Review Dees v Lions - the Good, Bad & Fugly

Meh, I can’t remember his kicks hurting us particularly more than anyone else. Could be more damaging and isn’t but his overlap run has been an asset in a way that a seventh defender wouldn’t be. It’s a very low bar given how poor we are but he’d be in the top 10 of our best and fairest and we didn’t give up much for him.
2 different issues then, like I said he's played his role and the deal was a good one for us but that doesn't mean his kicking isn't pox. He has the most time and space of anyone in our side yet his kicking is still up there with the worst.

Stole a mark from Melksham too. And of course missed. Melk would have kicked it. So many chances. We just can't find a way to beat the good teams under Goodwin.
Atleast he marked it, Fritsch and 2 others let a ball land between them 15 out!

Melk should have called for it.

You are only angry because Langdon screwed the kick, if he made the shot there would be no discussion.

Unfair to blame Langdon when Melksham didn't call out to claim the mark. It just highlights the issue that there is zero communciation between players in the front half of the ground. Like when we had three players in position to mark, and all they did was crash into each other and let it hit the deck.
It was Langdons mark, Melksham could have been spoiled.

Any opposition coach charged with figuring out a plan to counter our kick in strategy should probably just listen to the start of Beyonce's Irreplaceable.

To the left, to the left
Everything you kick from the box to the left

Good:
Melk's best game for the year, didn't have loads of it but when he had the ball generally something happened.
Lockhart should be getting more praise, did some really good things.
Hibberd went about things very nicely.
Weid's lead up play and marking, continues to improve (just a shame about the set shots).
Langdon ran all day like normal, had he nailed that goal in the 2nd would have been very close to our BOG.
In conditions where I thought they would have thrived, their smalls didn't really have a huge impact.
Worth recognising whilst we're all annoyed at losing a close one, a few weeks back we would have been blown out of the water in the 2nd half rather than a legit chance to pinch it in the last couple of minutes.

Bad:
Inability to make use of Max's dominance, Lions mids obviously did a lot of work into his tapwork and the clearances showed that.
We still suck in wet / damp / dewy conditions - fumbling, dropping the ball, slipping over - the Lions handled that better.
Gus - I wanted him out after last week, my opinion feels vindicated after another poor outing. Needs to be replaced by Tomlinson.

Fugly:
I probably don't have anything unique to add to the umpires, other than generally we did ok when looking at the end numbers, which is surprising. Reckon half of our clearances probably came from frees. I'm sure Lions fans would have similar gripes that we do, which tells you everything you need to know about the directions they're getting from head office.
There were some baffling decisions in the 2nd quarter. HTB on Melksham. Free for McCarthy against Langdon when both going for the ball, leading to a Lions goal. There was a piece of play where Andrews was tackling, didn't dispose of it correctly (literally dropped it after having ample time to get a handball off), one of our players (might've been Trac) then picked up the ball, practically no prior and gone.
Trying to find replays of Kozzy's tackles (I can't) - feel like the family name has attracted him attention for all the wrong reasons.
The goal review - I said this in the game day thread - when Lever took the mark, it was around 2:26 on the clock. Why was the 7 seconds that elapsed between taking the mark and calling for the score review not added back on the game clock? I mean obviously made no difference, but it could have.

Disappointing, but they were a tough opponent and we'll take a bit into next week including Melksham finding form.

Super disappointed in all of Harmes, Brayshaw, Jetta and Bennell. Would keep Bennell in as he's naturally rusty, but would have the other three out as guys who should be leading this team but are leaving it all to Gawn, Viney and Trac.

Yeah, Salem is kicking the ball like he wants to preserve a good kicking efficiency % - rather than take the game on from half back

It's not even just tht anymore, is he so ****ing lazy now that he can't be ****ed picking the ball up off the deck? campaigner thinks he's an actual soccer player with that ****ing haircut....twice i saw him last night just hack kick it when there was time to pick it up.

He also runs around on his tippy toes with baby steps, looks like he's Peter Griffen discovering static electricity.

That brings me to my next point, does anyone else notice whenever the opposition hack kick forward it's usually ends up in one of their players hands and starts a bullshit counter attack? Such as Robinson last night. Never with us tho, always a ****ing turnover. 🌈

Any opposition coach charged with figuring out a plan to counter our kick in strategy should probably just listen to the start of Beyonce's Irreplaceable.

To the left, to the left
Everything you kick from the box to the left

We've got enough Dwayne Russell isms with Headless and BIG TIME without any others thank you very much. 😂

Hibberd was really good again. Intercepted, ran and linked up, defended really really well. Bloody stoked for him given the circumstances. Playing his heart out.

Except for the two times he left Cameron all by himself out the back of the contest and didn't impact the contest himself.

On Mi A2 Lite using BigFooty.com mobile app

Well what can ya say, Brisbane looked better at pretty much every part of the game. Knew we were always going to lose.
Fritschs lead was a joke, he's on the wrong side for a left footer. Either lead up the middle or fake to the near side and double back to the far side. Wouldn't have kicked it even if he marked it anyway.

Viney was excellent, May was really good. Alot of passengers still.

Yeah i know it's easy saying this sitting back watching the game, but hannan just needed to hold it for 5 seconds, and fritta had to lead to that pocket and then double back to the other side. His defender was probably sitting 15m infront of him and he cut the angle well.

Lions just looked A LOT more in control of the game, smashed as at the contest, possessed the ball well and had heaps of pressure inside 50.

Our backs did a massive job and kept us in the game all night, mids despite high numbers were disappointing and didn't have a lot of clean footy, forwards did reasonably well with limited ball down there but we had to really scrap our goals together.

Yeah i know it's easy saying this sitting back watching the game, but hannan just needed to hold it for 5 seconds, and fritta had to lead to that pocket and then double back to the other side. His defender was probably sitting 15m infront of him and he cut the angle well.

Lions just looked A LOT more in control of the game, smashed as at the contest, possessed the ball well and had heaps of pressure inside 50.

Our backs did a massive job and kept us in the game all night, mids despite high numbers were disappointing and didn't have a lot of clean footy, forwards did reasonably well with limited ball down there but we had to really scrap our goals together.
Yeah Hannan packed his dacks that play. Should've gone back off the mark and taken the extra second or two and found an option inside. Hannan was very nervy all night which was annoying as he's generally very composed with the ball and finds good options.

Sorry to intrude but just wanted to comment on the score review, just terrible game awareness from the umpire as the behind would have had no impact on the result. It was also so obviously a mark, we don't need umpires to be second guessing themselves.

It was just so unnecessary and a terrible look for the game.

I probably don't have anything unique to add to the umpires, other than generally we did ok when looking at the end numbers, which is surprising. Reckon half of our clearances probably came from frees. I'm sure Lions fans would have similar gripes that we do, which tells you everything you need to know about the directions they're getting from head office.
There were some baffling decisions in the 2nd quarter. HTB on Melksham. Free for McCarthy against Langdon when both going for the ball, leading to a Lions goal. There was a piece of play where Andrews was tackling, didn't dispose of it correctly (literally dropped it after having ample time to get a handball off), one of our players (might've been Trac) then picked up the ball, practically no prior and gone.
Trying to find replays of Kozzy's tackles (I can't) - feel like the family name has attracted him attention for all the wrong reasons.
The goal review - I said this in the game day thread - when Lever took the mark, it was around 2:26 on the clock. Why was the 7 seconds that elapsed between taking the mark and calling for the score review not added back on the game clock? I mean obviously made no difference, but it could have.
Yeah, the umps were frustrating and we got lucky a few times when htb/in the back etc should've been paid. The frustration I think comes from seemingly obvious frees being called play on, but iffy calls that are 'tEcHnIcAlLy' correct (by whatever the current interpretation is) get pulled out at random.

I don't really blame Hannan for the kick to the boundary, looked as tho Fritsch had heaps of room to lead up the middle and for whatever he decides to go to the pocket to make it an near impossible kick.

Would need to see a wider view but on first glance looked a sh*t tone of space 20ms out directly in front.

Fritsch has been doing dumb sh*t like this all year.

I do, low percentage kick.

We had numbers forward of the ball, get it deep to a 1 v 1 or 2 v 2.

We will keep losing games when we have players shoe horned into positions that make them innefectual. Jones Brayshaw and Harmes could all be dropped for Bedford, Thomlinson and Baker and we couldn't possible be worse. Nev Jetta looks cooked as fu** as well. Spent the whole game on the ground.

Salem's another one, fu** he goes to ground alot and I still haven't seen a single kick from him that's broken the game open. He's playing really really poor.

Don't agree on Salem mate, he was one of our best last night, halved a lot of contests and defended well, chase down tackle on Cameron was super.

Would like him to take on some more dangerous kicks, but he's never been a massive risk taker.

I reckon it's time to get him on the wing until VDB comes back.

Don't agree on Salem mate, he was one of our best last night, halved a lot of contests and defended well, chase down tackle on Cameron was super.

Would like him to take on some more dangerous kicks, but he's never been a massive risk taker.

I reckon it's time to get him on the wing until VDB comes back.
I couldn't disagree more, he's as vanilla as Harmes and Brayshaw atm. Spends the majority of the game on the ground, doesn't impact defensively in the air at all. Doesn't use his main skill which is kicking the ball well. Wasted talent.

Well I'm gonna be a filthy centrist on Salem! He's ok. Did ok in most of his contests last night and no big howlers that I saw, but is capable of more. Needs to go from halving contests to winning them for is and being a bit more adventurous with the ball.

Good to see Melksham get some touch. Kicked 3 clutch goals and had one of those classic Melk kicks in the centre of the ground - 70 metres onto Weid's chest running back to goal.

We need him up and about. Makes us so much more dynamic going forward when he's kicking inside 50 and kicking those half chances from 50. Especially with our inexperienced forward line we need him to become a difficult matchup again.

I couldn't disagree more, he's as vanilla as Harmes and Brayshaw atm. Spends the majority of the game on the ground, doesn't impact defensively in the air at all. Doesn't use his main skill which is kicking the ball well. Wasted talent.

Agree to disagree mate, he's been our next best player this year outside of Gawn, Viney, Trac, Clarry.

We've got enough Dwayne Russell isms with Headless and BIG TIME without any others thank you very much. 😂

:( I thought that comment could have been the fire starter for some discussion around how predictable our kick ins have been.

Anyway, a few other random thoughts:

Re. Harmes - His reaction time and game awareness has always been a step behind some of our other mids, and that almost inevitably results in him getting pinged holding the ball a couple of times per game. I could tolerate it when he was in otherwise good form and having a positive impact on the game. But right now it's just painful to watch. He's currently offering the team very little.

Re. Salem - The frustration comes from the fact we all feel he can do more. He's one of our cleanest kickers, and it often stands in stark contrast to some of our other field kicks. It's a potential great source of improvement for us if he does step it up and take on those harder, riskier kicks.

Well I'm gonna be a filthy centrist on Salem! He's ok. Did ok in most of his contests last night and no big howlers that I saw, but is capable of more. Needs to go from halving contests to winning them for is and being a bit more adventurous with the ball.
Yeah does seems to be in and out of games at times.

Good to see Melksham get some touch. Kicked 3 clutch goals and had one of those classic Melk kicks in the centre of the ground - 70 metres onto Weid's chest running back to goal.

We need him up and about. Makes us so much more dynamic going forward when he's kicking inside 50 and kicking those half chances from 50. Especially with our inexperienced forward line we need him to become a difficult matchup again.
Good to see him find a bit of form after a few weeks of looking very droppable. Starting to look more like the 2018 version where he was one of the best score assist players in the competition.

Was thinking about Brayshaw ie on trading I know I'm slow to the party but what's the point playing him on the wing. Pretty sure he and Jones lined up on the wings at one point. That shit aint right. I like Brayshaw but trade if he's superfluous.

Surely bring in the player we recruited to be a wingman to play there or would it be crazy to play tmac there?

We still have a complete inability to handle a slippery ball. I thought that was one of the main causes for our clearance issues, Max put it to advantage, we couldn't one touch anything, knocked it into space for a Lion, and they could. I guess its a by product of playing mostly day games, we don't get much experience with dewy conditions ... it'll likely be the similarly slippery on Thursday night, so hopefully we're better for the experience ... #learnings

Langdon is a bad kick running full pelt, but his kicking has been more than fine IMO. Would even say he’s got pretty solid vision.

Don’t think he’s a worse kick than say Fritsch Harmes Brayshaw, none of whom are bad kicks.

Review Dees v Lions - the Good, Bad & Fugly