List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

• This poll will close: .

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
Mate I don’t know what your hard on for me is about, but probably settle down hey? I’m a married man.

Handballs too far in front of, or behind his target plenty, and every single kick for the game was a turnover. Capable of doing some good stuff too - his play of the season is in this, when he bounces off a huge hit and uncorks a ripper of a handball.

I’m not trying to bury the boy and say he’s an absolute spud. He’s close to the hardest worker over the last month or so. He clearly desperately wants to impact the game. I just don’t think he’s reliable with ball in hand, and fits the classic mold of too good for WAFL, not good enough for AFL.

He’s not alone in using the footy poorly, certainly wasn’t in that Saints game, but I’d challenge anyone to watch that clip and say he’s the best user in our team.

Nevermind.

The problem is you ignored the facts that were directly provided to you and kept running with your own opinion. The reality is his skills are at the same level as our other inside mids. In fact they are better than yeo and Kelly.

The fact you tried to claim yeo has great skills just shows you are not paying attention when watching.

It was his second game, his first game back was his career best by a mile against Brisbane (21 touches). Gave us some hope for sure.

If we’re quoting stats, he’s had 65 touches in five actual games under Schofield (threw out the Freo game entirely for obvious reasons). 13 turnovers. 13/65=0.2

So one in five of Zane Trew’s touches goes the other way, on an average of 13 touches per completed game.

I’m nervous when he has the footy. If I’m wrong, I’m wrong, but I don’t think it’s some crazy hill to die on. Hope he has 30 and 3 votes next week, gets another year, then becomes the second coming of Jetta by foot next year to prove me wrong.
You should probably check out how many turnovers yeo Reid and Kelly have is a lot think 1/5 in a lot. All are the same / worse.

Do you bother to check this stuff before posting?

Yes, their current level of success is purely down to hand me downs.

Who said it was purely down to them?

No one.

However without Chol, D'Ambrossio, Gunston, Frost and others Hawks would not be as competitive. Would they?

People who think that role players aren't important..........aren't thinking.

Senior list
Out (7): Gaff, Ledwards retired, Barrass traded, Jones, Rotham, Jamieson*, Burgiel delisted
In (7): Maric promoted, Baker, Graham trade/FA, four ND picks

Rookie list
Out (3): Maric promoted, Culley, Baker delisted
In: 2 picks

9 players gone, not quite the 10 Simpson said earlier in the year but pretty close.

Witherden vs Burgiel for the final cut to the senior list. Baker vs Rawlinson for the final cut to the rookie list but Baker doesn’t seem to be in their plans. I think Trew gets another year based on the last six weeks, might have to be delisted and rerookied for that to happen.

I’m not enamored with Baker or Graham but it’s seeming like it’s happening and that they’ll come as some sort of package deal.

One player needs to be cut while under contract. If I had my druthers itd be Sheed getting nudged towards retirement, but the announcement that he’s having surgery to be cherry ripe for pre season makes that unlikely. So it’s Jamieson who has to make way.

Who said it was purely down to them?

No one.

However without Chol, DeAmbrossio, Gunston, Frost and others Hawks would not be as competitive. Would they?

People who think that role players aren't important..........aren't thinking.
It’s crazy.

Ultimately you want to raise your talent ceiling and that’s the main goal but also raising your talent floor at the same time is huge.

We can easily do that this year by turning over the bottom 8-10 players, that won’t cost high end picks or valuable players.

It’s crazy.

Ultimately you want to raise your talent ceiling and that’s the main goal but also raising your talent floor at the same time is huge.

We can easily do that this year by turning over the bottom 8-10 players, that won’t cost high end picks or valuable players.
Its like people thinking guys like Graham arent worth chasing. Clear upgrade on the bottom of our best 22, its not a sexy get but hes a solid role player and will raise our floor

Senior list
Out (7): Gaff, Ledwards retired, Barrass traded, Jones, Rotham, Jamieson*, Burgiel delisted
In (7): Maric promoted, Baker, Graham trade/FA, four ND picks

Rookie list
Out (3): Maric promoted, Culley, Baker delisted
In: 2 picks

9 players gone, not quite the 10 Simpson said earlier in the year but pretty close.

Witherden vs Burgiel for the final cut to the senior list. Baker vs Rawlinson for the final cut to the rookie list but Baker doesn’t seem to be in their plans.

I’m not enamored with Baker or Graham but it’s seeming like it’s happening and that they’ll come as some sort of package deal.

One player needs to be cut while under contract. If I had my druthers itd be Sheed getting nudged towards retirement, but the announcement that he’s having surgery to be cherry ripe for pre season makes that unlikely. So it’s Jamieson who has to make way.

TBH i'd cut both baker and rawlinson. I'd also cut Burgiel and Witherden but only if we can get someone, anyone who can play Witherden's role next year.

One thing people seem to forget that is so much harder for WA based clubs in regards to role and mid tier players is that players have to uproot their entire lives to come here. If they move from one Vic club to another or are moving back to their Victorian home it's so much easier. It's also not only part of the reason why the club has to play nice but has paid slight overs in the past getting deals done.

FA looks like returning very little, it might get a roleplayer or two but even mid tier talents for us it seems this year.

Trading out the clubs future first is a very, very bad idea as I think non club tied talent there are a couple who look to have higher ceilings than the top of the tree this year but there isn't the depth of open talent next year.

Our FS/NGA next year isn't looking like anything huge. I currently have a very late second/third round rating on Banfield and late to rookie / CAT B for the 2 NGA's.

I know what's going on with Baker and Graham however it's looking like either both or neither from the clubs perspective. Personally neither player is on my wish list but I can see the potential deal and see best 22 roles for the players. I'm now in between Victoria and NSW till October 16th before im done for the year and off overseas.

Need to re-sign Harley and plug the hole left by first round draft bombs Sheed, Venables, Brander, the Kelly trade, Chesser and find a replacement for Cox/NicNat. Then it will be all on the up and up!

I'm no sheed fan, but I don't think a premiership player with 150+ games drafted in 2013 can be considered a 'draft bomb'

He sure can't, particularly from pick 11 and when he kicked the winning goal of the 2018 GF and was huge during the finals series. That 6-11 drop allowed us to get Yeo and still keep a second round draft pick (yeah sure the club butchered the pick) however the idea was right.

Its like people thinking guys like Graham arent worth chasing. Clear upgrade on the bottom of our best 22, its not a sexy get but hes a solid role player and will raise our floor
He is injury prone and not even best 22 for the team below us when they all fit

Hunt was just outside the 22 of a premiership contender.

He isnt raising our floor enough to justify a 4 year deal. Its just a desperation move from a club who are unable to attract better talent.

He sure can't, particularly from pick 11 and when he kicked the winning goal of the 2018 GF and was huge during the finals series. That 6-11 drop allowed us to get Yeo and still keep a second round draft pick (yeah sure the club butchered the pick) however the idea was right.

at least we got Barrass in the third round

our rookie picks were the usual spud selections - I think that's been our real failure lately. I can't think of a decent one we've had since Gov but happy to be proven wrong

He isnt raising our floor enough to justify a 4 year deal. Its just a desperation move from a club who are unable to attract better talent.
Graham is 100% best 22 for the Tigers. Theyll do some act in the Graham thread being all happy about it but they will not be happy to lose him for band 4 compo. The club even less so.

Graham doesnt have to be best 22 for the whole 4 years lol, he would be in there for a couple of years, allowing us more room to drop guys like Cripps without going too young.

If hes not best 22 in 2-3 years time then its a good thing, hes done his job and kids have gone past him

We need to fill in the age gape of 22-25 also not the 25-30 like the club magically thinks

In the 22-25 age range its Bailey Williams, Harry Edwards and thats it. Rest are delist fodder. We need to get players in that range. If it involves us losing some future picks then so be it, we probably need to understand out future picks hold higher value then most and flick them off.

Many players in that 22-25 age range who we can get that are more suited then Jack Graham. Just get proactive and make some moves rather then the loser mentality we have where we just give up/barely even try

We want two first round picks for Barrass ,
tougher stance with the new list manager could get interesting.
Barrass injury concerns are real so probably not two first rounders unless they're pick 15 & 20 would be a win of sorts.
If they were that concerned about Barrass' injury they wouldnt be offering him 4 years.

Our rookie picks (inclusive of pre-season, mid-season, supplementary, etc)

Bold selections are ones I would deem to be a successful pick

2010: Hamp, McGovern
2011: Mascoulis, Papertalk, Tunbridge, Dick
2012: Sinclair, Bennell
2013: Maginness, Powell
2014: Lucas, Adamson, Brophy
2015: Snadden
2016: Bayok, Gorter, Petrie
2017: Burrows, Olango, England
2018: HEdwards, Smith, Brooksby
2019: JJones, N Reid
2020: W.Collins, C.West
2021: Culley
2022: Maric
2023: Rawlinson, Hutchinson (TBD)

7 players in total over a 14 year period (31 selections) - 22% success rate

Our rookie picks (inclusive of pre-season, mid-season, supplementary, etc)

Bold selections are ones I would deem to be a successful pick

2010: Hamp, McGovern
2011: Mascoulis, Papertalk, Tunbridge, Dick
2012: Sinclair, Bennell
2013: Maginness, Powell
2014: Lucas, Adamson, Brophy
2015: Snadden
2016: Bayok, Gorter, Petrie
2017: Burrows, Olango, England
2018: HEdwards, Smith, Brooksby
2019: JJones, N Reid
2020: W.Collins, C.West
2021: Culley
2022: Maric
2023: Rawlinson, Hutchinson (TBD)

7 players in total over a 14 year period (31 selections) - 22% success rate
Words cant describe the sheer hate I have that we picked up Gorter instead of Liam Ruyan in 2016. How we didnt grab Ryan in 2016 was a crime against football

Being injury prone and dealing with the travel every 2 weeks why would we be bothering locking in a 4 yr deal..This guy is probably mates with the new list manager..

I can't see us delisting Burgiel.

Yes he hasn't done a lot but he was pick 29 2 drafts ago.

He's has a bad run with injuries but seemed to be looking ok until the first injury this year.

I reckon we'll keep him on.

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app