from Wright ....who hasn't kicked a goal in 2 matches

Our FWD line is going to be too potent for ESS .....the only question is; can our midfield get on top of ESS's midfield ....Keays to do a tagging job on Merrett I suspect
So Worrell to Weidman (assuming he keeps his place after being badly out of form)?

I agree their m/f is their strength. If we are to do some real damage in 2023 we need this one - for both the 4 points and just the belief leading into other big games vs Dees, Power and Lions

I disagree .....we still have the 2nd youngest team on the park .....there are 5 players from the SANFL side on the weekend that have played games this year

Looking at the SANFL thread on the weekend, many posters suggested there wasn't anyone banging the door down for AFL selection

There comes a time in development, to get team cohesion, which is singularly a Key ingredient in playing Finals .....GEEL have found, just changing a few chess pieces, dramatically impacts that cohesion

So the question is clearly ......do you want to play Finals this year ? ......or just experiment with players, you may have an interest to see how they go at AFL level ?

The frustration is that when we have some easier games we haven't given someone else the opportunity to show us something.

I agree this week isn't the one to be experimenting...but we are only having to think of it as experimenting because we chose not to give someone else a go in another game.

I get it, we need to get team cohesion but is this it? We have decided that this is our 22? Sholl is in that 22? Ok well good luck in finals when he kills us with a lack of poise under pressure or ability to stick a tackle.

We lose another KPD to injury and then what? We have to debut someone in a final (or finals-deciding game).

Teams need to start using their squads better, it'll allow them to give their stars an occasional rest and we won't actually need a bye ever AND we could play more games but teams won't do it. They see a 22 rather than a squad.

So Worrell to Weidman (assuming he keeps his place after being badly out of form)?

I agree their m/f is their strength. If we are to do some real damage in 2023 we need this one - for both the 4 points and just the belief leading into other big games vs Dees, Power and Lions
Weideman is simply a mark / kick player .....no agility, no hurt factor once the ball hits the ground ....Worrell would enjoy that match-up

The question will be, who matches up on Stringer in the FWD line ?

Murray you'd imagine takes Wright

Weideman is simply a mark / kick player .....no agility, no hurt factor once the ball hits the ground ....Worrell would enjoy that match-up

The question will be, who matches up on Stringer in the FWD line ?

Murray you'd imagine takes Wright
Yes it would have to be Hinge in that case on Stringer then with Murray the obvious match up with Wright. But Stringer could cause issues with his strength and a Doedee or Worrell would be a better match up no doubt. Perhaps we do bring in Borlase to play on Weed freeing up Worrell for the more dangerous Stringer?

We lose another KPD to injury and then what? We have to debut someone in a final (or finals-deciding game).

Teams need to start using their squads better, it'll allow them to give their stars an occasional rest and we won't actually need a bye ever AND we could play more games but teams won't do it. They see a 22 rather than a squad.
You make some good points .....and my position re needing another KPD is premised upon losing one of Murray / Butts, which has happened twice this season

Keane isn't tall, as Borlaise isn't .....but Keane is a lot quicker and IMO has the better future at AFL level
Borlaise, if he's to make it, would be more as a 3rd tall ......which when you look at Borlaise, Hinge, and Worrell, makes Redman a very strange target

All I know is that we can beat Essendon. We have shown that already. The question is will we beat them. That will depend on which AFC turns up. The one that played Collingwood or the one that played against Gold Coast/Doggies/Geelong
Not since 2017 we haven't. Essendon are one of the three teams a Nicks coached team is yet to beat. Collingwood and Sydney are the other two.
And we haven't beaten a top 8 team at Marvel since that 2017 win over Essendon.

Yes it would have to be Hinge in that case on Stringer then with Murray the obvious match up with Wright. But Stringer could cause issues with his strength and a Doedee or Worrell would be a better match up no doubt. Perhaps we do bring in Borlase to play on Weed freeing up Worrell for the more dangerous Stringer?
It's certainly a dilemma with Stringer .....as you say, has the power, but also short distance speed .....you maybe right with your analysis

Gollant’s SANFL form in recent weeks has been poor..

spends far too much time playing the tough guy role.. wrestling with opponents and throwing his frame around.. instead of just attacking the footy.

he plays his best footy when he just focuses on and attacks the footy.

doesnt help when the sanfl umps just turn a blind eye to our sanfl opponents scragging and holding our players constantly.. must be frustrating as a player.
Excellent post

How much do we want this...?

View attachment 1728739

This is the finals make or break game I reckon. Not in mathematical terms of course but gut feel is we miss if we lose, push for 5th/6th if we win.

So I'm tipping... tie.
Not sure if it’s been said, but just doing a quick scan of results I reckon we’re 4-15 vs them away.

That’s up there with geelong, Collingwood levels of hoodoo.

No excuses though, I expect to win if they’re fair dinkum about finals.

Not sure if it’s been said, but just doing a quick scan of results I reckon we’re 4-15 vs them away.

That’s up there with geelong, Collingwood levels of hoodoo.

No excuses though, I expect to win if they’re fair dinkum about finals.
Would rather play at the mcg but we should be able to beat Essendon wherever we play as long as we bring the pressure. If we beat Essendon and Melb and Collingwood get up the 8 should be set with Geelong coming in and the bombers going out. Melbourne are vulnerable for 4th and they should be missing Fritsch for our match in a few weeks. Would be cool to play powaa first week of the finals for a prelim berth. Finishing 4th would be huge as even if we played Collingwood first week on the MCG and lost we would have a good chance of reaching the prelim at adel oval against the powaa. I think we will need to win 7/8 to finish 4th.

Rachele needs a good game.

Has been quiet for a while.

Whether that's related to the fewer midfield minutes, or if the fewer midfield minutes is a result of the drop off in form, I'm not sure.

Perhaps it's just the midseason grind getting to him.

For us to make any sort of run in the finals, we need Soligo and Rachele to start hitting some form.

What we should be doing is getting smart about using Nank. We should target a game to rest Milera and play Nank, then rest Smith.
We absolutely should not be hoping they don't get injured and if they do just rolling Parnell into the team.

Not having a go at you but isn't this ridiculous for a team rebuilding that we (supporters) are looking to drop another younger player to make room for Nankervis to get a game.

A good club with a good coach wouldn't be playing Sloane anywhere near our midfield this season.

But us supporters have been conditioned to know the coach won't do that, even when the senior players get injured he keeps selecting them.

So we toss around inexperienced players that could miss out instead of getting games into our future midfield.

The question shouldn't be about playing finals or just experiment, a good club can do both.

Could you please explain why we didn't play some of the youngsters against Norf (or even WC)??

Nankervis, Cook, give Berry another crack etc.

Surely even those that think Sloane still deserves a place as 1 of our main midfielders would concede he could've had a rest against Norf and or WC.

Care to share why he didn't.

Do you think Sloane will be even more exposed under the fast dome with their mids running off him?

Bombers are the worst team at defending ball movement apparently, and our ball movement is one of the best. This is where we'll get them.
Yep, from D50 to F50, ESS are not flash .....their midfield tends to be too offensively minded .....it's been a criticism of Parish for a few years, all one-way .....Merrett has improved this year in his defence .....and Stringer is all out attack

Could you please explain why we didn't play some of the youngsters against Norf (or even WC)??

Nankervis, Cook, give Berry another crack etc.
Because almost every poster has said, on the weekend, Cook and Berry are not deserving of AFL games ATM

Nankervis is on the cusp though, through a body of good form

The point you overlook, which supporters don't factor in .....is selection integrity ...start playing players undeserved of a spot and every player knows what's happening..... it's cancerous within a team

Every player, in every sport, knows where they rank on a list .....and who is deserving of a game

Feels like we are doing to Nankervis what we did to Worrell.
For a long time we pushed for Worrell to get a game last year. They held off as long as possible, then he played and immediately looked at home. This year the same (had Doedee not been injured, Worrell still wouldn't be playing).
I get the feeling Nank will eventually get a game when forced, and look comfortable.

What we should be doing is getting smart about using Nank. We should target a game to rest Milera and play Nank, then rest Smith.
We absolutely should not be hoping they don't get injured and if they do just rolling Parnell into the team.
That’s why there was some frustration about selection last week. You don’t get a better chance to rest players than against North at home. On top of that there was an injury cloud over Murray so the choice of player rested was obvious.

Rachele needs a good game.

Has been quiet for a while.

Whether that's related to the fewer midfield minutes, or if the fewer midfield minutes is a result of the drop off in form, I'm not sure.

Perhaps it's just the midseason grind getting to him.

For us to make any sort of run in the finals, we need Soligo and Rachele to start hitting some form.
He played alot in the midfield last week. Got 23 possessions as well. His best game for a while. Just needs to get his kicking boot back on.

Preview Changes: R17 vs Essendon, Sunday July 9, 2.50pm ACST @ Docklands Stadium