Review Dees v Lions - the Good, Bad & Fugly

Having a healthier list has helped a bit, and we've played some better footy over the last 3 weeks (or at least, less calamitous).

Still, had more than enough chances to get over the line tonight. To the eye, it looked like Brisbane fell away a bit in the second half and were there for the taking. Would have been a huge result.

Could end up rueing this and the Geelong game, big missed opportunities.

2018 we were the toughest team to play against. We were never knocked off the ball, we broke tackles and our tackles stuck and hurt. We just look so sociable at the moment. Lost the hard edge.

On Mi A2 Lite using BigFooty.com mobile app
Harmes personifies my point. 2018 he relished the opportunity to beat more talented players through sheer intensity. He went up against Dangerfield, one of the strongest most powerful mids in the comp, and said to him, "Na Paddy, I'm going to make you my little bitch, and when I'm done with you, I'm going to make your mate Selwood my bitch too". Now it's like he doesn't exist.

On Mi A2 Lite using BigFooty.com mobile app

Lions clearly mastered the wet conditions better too, we tried to be too cute with the footy instead of going for metres when we did win the clearance. Look at that final Melksham goal - Petracca just slams it onto the boot after five or six tiny handballs and Jackson gets to the drop of the ball (that speed off the mark is something else). Needed to be doing that earlier in the night.
Agree and it isn’t uncommon, always think hawks/tigers play these conditions better when we play them, only in the last we pushed it forward at all cost.

Brisbane missed a few gimmies but backline did really well to keep us in the game. Thought everyone played pretty well.

Lockhart is coming on.

Hibbo, May and Lever all solid to excellent

Oscar solid after a shaky start.

Nev was fine, thought he battled well against Cameron for the most part.

Vanders is young enough and coming off a big enough injury layoff that you can expect improvement as the season progresses. Jones offered nothing whatsoever defensively either. Think you're forgetting how good Vanders was against GC just two weeks ago. Tackled like a beast.
Love the Berg but he is 28 years old. Youth isn’t on his side.

Agree and it isn’t uncommon, always think hawks/tigers play these conditions better when we play them, only in the last we pushed it forward at all cost.
Every time we play the Tigers I think '**** they were better than us but it also felt like they got lucky with every single richochet off legs from in tight going to their advantage' and it was the same tonight but in reality it's not luck, they just set up for the conditions and for the ball coming out at unconventional angles. Reckon 3-4 of the Lions goals tonight came from those same random richochets, which isn't a coincidence. Need to keep a bit more distance at the stoppage.

Brisbane missed a few gimmies but backline did really well to keep us in the game. Thought everyone played pretty well.

Lockhart is coming on.

Hibbo, May and Lever all solid to excellent

Oscar solid after a shaky start.

Nev was fine, thought he battled well against Cameron for the most part.
God bless the back 6, we'd have been pumped by West Coast, Geelong and Brisbane without them.

Vanders is young enough and coming off a big enough injury layoff that you can expect improvement as the season progresses. Jones offered nothing whatsoever defensively either. Think you're forgetting how good Vanders was against GC just two weeks ago. Tackled like a beast.
He is 28 and basically a state leaguer. I don’t know why people want to bash Jones? Vanders Laid 3 tackles vs GC?

Realistically neither is having any offensive impact - vanders at least has some physical pressure and is manic off the ball, Jones has been lousy in all aspects. I ****ing hope there's a better option than both of them for next week though given vandenBerg can't play.

Well they must have all counted. His pressure was immense in the second half of that game. Vanders still has a fear factor in him that Jones doesn't defensively. He'll hurt you.

People figure anyone who has anything negative to say about Jones is shooting Bambi. I get ya, a lot of you still love him and want the best for him, but looking objectively at his game he's absolutely cooked. He's an actual hindrance to what we are trying to accomplish if you watch. Opposition players just stroll away from him so easily.

Realistically neither is having any offensive impact - vanders at least has some physical pressure and is manic off the ball, Jones has been lousy in all aspects. I ******* hope there's a better option than both of them for next week though given vandenBerg can't play.
ANB:rainbow:

Maybe Jordan or Sparrow gets a run? Baker looked ok at times last year.

ANB:rainbow:

Maybe Jordan or Sparrow gets a run? Baker looked ok at times last year.
Jordon I hope, seems to be the classier of the two based on reports. He doesn't turn 20 until December 20th, basically a 2019 draftee. Sparrow in if they decide to drop Harmes or Brayshaw (hopefully Gus).

It’s hard to look at any positives from results like tonight when we’ve seen these close losses before, we either win or we don’t and that’s it.

The frustrations of some our tight losses in 2016, 17 and 18 coming out tonight.

Have to win the next 3 or we’re done for the year and questions asked about Goodwins future again.

Jordon I hope, seems to be the classier of the two based on reports. He doesn't turn 20 until December 20th, basically a 2019 draftee. Sparrow in if they decide to drop Harmes or Brayshaw (hopefully Gus).
Highlights the issues but really we arnt on our own, all teams I have realised carry spuds. Brisbane playing Lester, starcevic and Smith. Essendon playing Cahill, Townsend and McKernan ect

But who do we bring in? Nobody just screams pick me

Well they must have all counted. His pressure was immense in the second half of that game. Vanders still has a fear factor in him that Jones doesn't defensively. He'll hurt you.

People figure anyone who has anything negative to say about Jones is shooting Bambi. I get ya, a lot of you still love him and want the best for him, but looking objectively at his game he's absolutely cooked. He's an actual hindrance to what we are trying to accomplish if you watch. Opposition players just stroll away from him so easily.
Look probably both not setting the world on fire but I thought Jones atleast played an outside role, I don’t see us needing more bash and crash tackling pressure, our game lacks outside options and I thought jones was an option in that regard today.

Highlights the issues but really we arnt on our own, all teams I have realised carry spuds. Brisbane playing Lester, starcevic and Smith. Essendon playing Cahill, Townsend and McKernan ect

But who do we bring in? Nobody just screams pick me
I’d love to see Toby Bedford come in, thought he was really good R1. I like Spargo but we’re not yet up and running enough to bring someone like him in. Same with ANB - Bedford brings the same pressure but with a bit more class.

Hannan I thought was poor by his standards today too. At the end of the day too many players just didn’t adjust to the conditions, and went missing defensively. Our finals chances are going to be decided by how well we adjust to the slippery ball. If we learn our lessons from tonight and adjust well enough to beat Port (who’ve been up there for ages) and Collingwood the loss will sting less, but that’s one missed opportunity already.

This holding the ball rule has lost me, the game is being over officiated.

It's frustrating some of the expectations are so unrealistic. There's situations where you lose either way. A player could hold it in and its considered no genuine attempt or a player let's it spill out and it's in correct disposal. Players are getting tackled as they're picking the ball up and you get pinned. Then the unpires miss the bleeding obvious ones plenty of prior get tackled drop the ball and play on. There was one moment in our game where the umpire was looking for a htb decision when it clearly needed to be a ball up. You're better being second to the ball.

Bennell’s miss ended up a 2 goal turn around when it went straight up the other end and Cameron goals.
Those are killers and bennell could have ran in more. Perhaps there was no talk. I'm not sure who it was but someone left charlie to get to the contest and of course made no impact and it ended up being an easy handball to charlie with space to run. We just don't seem learn despite it being said a billion times. We had a bit of momentum as well.

Anyway I thought viney was excellent oliver was good salem did some good things gawn was good.

Getting smashed in clearances after having such a dominant ruckman. Without going to the tape I bet it was a case of our mids getting sucked in to the contest and Brisbane having players on the outside waiting for an easy possession to waltz out.

Kicking for goal, yes Brisbane missed plenty too but I just have no faith in our forwards. I like Weideman but ffs learn to kick. We don't plat TMAC who has been out of form but can at least kick straight.

Sad to see the decline in Jones. He had two opportunities to do something early one was a nothing kick forward and the other was a wasteful shot at goal that fell 10 metres short. At least he kicked straight but boy he looks out of it.

I know it was a bit wet but some of those fumbles. Brayshaw particularly may as well have anb out there.

What's happened to harmes?

Fritta what were you thinking man.

The other thing is if roles were reversed and we had the lead at 3qt guarantee we lose grom there. Felt like the second Geelong game from 2018.

So that's another close loss.

13 losses by 10 points or under since the start of 2017, to go with a 13 and 14 point loss in 2017 against Richmond and North where we threw away leads. Would think that's the most of any side that's played finals since then.

We've had a few close wins, but I reckon we threw away even bigger leads in most of those too.

Realistically neither is having any offensive impact - vanders at least has some physical pressure and is manic off the ball, Jones has been lousy in all aspects. I ******* hope there's a better option than both of them for next week though given vandenBerg can't play.
One thing Jones can do is kick important goals

Did it again tonight

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk

This holding the ball rule has lost me, the game is being over officiated.

Yeh it's totally broken, it's become so bad that players are literally handing the ball to each other rugby maul style because they are so scared of being pinged for holding the ball even when they've had less than a nanosecond of prior opportunity and have no arms free. But handing the ball over like that is not even a legal disposal, apparently that's fine because free kicks aren't being called, but when did that rule change that you can pass the ball around like a parcel...

What really annoys me is seeing a perfect tap down but the opposition are all standing by with no intention of getting the ball, just waiting to tackle so they can win holding the ball free kicks, I don't understand why the AFL wants to reward the player who is second to the ball, it discourages skill and encourages rolling mauls.

Hannan I thought was poor by his standards today too. At the end of the day too many players just didn’t adjust to the conditions, and went missing defensively. Our finals chances are going to be decided by how well we adjust to the slippery ball. If we learn our lessons from tonight and adjust well enough to beat Port (who’ve been up there for ages) and Collingwood the loss will sting less, but that’s one missed opportunity already.
Yeah Hannan was anonymous for the most part

Had been pretty good up until tonight though

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk

Review Dees v Lions - the Good, Bad & Fugly