Review Dees v Hird's Turds: the Good, the Bad & the Fugly in 24-BIT

Spargo is an intense little dude isn’t he? Lives up to his slightly crazed stare - I can’t work out if he blinks less frequently then normal people or not.

There was something he did that I loved, even though it didn’t come off.
In the last quarter, a bombers player tried to handball to a teammate on their back flank, and missed him completely putting it out of bounds to jeers. He looked angry and started running back to full back before the throw in.

Spargo decided to sprint to cut the angle and ran straight across the angry dude, giving him every chance to have a dip. Would have been a free kick 35m out if he did. (He didn’t but you could see he had a moment of thought about it).

It’s those little things that small forwards/players do who just have the read and understanding of the game and other players.

Hunts run was VERY important to us today. Broke so many lines we simply wouldn’t have broken without him.
His kicking needs ongoing work, especially on the hard run, but I’ll take it every day of the week over another players instead getting that ball and just instantly bombing it to the big pack one kick away down the line.

Highly underrated skill missed by a lot on here.

Hunts run was VERY important to us today. Broke so many lines we simply wouldn’t have broken without him.
His kicking needs ongoing work, especially on the hard run, but I’ll take it every day of the week over another players instead getting that ball and just instantly bombing it to the big pack one kick away down the line.

Or if Goodwin played one of our talls in the forward line he might actually have an option to bomb it to...

Good - The win. Something we desperately needed.

Spargo - natural footballer with great scoring nous

The second half - hard, intense, skilled, smart and dominant footy

Tom McDonald - improves our structure out of sight

Oscar McDonald - Having an amazing season

Bad - The first half. Goodwin gets it all wrong. The set up, player positioning, the message. Must bridge the gap quickly. He has to look at things in the second half and start allowing us to play that way from the get go.

Fugly - The reality. Against a good side we’d be 50 points down at half time.

The leadership. Non existent in the first half.

I loved how he stayed down because he knew he couldn't compete in the air with hurley, he stayed front and square for his first goal. On another note thought he was really clean with ball in hand. Hit some nice handballs

Spargo couldn't have done much more impressive on debut. Seems to be the perfect modern footballer.

Giving Goddard a face massage is worth a new contact already for mine.

I'll maintain if Wagner kicked the ball the way Gus did tulip would be back calling him the worst kick of all time. Naturally people want high draft picks to do well and low picks to fall over

Nowt to do with being a high or flashy pick. My favourite player was always Colin Garland. I just think that Brayshaw is super talented. I’ve seen how good he is with both feet, and can see that his ongoing concussion issues still sometimes effect him. When he gets too much time to think he tends to go back into his shell. When he has no time to think, like when he’s in the middle, I still see the player I saw in 2015.

After his blue against the Tigs on the wing I would have dropped him, but he came back with a big second half. He’s made of the right stuff and I can’t wait to see him in 3 months if he stays fit.

The problem with Wagner is that he’s never shown any ability with the ball, and I don’t think he’s in our best defensive six. He was in reasonable form before being dropped, but how much better did our defence look today with one less man?

I’m just glad we found some form, got
Reward for effort and hit the scoreboard.

Should be 6-3 going into the crows game, but if that forward 50 eff drops then we are stuffed

Good - Spargo, Harmes, Gawn and Hannon. Bad - first half was shocking, lucky we were playing the Dons. Fugly - obviously the tool on the fence. Should get banned for flog behaviour.

ANB was quiet but he didn’t stand out to me as being particularly bad. I think he’s a natural inside 50 bull and he’d thrive if given more time in there. He’d give much more than any of Tyson, Jones or Brayshaw imo. We can afford to spare him from the forward line too with Hannan, Fritsch and Spargo in there playing the small forward role.
As for Jones, I thought he had s shocker. Played nearly the whole match on the ball but had zero impact on the match.
As for Tyson, picking this guy is like starting a game at -18 points.
Thought jones was very influential in the third

To Goody's credit, as a second year coach he deserves to be afforded to liberty of improving as a coach, and he showed that he can today.
Not that any of us really has any idea, but I reckon what we did in the second half today was execute the game plan.

Unbelievable how different we looked after half time. Goodwin must have literally thrown his gameplan out the coaching box window. The shackles came off, we all of a sudden weren't standing 50m in front of their forwards, and we decided to switch the ball quickly and go through middle. It's as if he said 'OK guys, start playing like last year again' and away we went.

Admittedly essendon are rubbish so this could be seen on a par with the lions and norf wins, but that second half was much much better. Its what I expected to see this year.

We played 2 quarters of decent footy and won by 6 goals. We are a way better side than that first half.

Said it isn't the game day thread, but I really do feel like if we just adjusted our suicide forward press about 30m towards defensive goal, opposition forwards won't get over the top do easily. Or at least keep Hunt as like a soccer sweeper so it isn't Jetta trying to chase down a speedster.

Also, it took Spargo, a debutant, to realise that we are actually allowed to cheat forward of the ball too like the opposition was doing. As soon as he did, we kicked an easy goal on the turnover.

A bit annoying that we gave up some junk time goals, but to win by 6 from where we were in that first half, I'll take it. Now win the next 3..

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

It's like watching a bunch of r etards trying to f uck a doorknob out there.

I don't know what you're referring to but the analogy is sound.

Sorry i'm late, just got back from melbourne.

Quick question, did anyone else bump into Brad Green today. They shoved all us GA up into the last 10 rows of level 3. But old Green in a sweater with his kids was couple of rows behind me up there. Must say he blended in well, not many Dees fans said anything to him.

Nice to share seats with a 250 gamer for MFC, as Etihad typically shoved us like cattle the furtherest away from the footy

I was at the game so will actually watch a replay this week. I didn't notice any terrible kicking from Gus, all i can remember was when he hit up that I50 from the wing inboard on his left, which no other player in our team can do.
Was gonna say the same - funny how we as humans can be so susceptible to bias. Here I was thinking Gus is one of the better kicks in the team, for the most part.

Surprised he 'supports' us
He did say on the Dees Podcast, back when he was coaching at norf, that he watched games on TV and got to a few live.

Review Dees v Hird's Turds: the Good, the Bad & the Fugly in 24-BIT